Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook

Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Review 1 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm in love

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBeansie
onNovember 16, 2012
from Portland, OR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, beautiful
Cons: trackpad
I can't tell you how much I love this little Ultrabook. Well, I'll try. It's fast, lightweight, sleek, and unlike anything else on the market today. It does exactly what I need, and then some. Main plus points for me:
- It's super lightweight, so it's not a pain for me to travel with when I go on a business trip.
- It can seamlessly run Outlook, Excel, Word, a browser, and a VPN connections simultaneously without a hiccup.
- The keyboard is the best I've ever used, and the backlit keys are beautifully subtle. I don't need to see the backlight during the day (I don't know why anyone would, but apparently this is a thing) - and at night it's not obnoxious.
- The whole device is gorgeous, from the exterior to the screen.
- AllShare FTW. My Galaxy S3 + Series 9 + UN46D7000 HDTV = awesomeness in my house.
The only con is the trackpad, but really I have this issue with just about every new gen laptop and/or ultrabook. Accidental text highlights happen, although over time they get less frequent as you understand how you're causing them. In all honesty, I haven't had a laptop with a trackpad that I loved since 2005.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bywezil18
onOctober 14, 2012
from Santa Barbara, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, beautiful design
Cons: expensive
This is one of the most amazing ultra-books, maybe even of all laptops, that I have ever seen and have had to pleasure to use. I love pretty much everything about this laptop, and all of the features stand out equally awesomely. That being said, here are some of my thoughts on the New Series 9 13 inch:
-The track-pad is much better than I had thought! It is extremely smooth to the touch and responds very well. I sometimes depress the right-click on accident, but most likely because I am used to the 1-button Macbook track-pad.
-The color reproduction is slightly off-white, I would say it tends towards the yellow a little. Otherwise the display is crisp and wide-angle viewable.
-The ambient light sensor is oddly placed at the upper left corner of the keyboard. This means that depending on the shadow of the screen cast, the display brightness can change dramatically even though no ambient lighting has changed. Perhaps a second sensor would have worked well.
-The AC adapter plug is a really thin port option, and I'm afraid of it breaking whenever I unplug the device.
-I don't like that the wireless switch light is always on when I have normal WiFi and Bluetooth use. It's a waste of energy and frankly is really distracting in low light situations.
-The cost of having a dedicated backup and hibernation partition is that much of the original 128GB SSD was gone when I first set up the computer. I had about 64GB free at first, and increased it to ~66GB after uninstalling some bloatware.
-On the topic of "bloatware", some of the included Samsung software is actually quite useful, and I've kept some of them.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best looking ultrabook?

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRygon
onSeptember 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, visual aesthetic
Cons: price, memory
This little ultrabook just looks so good, one that you would have no problem showing off. But what are good looks if it's not any good on the inside. So far with my experience everything is working great. I've been able to play full resolution HD videos on it without a hiccup, and even play semi graphic intensive games (League of Legends anyone).
I mostly got this little guy for traveling, its extremely thin so you will no problem whatsoever getting this thing into your baggage or a backpack. It does seem to be pretty durable as well.
Some other things that I liked, really fast boot up time to Windows, and little to no noise could be heard while I was using it.
Simple warning though, don't buy this as a gaming laptop, it just won't do. It's not meant to be a gaming laptop either, but it will still play games, maybe even some of the more graphic intensive games, just not nearly on high settings of course. With there being no graphic card, you won't be able to get a lot of horsepower out of it. But for everything else, this thing is great.
My only real gripe, the price. But it's Samsung, you can get comparable ultrabooks for the same specs but cheaper. But knowing Samsung, I can count on good quality with some great features (screen quality, unique look).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best computer ever seen in my life!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMohdeh
onJuly 20, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
1-Excellent performance
2-Sleek design
3-Very thin (thinnest computer on earth)
4-Occupied with the latest high performance processor
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
NP350U2A
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byluv2pho
onJanuary 11, 2013
from ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: touchpapd
This is an amazing ultrabook, everythings works like a charm; except for the touchpad which can be very sensitive at times.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just Right for Teens

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySamsungAG
onNovember 17, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
My daughter purchased this laptop and it has met her high expectations. It's perfect for teens on the go, lightweight and has a bight display with a long battery life.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic product!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byqualitymove13
onOctober 6, 2012
from Omaha, NE
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: dongles should be included.
I love how stylish this laptop is. Its not quite perfect, but I havent seen many of the problems that are out there in some reviews. Yes, wi-fi has dropped two or three times. The touchpad can be, well, touchy. The keyboard will take some getting used to, but overall, the pros far outweigh the cons. Light, great battery life, fast bootup/restore from sleep. Beautiful and bright screen and well lit keyboard keys. Speakers are also better than I imagined they would be. Great decision to purchase this item.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

If only the track pad worked

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bymrfitch
onNovember 3, 2012
from La Jolla, Ca
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, horrible trackpad
Great looking laptop, but if you cant point and click what you want.. it's a fail. I had to click back to this window 3 times to continue typing. Surely there is a software update that can fix this horrid mouse pad. If so, win. If not, fail. I would recommend to a friend if the track pad worked... but that is far to annoying of a flaw to overlook.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Critical flaw in build quality ruins a great laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByITProfessionalinDENVER
onAugust 16, 2012
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, good looks
Cons: Poor quality
This is a decent machine, but not a great value. It has good looks, marginal touchpad, and decent but not great performance.
However, what has soured me on this machine is after 45 days the 6 bolts holding the base to the lcd screen all FELL out of the hinge mechanism leaving me a laptop in two parts. Due to the metal hinge covers obstructing the holes, I cannot repair the laptop myself without risking the housing of the hing covers. Having to send it to the ONE repair center for the entire US for service.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 9 13.3" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

broke in two days

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
onJuly 17, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, broken
broke in two days. would not boot. returned unit
dddddddddddddddddddddd
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.