Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 9 15" Notebook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 9 15" Notebook

Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 14(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 9 15" Notebook
Review 1 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySeries9Maniac
onDecember 23, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This amaging laptop computer is highly recommended
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydatphd
onNovember 10, 2012
from Alabama
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
The best lightweight computer. The screen size is perfect and the quality of the picture is outstanding. It is quiet and is the nicest looking computer on the market. I would highly recommend this to others.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST LAPTOP IN THE WORD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNIK1981
onSeptember 19, 2012
from MIAMI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
THIS IS A THE BEST LAPTOP IN THE WORD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Portable laptops for students

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGManMoney
onSeptember 4, 2012
from Tampa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, awesome looking, great performance
Cons: track-pad is a little glitchy
This is a great and awesome super portable laptop, anyone would be super proud to own a product like this.
There is no complaining on the performance of this beautiful piece of artwork. Its is super fast and super efficient. I am an engineering student and the software I use works wonders on this pc, Its 8Gb of ram allow you to really take advantage of the pc and run as many programs as you desire.
The display is truly phenomenal. The no glare screen works wonders when you are outside or you are exposed to natural light. Also the light sensor helps to adjust the brightness without you lifting a finger.
The only things that bothers me a little about the product is the the track-pad. It can get to be a little glitchy at times and its just a little annoying. Other than that I have no problems with this awesome machine.
I love the computer and I would put money that you will love it too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Work in Style

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsungist
onJuly 16, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: wireless connection
It is perfect for people like me who work all day long and never at one place. Easy to carry, light weight. The only problem I had so far is using internet on batteries. My internet wifi speed is more than 10mb/3mb. This laptop keeps cutting the connection for some reason. But not bad - workable. I changed the power setting and it is little better now, but not completely. I think they should improve wireless card they are using. also bring some kind of update to fix the current users.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fast and sleek

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycodechimp
onJuly 5, 2012
Pros: Lightweight, bright and hi-res screen, fast processor
Cons: keyboard quality could be better
The slim, light weight design with a bright hi-res screen makes working on this laptop a pleasure. With 8 GB of RAM and a fast processor this laptop has no problems running lots of demanding applications. I typically have many browser tabs open, and visual studio and office apps running at the same time and have never experienced any slowness. Boot up time is really fast and I freely shut it all the time because it wakes up *instantly* with wi-fi connection established.
The one thing I don't like about this laptop is the keyboard. The keys just don't depress in a way that makes typing flow well. Even after two months of having this laptop I'm not completely used to them. And their backlighting is too dim even in the dark. I would have much preferred rubber keys with a good bounce to them even if that resulted in a less slim laptop.
Also, I have noticed that the mouse pad doesn't work for me when I sit out in the sun. I am then forced to use an external mouse but I can live with that.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's finally come!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byalander
onJune 25, 2012
from Georgetown, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
the Samsung Series 9 laptops are of the highest quality. You won't be displeased if you choose to take this home with you. Its very thin, very thin. Long battery life. Luscious Graphics. It simply is, the best of the best. And what can you expect from Samsung? -- The best of the best.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
NP-R580I
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1" (Wi-Fi Only) – 16GB Metallic Gray
4.6 out of 5(689)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy Note (AT&T), Ceramic White
4.8 out of 5(283)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Almost perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byakme
onJune 24, 2012
from Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, battery life
Cons: durability of finishes, adaptive brightness control
All in all, there is little to complain about so far. Battery life and portability are amazing! Almost as great as my iPad but so much more useful I have no desire to take my tablet anywhere. My only complaints are that boot time tripled after loading avti-virus, Office, and other basic software and the brightness sensor is really bad. Turn off the lights in the room and the screen dims, settings in power management keep getting overridden, etc. Touchpad and space bar already have a smooth, discolored spot where I usually touch them. The keyboard leaves an outline on the screen as well. These issues aside, I have never loved a computer like I love this one. Highly recommend it and have already ordered 2 for collegues.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the FIRST computer I've truly loved!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJune 11, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
This is the FIRST computer I've truly loved!
keep on samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Love Love my Series 9

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLuvinSeries9
onMay 27, 2012
from Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, backlit keyboard, intuitive mouse pad, looks really cool, excellent keyboard responsiveness, super fast boot, excellent battery life
Cons: should come with an option to buy all the adapters
I've been an IT professional since the 80s. This is the FIRST computer I've truly loved! Way to go Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best system I have used to date!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLegoZ81
onMay 14, 2012
from Illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
With Samsung Eco on and Quick boot on the laptop starts up to the Windows 7 login screen in around 12 seconds from power off.
Design is marked down due to the internal microphone being part of the lower part of the laptop, this causes a lot of feedback on Skype, and causes the microphone to clip, this necessitates the use of headphones.
The 4w of speaker power and design offers enough sound to not need external speakers if you want to listen to music.
Value is marked down due to high cost of the ultrathin laptops of a whole, it is a great system, but it is pricey.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybmcfiv
onMay 11, 2012
all around great laptop except keyboard and win 7 home
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid State -- Wave of the Future

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNicknameTim
onApril 29, 2012
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, solid state no moving parts, quick response, reduced noise, reduced heat
No moving parts! Less heat, less noise, less wear and tear.
The performance startles you with its quickness. No more waiting for the HD to power up to speed.
The graphics are impressive.
The design rocks.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT LAPTOP (ULTRABOOK)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycdsa
onMarch 30, 2012
from queens
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, awesome
this is the best laptop ive heard i a little thiner than the macbook air
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Series 9 Notebook
4 out of 5(113)
 
 
 
 
 
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 9 15" Notebook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very dissapointed

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByFrustratedWithNicknames
onJune 28, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not enough storage
After researching all the Ultrabooks from every manufacturer, the Series 9 seemed to be the only one to have everything I wanted. Performance is off the charts great but there are far too many flaws for a laptop of this price. First off, the software suite is so horrible that it does more harm to the experience than good. Recovery Solution does not work. MediaPOP is a sleazy waste of time and space. Software Manager complains at every boot or wakeup that something failed to install but does not say what. All of it looks like it was written by engineers who think they know what customers want and then did their own QA. I can say that because I am one. The screen brightness changes so rapidly, it is like a flash on a camera in my face. Can we get a gradual change instead of Disco Lights? USB connected devices fail to operate at random intervals.
The hardware turns out to be totally inadequate too. The keyboard is mushy and misses repeat clicks and I am not that fast of a typist. Even opening the case is a chore for a man with trimmed nails and large fingers. Again, engineers without any customer feedback. The worst part of this laptop and why I am seriously considering returning both of them (yes I bought two), is the internal storage capacity. I knew it had 128GB and that it was minimal at best but after all of the Samsung created partitions, I am left with less than 90GB to use. Before any data, the OS and applications take up over 60GB. I have 15gb left for my work data, music and photos. My cell phone has more storage capacity.
Overall, these laptops are a huge dissapointment for anyone wanting to use them for real work. It is a novel idea that was implimented by people that do no have to use it as a desktop replacement.
Even the Samsung website is so poorly designed that it is a nightmare to navigate. For instance, when I went to write this review I was not logged in and was told to do so. Afterwards, I was taken to the home screen and not where I left off. WebDesign 101, people.
If Samsung could fix the software bugs and offer an upgrade to a larger disk, I'd be inclined to keep them and give a 5 star rating. Until then, 2 is being generous.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.