Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook

Rating:
4.405 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 out of 28(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Review 1 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Ultrabook with great looks!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMRMcDaniel0118
onFebruary 7, 2014
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, great design, extremely thin, plenty of accessories
Samsung did a phenomenal job with the design and hardware selection for this ultrabook. The outstanding form factor does not sacrifice performance whatsoever. I'm able to use resource intensive applications such as Adobe CS6 Master Suite with little to no hesitation. The ultrabook is by far the most attractive design but the frame does carry fingerprints.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Samsung Galaxy Note (AT&T), Ceramic White
4.8 out of 5(283)
 
 
 
Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
4.4 out of 5(37)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymikaldavid
onMay 12, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great laptop for just about everything! Super light weight and easy to take anywhere.
Storage is limited if you want to save all of your pictures, but I recommend just using an external drive any way.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great labtop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylumino
onFebruary 14, 2013
was a great labtop it did everything I need and never shut down on me. well worth the money
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

sleek design

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byxchaoticsoldi3rx
onFebruary 6, 2013
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This laptop has what you need. I'm a big streamer and enjoy watching movies alot so this work great with smooth quality.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great hardware but bad drivers

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysank
onJanuary 25, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: wifi driver issue, sound driver issue
the ultrabook itself is great as a hardware but software drivers are horrible.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung at its best!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySamsungKeeper
onJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The first review for this Series 9 model (A03) said it all in the title - Best Laptop on the Market.
More and more, computer marketing is all about mass market appeal and has moved away from technical specs, but technical specs DO still matter, ESPECIALLY in ultrabooks, which thanks to improved Intel graphics in Ivy Bridge are right on the cusp of being able to play modern games (albeit at lower settings). Nobody cares about paying more for 10-15% extra performance on desktops anymore, but that can make a huge difference in an ultrabook if you suddenly get the urge to use it like a real computer, and is worth a premium IMO. And the specs on this Series 9 model A03 should ensure such a performance advantage over most other ultrabooks on the market.
This model of the Series 9, the NP900X4C-A03US, simply has it all:
* 256GB SSD (most models have either a hybrid SSD/HDD, or only 128GB SSD)
* 8GB RAM (the number of ultrabooks on the market offering options with >4GB is woefully small).
* Decent screen resolution of 1600x900 that's a nice fit for a 15" screen.
* Core i7 CPU
I think most people can grasp the benefits of the first 3 items (which are clearly significant and may be enough to pay extra for just the bigger SSD and RAM alone), but there are significant benefits of the i7-3517U processor that's offered in this model, over the i5-3317U that's offered in the lower-end A01 and A02 models (and most other ultrabooks).
To wit:
i5-3317U:
1.7 GHz base clock frequency
2.6 GHz max turbo clock frequency
3 MB cache
1050 MHZ max Gfx clock frequency
i7-3517U:
1.9 GHz base clock frequency (12% faster)
3.0 GHz max turbo clock frequency (13% faster)
4 MB cache (33% bigger)
1150 MHz max Gfx clock frequency (10% faster)
(Source: Anandtech)
All of the above, combined with the 8GB RAM, should result in an across-the-board 10-15% performance increase in both processor-intensive apps, as well as graphical-intensive apps (ie, games). And this is all done within the same 17W power envelope, with the same excellent battery life and no battery penalty from using an external graphics chip.
I'm afraid I can't offer any benchmark comparisons as proof (I only bought one computer after all), but I can tell you that there are many reports of Diablo 3 barely being able to run on Intel HD4000 graphics, especially in later acts with lots of background action going on. But I can report that D3 runs great and smooth on this system in both Acts 3 and 4, with medium textures, low shadows, and high physics in the native 1600x900 resolution.
(As a sidebar, I should also mention the good news that my model came with a Samsung SSD, and not the slower SanDisk SSD that was in the 128GB model that I looked at in a retail store. No guarantees if this will always be the case, though).
I'm not going to go into usability aspects, other than to say that our family is very satisfied with the screen, keyboard, trackpad, build, etc. It's a sweet machine. Honestly, if you're concerned about those kinds of things, you'll likely go see and feel a Series 9 model for yourself at a local retail store (any 15" Ivy Bridge model will suffice for evaluating this aspect, of course). That's what we did, we liked it, and we are liking it more every day as we continue using it after about a week.
The downside to this model is that nobody is selling it, and even Amazon lists a 3-5 week wait for shipment. Fortunately, Amazon appears to be under-promising here, as ours shipped in about 1.5 weeks, and arrived a little over 2 weeks after we ordered it.
Bottom line: Don't let the extra money or the extra wait scare you away from the A03 model. This laptop is going to be the workhorse in our household that does everything, from general productivity to homework to surfing to on-the-move mobility to moderate gaming, and on and on. If you're looking to make a similar investment, go for the best and get this laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super fast laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNnrpro
onDecember 30, 2012
from Signal hill, Ca
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Umm such a nice laptop, super fast speed, slim design and bright clear screen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGeekSquad
onDecember 29, 2012
from San Antonio
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Just wish it didn't run windows 8, not a big fan of all the tiles and Microsoft for that matter. But i'm betting it would run real good with a linux software. I'm actually in the market to find another computer for the girlfriend.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This laptop is screaming fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAmericanWolf
onDecember 16, 2012
from Alexandria, VA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: extremely fast, built in camera
Thanks to it's internal Solid State drive this machine boots Windows 7 nearly instantly and runs blindingly fast. It also has a very solid shell and great battery life! I love my Samsung Series 9 laptop!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product by Great Company!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsungAmazes
onDecember 14, 2012
from UT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, impossibly thin, great battery, hd display
Cons: touch pad isn't great
This is a snappy laptop, handling all the computing needs I have. It is not a gaming rig by any means, but it can handle most games at the medium settings. It is super thin, close to 1/2" and it is just as sleek if not more so than any laptop I've ever seen. It is great, I would suggest it to any and all that are considering an ultra-book.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfection

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydedeeler
onNovember 29, 2012
from Yonkers, New York
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is definitely one of the best products Samsung has to offer its fast light weight and so convenient the display is clean and clear with barely any strain on the eyes this is great for people on the go because its half the weight of other laptops and starts up so fast if your in the market for a new latop this should be your first choice
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not Perfect, but still Five Stars

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMcGeesSmith
onSeptember 21, 2012
from Amherst, NH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
I spent months and month waiting for an ultrabook that would meet all my requirements and in the end purchased the Samsung Series 9 (which is NOT officially an ultrabook) because I believe it delivers on the promise better than the officially-labeled choices. Took this on a one week, 2 city trip within days of getting it. Also took my iPad. Never opened the iPad. Used the Series 9 to work on the plane and watch movies. Till the iPad has Office, it may be staying home.
Pros:
► Start-up in seconds. That means that all those times you think you'd like to open up your PC to work for a few minutes or even check something but don't because its not worth the hassle, you DO. I did productive work in the back of a cab in busy metro traffic.
► Light-weight.
► 15" screen (hard to find in sub-3 pounds)
► HDMI connectors for Ethernet and VGA (yes you have to buy the latter, but it worked like a charm at a client location - no drama). If you travel for business, the Ethernet is a must - you just can't depend on hotels having WiFi
Cons
► The keyboard. It's mushy.
► I wish there was a 512 SSD. The 256 will be limiting over time.
► It is expensive. No more than a MacBook for comparable specs, but still expensive.
Why didn't I just buy a Macbook? I did. And returned it without opening the box when I realized Office for Mac doesn't accommodate Outlook PST files. a deal breaker for me. And with the Series 9, no re-learning, no mirrored partitions, no historical file comparability/formatting issues.
Is it perfect? No. Is it a great choice to make based on what's out there? Absolutely. 5 Star.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+38points
41of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best ultra book out FLaOuT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJIMBLIMM
onSeptember 18, 2012
from STL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The build quality and slimness is evident from unboxing on. It is sturdy and has a good feel, but is almost surreally thin and light. Beautiful screen with very decent outdoor viewing and vertical viewing angle (roughly 45 degrees of perfect view, another 45 of acceptable viewing, and 180 degrees of legibility)). Excellent battery life, (I've been using it for about 3 hours this session and i'm sitting at 70% remaining. So roughly the 10 hours advertised). The boot speed is faster than advertised (clocked the boot at 6.7 seconds), and it is literally instantly on from sleep. The CPU centric speed is more than fast enough for basic computing tasks, mathematica, and photoshop), and it can handle a little light gaming (League of Legends).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byusedtolikesamsung
onSeptember 5, 2012
from FL
Beautiful platform and really nice hardware other than it could use a bigger HDD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweetness in a box

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byblackmask321
onAugust 26, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, fast, sexy, freaking ninja
Cons: charger not as innovative as laptop
This thing is amazing!!!. Between the Fastboot, the stylish exterior and the overall build quality there is nothing not to love. Performance shouldnt even be questioned about this thing. It will blow most desktops out of the water. I have always been fan of Samsung products and this Laptop just gives me another reason to continue. Only thing i am a little sad on is the charger of the system. I really just wish they can get a better charging system on these things. But man am i satisfied, If you dont have one get it now!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrwarfield
onAugust 24, 2012
from Newark, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Love it! This Series 9 (new) is the fastest, lightest, best portable I've ever even tried - and I have a lot of computers, laptops and deskops.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent business laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBunsen
onAugust 4, 2012
from Boston, MA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, serviceable
Cons: trackpad implementation, bloaty install
I was in the market for a laptop for development with criteria of higher resolution than the 1366 displays, > 4GB of memory, an SSD and a reasonable processor.
I ultimately honed in on the Samsung as the best meld of features and while I fretted about it, I purchased it online sight unseen.
Once received, I was impressed by its build quality. It's quite durable and light for is 15" size. Once I had things running, my few complaints are that the trackpad is overly sensitive and not worth using if you can help it. I regularly disable it when I can attach an external mouse. Also, the bloatware for initial install is a bit annoying. I'm not a fan of the recovery partition mechanism they use, so I ended up re-installing from scratch and getting a bit more space and a cleaner install.
All in all, I'm very pleased with the purchase. One last reason that I chose it over competitors is the possibility of self-service. I do understand that it would void warranty to upgrade memory or the ssd myself, but in the future to allow for the upgrade post warranty is a great bit. I'd say only the lack of a serviceable battery would be the downside, but that's understandable to get the laptop to the packaging that it is in the first place.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By1yatusabes
onJuly 27, 2012
from Maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Simply the coolest! Very convenient, portable, fast, and all-purpose use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best PC

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySGS3
onJuly 12, 2012
from Santa Barbara, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This was quite a change for me. I'm coming from a Macbook Pro, yet I extremely pleased with this UltraBook. Upon turning on the computer for the first time, I had only around 50GB. This seems to be the only complaint i have. If Samsung would have an option to increase to a 256GB SSD then it would be the best. It feels very premium and very lightweight as expected. Overall very pleased with it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySeries9Lover
onJuly 5, 2012
from Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, thin
Such an amazing laptop! This is my first samsung laptop, but owning both a smartphone and tablet (which I also love) by them I had to cross shop. Blew away my expectations and the competition. Very premium feel, 100% satisfied. Samsung has earned my loyalty, and I'm sure if given the chance they will earn yours.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy Nexus™ (Verizon) Android Smartphone
4.4 out of 5(650)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1" (Wi-Fi Only) – 16GB Metallic Gray
4.6 out of 5(689)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLovmysamsung
onJuly 5, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
After 6 months of consideration in purchasing a new laptop, when I saw the new Samsung thin with a solid state drive I had to take a look at it. It was love at first site, so I purchased it on the spot. I got it home, it set up with ease and I am enjoying it everyday. A great choice and an awesome machine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

samsung series 9

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLittleRhodey
onJune 28, 2012
from rhode island
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
very well satisfied with this computer, the battery is excellent, boots up extremely fast. very light weight with all the features such as hdmi, usb 3.0.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a beautiful Ultrabook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJune 14, 2012
from Santa Clarita
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, widi, backlite keyboard
Cons: ssd too limited
With a new power skimping Ivy Bridge processor, and a sleak design there is very little to complain about. Two issues not enough SSD options, the standard 128GN SSD is 1/2 full on arrival, loading MS Office Pro, and the recovery disk left me with only 52 GB left. The Network port requires an adaptor, otherwise this guy is the Bomb!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymla5008
onJune 3, 2012
from PA
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
This is an amazing laptop, came from a macbook pro and would not go back.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One of the fastest on the market

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymanabouttown
onFebruary 22, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I was amazed at the speed of this ultrabook. It literally starts up in 22 seconds. All aspects of the ultrabook are top notch.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

could be a little better

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byauburnfan38401
onJanuary 1, 2013
from columbia, tn
it could be a little better, but not by much. i am happy with it.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the laptop overall!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bya1bailey
onDecember 19, 2012
from Boise, ID
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: crack in plastic at hinge.
Lightweight, high performance, great screen. No issues other than a crack in the case that required that I send it back for replacement.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Picky Professional

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysyserr
onNovember 16, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The specs are great. I'm a software engineer and have been using Linux on this laptop for 3 months. Linux support is coming along, I found that most established Linux distributions had issues so I made my own mix with Gentoo. Out of simple distributions - Linux Mint Debian Edition won't do you wrong.
I like the laptop, but I do have a list of cons: I love the non-glossy screen, but it does seem to give eye fatigue. Keyboard keys are spaced out much further than older laptop keys - mistyping a lot. It would be nice of the arrow keys were a full inverse-T. The hinge for the screen/lid gives plenty of friction when almost closed, but not enough when greater than 90 degrees open. I have worries about the power port being fragile. IMHO it should come with a HDMI and DVI cable.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Close to Perfection, needs a couple small tweaks

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bywoz123
onOctober 5, 2012
from USA, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, runs very cool and quiet, fast, not much 3rd party bloatware, industry standard battery life, larg display in a small package
Cons: power supply jack my not be robust, lack of cables, small hdd size void warranty if upgraded, some 3rd party bloatware installed
A little history I am an IT professional with many, many years of experience and I normally build my own desktops from parts. I also have several handfuls of computer certifications involving PC hardware, Software and System Administration, so overall I feel that I know something about computers.
Samsung has never been on my radar for PC hardware until a co-worker who I respect greatly walked into the office with his Galaxy 9. I was immediately impressed with the build quality and sleek design for a PC. While I was not nessicarily in the market for a new laptop after playing with the 9 for a couple minutes and comparing my reseach with my co-workers I convinced my self I need something new as my current home laptop is rather old and has seen many winters as kitty cat buttocks warmer. The 9 is fast and well built. This is critical for me as this box is going to get abused at my house as a couch surfer, kitty cat warmer, homework computer, and backpack travel buddy.
If your reading other reviews please make sure the v2 Series 9 also called the “new model” is the review target. There have been many slight but important upgrades between the two. If you’re doing a hands-on test in a big box store the word “new” is visible in the hinge area to the top left of the keyboard.
The 9 ROCKS! But there are three major items keeping me from rating this product as perfect the last two are easy fix’s for Samsung.
1. Power Input: This power jack while almost identical to the competition in the ultra book category looks drastically under built and may be easily broken or bent. I don’t know if this is part of the Intel reference design or not but for me this is a major concern.
2.Cables: Lack of included cables for connecting the mini-ports to true ports. This is a premium product and @ this price point include the gosh darn cables.
3.HDD: The included SDD is small 128gb and the uplift price to 256Gb is not reasonable. I could buy an entirely new drive for that and was planning to. Sadly Samsung’s web site state you invalidate the warranty if you replace the drive. The sleep and restore speeds could have seen improvements by adding their own premium hardware vs a lower priced commodity part.
I would have gladly traded the nice graphically designed packaging materials (black box) for a lager HHD or usable cables. Why include such a nice box if the purchaser can't even see it until they get the white shipping box (ugly) home?
Once last comment, even under high load running benchmarks the chasse was very quiet and quite reasonably cool, so no roasted chestnut this winter. The kitty cats however said they wanted to keep the old laptop :-)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByTototlsha
onSeptember 10, 2012
from Tacoma, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, portability
I've been using this for a couple of months and it looks so cool. Fast bootup and instant wake.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Laptop for the 2010s

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByComputeraholic
onJune 17, 2012
from Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, keyboard, solid feel, fast
Cons: no video out dongle, silk pad takes getting used to
This laptop has some great features. It has some drawbacks as well, but, overall, it is a great purchase.
I was able to compare this laptop with others in its class from other manufacturers in store, and I am pleased to say that this laptop has a more solid feel and design.
The screen is great; almost edge to edge, The keyboard has a great feel considering the thickness of the laptop; a true surprise. Out of the box, the laptop has very little "junk" pre-installed. Most third party applications already installed would be used by most advanced users anyways. The on board RAM is phenomenal, and the i5 processor is fitting. The laptop boots in seconds!
The laptop comes with a LAN dongle, but not an HDMI, VGA, or DVI dongle. An added expense most will likely need to incur. The location of the micro-HDMI port is a problem due to its proximity to the LAN port. Some micro-HDMI adapters won't work with the LAN dongle in place. The silkpad is massive! It is very different that what I am used to. It will take some getting used to since it is "smart" per-se, and will assume some gestures. The laptop does not come with a case or sleeve, so that should be considered as well.
This laptop is a nice purchase. It is my first ultra-thin purchase and will travel well. I wish it would have come with an HDMI dongle, but I will make due.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Impressive Design with good performance!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByHouguy
onJune 8, 2012
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, relatively fast
I have only had the New Series 9 15" for a few days, but so far I am relatively impressed with the design. I only wish I had gotten one with a larger capacity SSD. I thought the price was comparatively steep for a Samsung. But the quality seems to descent. Price a little steep!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byms601
onJuly 13, 2012
from NYC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slow freezing on multiple applications
It should be quick and my old laptop is faster processing multiple applications. Don't understand why as on paper it appears great. Looks great though and is very light and portable but cannot compete with the airbook...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
6of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good product - missing key accessories

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bysblumen
onJune 28, 2012
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, missing
Product works well and is light and easy for travel. BUT, there is no availability to the VGA output dongle - which is a proprietary item only from Samsung. I have looked everywhere without success. If this part ever becomes available - which will allow me to use multiple screens on my desk, I would increase the rating.
The micro HDMI dongle that comes with the unit works - but the resolution does not fit external monitors correctly. major portions of the screen are outside of the display area, making this basically unusable.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
20of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Such a shame

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byawacs
onJune 10, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
It is a very nice looking, good performing laptop, with one problem.
The touchpad does not work.
Frankly, I have not seen a laptop, not even one that is a decade old, that has the same type of erratic touchpad problems as this one. Its erratic, it freezes, it feels like a someone who is drunk and it drives you, the user, absolutely crazy. You're forced to bring a extra mouse EVERYWHERE, fearing for the moment your touchpad calls it quite. Restart? Fixes it 50% of the time.
This is the reason I can not recommend this laptop. Its a shame really, it looks quite nice. But its like a nice car with a bad steering wheel. Nice looking? Of course. Good car? Definitely not.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice but horrible touchpad

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byrumorajj
onNovember 11, 2012
from Jacksonville, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, great looks
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This COULD be a great product but the Elan touchpad is horrible. I can't use a mouse so I have to rely 100% on the touchpad. Samsungs driver has no sensitivity adjustment. Even the help screens don't reflect the actual screens you will see. The only way I have found to use it so far is to turn off most of the features of the touchpad including the touch feature. Yes, I mean you can only use it for extended periods of time if you dumb it down to the point where it is no different than any other 2 button touchpad. And even at that the buttons are hard to push. Samsung could fix this by giving us a better driver but I've never seen them be responsive when it comes to software. It is really unfortunate. I would be happy to work with anyone at Samsung so that they can get this right if they are willing.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Series 9 15" Premium Ultrabook
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Terrible Brick -- With Potential

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByMrRobots
onFebruary 22, 2013
from Massachusetts
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Do not purchase this product. The series 9 I received is so plagued with issues (trackpad errors, OS crashes, hard drive problems) that this is one of the worst ways you could invest your money. It certainly has good specs, though, and if it functioned properly I imagine it might be a contender for an average laptop.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.