Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)

ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)

Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 out of 11(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Review 1 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, sexy machine...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bycellotennis
onMarch 26, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: easily slips from hand
I am a most happy camper, thank you so much!
Just wondering for the future;
Would there be a way to manufacture the back just a tiny bit less sexy/less smooth, so it would be easier and more secure to grip? There might just be a way for this compromise to help for those of us who are somewhat clumsy? My other thought is just nit-picking since I have no way of knowing at this point; wondering how the build of the power plug into the machine would withstand the daily grind - given it's super-sleek design?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has excellent screen resolution

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByG3709
onMarch 3, 2014
from Westminster, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: well built, ultra thin
I have this ultrabook for 3 weeks now. So far I have encountered no problem. However, I do have some suggestions. The screen brightness was dimmed too dark automatically in low lighted room. I have to turned off this feature to be able to see the letters. The Samsung softwares that comes with this laptop takes a lot of SSD space: I am left with 72 GB out of 128GB for my files. I know that the partition for OS recovery takes some 20ist GB but 56GB for OS and Apps are a bit much. I believe all the apps amount to 5GB. I would try to delete some softwares and apps to free some spaces. Samsung should offer 256GB or higher storage for i5. Sound from built-in speakers is acceptable. No problem with Wifi either, connection is good and I have experienced no drop. Letters in native resolution are tiny but I have no problem reading them. However, other users might find them too small.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice laptop!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLuv2Tab
onFebruary 14, 2014
from Knoxville, TN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I've had this laptop for about a month and I'm enjoying the speed, nice backlit keyboard and Windows 8. The screen is absolutely beautiful!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product, Steep price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByPsychonomy
onDecember 3, 2013
from Fairfax, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: too expensive
I greatly enjoy this product. It should be expected that there will be scaling issues considering the screen resolution and the fact that it is the first product with a resolution such as this one. I am certain there will be an issue with others software updates and scaling will become a problem, with a recent update instead of allowing a choice for large text size full HD and what have you that was removed and required a little bit of research on my part (consumer) However, that aside the computer is beautiful, great battery life, wonderful performance, low specs however it is all I need for what I do. My only issue are the issues dealing with the operating system. But that is not the fault of Samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Slow, hassel filled piece of junk!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGuineapigsRule
onNovember 13, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This machine is filled horrible problems. Scaling issues, lagging issues, bugs... Just a awful computer. Excellent display though...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByaWriter
onNovember 3, 2013
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am a writer and do most of my work on a desktop machine, but when I am traveling or at conferences, I need a fast, light, elegant device. And that is what the ATIV Book 9 plus is. I love the hi-rez screen and the hefty battery life.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best ultrabook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydekmoooooo
onOctober 17, 2013
from Alexandria, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, design
It has so many features, it's very great, except it would have been great if they have larger size like 15"
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs 8 GB RAM

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByMikeMikey
onOctober 12, 2013
from Houston Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Why does this laptop not offer 8 gb ram as an option, ruins the whole experience!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-4points
7of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect college computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCardiacNik
onSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, extremely fast
As a pre-med student, I spend a lot of time doing school work on a computer in and in-between classes. My old laptop was about 5 years old and the battery life was terrible, so I figured it was time to upgrade. I actually am writing this on my new Ativ Book 9 Plus right now. The overall design of this laptop is incredible. I knew it would be thin, but I didn't realize how thin this computer actually is! The touch screen is very intuitive and has a better response than I've ever dealt with on a computer. The aluminum body makes this feel not only light, but extremely durable. When you have a backpack full of books, this feature is extremely important. I also love the quality of the screen. I wish my desktop PC monitor looked this nice. Even though the graphics card in my desktop is nicer, the HD of the screen just makes that much more difference on this laptop. The picture also seems to be very close to the glass itself and helps make the screen really pop. The mouse pad has been something to get used to (single click as opposed to the right and left click designated buttons I was used to) but the size of it is great. The fan is also very quiet. Sometimes it doesn't even need to be on, but when it does come on, it is extremely quiet.
One problem everyone seems to have is the auto brightness for the screen. It did bother me a little, but since I've turned it off, the screen can get very bright if I want it to. Honestly, the higher brightness setting is brighter than I can handle, so I usually have it at 50-60%.
The performance of this ultrabook is just what I would have expected. I've had 8 different tabs open on Internet Explorer, multiple PDF's open, Microsoft Word 2013, and a YouTube video open and it ran flawlessly. I also love that I can sync my phones screen as a widget type thing on the computer and just keep my phone in my pocket as I use the computer during class. The QHD+ is a cool feature, but is a little ahead of its time right now. I hope that Microsoft will adjust to this so it will be something more useful in the future. This is exactly what I needed and I know this computer is going to be a great companion though my next few years of school.
If you are someone on the go a lot and need a good solid and very fast computer, this is for you. I would definitely recommend this to a friend. I am always impressed by Samsung products and will continue to watch them and use them throughout the years.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+49points
56of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Crippled

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByEVVK
onSeptember 21, 2013
from Europe isn't a country
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: disable secure boot
Cons: Did not meet expectations, uefi
Samsung does not seem to understand that UEFI is a standard, booting other OSes in pure EFI mode doesn't seem to work well. Hopyfully this gets fixed by a firmware ipdate. Disabling the secure boot does not seem to help. Ubuntu for example is only detected with CSM(legacy BIOS compatible mode.) Somehow this system is bundled with software that should not being run outside X labeled gaming consoles. Killer screen however, so it could have potential if the design team only knew how to follow standards, like UEFI.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-19points
19of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is excellent for ever

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysaishop
onSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Slick design and excellent screen resolution . and performance is good.
Audio is also good performance and more were light weight.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost the perfect laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: not enough memory
It's almost the perfect laptop, but limiting it to 4GB of memory really limits this computer. I cannot understand the decision to not support at least 8GB.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
29of 42voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.