Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Laptops
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)

ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)

Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Review 1 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

FAst and lightweight

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 10, 2014
from Miami, FL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, fast, metal casing
Cons: pricey, ssd only 128gb
Pros
Fast, light, metal case, works on WIN 8.1 with no problems, SAMSUNG Support is great
Cons
Bit pricey, 128GB SSD could be bigger, not sure if can be upgraded
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What's not to like?

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Seoul
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, touchscreen - great for hangul
Cons: who doesn't wish for an even lighter device?, difficult to find hdmi adapter abroad
Has been a pleasure using this ultrabook. The touchscreen makes entering foreign languages a breeze, and the high resolution and easy manipulation of photos makes multimedia a pleasure.
Only ran into a problem when I realized accessories might be difficult to find outside of where this product was purchased (USA). In Seoul, at a Samsung service center, I was told I had to buy the HDMI adapter on the internet--they had no such thing in stock there at the service center; same story in Taipei.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

slim and robust

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Worcester, MA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
This laptop is the best I have used in the past 7 years. The slim design makes it easy to carry, the screen is very sharp and bright.
The video connections are micro so some adapters are necessary.
The touchpad needs adjustment when first used but then functions well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop. Display so good, i would kill for.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a wonderful laptop. The design is stunning the mineral ash color is slightly blue in daylight. Along with the polished edges, the inverted wing wing profile of the laptop make it look superb.
In spite of the matte finish, the body still picks up finger oil stains. so to keep it looking uniform, it needs to be wiped down regularly.
I bought this mainly for the display. Resolution of 3200X1800. Viewing angle is 2*pi steradians, i.e the whole half-space. The only bad viewing angle is from behind the screen. Text scaling can become an issue with some programs and some websites when the full resolution is being used. The colors on the display feel very natural.
The SSD is very fast as expected. the webcam has a good response and takes good quality images.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, sexy machine...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 26, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: easily slips from hand
I am a most happy camper, thank you so much!
Just wondering for the future;
Would there be a way to manufacture the back just a tiny bit less sexy/less smooth, so it would be easier and more secure to grip? There might just be a way for this compromise to help for those of us who are somewhat clumsy? My other thought is just nit-picking since I have no way of knowing at this point; wondering how the build of the power plug into the machine would withstand the daily grind - given it's super-sleek design?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has excellent screen resolution

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 3, 2014
from Westminster, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: well built, ultra thin
I have this ultrabook for 3 weeks now. So far I have encountered no problem. However, I do have some suggestions. The screen brightness was dimmed too dark automatically in low lighted room. I have to turned off this feature to be able to see the letters. The Samsung softwares that comes with this laptop takes a lot of SSD space: I am left with 72 GB out of 128GB for my files. I know that the partition for OS recovery takes some 20ist GB but 56GB for OS and Apps are a bit much. I believe all the apps amount to 5GB. I would try to delete some softwares and apps to free some spaces. Samsung should offer 256GB or higher storage for i5. Sound from built-in speakers is acceptable. No problem with Wifi either, connection is good and I have experienced no drop. Letters in native resolution are tiny but I have no problem reading them. However, other users might find them too small.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice laptop!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 14, 2014
from Knoxville, TN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I've had this laptop for about a month and I'm enjoying the speed, nice backlit keyboard and Windows 8. The screen is absolutely beautiful!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really great ultrabook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 6, 2014
from Seattle, WA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Super fast... great performance... super light... and incredible screen resolution. I highly recommend this ultrabook.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ATIV Book 9 Plus

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 2, 2014
from North Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Getting used to Windows 8 has been a chore but using this slim, lightweight Ultrabook to learn this new OS has been a pleasure. Compared to my old laptop, this Samsung product is very fast, has a beautiful display, and it is designed to be mobile; this is what a laptop should be.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product, Steep price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2013
from Fairfax, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: too expensive
I greatly enjoy this product. It should be expected that there will be scaling issues considering the screen resolution and the fact that it is the first product with a resolution such as this one. I am certain there will be an issue with others software updates and scaling will become a problem, with a recent update instead of allowing a choice for large text size full HD and what have you that was removed and required a little bit of research on my part (consumer) However, that aside the computer is beautiful, great battery life, wonderful performance, low specs however it is all I need for what I do. My only issue are the issues dealing with the operating system. But that is not the fault of Samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Slow, hassel filled piece of junk!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This machine is filled horrible problems. Scaling issues, lagging issues, bugs... Just a awful computer. Excellent display though...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
5of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2013
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am a writer and do most of my work on a desktop machine, but when I am traveling or at conferences, I need a fast, light, elegant device. And that is what the ATIV Book 9 plus is. I love the hi-rez screen and the hefty battery life.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best ultrabook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 17, 2013
from Alexandria, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, design
It has so many features, it's very great, except it would have been great if they have larger size like 15"
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs 8 GB RAM

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 12, 2013
from Houston Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Why does this laptop not offer 8 gb ram as an option, ruins the whole experience!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-6points
8of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect college computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, extremely fast
As a pre-med student, I spend a lot of time doing school work on a computer in and in-between classes. My old laptop was about 5 years old and the battery life was terrible, so I figured it was time to upgrade. I actually am writing this on my new Ativ Book 9 Plus right now. The overall design of this laptop is incredible. I knew it would be thin, but I didn't realize how thin this computer actually is! The touch screen is very intuitive and has a better response than I've ever dealt with on a computer. The aluminum body makes this feel not only light, but extremely durable. When you have a backpack full of books, this feature is extremely important. I also love the quality of the screen. I wish my desktop PC monitor looked this nice. Even though the graphics card in my desktop is nicer, the HD of the screen just makes that much more difference on this laptop. The picture also seems to be very close to the glass itself and helps make the screen really pop. The mouse pad has been something to get used to (single click as opposed to the right and left click designated buttons I was used to) but the size of it is great. The fan is also very quiet. Sometimes it doesn't even need to be on, but when it does come on, it is extremely quiet.
One problem everyone seems to have is the auto brightness for the screen. It did bother me a little, but since I've turned it off, the screen can get very bright if I want it to. Honestly, the higher brightness setting is brighter than I can handle, so I usually have it at 50-60%.
The performance of this ultrabook is just what I would have expected. I've had 8 different tabs open on Internet Explorer, multiple PDF's open, Microsoft Word 2013, and a YouTube video open and it ran flawlessly. I also love that I can sync my phones screen as a widget type thing on the computer and just keep my phone in my pocket as I use the computer during class. The QHD+ is a cool feature, but is a little ahead of its time right now. I hope that Microsoft will adjust to this so it will be something more useful in the future. This is exactly what I needed and I know this computer is going to be a great companion though my next few years of school.
If you are someone on the go a lot and need a good solid and very fast computer, this is for you. I would definitely recommend this to a friend. I am always impressed by Samsung products and will continue to watch them and use them throughout the years.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+51points
58of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Crippled

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2013
from Europe isn't a country
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: disable secure boot
Cons: Did not meet expectations, uefi
Samsung does not seem to understand that UEFI is a standard, booting other OSes in pure EFI mode doesn't seem to work well. Hopyfully this gets fixed by a firmware ipdate. Disabling the secure boot does not seem to help. Ubuntu for example is only detected with CSM(legacy BIOS compatible mode.) Somehow this system is bundled with software that should not being run outside X labeled gaming consoles. Killer screen however, so it could have potential if the design team only knew how to follow standards, like UEFI.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-20points
22of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is excellent for ever

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Slick design and excellent screen resolution . and performance is good.
Audio is also good performance and more were light weight.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3" QHD+ Touch / Core™ i5)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost the perfect laptop

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: not enough memory
It's almost the perfect laptop, but limiting it to 4GB of memory really limits this computer. I cannot understand the decision to not support at least 8GB.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
30of 44voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.