Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PN42A450

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

PN42A450

Too much sun interrupting your movie watching? No matter when you watch a SAMSUNG plasma HDTV, you’ll always see crisp, clear images and bright vivid color. Ultra FilterBright™ reduces glare and enhances the contrast ratio in the brightest rooms. This 42” plasma HDTV also comes with more innovative features such as our exclusive 3D technology. Immerse yourself in movies and games and get the ultimate 3D experience with the SAMSUNG PN42A450 plasma HDTV.
Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PN42A450
Review 1 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVegie
onFebruary 5, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I purchased the TV one year ago and everything has been great. I looked at both LCD and Plasma and thought Plasma had the much better color. Samsung was highly rated and I'm glad I made the purchase.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byalaskan
onDecember 7, 2009
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
i looked at alot of tv's even sony's and the things and picture in this tv was by far the best my next tv is a 73 inch samsung wich is again way better then any other brand.......
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most expensive purchase (besides car) and Love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLoveMySamsung33
onOctober 30, 2009
from Florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Before buying the TV I did a lot of research and found this was the best Plasma on the market for the money spent. The picture is super clear and a def. upgrade from my old big tv. I have had no issues to date and I have owned the tv for about 10 months so far.
I would recommend the tv to all of my friends.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung just won't quit

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBrueschey
onMay 12, 2009
from Hontubby, Oklahoma
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I bought this TV in August 2008 and in April it went out because the "Y-Main" went out. It was still under warranty and the guy they sent out was great and even though it took 10 days for the part to come in it was worth it. 500 dollar repair for free. Love the picture. Great for gaming and movies. No problems other than that part, so I gave it a 4 in performance, but it really was no big deal and the repair man said it was rare so have no fear. I plan on buying Samsung products in the future. Baby and toddler friendly :D
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBluegrassStateReviewer
onDecember 28, 2008
from Bluegrass State
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Great TV. Wonderful picture. Easy to set up. Has many features that you can play with to make your viewing experience better (I have not needed to use them). Super happy with the TV and the picture. Nice remote; not too cluttered. How did I ever watch football before this TV?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymanelook
onDecember 23, 2008
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is the best tv. I have had it for a few months and it was wonderfully easy to set up. The picture is amazing. You will not be disappointed with this tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best plasma for its price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 23, 2008
from West Virginia.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought this TV 3months ago and 100% satisfied with it. could'nt think of anything better for this price. I would definately recommend this product . I bet you won't be dissatisfied. you will be amased with its pic quality. If you are in market looking for a plasma/lcd i would definately recommed this product. Ckeck the sound quality you might thisk its bit low. but perfect if you keep the volume average.
Don't think just go and buy this. Its Gr8.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV Bar None

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrondox
onDecember 5, 2008
from Kentucky
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
All around 100 % satisfied with my purchase. I am a miser and hate to spend money so I compared every set out there LCD and Plasma shopped for a few weeks and finally settled on this set, in store comparrisons are hard, this feature that feature salesman trying to get you on high dollar set. Don't let them. This set is GREAT, biggest complaint I saw when reviewing myself was sound quality. Im hard of hearing (my wife says) but sounds great to me and plenty loud never set volume level over 22 in a 25 foot room. BUY IT you wont be sorry...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great HDTV and a super great price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDuckey
onDecember 4, 2008
from Morganton, NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Purchased from HHGreg at a great price and I love it. Plazma has great out of the box settings for standard watching as well as sports.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 4, 2008
from Grand Haven, MI
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is my first flat panel TV, only the second new TV I have ever purchased. The picture is super clear any time of the day. Sound is ok, but we bought a surround sound system shortly after purchasing the TV. Easy setup. I am very happy with it, and video games are alot more fun on it. HD channels are amazingly clear. I love it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PN42A450
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome plama

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysamsungrocks
onNovember 22, 2008
from Louisville Ky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is the first flat screen i have bought. I was standing in the store, looking at the lcd, but the plasma was more crisp, clearer picture, and it didn't fade out when looking at it from an extreme angle. I looked at the 1080p, then the 720p, and i swear no one in the store could tell a difference between the two. So i bought the Samsung 42" plasma 720p. Great tv for first time buyers, like myself. The only thing i didn't like was the sound. If your watching a movie with some bass in it, and you have srs true sound on. You can hear the back of the tvs frame vibrating with the sound of the bass. But.....that is at a extreme volume, and ofcorse anyone who buys this tv, must have a surround sound, so that solves everything. But all in all, awesome tv, i am a samsung fan!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PN42A450
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid product, good picture, not perfect

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDoctorBT
onMay 17, 2009
from Houston, TV
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
We chose to purchase this TV due to its cabinet size vs picture size and the price/feature ratio. The price was right in our range and I've been pleased with the features offered (I would prefer more "old-school" connection options for some of my non-composite/HDMI equipment, but its not a huge issue since I don't need to use that equipment on a regular basis).
The picture is good as long as you are at the recommended minimum viewing distance (~15 ft). Much closer than that and the picture quality deficits (vs a 1080p TV) are definitely noticeable. But I also knew this would be the case before buying the TV so I accept that as a fact of the technology.
However, my largest complaint is that this is the 2nd of this TV that I have owned since the first one developed a significant picture defect about 4 months after purchase. This was apparently due to a problem with one of the circuit boards in the TV. The board was to be replaced but was on a significant back-order so we were able to get a new TV instead (through Best Buy, not Samsumg). I'm hoping the new TV does not have this same issue crop up, we'll see what happens.
Overall, I'd rate this TV a 3.5 of 5.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PN42A450
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjmudd
onDecember 5, 2008
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The picture really stood out to me at the store and even better when I got it home and adjusted it. the only negative thing about the t.v is the sound is not as good as expected. It sounds ok. but better through a home theater system
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PN42A450
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByXodus
onDecember 4, 2008
from Arizona
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Awesome tv, I have it hooked up to HD service as well as a blueray player and the quality of image is great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PN42A450
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disposable Quality

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByToph
onFebruary 27, 2010
from Bethesda, MD
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
I wanted to like the PN42A450, but it has been nothing but a series of problems.
To start with the good, the picture quality can be very high. The size and resolution are just right for sitting several feet back from the set. It displays HD fantastically and also does a good job at displaying SD content. The swivel base is also quite handy.
However, even with the features and specs working to the set's favor, poor quality control has negated most of the enjoyment. From the beginning, the PN42A450 has struggled to tune into HD channels. I have no cable box and rely on the built-in tuner for receiving both SD and HD. Although SD channels work fine, the tuner seems to lose sync with the HD channels with time, causing the audio to become garbled (voices sound alien and robotic). When this happens, switching channels back and forth will solve the problem for about 5 minutes. Every HD channel I receive has exhibits this problem. I called Samsung technical support and was escalated to an engineer who suggested to auto re-program. This solved the problem for a couple days, but sure enough the audio again became garbled. I've had to reprogram the channels several times a week for the past year, and each reprogram takes about 30 minutes. It's very frustrating to have company over to watch a game or a major event and be forced to reprogram the TV for half an hour while everyone looks at a blank screen and misses the event.
Almost like clockwork, right after the one year warranty expired, the panel developed a red bleed around the edges, which is particularly strong on the right side. Blacks in these regions no longer appear black but rather a touch of red. It appears with all input sources and is not affected by any picture settings (adjusting black levels does not help at all).
This is not a TV that you can sit down in front of and enjoy. It's a constant struggle to get it to be watchable.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PN42A450
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.