Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)

A beautiful design and superior picture are just two of the reasons why the SAMSUNG PN50B530 50" plasma HDTV will amaze you. Its design is nothing short of stunning. And e-panel technology only enhances your entertainment experience with glare reduction, smooth fast-motion images, and improved resolution. Plus it’s energy efficient—you’ll enjoy up to 40% in energy savings as compared to last year's models.
Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Review 1 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best purchase ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRizzice
onFebruary 16, 2010
from Boise,ID
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Bought the TV for the family and we loved it one of the best things we have bought. Great picture for gaming my wife and i love playing video games together and this TV is great for the both of us.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Set !!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTK1206
onJanuary 13, 2010
from LaGrange, INDIANA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Has a GREAT picture... Sounds Great.... Delivered to my door. Only thing Ive noticed is a little distortion in the screen (right center) only happens once in a while.... if it dont get worse... Ill be happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySirDukeofFranklin
onJanuary 3, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Our second flat panel is awesome ! The first was an LCD and we were hesitant on going with a plasma , but after careful research found this is the right choice. I would buy this TV again without question !
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I GOT A GOOOOOOOOOOOOOD DEAL.

Byparamoy
onDecember 30, 2009
from TAMPA , FLORIDA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
THIS IS MY FIRST PLASMA TV. ITS SIMPLY SUPERB, GOOD PRODUCT FOR A CHEAP PRICE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydman
onDecember 11, 2009
WOW! Owned a 42 inch Polaroid and could not believe the difference in the two.My new Samsung was easy to set-up and the picture is like being there.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrstoplabe14
onDecember 3, 2009
from Orlando, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I purchased this TV on cyber monday at a great price. At first i was sceptical about making a TV purchase online, but I have never had any problems with Samsung, so I went ahead and made the purchase. This TV not only has a great picture, but it also looks beautiful when off!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Plasma TV at its class

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPrizm
onDecember 1, 2009
from Lawrenceville, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Excellent color and black depth. Provides great home theater experience. It has user friendly setup menu and gives very nice sound even though it has relatively small internal speakers. I definitely recommend this Samsung TV
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Picture - Wonderful Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylogoman
onNovember 28, 2009
from Abita Springs, LA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We spent a lot of time comparing the comments of "experts" and new owners before making this purchase, and we now know that for the price we found the very best deal on the planet.
The picture was stunning right out of the box, and this wasn't our first plasma purchase so we can make that observation with knowledge. Also very easy to set-up. And it has all the inputs you could ever need. But the very most important feature is the quality of the image, and this is where this plasma TV soars! And the Touch of Color style makes for a beautiful product even when the TV is not being used.
OK, the sound isn't grand, but that's a non-issue, especially when you're adding your own speaker system to the package.
If you're undecided I'd say "Go For It!"
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Deal around

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfudtone
onNovember 25, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This set has a beautiful picture and the price is very competitive.
I researched for weeks and this one answered all my questions. Samsung quality discount price. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is the lack of extra features, this is a base model 5 and only really seems to be lacking the side inputs. If you have to have all the bells and whistles then this is not the model for you. If you want a quality tv with a perfect picture this is it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exceptional Return on Investment

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByIAMANAVGUY
onJanuary 15, 2010
from Connecticut
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The PN 50 B 530 plasma with 1080P resolution and more than acceptable black levels make it an extraordinary value. The design of the TV is very appealing with a subtle red trim piece surrounding the entire unit. The stand is very cool with an acrylic pipe that looks like glass. The TV is now wall mounted; floating on the wall to keep it away from curious hands. This display is connected with a component cable to a DVD player and an HDMI cable to an AT&T UVERSE box. The TV has so much going for it with advanced video features such as pixel shift to help prevent burn in, digital noise reduction to reduce ghosting and a scrolling feature to remove images retained in the screen, commonly referred to as "burn in". The scrolling feature is recommended that it be run for 1 hour. I have found after only a few minutes any "burned in" images are gone and the problem is fixed. I have only had to use this feature 2 times in the first month. The digital noise reduction comes with a factory default that is set to auto. By setting the DNR to "high" the picture quality of the channels that were having "noise" is considerably improved. With all of the positives of this unit, the only negatives are the lack of an internet connection for widgets and the audio system. The audio system is producing intermittent, small amounts of distortion. I have tried numerous settings and still cannot fix the problem. Eventually, I will take the optical out of the TV and feed it directly into an all in one speaker mounted under the TV. The lack of an internet connection was never promised and therefore is not a big deal. There are other Samsung models with an internet connection, if one so desires. Because of the recurring audio distortion, it is hard to give the unit a perfect 5 star rating. 4.5 stars is a fair assesment. Overall Samsung has hit the mark with an affordable, outstanding value. I have no regrets about this purchase and I am elated with the results so far. The days of high video performance at a fantastic price are here. Enjoy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bad Decision

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRomG
onFebruary 22, 2010
from Randolph, NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I had originally purchased two Panasonic plasmas at PC Richard, 42 and 50. However, 50 was back ordered. After waiting for more than two weeks I settled on a Samsung 530 since it was the closest model to Pansonic based on the technical specs. Overall the TV produces great colors and excellent picture. One noticeable drawback, and I mean it because I can compare it to my other plasma (Panasonic), is the anti burn in feature and anti glare filter. Both don't exist in this TV. I'm used to the glare by now, but the anti burn in feature does not work unless you use the black and white scroll bars, and you need to use them for at least 10-15 minutes. I did not notice any of these problems on my Panasonic. Accordingly I regret that I rushed into buying a Samsung and did not wait for the true leader in plasmas - Panasonic.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PN50B530 50” 1080p Plasma HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.