Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Review 1 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Big TV for little money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2012
from Georgia
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I believe this is Samsung's last smart TV before their line of Smart TVs. This 50" plasma has a great picture, great sound, and connects to my wifi network (with the usb adapter).
My only complaint is that I can not rewind/ffwd video streams through the TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Plasma

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2012
from OAk Creek WI.
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color
Great picture great sound, easy set up. Compliments from all who view it. They say it's the best picture they have ever seen!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I really do not watch much TV but I really enjoy this set. I love the lack of blur that I had in the 46B860.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

50 inch Plasma, 6500

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 18, 2011
from Herndon, VA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
The plasma TV is a great value compared to the LED TVs which are much more expensive. THe plasma picture is great and the TV has the same features as the LED models.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific TV!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2011
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, image quality!!!
Have had the set for over 6 months now, and love it! It is the first plasma, first flat screen, first HD/BluRay set, first large screen and first 'Net ready set I've ever owned, and all those features, the picture quality, the ease of setting up and so much more have made it a pleasure to own and use. I look forward to many years of service from it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 22, 2011
from Kansas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, high quality, reasonable price
Cons: inputs not as advertised
Very happy with this TV. Beautiful picture and features are excellent. The only negative I could find is that the available inputs are not as advertised. I have an older AV Receiver that does not have HDMI but it is an excellent SQ receiver and I don't want to replace it. The TV is advertised as having 2 component inputs and one composite input. That would have fit my plans nicely except when I received the TV I found that it only had one component input and the composite input shares RCA connectors with the component input so you can't use both at the same time.
Because of that it didn't fit with my original plans for making connections. I still made it work, but I can't control things the way I had hoped. For those with newer HDMI receivers I'm sure this won't be an issue, but it's something to be aware of if you have slightly older equipment.
I'd also like to see an iTunes app at some point to access the itunes library on my computer. Since apple has it's appleTV box my guess is it will never happen.
Other than those two issues I couldn't be happier. It's a fantastic TV, simply gorgeous picture and well worth the money.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 6, 2011
from Ceres, Ca
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Received this as a warranty replacement for a troublesome plasma TV. I have nothing but great words for this set! It's thin awesome color, deep dark blacks, runs cool and looks great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Awesome TV couldn't be happier!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 25, 2011
from Oregon
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
We love our 50 inch Plasma HDTV. We have and will continue to recommend Samsung products everytime we are given the opportunity. A excellent product at a fantastic price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 18, 2011
from Scottsdale, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, internet apps, easy set-up
Cons: none
From taking it out of the box to setting it up was so easy. The picture quality is the best I have seen or had. Watching TV now is like going to the movies. The internet Apps. are great as well.
When i'm watching sports on it,itfeels like i'm at the game or race that i'm watching.
Watching a Blue Ray movie on it is unbelievable.(I have the Samsung 6500 Blue Ray Player) You can see so much detail in the picture and the colors are amazing.
By far the best TV i've had. Samsung never stops amazing me with it's products.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2011
from Albany, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
This is one of the best plasmas on the market. I coupled it with a Samsung 1300 watt 7.1 home theater and it is fantastic.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to set up and use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2011
from Easton, MD
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, easy to use
We found that connecting to our home wireless network was easy and we really enjoy the movie downloads with several services through Apps. Picture and sound are great with really sharp images. I'd like to be able to wirelessly connect Skype video images from my computer but haven't worked how to do that yet. Apparently there is a new Samsung camera that lets you do this demonstrated at the latest CES. We also bought a wireless Blu-Ray DVD player so we can connect our older Samsung 42" HP-S4253 TV to our network to access online movies through Apps.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6500)
4 out of 5(823)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product - Great Features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2011
from Rochester, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, interconnection with other devices
I am thoroughly impressed with this product! The colors are vibrant in both HD and even with non-HD programs or channels. I am also impressed with the contrast in the image. Plasma TV’s ability to generate a “true” black is incredible. The wide selection of input modes has enabled me to connect all of my devices (both new and old) with ease.
I love the Samsung Apps! From the AP News Ticker to Netflix all apps work exceptionally.
I would gladly recommend this Samsung product to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 18, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, good value
Good value. Great picture. Good apps. I really like this TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2010
from Redding,Ca.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Can't go wrong with this TV,Best picture you will find
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gorgeous Picture!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 27, 2010
from New York
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I've had this HD Plasma for about a month and continue to marvel at the stunning quality of the picture. Over both satellite and cable feeds the HD (1080i) image is gorgeous. Can't wait to see how the BluRays appear on it.
The Samsung Apps work great over an Ethernet connection but they could use a few more apps. I also hooked up a HDD via the USB port and can view movies and photos as well as play music.
Overall... a very nice unit.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 17, 2010
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, thin depth, multiple hdmi inputs
Cons: anynet+ needs to be improved to be really useful
First plasma and I'm really happy with it. I've had it now for a month. I'm a long time TV watcher and watch a number of Sci-Fi, Action Adventure Blu-Ray movies. The colors are fantastic and the sharpness of the picture is great. I searched on-line for calibration settings for the picture to improve the factory set colors. I have the TV hooked up with a BD-C7900 and HW-C770BS. The speakers on the TV itself are only good for news programs. You can't go wrong with this set if you're not interested in 3D. My set doesn't buzz at all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2010
from Long Island
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
By know means am I an expert, but let me tell you ...this TV is gorgeous! Blu ray plays wonderfully as does PS3, highly recommend this TV
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 15, 2010
from NYC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I am certainly please with my choice. Blu Ray movies look incredible. Samsung has made some incredible improvements in this displays sound delivery. Internet apps work very nicely and are not sluggish as the previous models. Led and Lcd are good. But Plasma is certainly much better. The 1080p/24 process is excellent. Hdmi and component inputs are top notch. Sure wish they provided S-Video input.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
This was my first plasma. Used it as the centerpiece of a new home theater set up and it performs admirably.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value for price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Most bang for the buck, not to mention, superb quality as well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2011
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: speakers do not deliver toward front.
I don't think the internet is that great. I cannot play games with this TV. I would reccommend buying a surround system too. Overall its a great plasma.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Picture/Excellent Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
We love this TV! It's beautiful, sleek, and has gorgeous picture quality. We couldn't take the jitteriness of the LED TVs, even with the upgraded 240hz. So we took back our 55" LED and purchased this Plasma after learning how thin it is and it's pixel shift. The only negative is that after 6 months of light use (i don't have cable and use the tv for streaming/movies), it died. The picture went dead one day, and the tv would make a clicking sound everytime it tried to start. The repair folks are on their way to fix it. Hopefully this won't happen again after the warranty expires. I recommend this tv for the excellent design/picture quality/features and getting an extended warranty.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Why did it stop?

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2011
from Topeka, KS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, beautiful picture
The TV is awesome. I love the picture and everything I can do with it. Do not like the fact that the AV and Composite cable input (only 1 of) is the exact same thing. You cant have both :/ I also do not like that it just stopped working with HDMI ports and I cannot upgrade it to the firmware upgrade that was supposed to fix the problem because it is already at that firmware. Is there supposed to be another fix they have yet to get out because I would love to be able to use my PS3 and 360 with my TV. I guess it is good that I can still stream movies from my PC. for now
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2011
from Long Beach CA
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, it looks beautiful
I have had my tv for a few weeks now and I'm very happy with it. The hd video is very good and the sd is adequate.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great TELEVISION - applications useless

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2010
from tega cay, sc
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: applications, no pip
I love this television for it's ability to produce a wonderful picture as a great television should. The sound was ok but if you aren't sending the sound through a surround sound system then you aren't hearing the whole picture.
The tv itself is THIN. Way way thin! It's also pretty light compared to that first generation plasma I had. Also it doesn't produce much heat. I had read reviews about clicking sounds and they are true but you only hear that if the volume is at its lowest and only when the picture changes dramatically from one scene to the next. Don't worry about it.
There are plenty of connectivity options for your USB thumb drive, computer (which looks awesome on this thing) DVD or Blue Ray or several other devices.
Where it's lagging or at least seems old compared to newer models is the internet capability and its applications. This thing is dog slow even hardwired to a fast internet connection. There is no browsing. You can find things on Youtube if you have a lot of patience...a LOT of patience. I'm surprised they haven't done a better job with their application side. So basically you probably won't use this feature much.
All in all it's a great television and I think the picture is better than LCD. So only gave this 4 stars because they fell short of delivering a wow product because of the Internet applications.
Whatt? no PIP? And I mean as far as the television goes. You can do picture in picture if you have your computer hooked up.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Plasma I owned to date.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2010
from Tupelo,MS
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, black levels
Cons: image retention
I’m replacing my 50” Panasonic Plasma of two years that still has a great picture and black levels. It was bulky and put off a lot of heat ( you can warm your hands to the heat). After reading allot of reviews and seeing the tv in person at sears. I made my purchase and installed on the wall, preformed setup and connected my Blu-Ray. It was late night at this point but I had to watch a Blu-Ray movie just to test the performance. I played the new Star Trek movie and made some adjustments to the picture. Then began to enjoy the movie, but after a long day at work, installation, and setup. I feel asleep on the sofa and woke up around 6am with the title screen displaying on the screen. I freaked and changed to a full screen channel on Direct Tv HD. I went into the menu and turned on the scrolling feature and let it run all day, that evening I could still see a little bit of IR. I used the scrolling feature again that night when I went to bed. The next morning all IR was gone. I’m sorry for the long story, but this tv will can have IR. The good thing is there are ways around it. Overall I love the picture and black levels, just watch Avatar on Blu-Ray and it will a maze you.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive
Excellent choice for my first plasma tv! Feature packed and very easy to set up.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

happy thus far

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 28, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I've had this model for a little over a week now, and i'm very happy so far. The only issue i've had so far is that it can't seem to access the internet, however i haven't put much time into testing cause i use other devices for streaming. If you want a slim good looking display but don't care about 3D, this is definately a model to look at.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

extremely satisfied

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 8, 2010
from Brooklyn, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My new Samsung PN50C6500 Plasma TV has an outstanding picture and excellent features. Its wight and thickness are vast improvements over plasma tvs of the recent past. The only thing I am critical of is the sound. The sound is weak and tinny. An external speaker system is a must for decent sound. Overall, however, I am happy and satisfied with this tv.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Plasma TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I was originally going to buy the Panasonic G25 but then read about the black level issues and decided that the Samsung was a worthy alternative. It definately has a nice design to it and is way thin. Aside from the aesthetics, the TV performs very well. I have encountered NO buzzing so that's good news. I haven't hooked up a blu-ray yet and therefore cannot comment on how well it handles 24p reproduction. The colors are very accurate and it didn't require much tweaking of the options. No burn in issues. I bought from Amazon and all went well. All in all a solid buy. I gave the overall rating less than excellent just because the price is a bit more than its competetors.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Gorgeous- but loud!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 26, 2010
from San Francisco, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I purchased this TV as a replacement of my existing 50" plasma that was getting a bit old. The picture is vastly improved compared to my previous set: sharper edges, improved motion and color rendering... Samsung definitively upped the bar when it comes to picture quality. Sound is also a vast improvement especially considering the slim form factor, although most users will likely use an external receiver. This said... the TV power supply is VERY noisy- and not only during very bright scenes where the supply is taxed, but also during dark material... The buzzing can hardly be ignored during quiet moments, and is frankly impossibly loud with very bright content... This was a problem with the previous (slim) 8 series, and apparently with the 6500. Samsung Q/A should also include a nominal set noise floor :)
Another point: any screen mode setting is dim but "Dynamic" - normal, film mode and comfort are just too plain dim and dark to be really useful. I expected the set to perform well in any setting, but not really. Maximum brightness is overall lower than some competitors.
I wish I could go up to 4 stars for the overall value, but this loud power supply breaks the deal. This is especially true as the same issue was mentioned on previous slim models, and hasn't been addressed...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HDMI input circuit board stopped working after 1 year

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 21, 2012
from Cumming, GA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, hdmi stopped working
Just out of my warranty, 1 year and 1 month, all the HDMI cable inputs stopped working!!! NOT HAPPY!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.