Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
36 out of 42(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Review 1 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great picture easy to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byl0rdch40s
onDecember 21, 2012
from blanchard,mi
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love the picture quality and features of this tv. Its easy to use and get setup along with other Samsung products . It goes great with samsungs 3d blu ray player and got it synched right up and enjoyed 3d from about 15 minutes out of box.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWalkerz
onSeptember 9, 2012
from Santa Maria, Ca.
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: built in wifi would have been nice
This is my first 3d tv. And after debating with many other options I decided on this one. The price was right up my alley. And after drooling over the picture clarity I finally gave in. At 50 inches the picture was perfect. Next time I'm looking for a 65' inch Samsung and moving this one to my bedroom..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6500)
4 out of 5(823)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byloca2good4u
onSeptember 3, 2012
from elizabeth nj
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
its a great TV picture perfect ,built in speakers sounds great love it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Samsung Tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySamNex
onMay 28, 2012
from Atlanta,Ga
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, 2d => 3d
Cons: not lcd
You must have this awesomeness in your living room!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Updates

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByElmoEOD
onFebruary 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: no internet
easy to update, just wish they would add internet access through TV or Blu-Ray without having to upgrade to a newer model
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHagaran
onDecember 4, 2011
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, 3d great
I really enjoy this tv. I have used it for over a year now and not had any problems with the tv at all. I take good care of it and make sure I do my screen scrolling b/c its a plasma tv. I don't mind taking care of things. The tv does everything great. The 3D is great. I would tell anyone to buy it. All my friends love the tv too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycathydi
onOctober 30, 2011
from Lafayette, La
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
The picture is amazing and the sound is great too! Overall a very good product!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byalc1525
onAugust 7, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: none!
Great tv, but wish it had apps. 3D looks awesome.Recommend this to anyone looking for a 3d tv
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylobo1117
onMay 27, 2011
from Powdersville, SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Have only had it installed for 3 days, but I am totally impressed. Picture quality is awesome, blown away by the clarity in HD. Built-in speakers are near theater quality but without the rear channels or the sub. Played Lord of the Rings in standard and Blu-Ray and the difference will knock you over. 1080p rocks! Haven't bought the 3D package yet, but soon, very soon.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome 3D HDTV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNando80
onMay 7, 2011
from West Palm Beach, Fl
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV has it all!! Best HDTV I've owned so far and the image is crystal clear. The speakers of the TV are very good oppose to some of the reviews posted before. It has different SRS Theatersound feautures that offers different modes like Standard, Music, Movie, Clear voice, and Amplify along with SRS TrusurroundHD and SRSTrudialog. The picture options are also great with the Dynamic mode bringing out the best of HD! It also helps that I have the TV hooked up to my Directv HD DVR box which offers great HD access. Another cool feature is the BDwise option which configures your Blueray or DVD to have best picture option automatically configured. Now onto the 3D option review, so far so good. I actually enjoyed the 3D programming through Directv though I will say some programs are better than others. 3D looked great in the Tahiti Wave program and with my Samsung Rechargable 3D TV Glasses SSG-2200AR and no ghosting issues were present at all with images... At times the 3D looked better than expected and like I said before it depends on the movie or program your watching to see the best out of 3D. I still haven't had a chance to play 3D games on my PS3 but games itself look great on the TV. Also the talk about Plasmas making a buzzing sound is irrevelevant. You basically have to be right by the TV to hear slight sound which sounds similar to electricity flowing but not loud by any means... Overall I love my TV and I feel I got a great buy!!
Update on 3D content feature:
I've gotten the chance to view more programming and play PS3 games in 3D and I have to say I'm really enjoying it! I've played Killzone3, The Fight with the Move motion controls, and NBA2K11 on my PS3 and I have to say I like the depth it brings to the graphics of the game. It makes you appreciate the awesome detail of each of these games better! I've had no issues with the screen freezing because of motion capture because the TV is a Plasma or any ghosting issues watching 3D content... On the contrary I think this TV has an amazing picture and the 3D content looks great! I also saw a critical review over the apps the TV offers. I have not enabled any internet features but at the same time don't see the need to, my PS3 streams movies, music, and so forth...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnimeWorld1818
onApril 6, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Fantastic TV, Very Smart, great size, the price of it is Very worth it, great true Colors & pitcher
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tv Super picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRoycefisherman
onMarch 28, 2011
from Arkansas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, super features
This is a great tv super price great picture a ton of features if you need a tv get this one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an amazing Plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytheh8d
onMarch 11, 2011
from Phoenix
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: built in speakers are kinda weak
i cannot beleive i have this in my living room. this tv is breath taking when paired with the 2200-ar 3D glasses
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydadmo
onMarch 5, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, very large
it was all that i wanted to buy in a tv the other tvs were 500 to 600 more but could u show me the 600 dollar differance
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovin this tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrobert0507
onMarch 1, 2011
from amherst, va
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, amazing picture
compared to the prices on other 3d tvs this was the best deal i could find. I already owned a samsung plasma tv the 2d picture on these tvs are excellent having the option for 3d just makes it better. the 3d quality is high on this tv i know because i know people that own a series 8 led 3d and the 3d quality is just as good on the 680 series plasma. If you want a 3d tv i don't think you can beat this deal. save money and still have 5 star quality.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrvdillon
onFebruary 27, 2011
from Forney, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, looks better than other plasma 3d tv's, 2d to 3d is great
I bought this TV for my master bedroom. It has a great picture and the 3D is excellent. Anyone disappointed by a lack of apps should have bought a different tv as it was obvious it didn't come with them. My Samsung 3D BluRay player has the apps already, so no problem there. When my 65" DLP in the living room dies I will be buying another Samsung 3D tv for that room as well.
The one thing I noticed with the 3D is if there is enough light in the room it can cause some flickering in the glasses. We installed some better curtasins in the room and now we have no problems.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my new tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMonty13
onFebruary 20, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Easy to set up and very easy to go through menu and settings. I haven't bought a tv in a long time but this one is great. Got a great deal on it and the 3d on it is pretty cool.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome 3d

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybradthebrat
onFebruary 9, 2011
from KS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
3d is great and regular hd almost looks 3d at times, anynet is great with bluray and receiver
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNiceone
onFebruary 8, 2011
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: none
Great picture! Nice features. Well worth the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMe2Me2
onJanuary 30, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
This is a replacement for a Sony TV that Best Buy had to replace after trying to fix it 6 times. I love the size for my apartment and the 3D is great. I just watch Monster Vs Aliens with the 2D to 3D option on the TV. Look real good but I was Samsung would let me buy the 3D version since I do not really care fro the Shrek films that I did receive with the TV. (Shrek 3D does look great I just will not rewatch them)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic TV For The Price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHDJohn
onJanuary 24, 2011
from Chichester,NH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: needs adptr for internet
This is my entry into HDTV upgrading from Vacuum Tube. It took quite a lot of looking and questions to decide on a model. From store displays and good info from Sales Clerks it was Samsung hands down.
This Plasma HDTV had the best features for the price and the very best picture quality. Thank You Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, Affordable 3D TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bychingycsp
onJanuary 12, 2011
from Saginaw, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: no samsung apps
This tv was much cheaper than any other 3D i came across and has had great quality. The images are a little dark for some games but the screen can be adjusted to account for that. Also, no issues with screen burning. 3D movies work great! If you're looking to make the jump to 3D make sure to check this tv out. However, be aware that there are no Samsung apps available for this tv. The advertisements where I purchased it were misleading.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Deal Ever!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymnflyboy
onDecember 7, 2010
from Alexandria, MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: best deal/value, full 3d 1080p, deep blacks, vivid picture
Cons: no internet apps
So my old DLP finally died and I needed to get a replacement.
Like the typical savvy x generation shopper first of all I already know a lot about tvs and stay current with technology. That being said I knew that I wanted a 3D capable 1080P tv with a good contrast ratio, these were my minimum desires.
In my search I came across many different options including different manufacturers and various screen types like DLP, LCD with LED, and Plasma. I immediately ruled out DLP because it is lamp driven, makes noise, and they are not as thin. So now it is between LED & Plasma.
I recently helped my parents pick out the Samsung 55" 8000 series 3d led and was very impressed with the tv but did not want to spend that much.
After many grueling hours of research I settled on the 7000 series 55" led and almost made the purchase when I stumbled upon this little beauty... the 680 series plasma.
A local retailer had just recieved a shipment and had a really unbelievable price so much so that I was very skeptical of the performance that I would recieve from the tv.
What a great decision. This tv is really wonderful. Although not quite as crisp as my parents 8000 series LED honestly the difference is negligable. You can truly fine tune this unit with many different white balance adjustments and other features and I feel I have a really wonderful picture. So it doesn't have internet apps. Big deal... most blue rays do and you can use allshare to hook up your laptop.
I highly recommend this tv.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV for the price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytwiztidscorpion
onDecember 3, 2010
from Arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I bought a panasonic viera tv 7 months ago it was a 42 in, great pic but wanted something a little bigger and with 3d so far this tv has exceeded my expectations, the pic is great, i game a lot so i mostly bought this tv for that, 3d gaming looks amazing as well as 3d blu rays, ive experienced minimal ghosting but disappears quickly, i have nothing negative about this tv and pricing is great. highly recommended
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful picture!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydavinci
onNovember 22, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, 3d
Great picture, tv looks styling even when it's off.
50" is huge. 2d to 3d conversion is impressive when your watching a movie like toystory 3. The Conversion is pretty sweet on my xbox 360 games too.
I'm anxious to watch a 3d blue ray.
I was scared to see some temporary ghosting when there is a static image left on the screen. From what I read this is normal, and I've never had anything stay permanently. The ghost image washes away on it's own. Keep your contrast and cell light settings down for the first 100hrs of use. This helps break her in and minimize risk of burn in.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Good Value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjacktown
onNovember 20, 2010
from MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I am pleased with this plasma. The pic is great. I have another smaller plasma samsung tv in my bedroom that I love.
Nothing like a plasma for pic quality.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBoomba
onNovember 10, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: poorly packaged
This television is great for the price. The performance is excellent and works as advertised. 3D movies and games work great with this product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All around great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRetiredLady
onNovember 9, 2010
from Lebanon, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
So far I have found this TV to be worth the money. The picture is clear and the color is magnificent once it has been adjusted. The factory settings were way off.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCHRISTOPHERJ
onNovember 9, 2010
from Greenville, SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Wife found this TV online and went to Best Buy to check out in person. I really wasn't interested in a 3D TV. All I wanted was a large screen 1080P plasma TV. Sales person asked if I had ever actually "looked" at a 3D TV. Told him no, it seemed every time I went shopping, the 3D glasses were no where to be found. He went and got me a pair of glasses and my wife and I were immediately sold on it. I also like the fact that even though my Xbox is NOT 3D, I can hit the 3D button on the remote and "make" it 3D. I am going to eventually get a Plastation 3 since it combines 3D blueray and 3D videogames as well for the cost of a single 3D blueray player alone. I was surpised at the cost of the 3D glasses, but then after thinking about it, they are cheaper than a pair of perscription glasses. TV came with 2 pair of battery operated and I need to get atleast one more pair. I recommend getting the rechargable ones, the non-rechargable batteries only last for 50 hours max. I have owned LCD TV's in past and just wanted to get a bigger TV. I am blown away at how much better the plasma is over the LCD!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Nice TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCH3M1C4L5
onOctober 27, 2010
from Fort Wayne, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This tv is very well rounded and is very nice for the price.
There isnt much to say about this tv other then more then i expected and worth every penny.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygilbean
onOctober 15, 2010
from gig harbor, washington
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: didnt fulfuill all my expectations
great picture but didn't have all the extra feture that i was looking for
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One year later no regrets

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By1peatfor7
onFebruary 27, 2012
from Alpharetta, GA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: motion blur
Great tv, I have no complaints. Plenty of HMDI inputs and easy side panel access to some inputs. I only have an OTA and don't pay for TV. I stream media via HDMI or a USB stick.
The only complaint is motion blur. Anything like a ticker or fast panning is blurry. It doesn't matter if it's live TV or a DVD. it's a faint blur but noticeable. I own a gaming system but it's only 480p so maybe that's why it's never been an issue when playing games.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Plasma 3d model 680 2010 model

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bykirkmythicphone
onJanuary 6, 2012
from Colorado
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: wired ethernet lacks much functionality/apps
Great picture and value. The 3D is excellent as well as the HDTV viewing. I have had this set a year works flawless all year. Set is connected to Wii and two DVD players one 3D all works as expected. Motion action across screen is crisp as opposed to the LED/LCD sets even at 120/240 refresh rates. The plasma technology beats this by a mile.
Speakers could be bigger to product more sound image.
One drawback (minor) the hard wired ethernet connection has very limited applications and functionality when you do connect to the internet. I use my DVD player to replace this function wirelessly with more app's both from Samsung
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better in dark room

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJesito
onDecember 10, 2011
from Rockport, TX
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: very reflective screen
I originally had this TV in my living room and the light from the room reflected on the TV glass which was very annoying to me. I have since moved it into my bedroom and I have really learned to appreciate it there.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the price!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJoker1269
onOctober 16, 2011
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: no apps, the 3d can be blurry at times.
I got the TV because it had 3D and the kit came with it. Plus the price was great. Everything on the TV is amazing but there are no apps, the All Share doesn't seem to support Mac's and the 3D can get blurry at times. But there are more pro's than cons on this TV so i'm happy.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good for the buck and capabilities.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysmsnguser
onMay 29, 2011
from Nassau, New York
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, ethernet wired
Cons: no internet videos movies, no internet browising
review on 5/29/2011, bought 2/1/2001.
I decide for plasma because the price, my original intention was a 46 Led 3d, but very expense, I also change my requirements, since I want more screen to play multiplayer split screen, so with a 50" I have 4x25" in multiplayer game.
The image and sound are great. I am very satisfied with 3d quality. It also is thin like any LCD tv. dlna works. usb to see photo works, couldn't play videos
Here are my bad points:
- The screen is burned with a stripe in each side due watching channels that don't fill the whole screen. These don't go away. It should have a option to move the place where image appear on these channels, like all to left, or to right.
- after playing multiplayer it keep the 2 lines(cross) that split screen in 4, for a while, later on they disappear.
- No internet from TV, no sites that provide videos/movies.
- difficult to find 3d glasses to buy more.
I am using with the base, which I like.
I was able to adapt a support for the camera that capture moviment for a game console.
Going with a cheaper model, but very good, made the savings to buy a new console furniture, dvd 3d, hdmi cables
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's a really great vale for the price!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNapoleon357
onFebruary 9, 2011
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no apps
The only thing holding it back from a five star rating is the fact that apps aren't compatible.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tv for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPaecelvoemisuc
onFebruary 5, 2011
from Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, 3d
Cons: high retention
Tv itself is beautiful and picture is good (after you calibrate it) however retention is a huge issue on the unit. I have a panasonic plasma aswell and the burn in is nearly as much as this one. But burn ins on this tv do go away after about 5 min Hense I gave this tv 4 out of 5 stars.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Entry Level 1080p 3D TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bypoofyhairguy
onFebruary 4, 2011
from Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, 3d support
Cons: no 24p support
Pros:
-Great picture quality
-Amazing colors
-Deep blacks
-3D support equal to top of the line models for this year
-Very little reflections
Cons:
-This TV lacks Cinema Smooth, so no 24p support
-Only one firmware update, does not get support top models get
Overall this TV provides amazing picture quality and top of the line 3D support for a good price. It is not the best 3D TV on the market and it lacks premium features like apps or 24p support, but for the money it is an amazing value because it does come through where it counts.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByUneekone
onNovember 11, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Really love this television. Has a great picture... but I should have purchased the one with apps. Recently I got the Bluray with apps and now I have the best of both worlds.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good TV for the price.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByC680
onOctober 19, 2010
Pros: Realistic color, dnla compliant.
Cons: terrible sound., no internet connectivity.
Visually this TV looks great. I haven't tried the 3d and don't really care to. The colors are very accurate with a little tuning out of the box. It allows you to make expert changes as well which I quite like. Does a great job of handling faster pictures and gaming. The sound on it is really quite poor (I had a 40" LCD from Samsung that blew this one away.) It is easy to use, looks great and reasonably priced. The ability to link it to DNLA compliant products is always a nice touch but it is slightly annoying that this TV has no internet connectivity whatsoever, I can't even check the weather. Overall a great TV that I am happy to recommend to friends and family.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Problems with 3D and burn-in

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bylowboydrvr
onDecember 16, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Bought this TV even after reading some of the reviews which listed problems with the 3D not staying snynced and the burn-in if screen stays stationary for more than 30 seconds thinking those issues were probably just flukes. When after nine months, those issues remained. I could correct the burn-in issue by using the menu and running the cross-pattern burn thing but got tired of doing that all the time. Made playing my XBox a real pain. And the 3D would cut in and out about every 20-40 seconds (glasses when turn yellow, then normal) which made watching a 3D movie impractical. I took it back to BB using their BuyBack program, and bought a smaller LED TV.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bytaeb
onJuly 20, 2011
from tx
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: expensive
Cons: Poor quality
not working right
when the new tv gets here
we will see!!!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Broken coaxial connector mars otherwise great HDTV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byredlineduck
onFebruary 9, 2011
from Tigard, Oregon
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, contrast, features
Cons: defective coaxial connector
The coaxial cable connector (the twist-on kind) broke the first day I used my new Samsung 680 series television because it was improperly installed (bad design?) by the factory. After I returned the TV for replacement, the Samsung 680 has worked admirably with better than average HDTV picture quality and sound. Along with terrific image brightness and contrast, this set is loaded with features including 3D capability (when you purchase pricey shutter 3D glasses). While the HD picture quality is very good from all HD sources, the non-HD picture is average or below compared to LCD TVs and some other plasma sets I've researched. Overall, after replacing the set due to a defective coaxial connector, I've found this Samsung 680 series to be an excellent set especially when displaying HD sources.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't let the LAN port fool you!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byparadoc
onFebruary 6, 2011
from Anchorage, Alaska
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no streaming apps
The LAN port on this TV is for decoration. Ok, maybe not just for decoration, but it might as well be. It is only for downloading firmware and connecting to your PC to import pictures. It is NOT for streaming apps like Netflix or HULU. It is an easy thing to put into the system and Samsung was ill advised not to. I will never buy another Samsung TV.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

BUZZZZZ

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byneo8820
onNovember 26, 2010
from Louisville, KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, good 3d picture when it works
Cons: buzzing, 3d losses sync, image retention
I'm on my second pn50c680 in two weeks. Both have had a loud buzzing sound that is audible even with the volume at a comfortable level. While watching a show with mostly dialog or a movie with a quiet scene the buzzing is all you'll be paying attention to.
In addition to the buzzing, image retention seems to be a big deal with this TV. This is my first plasma but it seems to me like pausing on a screen for 15 seconds should not lead to image retention that takes 5 minutes to go away.
The picture is good, the speakers leave much to be desired and the 3d glasses (SSG-2100AB) constantly go out of sync which makes the 3d effect disappear unless you put tape over the sensor on the glasses. There is much promise to this TV but several annoying symptoms I'm not sure I can live with.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad experience

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byfyrmedic48
onDecember 15, 2011
from CIncinnati, Ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I have only owned this TV for 8 months and since then I have had 5 repairs on it. FIrst the video went out, then it would power on and off by itself, then finally the audio went out. Great value for the money but you get what you pay for. ALso in hindsight, the control on the side are impossible to see in the dark. It looks nice that you cant see them when watching TV but not so great when you are trying to use them in a dimly lit room.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 680 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

burn in problem

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bymetocable
onMay 16, 2011
from Wilmington, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
if you are watching a channel that displays their network on the screen, or a sports game that displays the score constantly the image gets burned into the screen and when you change the channel you can still see it for quite a while. I had a fujitsu plasma and never had this problem. Sorry Samsun but I dont recommend this tv.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.