Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
3
40 out of 50(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Review 1 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV! Love all the Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 29, 2012
from North Richland Hills, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: did not include built in wifi
Amazing TV. I would love to have one in every room of my house. Picture Quality and sound are Outstanding and the color is Absolutely Brilliant.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Samsung HDTV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
My Samsung DLP finally gave out and I decided to stick with Samsung and go with the good reviews on this model plasma. I have had no problems whatsoever. Crystal clear and great blacks. I would recommend to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2012
from Schoolcraft, MI
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great picture in HD or digital. Sound could be improved but for small speakers the sound is good.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
24" Widescreen LCD Monitor
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What's not to love?

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 22, 2012
from NC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The TV is super thin, light-weight, and crystal clear display. The ability to connect to the network is HUGE! I can play videos, music, and displays pictures from my local NAS, PC, or even from remote services like Amazon, Hulu, Vudu, etc.
It has a great display no matter what angle you sit at (yes, that is because it is plasma, but this TV does a great job at it) and the size makes it wonderful for most rooms.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

spectacular picturequality, no glare ,

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2011
from Fairfax, VA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, deep aeathetically breathtaking high definition
All other things being equal, Plasma is the finest quality picture available, and this Samsung model is the very best of the best, spectacular, images crystal clear, yet warm and deep. Watching HDX video is an audio-visual feast.
There is only one aspect of this amazing product that I do not like: the internet tv, like the internet available through our samsung blue ray player, has no parental controls. That is a real bummer with minor children in the house, given the grotesque and disturbing content one can find. On the other hand, I have yet to find an internet television service that has filtering or parental controls. So, in my mind, there is no reason (yet) to look for a different mfg.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture and the features I wanted

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2011
from Newark, DE
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
This tv has the features i want and a quality picture. I can connect through HDMI the cable box and blueray. I connected a network cable directly to the tv, some I could always count on the best internet connection when viewing online programming. I have the samsung sound bar and it works great with the tv. Very happy!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Great...nothing else said

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 26, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great for everything, including gaming, even compared to lcd and led..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV I've Ever Owned!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 26, 2011
from HTX
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, functionality, picture quality
Cons: set-up
Interface needs work, set up is painful. Need more interactive web log in capability. Overall, incredible, it has the best picture I've ever seen, hands down. The 3D function is insane! Last night I streamed a live widespread panic show in 3D, plugging my lap top into the VGA jack. The stream was weak, but it upconverts anyhthing to 3D, sports, animal shows and concerts are the best. Almost better than going to a show!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great value for the money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 24, 2011
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have the PN50C8000 for one month already. What can I say, it’s amazing. Switching from top of the line VIZIO LED this one is a big difference. Rich black color, crisp picture, plenty of picture adjustments you can play with. I still haven’t done any calibration but I don’t thing it needs one. Colors are amazing even in a bright room. No reflection on the screen at all. I enjoy watching movies streamed directly from my PC over home network and USB drive (something Vizio don’t have). Did not have a chance to watch 3D since I don’t have the glasses yet, but that is Beach Camera fault (the store I bought the TV from ) hot Samsung. All I know it should be better than Vizio.
I only wish that PVR (personal video recording) was enable on this model, or may be it is and I don’t know how to use it.
I will highly recommend this TV to anyone who wish to have a top of the line Tv in his home. The next think I will buy from Samsung is a home theater receiver when the budget allows it.
Keep-up the good work Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C5900)
4.4 out of 5(130)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 12, 2011
from Foothill Ranch, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Pros: Realistic color, fantastic resolution, rich feature set
I purchased this HDTV in February and just connected up my new Samsung BD-C6900 3D Blu-ray player this weekend. Shrek 3D was awesome and with incredible visual impact. I bought a plasma to get cinema quality performance from my home movie viewing. I find plasma to be easier on the eyes than LCD TVs inaddition to having blacker blacks and no blur on moving objects in movies or video games. This Samsung 8000 series TV is top notch with all the bells and whistles.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6900)
4.2 out of 5(249)
 
 
 
3D Active Glasses
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 12, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Amazing picture quality! Thin profile! Internet apps!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First 1080p Tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 2, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: could come with some complementary 3d glasses!!!
This is my first 1080p Tv, I have two other samsung LCD's in my house but this tv is amazing. It definitely lives up to the hype I read about in the reviews that I researched before making the decision to go with Plasma rather than LED.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No buyers remorse - Awesome TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 6, 2011
from Missouri
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, value, design
I debated buying a new tv for the last couple of years. I had a 32-inch Phillips LCD that had a good HD picture but when I moved into my house 4 years ago it was obvious how small it was. I finally decided to to go with a plasma set after investigating the picture quality of LCD vs Plasma sets. The plasmas definitely have a superior picture at a better price. I think the new LED LCD's are over hyped.
I looked at the top of the line Panasonic plasma tv that was actually rated a little better than this set but I like the design of the Samsung better. Plus it was cheaper.
The picture quality of this tv is AWESOME. Like reviews of this tv say, I think it's best to turn off the Judder Canceller feature. With it set to "Smooth" the picture looks too real. Almost like you're on the set watching them film the show.
This tv has a ton of features that I'll probably never use. The widgets and apps are kind of nice but it would be nice if you could turn off the display when using the apps (Pandora etc..) to help prevent screen burn issues.
I have noticed some image retention issues with channel logos and after watching espn for a while. The ghosted images do fade after a short period of time. I've heard that this issue is worst in the first 200 hours of use and I've only got about 100 hours on the set. I've actually sent an email to one of the networks requesting that they add some transparency to their network logo to help alleviate the issue.
One drawback is that, according to the user manual, using the optical audio output on the tv only outputs 2-channel audio when set to external sources. It would be nice if the tv would output at
All in all I'm very happy with this tv and I can't believe I waited so long to get a new one. I would definitely recommend this tv.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful picture and smart apps

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 27, 2011
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Love the Samsung apps that are integrated into the interface.
Having used the 3d much as there is limited content, but the 2D to 3D mode is actually quite effective.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect except for...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2011
from Colorado
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
This the TV is awesome. The picture is great with great features. The one and only problem I have is the residual burn in. This TV does leave the imprint of still things on the screen such as the scoreboard from watching sports, ect. But don't worry it goes away as soon as you start watching something else.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2011
from Kissimmee, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I would recommend the samsung tv to anyone who wants to watch a great tv with great features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV on the market, but not without flaws...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, dark blacks, amazing video processing, motion dejudder, unmatched picture quality, enough options to satisfy any videophile, great rendering of sd and hd programming, plenty of inputs, online capability with netflix hulu vudu and mo, thin and beautiful
Cons: some 3d viewing issues, no motion dejudder in game mode, frequent temporary burn in
Really a beautiful piece of technology. Picture quality unlike anything I've ever seen, beautiful design, and more features than any one person could ever want.
The moment I decided the picture quality was unmatched? Transformers 2 daylight forest battle scene in Blu Ray with motion dejudder "on"(I personally love the motion dejudder option. It takes some getting used to, but during action movies there is no cooler feature. It makes certain video games way better looking as well).
The moment I decided the features could surpass the expectations of even the most demanding user? When I plugged my external USB hard drive directly into the TV and watched some TV show files right from the hard drive with zero trouble. The interface is wonderful and super easy to navigate.
TV design is about what you'd expect from a modern high level plasma. The only difference being that this TV is extremely thin (2-3 inches?) when compared to other brands.
I have only a couple complaints about this TV and they are fairly minor for the most part. Game Mode needs to be more easily accessible and it needs to NOT turn off motion dejudder when reverting back to "regular mode". Game Mode also needs to be able to handle motion dejudder processing. I realize this adds to the video input lag, but Samsung needs to jump on this and figure out a way. The feature is just way too cool to be left out.
My other issue with this TV is burn in. Unfortunately, burn in occur's even after 15 mins or less of fixed images being on the screen. The image retention is never permanent and goes away after 10-30 mins of regular motion occurring on the screen. The slight retention can get annoying though, and is easily viewable during white or black scenes following the fixed image.
My last issue with the TV is in regards to 3D viewing. Ghosting is a bit more common than I expected and slightly disappointing. I'm not entirely convinced that the TV is to blame for this though. I seem to be having some sort of issue with my Samsung 3D glasses as well. While watching one of many 3D movies/shows I have tested, a scene will suddenly become blurry, only to correct itself after some time, or if I am to pause the scene or turn off the glasses then turn them back on.
It's really quite a strange issue and I plan on having Samsung come check it out, because it makes viewing 3D programming unpleasant at times. Another problem with 3D viewing is motion dejudder. At times, motion dejudder will just stop working while viewing 3D programming. It's another strange malfunctioning that I can't figure out a reason for. When it occur's, I am forced to turn the motion dejudder off, then back on again, only to have it possibly turn itself off again during viewing.
Overall, the TV is wonderful and beautiful and I would recommend it to anyone looking to buy a top of the line TV. It beats out any other LED LCD, DLP, or Plasma on the market, including Panasonic's latest models. Black levels are incredible (only very slightly worse than the Panasonic), color accuracy is reference quality, and video processing is unmatched.
Every single person I have shown this TV to was absolutely blown away by the picture quality. It's so good that it can literally sell itself to people who didn't even plan on buying a new TV.
As for value, there is NO better value for top of the line TV's. Trust me, I have spent MANY hours researching.
I'd also like to point out the awesomeness of this TV's menu interface. Very easy to navigate with unlimited options and a very beautiful/stylish design.
One last thing I forgot to mention. 2D to 3D viewing is cool, but nowhere near actual 3D programing. More of a gimmick than anything, but still a cool feature.
Oh ya, I have yet to experience any buzzing that is audible over anything except the very lowest of volumes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2011
from Seattle
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: need a wireless adapter
Love the Blacks, Picture is great, Only downside I wish the wireless was built in instead of buying the adapter.
I bought the package and the 3D blueray player is wireless so ran the internet through the player
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding TV, with some (minor) flaws

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2010
from Piscataway, NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, best benefit for the cost
Cons: no skype, internet@tv needs more apps
I've got one of these and have to say that there's some buzz when the TV is muted and I'm within 10cm from the panel. That said, who wants to watch a muted TV with his eyes practically glued to the screen? Seriously, the buzz absolutely goes away when you're one step away from the screen...
Retention occurs frequently: CNN's bottom line, sports' dashboard (score, timing, etc), static images from some PS3 games (e.g., Gran Turismo 5's lap counter, timing clock, etc)... However, it's just a matter of switching channels and the after image disappears. Just make sure you activate the burn in protection in the menu.
I can't say how happy I am with my choice. This Plasma panel is much cheaper than the LED-backlit LCDs and it performs much better when comparing image quality. (I compared this PNC8000 with the UNC8000 and Panasonic's VT25 at a local store and there's no doubt that this TV is the best.)
The only downside so far is the lack of Skype, which is not available in the Plasma models since Samsung obviously wants to make money with its LED counterparts. (I tried to talk to their support but nobody gave me a convincing argument -- just a plain "where did you read that this model supports Skype?".) I kind of dislike the Internet@TV implementation: Netflix is better on the PS3, and there's so little content aside from that. Pandora just can't be used, otherwise you'll end up with screen burn in, and Explore 3D looks nice, but there's just 3 trailers so far -- the PlayStation Network has much more options.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive, right out of the box!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 8, 2010
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, simple set-up
To begin, I am very impressed with the Samsung PN50C8000. It was impressively easy and quick to set up and worked flawlessly right out of the box. The manual and on-screen set up guides allow a regular non-technical consumer to install their TV easily.
The picture is amazing! It is really beautiful! It required no fine tuning to make it better as it was correctly adjusted from the beginning. Attaching the TV to a Samsung-brand accessory like a Blu-Ray player is super easy as it self-configures itself to accept the new Samsung device even detecting which HDMI input it is connected to. I imagine that it might be more difficult to connect a non-Samsung accessory.
I read some negative reviews about an audible hum from some plasma TVs. I have reasonably good ears and can't hear any noise/hum coming from the Samsung PN50C8000. I also read negative reviews about the TV producing excessive heat. This is not an issue either. The TV has never exceeded slightly warm to the touch.
Internet connectivity was also impressively easy. I used a hard-wired Ethernet connection to provide maximum possible speed and the TV again self-configured itself in connecting to my home network.
As for the viewing experience, it is outstanding. There is no visible motion judder or issues with fast movement. It's all perfect. I have limited experience with the 3-D as there are few 3-D titles available to purchase so I've only viewed the free cartoon 3-D disc that came with TV so I will withhold comments on 3-D until I view more. I did note that my 3-D viewing experience was much better when sitting really close to the TV, but there are too many variables with the active shutter glasses and viewing a cartoon versus viewing a regular movie.
In summary, you can't go wrong with the Samsung PN50C8000. It's a great product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great 3D experience

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2010
from Gresham
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: a lot of temp. image retention
Great TV. 2D to 3D is well done. 3D movies play flawlessly. Lovely features. Sound is good for only 2 little speakers. Love the style of the TV.
Only con: Easy IR (image retention), although this seems to go away with the scrolling white and black bar function. No permanate burn in seen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C5900)
4.4 out of 5(130)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2010
from Anaheim, Ca
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, network connectivity, 3d
Cons: one analog input
This TV had all the features I was looking for. I have been playing Call of Duty: Black-Ops in 3D with the Sony Playstation 3 and it looks truly amazing. The only downside was it only had one analog input. This is only a temporary problem because I was already planning on buying an AV receiver to have all my devices go through one HDMI. I really enjoy the network connectivity. I can stream from other devices on the network and yesterday just discovered I can "push" media from Windows media player to the TV. I just ordered the WMN100B wall mount to hang it like it was art. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with the TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV Ever!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 21, 2010
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, apps, internet connectivity
We found ourselves watching more and more shows through the internet, and decided that our next TV should be able to accommodate our internet viewing. We love the ease of using Netflix, Vudu, and other online streaming video services.
The picture is the absolute best, and I compared many different brands and models before making this purchase. The picture is bright enough for us to view even with large picture windows letting all the light possible into our den.
I hope that the online services continue to get better, as Hulu+ does not match up to the regular Hulu yet. I also think that the apps need to get better, sometimes they don't update, such as the NFL game scores from Yahoo.
We can't wait to try out the 3D feature as well, we have not purchased any 3D movies yet.
Over all, I can't imagine much more that I would want in a new TV, I'm sure that the technology will get better, but for the price and features my family is more than happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Everything we needed in a plasma TV. Works great, looks great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

no PIP button on remote...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2010
from Northeast Ohio
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: no pip button
love this tv in every way, but the one thing they fell short on was not having a PIP button on the remote.... other than that, great tv
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Plasma Set

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2010
from Oklahoma City, Ok
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, tremendous picture and resolution
Cons: possible excessive heat
After several weeks of research we settled on the Samsung PN50C8000 TV. So far, we could not be happier with our choice. We have this TV connected to the Samsung 6800 Blu Ray player and to Direct TV for their 3D content. We also have a Harman Kardon 2600 A/V receiver which also supports the new 1.4 HDMI protocol. We also have the Polk 7.1 surround system. We were concered at first that the set picture was to dark as we have been used to backlit LCD/LED models but our concerns were unfounded. The picture is excellent with great uniformity throughout. We had heard about burn-in, buzzing, and other problems but so far everything is going well. We do not run any 4:3 content, do not pause the Blu Ray, and have the pixel shift enabled on the set. The only possible problem is heat but customer service has told us this heat is normal for most plasmas. Highly recommended set.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

extremely satisfied

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2010
from SF, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
I bought this TV after extensive research, and I found that I have got the best HDTV available in the market. This TV occupies 2nd spot on CNet for the best HDTV overall. I did not buy it for 3D, but the 2D viewing itself is excellent.
If you are looking for a real good TV, go for this one.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, 3d, excellent contrast, network interface built in, samsung pc share manager, nice remote
Cons: tips forward too easily
This is the first HDTV I have owned so I don't have anything to compare it to. I bought this TV because of the good reviews. I think it is excellent. The picture is excellent. I love the 3D; the picture is crystal clear, much better than 3D movies I have seen in the theater. I looks nice as well, I like how it is so thin. I really like the remote, it is thin and stylish and the numbers light up when you press a button. I do have one complaint: The stand is designed in such a way as it is relatively easy to tip the TV over in the forward direction, impossible in the backward direction. They did include a lanyard to attach from the back of the TV to the cabinet or wall; It works very well to keep the TV from falling forward. I think it would have been nicer if they would have designed the stand differently or at least given the choice between two different stands.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Love clear, realistic picture. Higher quality picuture than LED. I felt depth in scene when I am watching. Love this TV so far. Other reviews say you need to be cautious about burn-in for first 100 hours but it's been a week and we had no problem so far. Need to wait and see what electric bill would be.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am soooo satisfied.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2010
I have had this television for about 2 weeks now, and have no buyer's regret whatsoever. Absolutely every single time I turn this television on, I am again delighted that I purchased it. The clarity is unsurpassed. The colors are the most vibrant. The 3D is excellent (as is the 2D to 3D, which really makes watching non-3D media even more entertaining). I shopped around quite a bit before making this purchase as, for me, it was a big purchase. I would wholeheartedly recommend buying this television.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Plasma Ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 29, 2010
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
You can't beat the picture quality on this tv. There is no way a lcd or led can even compete. Enough said.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

STILL WAITING FOR REPAIRS!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 13, 2010
from Tallahassee, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My new TV completely died (as in won't turn on) on September 2nd, less than a week after I received it, and the repairman is still waiting for parts to arrive from Samsung. Not sure what happened to the first review I wrote - it is not on the Samsung website.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best TV I Ever Had!

By
onSeptember 10, 2010
from PHILADELPHIA, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The 3D 50" Plasma TV works great, vibriant color, clear and unbelievable sharp picture compare to the Sony LCD HDMI TV that I had. Enjoying it a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV set

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 28, 2010
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Only had the unit a few days, but what an unbelievable picture. The feature set is unparalleled for any other 2010 Plasma unit available. In fact, the options and configuration choices can get a bit overwhelming at first. The 2D --> 3D up-conversion works better than I expected. I have not yet watched a 3D movie or broadcast, but can't wait to watch the Yankees win the World Series (thumbs crossed) in 3D.
The 2D display is noticeably better than any of the 2D only sets available. Personally I think the slightly darker image of a plasma is a plus and they shouldn't be working so hard to match the LCD/LED sets as far as brightness. The only time you'd use those high levels are in a store display anyway. There is no question that at first glance, in a store, you're going to be drawn more to a LED lit LCD when they are side by side, but in actual use, you can't match the contrast, sharpness and coloring on this plasma.
I do have one feature request, and it could easily be done via firmware upgrade: Profiles (I'd say 3 or 4 at least) that include all picture, sound, eco, etc settings. I know there is the CAL-DAY and CAL-NIGHT, but to be able to quickly choose a profile, say 3D-BlueRay, 2D-BlueRay, 3D-TV, 2D-TV, even breaking those down into night and day profiles, would be very helpful. Since audio/speaker settings change depending on the source, etc, having these profiles would be MUCH easier.
I had to to give it 3 stars for value for two reasons: 1) No included 3D glasses. As this price point, at least one included pair would have been expected, even Panasonic includes one pair. 2) It's just an expensive set. Once you add in the 3D glasses, 3D Blue-Ray, extended warranty, it's a huge chunk of change, even from a discounted retailer. I know 3D is pretty new on the market so it draw a premium price, but at a slightly lower price point I wouldn't have hesitated. I'm still happy I pulled the trigger.
The only other item/feature I would have liked to see is a more thorough and detailed users manual. Something that delved into each setting (what it does, how/why one would use it, what consequences of different changes would be on other settings, etc.) The user manual for this unit, in fact all Samsung products, certainly lacks these details. To compensate, their level 2 tech support is very knowledgeable and has units on hand to work with.
Overall, this gets a strong recommendation from me. Keep in mind I've only had it a few days, but I keep being more and more impressed the more I use it and the more I tinker with the settings.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent price/performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2010
from Tampa, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I would have purchased this TV, even if not for the 3D capabilities. That was just an added bonus. The 3D view with the active shutter glasses is the best I've seen so far. The regular 2D viewing is also up there with the best LED & LCD sets in the industry.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 26, 2010
I love this TV. It has great black levels without losing details. Seriously the blacks get as dark as the bezel in a darkened room. Great color accuracy. Handles motion like a champ even converting 2D to 3D. Menus are very responsive and even the widgets are snappy. Samsung Apps/Netflix works great too. I am really having fun with the 2D to 3D conversion watching sports and playing video games. I watched Avatar the other night, and even though it wasn't released on 3D Blu ray, the built in converter made it look great. I was nervous about Burn In/ Image Retention, but so far watching 2.39:1 movies hasn't caused any issues that don't take care of themselves switching video sources. I need to say that there is a buzz sound, but its pretty quiet. Can't hear it at all with any audible tv volume. My only major beef with this set is the Audio Return Channel and Optical Out only send 2 channel (stereo) audio unless its source is broadcast. So, my PS3 and cable box will only play dolby directly through my receiver - which in my opinion makes ARC pointless. I hope they change that in an upcoming firmware patch. This TV replaced a UN55B8000 because I was unhappy with its blacks losing details,motion blur, flashlight effect, and sluggish menus and widgets. I experience none of these problems with this new set. I couldn't be happier.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
34of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My First Samsung TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 14, 2012
from NYC / North NJ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color
Cons: technical problems
have had a couple of major issues with this product since i bought the TV - the Picture just goes out while watching the TV - a blackout and then someone has to go behind the TV and give it a little "Tap" for the picture to reappear.
this has happened twice - and they had to replace a MotherBoard in the TV and the technician even said that even though the Picture quality is Great (just like on any other Plasmas) it has lot of technical problems with it.
i would recommend a LED TV to someone that is looking into buying a Samsung TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
Pros: Bright display
Cons: price was to high.
Had this TV now almost a year and I am pleased with the picture. A joy to watch sporting events and Blue Ray movies!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 22, 2011
from California
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: *internet features are unrefined
This TV has top-notch picture quality and features for an excellent value. The picture quality is amazing, glare is low, and visibility is great in a lighted room most of the time. But visibility is poor when using the Samsung Apps feature because the TV doesn't allow you to use anything but the stock settings when you're using an App, such as Netflix or Hulu. This issue makes Samsung's streaming-video apps second rate, if not almost useless, and muddy looking. It also defeats one of the main reasons the TV stands out among its peers: its customization capabilities, which outside of the Samsung Apps context allow you to get a beautiful picture. If you also have a PS3, XBox 360, or other streaming-capable device, then this issue with Samsung Apps will not affect you when you use those devices instead.
The Android Samsung Remote app works great, allowing you to use your phone as a fully functional remote. Phone or no phone, the remote does, however, lack a QWERTY keyboard, which makes typing info into the Samsung Apps frustrating and time consuming.
The 1" thickness is nice for wall mounting, and when not wall mounted, the swivel stand works well and looks slick and discreet.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture quality, but 3D needs ALOT of improvements!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2011
from Coppell, Texas
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, great picture quality, got mine with a package deal, be nice if tv's came with 1 or 2 pairs of glasses
Cons: Did not meet expectations, get hot being a plasma, 2d <--3d conversion is pointless, not much 3d effects with movies, 3d needs major improvements, poor 3d quality, nothing comes or jumps out from the screen, does not come with glasses
Ok well i have had this paticular plasma almost a year, i got with a package deal that included, (50inch 3D plasma, 3D blu-ray player model BD-C5900, 3D starter kit model SSG-2100AB with 3D movie-Monster vs Aliens). Whill the picture is really good and have deep black levels. I have noticed a few FLAWS with this tv 1) The tv does get pretty hot an makes alot of heat if you feel the back panel. 2) The 3D feature is NOT that great, an to be honest there it not that much 3D effects with this tv. I have watched these movies in 3D (Shrek 1-4, Avatar 3D) have not noticed any 3D effects or nothing that just jumps out or leaps off the screen close to your face. I even have the BETTER 3D glasses, the (SSG-2200AR) set that are full lensed an rechargeable which i like, unlike the battery sets that are half lensed so you get less 3D effects. what's up with that? Its DISSAPOINTING to pay lots of money for this new technology an you can't even enjoy 3D. Now the 2D <-->3D conversion is completely pointless as there is no 3D effects of any kind or no real 3D effects. I have the tried the picure correction an adjusting the depth to the minus side but to no avail. Also when you watch movies the tv does have some (burn-in or image retention) from the movies, like you can see the (stop, play, rewind, fast foward buttons) an some of the movie display which is also dissapointing. Plasmas do suffer from that problem. Not sure if the 2011 models are any better but i seriously dout it. It seems to me that companies are trying to put more emphasis on what the tv CAN DO, as what it's actually suppose to do. I would like to see some improvements with the 3D feature, an maybe sometime down the road , Samsung will have better 3D effects with images that would (ACTUALLY) come out from the screen or you can almost touch.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Breath taking Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 19, 2011
from Milwaukee, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, sharp picture
Cons: 3d glasses extra
Really stunning picture!!
The infinate adjustability is best in class. Deep black levels and bright crisp picture. I have had the TV for 2 months now and really am looking forward to having a professional Calibration which will only make the picture that much better!
3D is amazing even with factory settings! Viewed 3D Dispicable Me on Blu-Ray which was better than any theater 3D. Also watched a 3D Special from Time Warner Cable which wasn't as good (due to bandwidth limitations) not true 1080p, but still respectable 3D. And I used the 2D - 3D conversion on a football game and it was perfect. Sharp clean picture with smooth motion and no picsalization.
The price is a bit high. But with the picture adjustability and the Internet applications a better overall Plasma than the Panasonic
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

PN50C8000 Plasma Review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2011
from Branford , CT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
I have waited along time to purchase a high definition TV. I was orignally looking at the LED TV but was sold on the picture quality this television delivers. I especially love the 3D picture.
Kudos to Samsung for this.
Thank you,
Brian
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tv but it has its flaws

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 14, 2010
from Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: image retention possible burn in, the remote
I love this tv picture quality is amazing and so is the 3D but it does have its problems like image retention. the first time i got it, i notice, if i left it on a channel for five min a the logo would stay retained in the tv. other than that great tv
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Shrek Starter Kit (Two 3D Glasses & First 3 Shrek Movies)
4.3 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C5900)
4.4 out of 5(130)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great TV although IR is Apparent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2010
from Louisville, KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: image retention
The TV produces some of the best pictures I have seen on any flat panel TV. In addition the internet capabilities and 3D experience make this TV very enjoyable. However, and this is a small however...there are times when image retention (IR) becomes apparent. I have not had any issues with images becoming permanent so it is not that big of a deal yet. Samsung does provide good image retention prevention although the fact that this is necessary is an issue. Other than that, the TV is great. One of my best purchases.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 21, 2010
from SoCal
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, great movie apps
Cons: some motion "juttering"
Purchased in early November (2010) and have been very pleased. between Netflix, Vudu, Cinemanow and my tv providers movie channel options, I have just about any movie I want on demand. The 2d -> 3d conversion is nothing special and a waste of time, but 3d movies are incredible and when someone comes to my house the first thing they're surprised by is how natural the colors look on this set. Verizon did a college football game on tv and it looked to gimmicky and actually detracted from the enjoyment of the game rather than enhanced it; however, 3d movies such as "cloudy with a chance of meatballs" and "how to train your dragon" looked incredible in true 3D (as opposed to 2d -> 3d conversion). The tv has surpassed my expectations. The Vudu application has been an added bonus, and has HD quality movies; however, you want to have internet service of 9mbps or better for best quality
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent picture quality

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 20, 2010
from ny
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, internet availability with existing servers
Cons: insufficient inputs
I have had this TV for 2 days now and am very satisfied with it except for one annoying factor. I have a large A/V set up which has older units with composite outputs. I also have a receiver which can switch component signals and composite signals. HOWEVER this TV has only ONE composite/component input-you either get one or the other. I based my selection of the TV on the published specs which specified 2 component and one composite inputs. I now have to make a switch to switch between my two types of outputs !!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc™ Player
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exceeds Expectations!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2010
from Louisiana, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Have used my C8000 plasma for about a month and am delighted with the picture quality. I purchased this model because I had heard that it had one of the best 2D pictures available. There is not much in the way of 3D content out there so I have not used that feature much, but what I have seen shows lots of promise. I have been using the ability to connect to the internet (with the optional LAN adapter) more than I ever thought I would. The sound quality is about what you would expect from a television that is less than 2 inches thick. Remote control functions well and I find it easy to move around the multitude of features available.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C7900)
4 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happy I guess

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2010
from Princeton, New Jersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Since this is my first large screen Plasma, I have no comparisons that I can make. I have two 32 inch LCD TV's from Samsung which I have no problems with. All features seem to be ok, Picture is excellent but I get a few out foscus pictures when I change channels but I read that could be caused by cable equipment. I have not set-up my media pc yet and I have connected to the internet yet. Overall very satistied,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great TV and value for the money!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 24, 2010
from North Liberty, Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I really like the quality of the picture on my Plasma PN 50C 8000! The colors are clear and representative of the actual/true colors. I like the self- calibration feature. I am having some difficulty using the "screen fit" feature. This doesn't seem to work. As a result, some channels do not provide a full screen and I am concerned about burn-in, so have been using "zoom1"
on these channels rather than screen fit.
Delong
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Burn In

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2011
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I love the Samsung PN50C8000 Plasma 3D set, but the burn in was a surprise! The "burn in prevention" feature was on and it still has "burn in". I box this set, brand new out of the box in August 13, 2011 and just two months later, I can see burn in. This is the only disappointing thing about this set. I do not play video games and only watch sporting events or news. I actually went to buy a LCD or LED TV, but the salesman convinced me that the Plasma would give me the best picture and that was what I was looking for, especially since I was replacing my older Plasma with a new one!! If I had to purchase this set again, I may have reservations about doing so!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
SSG-2200AR
3.7 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Keep Looking

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2011
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, burn-in problems
I have to say that after owning this TV for a month, it's just average. While playing a movie or program, it's good (not as sharp as other TVs I've seen). But, the burn-in is driving me crazy. I can watch 3 minutes of a SD broadcast and then notice the shadow it causes on my screen for the next half hour, during dark scenes.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2011
from md,usa
buzzing noise
i broke sound out jack 1 day after i bought
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Picture Quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2010
from Bakersfield, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Therre is a bubble that appears around a head or object as it moves accross the screen. It's very distracting. Still screens are spectacular.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Inaccurate Description on Samsung Website

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 29, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Description on Samsung website states "Brushed Titanium Touch of Color" for this model as well as the 8000 and 9000 Series LED's. However, the finish on this plasma is NOT the same as on the LED's. The finish on the plasma is a much darker grey.
Also, the manual channel and volume controls (on the tv set) look great but do not function consistently. Similarly, the design of the remote control looks cool but is not very user-friendly. In addition, some channels have a distracting distortion across the top of the screen. Otherwise, tv seems to have good picture and sound.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ghosting problem

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 22, 2010
from Massachusetts
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This tv is fantastic for blue-ray movies and HD TV but on standard def and slow motion replays of HD there is a ton of ghosting around moving images. It is very distracting. I upgraded from a Samsung DLP that I loved so I'm a Samsung guy at heart but I"m pretty disappointed with this TV for the price. I have the latest firmware. Hopefully a future firmware can fix the ghosting. I use Pandora through the audio return channel to the receiver. That works well and sounds great on the receiver. Don't have the 3d glasses yet so can't comment on that. I"m going to try to play with some of the setting to fix the ghosting but shouldn't have to at the price. If I can get it fixed update my review
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Filled with regret

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 25, 2013
from KY
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This was a bad investment. Look up "pink banding" on the web and you'll see why. I'm done with Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor screen quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2011
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: thin design
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, burn-in, juddering
I have been a Samsung devotee for years, but this TV has left me rather soured. Despite following very carefully the break-in procedure for plasmas, my TV has continual issues with burn-in and ghost images. Additionally, the TV suffers from motion-juddering that endless settings manipulation does not solve.
I went for the plasma over LCD for the truer blacks and sharper pinpoints, and I expected that Samsung would put out a product with high-enough quality to not suffer from the issues we've all known plasma to have for some time. But, blacks don't look so true with ghosted images criss-crossing the background. Now, I'm left disappointed and chastised in my commitment to Samsung. Going forward, I will certainly be rethinking my loyalty and recommendations.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for 50" Class (49.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great TV ruined by a loud buzzing noise

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2010
from Wisconsin
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, great apps
Cons: loud buzzing noise
If it weren't for the loud buzzing, I would be very happy with this television. Instead, the whole viewing experience is ruined by this noise. I exchanged the first TV, but the second one has the same problem. If I pause the programming, I can hear the buzzing 30 feet away. What a shame! What a hassle!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.