Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV

Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
5 stars
75
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
80 out of 81(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Review 1 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2013
from Portland
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
this tv is great for its price etc. I will say you cant get any applications though!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Great TV it easy to use great picture and images are perfect for our living room.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing and worth the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2012
from Raleigh, NC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I got this T.V. for just before last thanksgiving. I was a little circumspect to begin with, that I got a plasma T.V. in the age of LCD's and LED's. But this T.V outdid my expectations and it gives a crystal clear HD experience. I also have a 3D blu ray player, and I love the 3D experience. It offers you three HDMI ports, so that gives you the flexibility to add a blu ray player, X BOX 360 and a home theater system. The only drawback I would say would be that this T.V is only 720p. But based on the reviews that I read before buying, 720p and 1080p difference only matters when you go above 55". You also need to be careful while transporting it to hold it straight always, since it is a plasma. Overally totally happy with my T.V for the price that I paid.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Active Glasses 2011 SSG-3050GB (Battery Operated)
4.7 out of 5(48)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excelent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
i had this tv now for over a year and the picture awesome looks like it just came out of the box
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OLDER MODEL-STILL AVAILABLE

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 20, 2012
from Allen,Tx
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, great pic at 6-8 feet
Cons: speaker sound quality lacking
FOR A 720P 51" I WOULD RATE IT AT 90%.
TOO BAD THE NEWER UNITS ARE SO PROBLEMATIC, THE EXPENSIVE ONES.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE my plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: the heat that comes off it
I previously had a 42" LCD 1080 tv. I was a little skeptical about the 720 for the plasma. I have to say, it's incredible. The picture is so much better than my 1080 LCD. The sound quality is fantastic. It's been over a year, and my husband and boys run the xbox constantly and we haven't had any problems with burn in at all. The 3D is a nice feature. We don't use it often, but it's nice to have when we want to. I am SOLD on the Samsung name; I just recently purchased a 3D home theater system by Samsung and it synced perfectly with my tv. The tv remote even runs the theater system without having to program it. The only con I would give it is the amount of heat that comes off it...but we run it a lot.
I won't go back to any other brand.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

51 inch 3d tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2012
from New Port Richey, Fl
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Have had tv for a few months now excellent picture.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great picture and cheap

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
the picture is great. ive never had a problem w/ and it was cheap
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 18, 2012
from Houston, TX
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love this TV, and I love the 3D feature. Great design.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beat out LED and LCD offerings

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 20, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I was going to buy a 3D TV, that was a given but what I didn't expect was to find this model cheaper than any LED and LCD that I was looking at. I love the color quality and 3D looks great on this. I paid a lot less and spent the extra on 3D movies and more glasses.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first 3D and what a deal , But!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 29, 2012
from Phoenix AZ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no build in wifi
they could fit this tv with a built in wi-fi not make u buy additional hardware ! in rest is the best TV i ever had
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best upgrade i didnt plan

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 14, 2012
from bradenton,florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I was looking for a new TV at Christmas. The local store ran out,so i checked on line.This one was a little more than i was planning on spending, but it turned out to be great. The 3D is excellent,even though i was not looking for that. The TV is very nice.I would not trade now for anything.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 11, 2012
from BROWNSVILLE, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
great features and loved the size of the screen and the brightness and picture of the tv
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new baby!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2012
from Virginia Beach, VA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
i absolutely love my new tv...this is me and my boyfriend's new baby! lol i got it for a good price and love that it comes with the 3D capabilities. the picture is fantastic and every time i turn it on and watch it, it's like the first day i brought it home and watched it for the first time. it fit perfectly on the stand that we have and we did have to move the couch back some but it fills the room nicely.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great looking picture!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 11, 2012
from erie,pa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
love the 3D.Good clear picture. i have alot of samsung products and hope to have many more.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Overall I love everything about this tv including different screen and sound settings based on what you are viewing and/or listening too. The only complaint I have is every so often when I turn it on, it does not recognize our U-verse (cable) service. I only have to turn it off and on a time or two, and it is fine, but just inconvenient. I was also very impressed with the quality of materials used to make it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

quality product for a great price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 21, 2012
from NY
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
My daughter's set went and I treated them to this plasma - the picture is great from any angle, the sound is good quality - the whole family is happy with the set
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Impressed This Flat Screen

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 21, 2012
from Summertown, TN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I had a 40" LCD, but i wanted to upgrade. I went back and forth between Plasma and LCD. After viewing this 51" Plasma compared to the competitors LCD's & Plasmas of the same size... I have come to the conclusion that Samsung has a far more superior Picture and Sound than the others.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice TV and can not beat the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 20, 2012
from Its only cold here half the time
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good 3d
Everything on this tv works and viewed my first 3d movie. The 3d movie reminded me and was similar to looking through the old time view finders that was around many years ago:)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bargain for the money!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2012
from radlciff
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, bright picture
Not everyone can afford to spend thousands of dollars on a 3d tv. That is why i am so glad that samsung has produced a high quality product that i have the ability to afford. I would recomend this tv to the masses.The tv is ginormous and 3d to boot. So don't get hung up on 720p aspect.The picture quality is amazing and in my opinion the colors are a lot more vibrant than my 1080p tv. samsung corporate office has also treated my family very well and i appreciate it when someone takes time to listen and understand my concerns. Bravo Samsung the Tunsil family will be lifelong customers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
PN51D490A1D
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an amazing picture!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2012
from West Palm Beach, Fl 33412
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no headphone feature
I own 2 other Samsung tv's, but they do not feature 3-D and they are not Plasma.The picture quality on this tv blows the other 2 away. What an amazing difference. I did have to purchase the 3-D glasses seperately but they were well worth the extra money. This website helped me find and purchase the correct ones. My only disappointment was to find out there is no way to use headphones with this tv. I have a living room and a den, this tv is in the den and the volume from the tv from the living room carries. Otherwise it's a 5 star all the way around.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2012
from Colorado
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: needs to come equipped with the qwerty remote
Very Pleased with the New 51" Plasma TV. Easy setup but really needs the qwerty romote. The sign up and sign in to Smart TV is quite cumbersome with the provided remote. Otherwise a great product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Plasma TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2012
from Houston, Tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I never had a flat screen tv before. I purchase the Plasma TV and I love the quality. I mostly enjoy the "51" screen it makes me feel like I'm at the movie. I greatly recommend this Plasma Tv to my friends, family and many more.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a must have

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2012
from PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
this tv is for serious videophiles , excellent viewing pleasure.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2012
from Billings, Mt.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV blows away the competition in value and quality!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My First HDTV and I LOVE it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2012
from Tampa, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The TV I bought is slightly different than this one, it being a 51" 1080p system that was a bundled package that included a separate blu-ray player and glasses. I bought this TV as a present to myself this last holiday season, upgrading FINALLY from a 42" bulky CRT TV, and I couldn't be happier! The picture is great, sound quality is awesome even at low levels, and I can finally watch HD movies! And people were telling me the horror stories about plasma TVs (running hot, using more power, picture burn in), but I haven't had any of these problems. One thing I did to avoid the burn-in in particular was to set my screen brightness to 50%, which was a recurring recommendation from all the research I did prior on plasmas, but I have to see the picture looks great all the same!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the Sceptics...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 7, 2012
from Martinsville, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, amazing 3d, energy efficient
Cons: burn in possibility with plasma
I looked for a 3D tv on a budget. I done ALOT of research before deciding on this t.v. The 720p may deter alot of people but I had a 42" 1080p Toshiba before this one and I can't tell a difference between the two. The only drawback to this t.v. is the plasma which constantly has me worried about "burn in" but it does have burn in reduction in the menu and you use the "p-size" button to make the picture fit on the enitre screen. The 3D is amazing, especially when its 3D native. The 2D to 3D conversion is good but no where near close to the true 3D on blu-ray 3D's or games on 3D. Hope this helps those that are on the fence. It is a great t.v. for the price and it will not dissapoint
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great... well priced 3DTV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 31, 2011
from Nashville, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Yeah, it may not have all the Smart TV apps (but that's what my blu ray player is for) but for the price, it can't be beat. The picture is incredible... and where it's actually higher than the 720p spec (an almost "off" size if you will) it actually accepts 1080p content and downscales it slightly.
I love this TV... even if I did have to buy it twice (my son threw a toy and broke my first one within one day of me owning it... fun)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV.... Good job Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2011
from Malone, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, no blur sports
Way better picture than LCD/LED. I don't know why Plasma TVs have gotten the bad rap other than they were pushed into the market before they were really ready. I would recommend this TV to anyone. I would give it 6 stars if I could. I can watch sports with no blur.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2011
from Kalamazoo, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I have so far really enjoyed this t.v. The 3D option is better than expected, and I've been very impressed. I like the picture and sound is also very good. It took a little work getting out of the box due to it's size, really need two people, set up took a few minutes, but when it was finished was very pleased. The value is good, found it at what I would call a great price and so far very satisfied.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Intro Level 3D TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 24, 2011
from Southern Minnesota
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, 3d
This TV is a great option if you're looking to get into 3D for not too much money.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW, what an awesome tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2011
from Shreveport,la
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color, Bright display, Durable
This tv is nothing short of the greatest purchase ever. I couldn't be happier with it. The picture quality is second to none. It is like having a movie theater in our house.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2011
from Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
No negatives yet. Waiting to use my 3D glasses.
Love the swivel base. No problem to setup and the picture in HD is as good as in the store. Definite A-one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WHAT A TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV was bought for the kids playroom and it fits perfectly. The sceen is bright and the picture looks perfect. When paired with the samsung 3D player its like your at the movies!!. Price point was right on and set up was a simple and fast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

51" Class (51.0" Diag.)3D Plasma 490 Series TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 14, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, pip, pc connection, pc speaker input
3D quality is fantastic, and blue ray unbelievable.
Also reflects to much interior light, just have to be in a dark room....
PIP on the remote once again would be nice, and PIP for all sources.
Other than that it ROCKS!
Also you include all accessories that work with the product
instead of having to search for them.
Glasses, Speakers, etc...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2011
from Huntsville
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
My first 3d tv and it is amazing for the price that i spent for it! well worthit!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good product just missing WIFI

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2011
from Chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: missing wifi
Really happy with this purchase First 3D system and its great
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 26, 2011
from easton, pa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, perfect
Love this TV. great price and performance. Vivid colors. crisp picture.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST PRICE FOR A GREAT PLASMA

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
from ID
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
CLEAR CLEAN PIC. I WOULD PICK A PLASMA OVER AN LCD ANYDAY
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Television

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
from Olean, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I just purchased this television recently and it is unbelievable. It features a great picture and it's price is unbelievable. I'd recommend this to anyone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 21, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, 3d
Cons: no wireless capabilities, no apps
This tv is great the picture is perfect and brigth and the 3d with the samsung 3d glasses is good. the only flaw is that it is not internet connectable, other than that its perfect for the price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to set up, easy to use.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def
Clear and concise instructions. Includes electronic version stored in the TV's firmware. Does all it claims. No disapointments yet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Out of the Box, the Display was phenomenal!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2011
from Franklin, MA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no side panel standard audio connections
Before purchasing my Samsung PN51D490A1D I researched many products from many manufacturers. In the stores I could not believe the quality of the display. Even though it is only a 720P rated Plasma, one would be hard pressed to see the difference between this Plasma and a 1080P Plasma, LCD or LED from any other manufacturer. I am highly impressed! Sound quality is also quite good considering the slimline frame and minimal space for speakers. No it doesn't have surround sound, but is quite acceptable. Would have liked an SPDIF and standard audio connector on the side panel, but other than that this product is excellent.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Battery Operated Active Glasses for 2011 Samsung 3D TVs
4.4 out of 5(52)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing HDTV with 3D

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: needs more connections
The best TV for the value
720p
HDTV
3D
I hope this Tv last's as long as my old 42" plasma enhanced def TV does. Bought my last TV in 2004 and it is still kicking.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2011
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Most inexpensive TV I have purchased, & by far the best Quality!! Love Samsung
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

unbelievable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
When I saw this television at the store I could not believe my eyes. The price was unbelievably low for such an awesome television. The 3D performance is unbelievable, it seems you can put your hand in the movie and touch the actors. I believe it should have on board wifi, but never the less its still a great purchase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

51" Plsama TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2011
from NJ
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none yet
This TV for the price I would reccommend to anyone buying a TV on a budget. I will do a follow up review in a couple of months to let you know if I feel the same.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best tv ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2011
from Lake Worth florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Best tv phone so round sound ever Best prices in the market
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2011
from Tuscaloosa, AL ROLL TIDE!!!
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Beautiful picture, Fantastic sound... and that's just for the first day. Can't wait to explore all the features and the 3D experience. Got it in a bundle with a BluRay and 2 pairs of 3D glases!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Solstice™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reno, NV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 4, 2011
from Reno, NV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, 3d
This tv is thee best 3d tv for the value. The color is amazing and the active 3d aspect is immensely better than the theaters!! And for the price, it's a must buy!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 4, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Samsung is the best brand I've ever owned. All three of my TVs are samsung, my phone is samsung, and my Blu-Ray player is samsung. I love samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 4, 2011
from new orleans
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love it I can watch 3D movies in my own home now
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Rechargeable Glasses for 2011 Samsung 3D TVs
4.5 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-D6500)
4.2 out of 5(490)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2011
from Kennewick
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
This T.V is awesome! The screen is nice and big, it's overall features are user friendly.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OMG! The picture on my 1080 channels are poppin off the screen!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, low energy consumption
Cons: as per my review
I would have liked the tv to still have rca cable hookup, audio OUT option. Now i have to go buy a new reciever/home theater as well. :-(
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 25, 2011
from Kansas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I love My new TV only thing that its missing is screws to go on TV mount
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 19, 2011
from NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, great value for the money
I have gone from a Sony 42 to this 51 plasma my goodness what a differance. I can see the scores as they go across the bottom of the screen. After a month of using I still am enjopying it and believe this was a great value for my money. Only wish it had 1080P
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 18, 2011
from Hsv. Al
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great tv .Excellent value,picture,sound. design. You cant go wrong buying this product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this tv.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2011
from deep south
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
love this tv. I run a tv shop and work on them all day. samsung has the best built sets. this set has a better picture than panasonics best plasma. panasonic sets are not as bright or colorful as the samsung. so go get one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best 3DTV I ever had

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2011
from El Cajon, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, 3d, 1in bezel
Cons: no smart tv
It may only be 720p, but the picture quality seems to a lot more than that. Since we mostly use this TV at night to watch late night movies and shows, this Plasma 3DTV is perfect for our use. I would love to have the Smart TV feature in it but since I acquired Logitech Google TV and connected my PS3 in it, it was sufficient enough to our needs.
The design also impresses me. With the 1 inch bezel, the viewing area is a lot more bigger than those average HDTVs. I was also able to get QAM tuning for HD channels.
I'd love to get more Samsung TV and devices if they keep up the excellent jobs they're doing to their own products.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
BD-P1600
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome...just awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 2, 2011
from Mass
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Awesome tv right out of the box...easy to set up, easy to use. Fabulous features, great picture quality, and wicked 3d graphics....so thrilled with my purchase!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for 51" Class (51.0" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

INCREDIBLE TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 27, 2011