Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV

Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
58 out of 63(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Review 1 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I take it back!! I can connect to Netflix!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 12, 2013
from mississippi
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: netflix and hbo go, updating features, apps, was able to change my ip address of my tv
Cons: had to adjust my tv ip address manually to 8 8 8 8
I called Samsung which has an awesome after the sale help, and they told me to go to my tv networking and manually put in the ip address of 8 8 8 8 and now I can connect to netflix!!! I love this tv with all it's features and the picture is beautiful and now I'm pleased as pie!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV We have ever owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2013
from Baltimore
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
We have this TV in our family room. It provides wonderful HD and 3D shows/movies.
We frequently use the SmartHub for Facebook and Pandora, and occasionally for other web features.
Very easy setup
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
LN37C539F1H
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome TV gorgeous picture

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2012
from Ny
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: can't acess amazon instant video's
ONLY drawback is Amazon instant video not available on this model. Which is a real bummer! Wish Samsung would address. Otherwise one of the best looking TV's we've ever owned.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2012
from Oregon
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I always been samsung fan but this tv takes you to whole new level, i love it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Plasma 8000 Smart is Samsung at it's best!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 3, 2012
from St. Augustine Florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: should have gone bigger!
Samsung has done it again! The new Samsung Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV must be see to be believed! Sure I can tell you how it's got to be one of the best Plasma HDTV out there! That the picture quality is absolutely incredible! An the 3D is so realistic, it's like your there!
Plus all the cool features it has! Even that the new design would be a great addition to any room! But until you see it yourself, it's just talk and specs! I looked everywhere for something better! Talked to the HDTV guy's at the big store's, read the reviews and comparisons! I learned a lot, and still ended up back at Samsung for the best! I've had a great history with Samsung and recommend there products to anyone! Now I can add this new Samsung Plasma 8000 Smart HDTV as one of my best Samsung recommendations! Go take a look for yourself!
I can highly recommend it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Active Glasses for 2010 Samsung 3D TVs
3.5 out of 5(31)
 
 
 
Samsung Sunburst™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
4.2 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
4.7 out of 5(54)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product overall

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 25, 2012
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: none
I'm glad, I made the right decision. I purchased this TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 4, 2012
from NC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
i have had this tv for over 6 months now and i see no flaws. great overall picture and features. very easy set-up. i highly recommend this television
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Near Perfection

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 1, 2012
from Utica, NY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The picture on this TV is amazing - easily among the best that I have seen among all other plasma's. The colors are rich and vibrant. Samsung has put together a really nice television here at an attractive price, packed with lots of features and a stunning picture.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd to none

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 3, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight, features and flexibility
Cons: that i don't have two of these
I've had this TV for a couple of weeks only and already I know I've made a great choice. The picture quality is great, the sound is very good and my kids love the smart apps feature. We finally saw a 3D movie on this set and we were blown away; not to mention the sporting events I tend to watch are more enjoyable with this TV. Samsung has hit a home run with this set.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 21, 2012
from ct
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Best TV I ever had in my house , very clean and great sound. The price was worth every penny.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Look no more

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 17, 2012
from Fort Wayne, IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I am super picky when it comes to picture quality. If you want the absolute best picture then this TV is for You. I have put this up against the best LED's out there and it just does not compare. No motion blur, no artifacts, no blooming and best of all beautiful blacks. It does really well in bright rooms. It was much brighter then I expected. No problems with glare at all. It really is a beautiful TV. It's been one of the top rated TV's the last two years. So quit wasting your time you won't be upset. The average LED TV's that the average guy can afford can't beat this TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 13, 2012
from St. Louis, MO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Purchased this after reading great reviews on several consumer sites. The picture and sound quality are superb. The Smart and 3D features were nice to haves, but getting to appreciate them more.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect picture super 3d experience

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 8, 2012
from Miami Fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This tv has a super 3d image and quality pictures.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

51" 3D Plasma Smart TV is GREAT!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 7, 2012
from South Carolina
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, Built-in speakers, Bright display, very thin bezel more screen to watch
The performance is excellent. The options with a Smart TV are really great! I can connect to my wireless LAN easily. We really are enjoying this TV and recommend it highly to anyone interested in top of the line. The plasma picture is great and the color is wonderful! The best I have seen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 6, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Excellent TV.. great potential with better firmware!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2012
from Queens, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I never owned plasma TV before having been warned about all of the problems. I purchased the TV in October after I read all of the reviews and they were in general excellent. There is I believe a break in period and after about 2 weeks I noticed a great improvement in the picture, the colors were more realistic and the pictures clarity greatly improved. However, the picture does depend on the source and the HD quality of your cable box. It does vary even with Blue Ray discs. But, this is not a problem with the TV as some have stated in some of the user reviews I have read. I also believe some users do not read the cautions or warnings. Do not try to place the TV face down. If you do it may effect the picture. Also, plasmas do give off a lot of heat so it needs a room for ventilation. It may shut down. So heed what the manual tells you. Overall, great TV for a reasonable price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

State of the art, top of the line Plasma TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2012
Pros: design, quality, features, price
I replaced my old Samsung 46'' Led TV (not even a year old) with this beautiful 51'' inch model PN51D8000FF. My daughter is happy with my old TV. I was sadly mistaken to think picture quality couldn't get much better. After researching multiple manufacturers and compairing LED/Plasma TV's, I came to conclusion for the price, features, quality and the design this TV is the best bang for your $$$. You may agree or disagree, don't take my word for it! Just go to your local retailer and take peak!!!
The only negative thing I have to say about this TV, when playing movie's off an external harddrive, the .vob files don't play smooth back to back. The TV keeps having to load the next segment to continue playback, which takes a couple of seconds. Hopefully Samsung will fix this problem with the next Generation of TV's.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy web browsing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2011
from Spring, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: not enough free apps
The SMART TV has a crystal clear picture and is easy to setup and operate. However, I was expecting to see more free Apps.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2011
from Indianapolis, Indiana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
The picture is good and the size is perfect .The rack mount is required for a secure installation.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2011
from Fresno, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
The D8000 has been all that I expected. I researched many different TVs and a number of different manufacturers before making my decision.
The picture quality is excellent and has met my expectations
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Fantastic 2D & 3D along with Internet access and a host of aps!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2011
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
We bought a similar 63 inch plasma. This one has the same excellent quality. The setup was easier since I am familiar now with Samsung's programming. I recommend this plasma TV with confidence.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product --

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Now have to get the kids away from it ...LOL on Race Day
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far so good!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 18, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: 3d features, qwerty remote
Cons: none yet! let's hope never! haha
Had my TV for about a week now and it's been pretty good so far! Still getting used to a lot of the features and all that stuff but WOWW, so much to learn. Loving the Smart Hub, 3D features and the look of the TV. Had an issue with pairing the qwerty remote at first but quickly found out how to remedy the situation in the "Troubleshooting Guide" on the product support site. Still have to try and figure out the qwerty remote features, looks a bit complicating but nothing that a little time and effort can't correct. First TV showed up damaged but Dell QUICKLY sent me a brand new replacement, so I guess that doesn't fit into the review of the TV besides giving Dell a quick GOOD plug here in my review, haha. I'll update my review should something change, but so far so good! Thanks Samsung, another GREAT product! :-)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-D5500)
4.4 out of 5(374)
 
 
 
3D Active Glasses 2011 SSG-3050GB (Battery Operated)
4.7 out of 5(48)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a lot of extrays

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2011
from spring hill
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: no 3d glasses with top on line tv set
It is a beautiful tv. But no 3d glasses with top of the line tv.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung PN51D8000 Plasma TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2011
from Jersey City, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, features
It was always going to be a Plasma TV but Panasonic or Samsung. Did a lot of checking reviews between the two and Samsung won out. Not disappointed at all with the final choice as the TV (picture, sound, features and internet connectivity) is excellent. Would definitely recommend.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2011
from NY
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
After having this TV since July 2011, I have been very pleased with this product, I have to admit, though I was excited by the internet apps and having 3D, I haven't used them very much and probably could have save some money by buying a different model. Overall, the picture quality is outstanding, and I marvel at the colors this tv puts up on the screen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2011
from Vancouver, WA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
This 3D TV is awesome. The picture is amazing and the 3D for movies and games takes it to another level. You won't be disappointed with this TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Battery Operated Active Glasses for 2011 Samsung 3D TVs
4.4 out of 5(52)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CNET got it right

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2011
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: no 3d glasses
I did tons of research before buyinng. CNET got it right. This is a great TV. Picture is awesome. Level of customization on the picture is second to none. Cannot beat the price and quaility.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS TV ROCKS

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2011
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, awesome
NBA is Back just in time for X-Mas. So X-mas came in a form of this TV. I can't say enough about it. It went on the wall of my bedroom. ALl I need now is a fridge in there and I'm set lol. Will get the 59 and put in in my media room.
Samsung you did it again. JMO
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plasma is still KING

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 29, 2011
from Union City, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, sharp pictures
I picked up the Samsung PN51D8000 after comparing it with the LED TVs (Samsung UN46D8000 and the S.o.n.y XBR-46HX929). The LED TVs are bright, but perhaps too bright for my tastes. Coupled with the "slow" refresh rates of LCD/LED TVs, the motion flow is just choppy and gives me an unnatural feel when watching programs on it.
I also love the fact that Samsung makes their plasma TV at 51" (uncommon size)! I had a 42" plasma TV and when that one broke, I was thinking of getting a 46" TV since the 55" would NOT fit in the space I had). Luckily, the 51" PN51D8000 fits my space perfectly!
The apps for the Smart Hub are OK, some of them don't even work. I.e., they would just crash... and when they crash, the TV turns off. It's so annoying. I stay away from those apps now.... hopefully until Samsung does better quality control before allowing the apps to be on the Samsung app market.
I also love the D.L.N.A (All_Share) and wireless support! Together, these two technologies allow me to browse my N.A.S device on my LAN directly from the TV! All I have to do is press the Source button and I can see my N.A.S device listed there. Watching the TV shows I've downloaded on this big screen is so awesome. Even the 720p stuff look spectacular. I've watched 720p shows encoded in x264, x.v.i.d, d.i.v.x with external s.r.t subtitle files! Another great feature, the TV is able to read .ISO files and loads them as if they are DVDs!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing watching anything HD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2011
from Michigan
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Perfect TV - nothing bad. Blu Ray are incredible and fast moving sports are amazing on this tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SMART TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2011
from Illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
One of the best high definition picture. I've always like plasma tv picture over LCD/LED for the deep blacks and no ghosting with action movies and fast moving sports! I really like the SMART HUB that link me to the internet so I can surf my favorite web sites, movies, and news! Settting up the wireless to my router was easy!
I haven't had the chance to use the 3D but will be getting the Samsung Bluray 3D player with Samsung 3D glasses! So far I am VERY pleased with this smart TV!
This 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV replaces my Samsung 42" plasma tv I bought back in 2007. Funny thing is their is nothing wrong with my 42" Samsung plasma tv, it's now upstair in my living room! Samsung make wonderful HD TV's! Well worth the money and will get enjoyment for years to come!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 23, 2011
from San Francisco, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
If you want a great tv this is it, light & thin with fantastic picture, easy to set up.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 22, 2011
from Staten Island, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, picture quality
We have two of these in our bedrooms. We have previous experience with Samsung Plasma TV's. In 2007 we purchased a 63" Plasma for the living room. We are so impressed with the picture and quality that when it came time to change the old SD TV's we had in the bedrooms, we of course gravitated to Samsung. As good as that four year old Plasma is, it is blown away by these new ones. You have to add these new models to the list of TV's you are considering.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2011
from Pittsburgh, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: speakers do not do justice
Just bought this Plasma TV and it's a pleasure to view movies and stream my content from my PC through Allshare. Lots of apps and with my Tivo it simply is a killer TV. Speakers are ok so I used my olde Logitech 5500 5.1 Surround speakers through a SPDIF connection and voila!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 28, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Excellent picture, easy to set up, great style. Qwerty remote requires practice. Good sound from built in speakers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Pure Pleasure to Own

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 24, 2011
from St. Petersburg, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I know I have never been happier with a new TV than I have been with this 51" Class Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV. The picture is clear and crisp and of course with the unmatchable speeds plasma provides. The smart TV feature takes a lot of the hastle out of operation. The keyboard on the remote is another feature I am enjoying.
Thanks Samsung for a great TV>
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

better looking ,better performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 2, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, better 3d
Cons: cine smooth can cause flicker if left on in 3d
this years 8000 has a nice thin bezel which gives it a better presentation . also a great picture and 3d has been improved i use wireless internet . for the money you get all the bells and whistles and one of the best plasmas out for 2011 if not the best.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love it.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2011
from billerica, ma
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have been postponing for new tv for a long long time finally this model met my expectations. Slim, lightweight, internet web browser with qwerty keyboard remote, play movies/music and view photos from network storage through media server.....I love it..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features and easy to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2011
from Chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Besides the stellar picture quality, I am thoroughly impressed with the number of features that come with the television and how easy those features are to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C7900)
4 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Plasma of 2011

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 9, 2011
from Princeton, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, internet is easy to connect, 3d is outstanding, it looks really cool
The picture, features, and value for the money make this the best tv hands down for 2011. Internet connection is easy and the remote with key board is a great touch. I looked at panasonic but the overall performance of the PND8000 is better and the price is lower. Oh and it came with two pairs of 3D glasses! The 3D is amazing!!! If you want to have it all this is the TV!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 2, 2011
from Arlington, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy set up
the set is awsome.
Have not explored all of the features yet, but the set up was a breeze and the picture is crystal clear.
The only set I saw that came close was the Panasonic Vt30 series. This one is just as good and costs a lot less.
Plus you can get 2 pairs of glasses with it
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best overall value!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 24, 2011
from Los Angeles, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
This is the best TV in it's category. I originally bought a Sony KDL55EX720, I had to return it because the colors were too washed out, viewing angles, and glare was not good at all. Blue ray looked great, but HD and regular tv was disappointing! This Samsung has way more features, user friendly, and a great remote. The picture is richer, viewing angles are awesome, and glare is much better than an LED tv! Regular channels, and HD channels look much better than the Sony.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2011
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This is by far the best TV i've owned. I purchased this TV to replace my Samsung 46" LNT4669 LCD TV. The picture quality is superb. 3D is awesome as well. For the money, this has to be the best TV around.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding product with marginal documentation

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 10, 2011
from Columbia, MD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, good looking
Cons: marginal documentation
I could not be happier with the quality of the product, color, contrast and the significant "smart" features it has. My ability to use the features has been made extremely difficult due to the, at best, marginal documentation provided with the set. About the only thing the "User Manual" that comes with the unit provides is the basic set-up of the TV and then two pages of how to view the "e-Manual". I felt the e-Manual was poorly organized, non-intuitive and difficult to understand. I attempted to print out sections of the manual only to realize that it was white printing on a black background. A terrible thing to try and print. I ordered an "Owener's Manual" from the parts department and found when it arrived that it was simply xeroxed copy of a print out of the e-manual on washed out black pages. Really a disappointment that such a exciting product would have such poor documentation. I'm learning gradually how to use the features through hit and miss - no thanks to the documentation .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV but remote does not work good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 7, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: gets really hot! to the touch!a, not as bright as i expected!
Awesome picture and great sound. Only complaint is the remote the tv came with is a great concept but the functions dont work very well and sometimes dont input some of the actions good. Overall apps are great, web brower is somewhat fast and videos on apps like youtube look great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a difference a year makes

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 2, 2011
from Austin TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, great 3d, good value for the price
Cons: don't like the stand compared to the pn51c8000
This PN51D8000 replaced a PN50C8000 and all I can say is what a difference. Besides the extra inch of display in a smaller frame and the SmartHub feature there was some improvements in performance. On the C8000 I felt that image retention wasn't very good, using Pandora app you could see ghosts of the song info when it moved to prevent burnin, don't see that on the D8000. Also love the change to BlueTooth for communications with the 3D glasses. I tried various different models of the active glasses and all would loose sync, especially when there was a scene with a bright transistion in it. So far I haven't lost sync once viewing the same programs that the IR glasses had issues with. Very happy that I made the change
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PN51D8000

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 31, 2011
from South Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Perhaps the best picture I've ever seen. 3D is great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best 3d tv there is.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 23, 2011
from PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, best 3d there is, full web browser, tons of apps
this is an awesome tv. crisp,clear colors that really pop, and rich, deep blacks. so many things to do watch tv, watch 3d, stream movies, twitter,facebook, countless apps to use. oh, and a full web browser !!!! picture is absolutely awesome, just can't say enough about how great this tv is.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the remote is a good idea but doesnt really work well

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: bad remote
the tv is brilliant. from the colors to overall picture clarity, this is the best tv i have ever seen.
the remore on the other hand is not the best. its bulky clumsy and confusing. the pointer option for the web is controlled by the directional buttons on the remote. unlike the wii remotes that move the pointer by simply pointing at the tv, this remote is difficult to navigate with when using the web browser.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far the best TV I have seen

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 21, 2011
from Maine
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
The good - web browsing, online help, wireless connection all work great. Hooking up to my receiver via HDMI is straight forward. My DISH video viewing is excellent. Remote use is very Intuitive (remember the remote should be held so the active face clearly faces upwards otherwise the system is not sure which face is active.) However, I had to practice browsing and acclimating to the mouse pointer movements. Pay attention to the screen showing the function of the A, B, C, D keys on the remote.
Screen quality is fabulous compared to my Sony LCD.
Light weight made it easy to mount. Built in speakers are quite good. However, my hookup to my external speakers is a better audio experience. This was expected.
I am still trying out the 3D feature. I need to make another test before I comment. The on screen help gave me a clue to what I have to do.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Picture...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2012
from Fremont, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: qwerty remote functionality
Other than the Qwerty Remote interface and its functionality this Plasma is the best i have owned.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2012
from Northridge
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Over the last 4 years I have had 5000, 6000, 7000, and 8000 Series, LCD, LED LCD, and now this Plasma. All of my TV's are 40+ inch. All of them have been great TV's. The LCD was great and is old tech, don't get one. My favorite is my LED LCD 7000. I bought this Plasma because I a guy who likes tech stuff and never had one to compare to the others. I am now convinced that if its movies you watch, the Plasma is probably a great choice, blacks are black, great for a “movie room” and Blue Ray. I watch a lot of baseball, CNBC and Blue Ray movies too. My TV’s are in my office and the living room…I don’t have a movie room. My recommendation now is clear; I like the slightly brighter LED LCD. Stay with the 7000 or 8000 Series you will not be disappointed. If your short on cash, wait till you have the extra dollars.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 11, 2012
from Indiana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: internet connectivity and flash videos are slow
This TV has great picture quality and the 3D is amazing. The shadows and true black are sharp.
The touch control on the controller takes a little getting used to and can be choppy and lag at times and the internet surfing is slow, though I guess not meant to be used as a computer. In general I really enjoy the TV, only that there are a few flash based websites that struggle and gave up on watching videos on those sites.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good Tv, but does have some issues.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 22, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, good for sports
Cons: jutter, noise/artifact
In January 2012 I did a head to head comparison of the 8000 series plasma with the 7000 series LED. Overall the plasma was better than the LED. The plasma has more accurate colors. On the LED the whites are slightly blue, the greens are slightly yellow-green and the purples are slightly blue. The colors and black levels are uniform and excellent in the plasma when viewed on and off-angle. But, the LED was good straight-on and only average when viewed off-angle (blacks turned grey and colors washed out). The plasma had slightly more noise and pixilation than the LED. Both sets had a little more noise/artifact on the screnes than I would have expected at this price range. The LED had a little light showing in the corners during scenes when the screen was dark (flashlight effect). The biggest problem with the plasma, that the LED didn't have, was bad jutter in some movies and tv shows when the camera panned from side-to-side (or top-to-bottom). Sometimes there was so much jerkiness in the images that I felt sick to my stomach. I wish Samsung could eliminate the jutter in the plasma sets like they did in the LED set. Overall, the plasma had more accurate and uniform colors and darker blacks, but the LED didn't have the jutter. Given the big difference in price, I'd give the edge between the two sets to the cheaper plasma with the more accurate color and learn to live with the occasional bad jutter in scenes. FYI, both sets are significantly improved from last year's comparable models. 3D images are also better this year than on prior years' models. The "buzzing/hum" that plagued many prior years' plasma sets appears to be eliminated.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like this tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2012
from tulsa ok
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: too bright
A very good tv. Presets for color on all four are not what I want. Dynamic is too bright and the others are not bright enough.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2011
from CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: firmware update damage the on board wifi
Everything about the TV is great, except for when you upgrade the firmware and the WIFI stops working.
They had to replace the motherboard.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Plasma TV with Features that Actually Work Right!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 22, 2011
from Portland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, wifi built in, 2d to 3d conversion
Cons: colors not natural looking, remote needs some work
I was hesitant to buy a plasma but couldn't say no with the price. Most of the TVs I have purchased with apps and widgets are really slow and unreliable. This TV's features work with no tweaking. I insert a USB thumb drive, it reads it with no problem. My only complaint is that there should be a button on the remote to quickly switch brightness mode. Also, the light button on the remote does not stay on long enough to actually find what you are looking for. Also, the picture quality is good but not as natural looking like Sony. Sound in 3D mode seems to cut in and out.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for 51" Class (50.72" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic Picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance