Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV

Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 out of 23(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Review 1 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply GREAT!!!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHooks1020
onJuly 11, 2013
from Clover, SC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is QUALITY surpassing COST!!!! This product has all the bells and whistles....You will not be disappointed...I am very pleased!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHope2keeplovingit
onDecember 29, 2012
from Asheville, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first HDTV. Love it! I've had it for only 2 weeks, and haven't even used the 3D yet. I also have a blu ray player, which has been fun to fool around with. I truly adore watching TV on this set. I hope I feel the same way about it in a few years!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Plasma TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsonger94550
onDecember 20, 2012
from Livermore, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: more hdmi plug-ins
My family & I bought this TV to replace and upgrade our old LCD TV that was blacking out on us. We researched & compared other brands but they didn't compare to the quality, features and reputation SAMSUNG offers. We are very HAPPY with the choice we made and we got this unit at a great price too. If you are looking for a new TV; you can't go wrong with this SAMSUNG unit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Inexpensive Big Screen TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byzingabod
onDecember 18, 2012
from saint louis MO
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: too few hookups
This is a great big screen television for very little money. The picture is excellent. But do not purchase it if you need a lot of hookups in the back of tv for different things like blu-ray, etc. there is only 1 hook-up and I have to move between 2 machines I have when I want to change. Otherwise, great tv for the price. enjoy watching it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Price!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKose241
onDecember 5, 2012
from San Jose,CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
This TV is a great deal and you wont find other TV's with 3D at 51 inches with this price. The 3D feature is good but it is not that great. I like how the bezel is very thin and it looks great in your living room. Audio is also nice and clear. The only down side is that its 720p.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBlacksmith13
onNovember 25, 2012
from Belleville, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to setup
At first, we tried an LED TV. We hated it and returned it in less than a day. We already have another plasma tv and like it very much. My wife wanted another big screen tv for the living room and move the old one to the bedroom. Because I have owned many Samsung phones, we decided on this television. We are very pleased and would recommend it highly.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Basic 3D TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRaNdY7337
onNovember 24, 2012
from IL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
this is one truly great 3d tv. Yes, it's only 720 pixels but you can't tell unless your sitting a foot or less away from the screen. It can hook up to the internet to connect to other computers on your network. If you cannot afford the extra money for a Smart Samsung tv this should be your first choice.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV but what 3d Glasses do you use?

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By1stx3Dbuyer
onSeptember 16, 2012
from Daytona Beach, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: better 3d glasses recommendation.
I am extremely happy with the 3D set, the picture, operation, design, and over all look are great. The 3D glasses that came with the set SSG-3050GB work however this is the first 3D TV I've owned so I,m not sure after attempting to buy 2 more pair and Samsung says they are not compatible with this set??? Would a different model 3D glasses work better with my PN51E490B4FXZA set? This is confusing and needs Samsung attention.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent feature set and controls - Great Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByOmegaLazarus
onSeptember 14, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, great picture control, solid remote design, great entry to 3d at home
Cons: not a 'smart tv', speakers are typical 2x10w
I have had this tv for about a week and love it. This is a great HDTV, especially if you are on a budget. The feature set and screen quality is that of many higher end models.
Pros - Controller is backlit and easy to read. Picture is great and infinitely tweakable with settings. 3D is good. Ethernet connect for software updates. Can play movies from USB.
Cons - 720p, so don't sit too close (4 ft) or you will see it. Stay about 8 feet away and you are fine. Some picture options are grayed out with certain devices (e.g. color hue grayed out with Xbox 360)
Good to know - Update the TV as soon as you get it before you mess with anything. Remember that picture settings are set for EACH device you have hooked up. Remote sensor is at the bottom left. 3D glasses included are great and use replaceable button batteries.
Summary -
The design is great and set up was easy. The 3D is great (though I have only used it for video games as of yet). I played COD Black Ops in 3D and it was great. The depth of field was amazing and their was no crosstalk or other artifacts that you sometimes see. The Definition was still crisp as it has been for all viewings. Also, for videophiles out there on a budget (I am one), this TV has great picture settings that allow you to control everything from color to black level (and separate them for each input coming in the TV). It also has game mode, but I found that I did not need it for COD and used standard settings that I use for watching dvds. THe controller is great. It is backlit with large buttons laid out in a grid and clearly labeled. The display is bright (Iw was worried about this with a plasma). It is next to a giant windo that has a standard curtain and performs fine with the 'cell light' (like backlight) up and great with it down to about 10% in the evening. Basically it stays low all week and turns up when day watching on the weekend. It also has a brightness sensor like many smartphones and tablets which is great!
I will update this review or dd new ones if anything significant changes for the better or worse.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjnisley1985
onAugust 22, 2012
from indiana
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Samsung plasmas have the best picture and have also been reliable. I highly reccommend these tv's
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySissy918
onAugust 5, 2012
from Easton,Md.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
We have owned this for 2 hours and love it! Would recommend this TV it also came with 3D glasses and I can't wait to use them!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the price, great TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySoldonSAMSUNGinTX
onAugust 4, 2012
from Montgomery, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: none
Bought it for local retailer as a gift to my wife. I have no complaints about the TV. The performance is great, 3d is awesome, it is connected to samsung 3d home theater system which is a great set up. I would recommend this Plasma to my friends and family.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byblackbeard2364
onJune 7, 2012
from JBLM, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The only knock I would give this TV, is that it only has 2 HDMI connections. I have researched HDTV's for a number of years before making a decision to purchase one. For the money and size of this TV, it is more than worth it! The colors are vibrant and image sharp. I would recommend this TV to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Replaces a DLP model

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTradingcomet
onJune 4, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I was in the market for a new TV, and did my research via consumer reports. This model was #1 rated, the price was great, and the added bonus of 3D makes this consumer very happy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great but few losses from 2010

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCricket8310
onMay 17, 2012
from Shippensburg, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, comes with 3d glasses
Cons: only 2 hdmi
I had a 2010 490 model and upgraded to the 2012 490 model and over all its great but it lost some of the features that i liked the most or used the most. Picture is great even better then 2012, but if your use to more then two HDMI then you will be short with this TV. If you like to hook your PC up to your TV. Then i would not recommend using this TV. The 3D Glasses are kinda cheesy compared to the 2010 3D glasses but do the same job and better. Glasses come with the TV! Screen Resolution Drop from 1365 x 768(2012) to 1024 x 768(2010), but you really can't tell unless you try using the TV for your computer, other then that, the picture is great.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great 3D for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywallstreetkid212
onMay 12, 2012
from new york
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
so I knew I wanted 3D tv and decided a Samsung since I already had one I was leery at first about the whole active 3D vs. progressive 3D debate. So, this is why I was skeptical of buying an active 3D plasma, like this Samsung model. Lay that skepticism and those fears aside! I've watched Avatar, RE:Afterlife, Tron, and Piranha on 3D and they all look mind blowingly magnificent. Crystal clear and lots of depth. No fluttering, ghosting images that I've read about.There is absolutely nothing negative to say about the 3D picture. It's that good. Don't listen to the negativity about active 3D and 720p on bigger size plasmas. This tv plants those allegations on their face!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Tv!!!!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjoa06
onOctober 9, 2012
from New York, NY, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I'm in love with my samsung tv, the size and resolution is perfect.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Item for its value

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymmiranda
onSeptember 26, 2012
from Bayside,NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, 3d, all-share
Cons: no wi-fi
It is a very good tv which offers 3D and for its value it is totally worthy. Totally recomended.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Picture

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byiamurtech
onAugust 1, 2012
from North Cape May NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The picture is amazing and the 3d effects are awesome!!!! Love this TV
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great t v!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bypepper12
onJuly 3, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I've had it about five weeks so far great t v.We love it!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No headphone connection

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 3, 2012
from LA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Poor user manual.
Images too small. Poorly written
Too abbreviated.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great price poor performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHopeing
onDecember 3, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, 3d
Cons: Did not meet expectations, degrading picture quality
I bought the tv the 3d is awesome and the tv itself looks beautiful. Picture quality however is another story. there are tons of green dots moving along with the picture it degrades picture quality quite a bit. I called samsung and there customer support linked me to an authorized repair center. I have an appt coming up soon to hopefully get the tv fixed in a timely manner. I purchased the tv dec 1st 2012 i dont want to take it back i like the tv im giving samsung a chance to make it right we will see
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good TV but had major issue within first 30days

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byz777ik
onNovember 20, 2012
from Cockeysville MD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The TV was great I really enjoyed playing video games on it. Though recently it seems to have died. The screen went black but audio still kept on coming. Remote still works for it but it looks like a backlight simply died. :(
Was good for the 20 some days I had it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

3D ghosting

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bywatching
onApril 15, 2012
from Oregon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Bought the plasma cuz of the reputation for handling dark scenes well. The first night home we viewed "Hugo" 3D. There are many scenes where there are light patches on a pretty dark set. In every case the light objects had a ghost image on both sides. Tried every setting and even calibrated with a Blu-Ray disc, no help.
Don't think was just a problem with this set but is inherent in Plasma tvs.
This tv also produced a loud buzz on my wireless headphones which made "silent watching" impossible. My wife hated this tv so much that we returned it the next morning,
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 51" Class (50.73" Diag.) Plasma 490 Series TV
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Read the features in the E-Manual Carefully

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By2bejustme
onMarch 11, 2012
from Ma.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Very disappointed. Pitcure is good but not the best. Yes, I upgraded my internet connection to the fastest and highest HD that is offered, before TV was delivered.
#1 You have no options to control screen resolution, is controlled by cable box.
#2 When cable box and TV are set up with HDMI cable,optical out put will only sent a PCM signal,this is an uncompressed analog signal. So when you set up optical cable to your receiver or home theater, the best you can get is netural stero. Another words only 2 speakers. You can not get a 5.1 channel Dolby Digital surround sound. Half the the enjoyment of watching is hearing.That half is lost. If you plug optical cable directly from cable box to receiver ,even with internal speakers off you either get feed back or netural stero. Samsung needs through firmware or driver upgrades to fix this issue or pull this TV from the market.
Words alone will not explain my disappointment. It would cost me to much for shipping and restocking fees to sent back. So I'm stuck with a very exspensive boat anchor. As they always say, buyer beware.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
3of 20voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.