Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV

Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Review 1 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2013
from New Hampshire
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, wifi
Cons: sound quality
This TV is great. Picture quality is amazing as I prefer a more realistic image than what LED TVs provide. Built in WiFi, SmartHub, and 3D are all excellent bonus features. Like others have stated, the sound quality is lacking but is to be expected on larger ultra-thin TVs. Have not had any trouble upgrading the firmware or SmartHub with the exception of the HBO Go app ceasing to work for a month or so (a problem with HBO, not the TV). 3 HDMI ports is enough for my 3D Blu Ray player, Cable Box, and Xbox. Great TV to game on, lag time is non-existent as you can set the HDMI port to PC.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Smart Blu-ray Disc® Player With Built-in WiFi (BD-E5700)
3.6 out of 5(135)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Picture I've seen

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 14, 2013
from texas, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, color contrast ratio
Working at an Electronics Store, I have the opportunity to see, test, and play with many TVs which ultimately led to me purchasing this SUPERB Television. Here are my Pros and Cons.
Pros: Built-In Wi-fi, thin 1" Titanium Grey bezel, Samsung Smarthub, All-Share, All Black Pure Filter, Amazing Color Contrast Ratio, smooth 600Hz picture, MHL hdmi port, dual core processor
Cons: Not recommended for bright rooms, generic Samsung remote, small speakers
It's a great TV for those with a large living room space as long as you do not have tons of bright light coming in from windows, as with all Plasmas, you will get some glare/reflection. It does have some very good anti glare louvered screen technology to help absorb some of the light.
As tvs get slimmer, the speakers get smaller, something to consider for those hard of hearing. I found myself turning the tv up quite a bit before I gave into buying a sound bar.
The E7000 is not meant to get that bright compared to LED TVs (Which are more recommended for bright rooms) but what it lacks in brightness it makes up for in Picture Quality. For the price, you can't get a better clean and smooth picture, rich colors, and full of features television.
Some Specifics:
The stand: front to back measures about 12.5 inches
left to right the stand measures about 28 inches
Tv Swivels as much as parallel to the legs of the tv stand(as seen in picture)
It weighs about 52 lbs. with stand. 47lbs without If you plan on mounting the tv on the wall which the tv is about 2 inches thick and fits most generic wall mounts.
Connections: 3 hdmi ports (1mhl, 1arc, 1dvi) 2 usb ports (1 5v1a, 1 5v .5a) 1 optical audio out, Lan Port, 1Dvi/Aux audio in port, and 1 Coax/Ant in (as shown in picture)
If you have any other questions feel free to ask
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV at a great price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 23, 2013
from Northern California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Bought the 51" TV on clearance at Best Buy a little over a week ago. Good picture out of the box and great picture after 5 minutes of calibration. Hooked up to internet without a hitch. Apps lag a bit when loading but not annoyingly slow. Speakers are fine for a bedroom but would be inadequate for a living or family room. Was originally looking a the Panasonic ST series but after reading reviews for a few days found them both to be comparable. Both had excellent reviews on picture quality, but the Samsung had a better Smart TV interface and better Apps. And, with the Samsung $100-200 less, it was a no-brainer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great set and a great picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 3, 2013
from San Jose, California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, good black level, excellent 3d
This TV has a beautiful picture with great color and wonderful blacks. Absolutely no motion lag and great detail in the picture. I have read reviews which say it could be 'brighter', but it is pleanty bright for me. The 3D is absolutely awsome, better then in the theater. I would highly recommend this set to everyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
24" Widescreen LCD Monitor
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice 3D TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 31, 2013
from Greenville, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
3D TV's are just becoming popular and many of them do not have a good picture. This model outshines most and may be the best. Very pleased
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2013
from Carlisle, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Easy to hook up; light weight; and love how easy it is to visit Samsung.com to get additional information.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Fast Start Up of an insanely Life-Like Picture! Luv it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2013
from Mountainburg, AR 72946, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first Smart T.V. I researched for a solid month before purchasing this t.v. Through research, I discovered the negative hype about plasma t.v.'s basically stems from uneducated rumors or competitor ploys to squash this superior product. I couldn't believe the quality of picture, ease of set up and control of features on this product. I love it and highly recommend it! Don't forget, this t.v. can upgrade to future technologies so you won't have to buy a new t.v. every couple of years.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tv 3D is fantastic

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2013
from Pacific Northwest
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, great paired with samsung 3d blueray player
Bought this TV and a Blueray Player great combo, easy to use
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Nice TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2012
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Nice Picture... Speakers are pretty good... Surround would be better... but if you are waiting to get a surround you will be okay for a little while.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV I've ever had

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2012
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: funky stand design
This is a beautiful TV when off but once you turn it on the fun really begins. The colors are extremely accurate out of the box. The contrast ratio is excellent. The picture is very sharp and clear even when watching cable TV in 1080i.
I can notice a buzz if I'm right in front of the TV with the audio off. For example, if I'm standing in front of the TV changing a DVD or something I can hear a buzz if my head is positioned just right. But I never hear it while seated and watching TV. There are a few positions I can stand in and hear it if no audio is play. Really a non issue for me.
I have a good size window opposing the TV and glare is not a problem. We save our prime movie viewing for night time, but daytime shows look just great.
An extra HDMI input would be nice, but not a big deal. I don't care for the chicken foot stand, but it's grown on me.
I don't use a lot of the apps on the smart hub. Easier to just use an iPad or other mobile device. Speaking of iPads, it would be nice if they had an app that interacted with the TV. Looking forward to seeing what the evolution kit holds in store.
Paired it up with a new BD-E5900 3D Blu Ray player to replace my older non 3D Blu Ray DVD player and the picture got even better, more contrast and sharper. Who knew a DVD player could make sure a big difference!
Overall, this is a fantastic TV. Most beautiful picture I've ever seen. Lots of bang for the buck and I would recommend it to a friend in a heartbeat. My first Samsung and I'm a happy camper.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc® Player With Built-in WiFi (BD-E5900)
4.4 out of 5(276)
 
 
 
New 3D Active Glasses (SSG-4100GB)
4.1 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still new, but I like it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2012
from Venice, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: hideous stand
I've only had this TV for a little while so far, but after adjusting to calibrated settings I found online, the picture is amazing.
My only complaint would be the hideous X-style "chrome" stand (a bright silver stand with a black TV?) , along with some minor annoyances about the menus system and the Smart interface. But none of those make me regret getting this TV. Kind of wishing I'd gotten the 8000, but all things considered, I'm loving this TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fine picture but needs more inputs

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2012
from Oceanside, CA.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: needs more basic inputs
I wish I would have paid more attention to the rear panel inputs before I purchased this TV. It only has 1 set of RCA jacks for video/audio input, so if you have more than 1 device that uses RCA jacks, you cannot use it.
I assumed it would have 3-4 sets if inputs like my 6 year old plasma has......
It has a fantastic picture, and I love the remote control and overall ease of use. The owners manual is too vague.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phenominal Plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2012
from Buffalo, NY, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, touch of glass bezel design, easy intuitive remote, sound better than expected
Cons: could include a set of 3d glasses, could include a hdmi cable
The specs left out the power consumption: 350 watts running and a measly .3 in standby. Running power is significant compared to some LED or LCD models. The picture is by far in my opinion... way better than LED/LCD and worth the extra utility bill! The blacks are blacker and fast motion viewing (sports, movies, games) is never an issue with Plasma sets. On the down side it is not as bright a picture as LED/LCD sets but you get a better more realistic picture! I also own the LED 22" Samsung for comparison sake. Colors on that set are not realistic for facial tones. You will need to dim the room lighting during daylight hours a touch but that is not a problem if you have blinds. Sound is very good as well and offers different sound features. Online over the air (roof antenna) program guide is also very well laid out if you decide to ditch your expensive cable carrier.
The controller is very easy and simple to use which is one of the reasons I went with Samsung. The smart hub is very nice if you have an fast internet connection greater than 2 Meg. A high speed fiber optic DSL or fast cable connection is mandatory or you will have major picture hang-up and refresh issues.
3D. What can I say? I don't think it's worth the expense, as I don't use it much. The Samsung Bluetooth glasses work flawlessly however. I do own Avatar and it definitely has some great moments during the movie that do jump out at you. Other TV programming appears as though your looking into a tunnel box. NFL football however is interesting. If you sit up close and watch live programming it looks pretty good and worth watching. Not a gamer but 3D probably works very nicely for that use. A very nice HDTV and definitely worth the purchase. Will never be sorry I purchase it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
New! 5.1 Home Theater System
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung PNE7000

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2012
from FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, viewing angle, picture clarity & resolution, wifi capable, energy consumption
All the reviews on the various forums and review sites were correct about this TV. It's beautiful.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2012
from Yuma, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
TV has great picture. Nice design. It is replacing a Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Satisfied

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 29, 2012
from IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
I never planned on buying a plasma, but this tv is worth the money if LED is out of your price range. The Smart TV apps are awesome and the sound and picture are great. The slim design allows this tv to hang very close to the wall.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 7000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 18, 2012
from GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, great picture
Best picture I have ever seen. Slightly dimmer than the 4 year old 46" HD LCD I replaced, but much clearer and more lifelike picture (and noticeably bigger). After watching it for awhile, I hooked my old LCD back up for comparison and it seemed awful. Glare is more than the LCD but really not an issue. Could only hear a very slight buzzing if standing 6 inches from the TV. I have several windows in my den, but no direct sunlight on the TV. Glare might be worse in that instance. I have not seen other 3D TVs, but this 3D is great and exceeded my expectations.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.