Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)

Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)

Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
27 out of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Review 1 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So sad to see plasma discontinued!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 24, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I just picked one of these up today because I was shocked to see such a nice samsung tv for the same price as a smaller led tv. The picture is amazing and my wife (who generally doesn't notice or care about technology upgrades in our home) was shocked by how much nicer the picture is than our old 1080p led tv. I love the tv and my only complaint would be to have more hdmi ports and an analogue audio out for my old speakers but for this value I'll just buy the digital to analogue converter :)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 13, 2014
from Tualatin, OR, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
I have always had plasma tv's, going on 13 years now. I still love plasma. The color, realistic nature of the screen is something I enjoy over LCD. I have had this tv for about 6 months now. It has excellent color and black level. I've had no issues. While this model does not have many features, the low price I paid reflects that. I would fill my house with many of these sets if I had more room.
The only downside, and Samsung is not alone with this problem, it the lack of cable management. I can't stand looking at the wires on the back hanging down no matter how you tidy it up. The design should have wires incorporated into the stand if not mounted on the wall.
All in all a great set for the money.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PN51F5300AFXZA

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2014
from New Jersey, USA
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, easy configuration, quality
Cons: built in speakers audio quality
Great Picture, easy configuration. I have a 42" plasma still works great, 42" Audio Quality was better. Have to get a sound bar for the 51". My PC Monitor is a Samsung Sync Master.
Still a Samsung Fan, I will miss the Plasma Line Best Picture!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Bradenton, Fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: i dont have one
Its one of the most so far that ive seen.It look and does amazing things..
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 27, 2014
from San Francisco, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: more hdmi ports needed
I bought this plasma F5300 series tv 51" class to replace a lcd 42" that died. This has way better picture ,takes up less space,and cost less.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung pn51f5300 bfxza

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2014
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Awesome picture quality for an awesome price! Colors really pop!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No real drawbacks

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Monroe, NC, USA
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Very satisfying to get a great value, that is actually as good and or better than advertised. The only thing that can't be praised yet is operation longevity, only because usage so far is less than a year.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product works well in our home

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
The size is the perfect fit for our family room. The picture quality is superb and the speakers are very clear. I have had compliments on our TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good TV, regardless its remarkable value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 3, 2014
from SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Wanting to replace our old Samsung CRT, I began researching HDTVs. My research led me to plasmas and then to the Samsung PN51F5300. I located one at a good price, brought it home, set it up with our entertainment system, and like it a lot.
Even with brightness and contrast reduced for the first month to break the plasma in, the picture quality impresses everyone who sees our television.. The viewing angles are great, the colors are really good, everything about the picture is a win.
We have two windows opposite the television, so we keep those blinds shut for daytime viewing. There is still a little reflection, as can be seen in the attached photo. With that in mind, daytime viewing is good; nighttime viewing is great.
If we get close to it, we can hear a little buzz if there is a snowy background, as in watching the Winter Olympics, but you won't hear it if you're not listening for it.
This is a fine television, especially for the price. Would I like one more HDMI port? Absolutely, and there's really no reason there are not at least three HDMI ports on the television. Still, it's not a major quibble.
For this price, you won't find a better picture on a 50/51" television. Double the price and you may get an LCD/LED that will come close. Unless someone has a bright room and needs an LCD/LED, the F5300 is a solid set for a great price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 9, 2014
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: needs more connections, base could be a little more stable
The value for dollar paid is awesome.
Can not go wrong with Samsung!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super deal. Great picture, easy setup

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 4, 2014
from Lake Placid, Fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Replaced an older Samsung with this one the additional features and good price may this a super deal. Best part is the picture quality, of course but the other features make it a terrific plasma HDTV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could Not Be Happier!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 4, 2014
from Fruit Cove, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, ease of set-up
I was a little apprehensive about buying a plasma TV but am really glad I did now. The picture is better then I even expected it to be. They look good in the store but the real test is at home. This TV passed that test with flying colors. Very easy set-up and I'm not very tech. savvy. I hope to eventually add a sound bar but not because there's anything wrong with the sound now. I just would like to have some more range. All future purchases will be Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb picture quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2014
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I did plenty of research before buying a TV. After listening to people who knew TV's, I decided on the Samsung 51" plasma with 1080p. I couldn't be happier with the picture quality I get on my TV. There are other reasons to look at different models, but when it comes down to the bottom line, the picture quality is why you should buy a TV. You can't beat the picture here.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st Plasma TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2013
from Monterey Bay
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Took my Seiki 4k TV back because the 1080 movie quality was mediocre and anything less was terrible.
Most of our programing is SD.
The Samsung 51" Class 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV - PN51F5300AFXZA was slightly better image than anything in the store.
They were all plugged into the same HD source, so easy to compare.
When I got home the image was only slightly better than my (excellant) CRT (optimized for SD) untill I adjusted the settings.
Now the SD broadcast are better than BlueRay thru the old TV.
I have not tested with a BlueRay disc yet but HD is exceptionally
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best bang for the buck!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 13, 2013
from Western NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Let's cut to the chase and answer lingering questions about plasmas and how this TV compares in those regards:
Is it viewable in the daytime?
This was one of my concerns due to the wall of windows in our open-floor living room. Rest assured, this TV is very bright and is easily viewed even during the brightest part of the day. Yes, it is highly reflective, but the light doesn't scatter when it hits the screen, so the overall picture isn't washed out like it can be with LCDs and edge-lit LEDs.
What about burn-in/image retention?
I've had this set for three weeks, just past the critical 100-hour stage where image retention and burn-in typically occur. This set does an outstanding job, I've yet to see the slightest hint of image retention, and I've been looking for it. Having an older plasma that did have IR I know what to look for.
The colors and black levels of this set are excellent, it's like seeing HD for the first time all over again. Of course, the viewing angle of plasma is best in the business as well, so no problems there.
All in all it's hard to find fault with this TV. I gave it 4 stars for features because it does not offer any sort of internet or "smart" connectivity. This was perfect for me since I already have a Roku, and I was able to save a significant amount by choosing a TV without those features.
I believe this TV is the best bargain in the TV industry in 2013. If image quality and a good value are important to you, then you should definitely give this Samsung a chance.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top Notch

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 12, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV has been fantastic. It's exactly what we were looking for. Great picture quality. Everything you'd expect from a Samsung product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2013
from Clermont, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
This TV is awesome. I had to replace my 32 LCD after the color went out and this TV is not a disappointment. Great clarity with fast transitions, not only from devise but also in pictures. Great TV for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plasma with the light weight of an LED and plasma picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2013
from kansas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is an excellent example of how far the Plasma displays have developed. The unit is less than 2" thick and weighs less than 40 pounds. It is easy to mount on the wall and the factory picture settings are excellent while leaving more than enough room for custom adjustments. Highly recommended.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First time Plasma screen buyer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 25, 2013
from Pittsburgh, Pa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: analog speaker hook up/lack off
I heard a lot about plasma screen display being better than LCD?LED. Did not realize how much better it is until now.
It has a clearer picture, with better resolution and contrast, and the colors display truer.
Glad I decided on plasma this time.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 5300series plasma

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, high picture quality, nice inky blacks
Cons: not enough information on howto fine tune the tv
Over all this is a great television the picture quality is excellent as far as plasma's TV's are concerned, and compared to LED HDTV's you would have to buy a Samsung 13000 series to get the same picture quality and color quality. This HDTV does not offer all the same bells and whistles as the higher end models but unless you actually care about having the internet on your television its not a big deal since 90% of the populas has some sort of device hooked upto the tv anyways. The only cons I have about this tv is that there is a mild reverb in the speakers when watching movies or tv with the speakers set to the movie or music setting. Also there is almost NO information on howto pro spec all the little tv settings to get the absolute best picture quality possible from your set and there is almost no information on howto adjust the white level and colorspace. Beyond the lack of information on howto fine tune your individual television I think this is a great HDTV to buy
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 25, 2013
from PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I had to have one once I had the phone and tablet and there is no disappointment here. Super Sharp images, fast connection and easy to mount on my wall. Needless to say i'll be hosting all the games this season.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plasma 5300 Series TV

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2013
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
After viewing all the other TV,s in my price range , the quality of the picture on this Samsung model far outweighed the others, crisp and clear pictures on fast moving bluray action films.
Overall really excellent.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 6, 2013
from New Castle, DE
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: simpe
This has been the first HDtv we have bought and we are very happy to have ths tv! The hd is very beautiful!
I recommend this if you want a simple tv that has a good image!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the plasma you want

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2013
from Seattle, Wa
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: lack of additional hdmi ports, screen glare in brightly lit rooms
You will see a lot of reviewers offer you many reasons why this TV may not be for you. They will use words like "Budget" and "Base-Model", and maybe even complain about brightness or lack of features.
The truth? If you want a 51' plasma tv, there is no reason to buy anything else. Let me break this down:
Features:
This is the only area in which this TV does not get 5 stars from me. Why? Mainly one reason, lack of additional HDMI ports. This TV only offers 2 HDMI inputs, which is a pretty big bummer. Personally, I do not believe any TV should have less than 3 HDMI ports, but preferably should have 4. This is truly the one major weakness of this TV, but is certainly not a deal breaker. If you have more than 2 HDMI sources, you can always buy a switch.
There are other features missing, but they are mostly fluff. Namely, this TV is not a "Smart TV". I do not dock any points for this, because the whole "Smart TV" thing is simply a fad and is mostly useless to anyone who is not computer illiterate. Why do I say that? Well, that is because you can turn this TV into a "SmartTV" simply by plugging it into a modern computer. You can then watch ANYTHING from your computer on your TV, including Hulu, Netflix and all that other stuff. Not to mention a PS3/Xbox will basically do the same thing, if you do not own a modern computer.
In summary, this TV has all of the features you NEED, and none of the expensive fluff.
Performance:
This is inarguably the most important part of any TV performance. Who cares how nice the TV looks, or how robust it's features are, if the picture looks terrible? The answer is: Nobody.
-Picture Quality
The 5300 does not disappoint in this regard, delivering ultra-deep, inky blacks, vibrant whites, and an amazing contrast ratio. Do not listen to those who say Plasmas are not bright enough. That may have been true in the early 2000s, but it is certainly not true today. Just set the picture mode to standard, turn off ECO sensor and increase the Cell Light to 15-20(depending on preference). You will NOT be disappointed. The default 720p input looks great, but the second you watch a native 1080p movie (blu-ray) your jaw will simply drop to the floor. It is like watching a painting come to life. Stunning does not even describe it, and the picture quality is unmatched by ANY LED I have ever seen (Including the huge overpriced LEDs you will find on the showroom floors).
-Refresh Rate
The 600hz sub-field motion makes a subtle yet noticeable difference in comparison to the standard 60hz plasma. Basically, the sub-field motion eliminates most motion-blur and stuttering, but does not give the "fast-forward effect" that the LED equivalent 'Motion interpolation' does. This is a HUGE benefit, as most people who own LEDs simply turn that feature off and deal with the motion blur due to the unnatural feel it gives to movies. Simply put, 600hz sub-field motion is the best of both worlds and will give you flawless playback the likes you have never seen.
In summary, Performance is this set's strongpoint. Flawless picture with a perfect refresh rate creates a visually stunning experience perfect for movies, sports and gaming.
Design:
Samsung again has learned much from past experience, designing a near perfect modern television. The clear image panel uses a single layer, which fixes the two major flaws in plasma TVs people used to complain about. Namely, Ghost images and Image retention. This TV, straight out of the box, produces ZERO ghosting and even after leaving a static image up for over 15 minutes, there was no image retention to speak of. The classic arguments against plasma are no longer relevant, thanks in no small part to the Clear Image Panel.
The third issue that people often complain about with plasmas, screen glare, has still not been solved completely. In low-light, this TV is flawless. In a very bright room with open windows, you will still see some reflections. The reflections are greatly reduced/mitigated by the Clear Image Panel, but still not eliminated completely.
That one minor issue aside, the design of this plasma TV is flawless. The Plasma +1 means that you get an extra inch compared to other 51’ TVs, via the ultra-thin bevel featured on this set. Amazingly, with all these improvements, they’ve also managed to reduce power consumption AND overall weight of the TV.
In summary, the design of this TV is nearly flawless. The Clear Image Panel has eliminated most issues a plasma TV would typically have, and greatly mitigated the one issue it could not completely solve. In a dark environment, you will find no issues with this TV whatsoever. The ultra-light weight and thin design also makes it a prime candidate for wall mounting.
Value:
Overall, the value of this TV is quite substantial. It is very cheap for a 51’ plasma, and offers the same stunning performance you would find in a TV twice or even three times its cost. The only thing you are losing out on here are ports and fluff features that most people do not need.
In Conclusion:
Visually, this is a top-tier plasma for a bottom-tier price. Don’t be fooled by the more expensive options out there, they will deliver a similar product with features you do not need for much more cash that you do not need to spend. This TV hit’s the sweet-spot for Price and Performance, and I would highly recommend it to anybody in the market for a plasma TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+46points
46of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprisingly good TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: speakers
I had an older Samsung 720p and wanted to upgrade. For the price you can't beat the picture on a plasma. The picture options are numerous, so you really can tweak the picture to make it look phenomenal. My only gripe is the speakers. They are horrible. Also one more hdmi input would have made it the perfect buy. For the price you won't get a better picture.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from PA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: no internet connection
Great picture, better than a LED. I purchased a 55" LED 1st and ended up taking it back for the 51" Plasma.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Series 3 15.6" Notebook
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great TV for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 15, 2014
from Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: only 1 digital audio out and no other audio outs
We really enjoy our new TV. It has several great features and a nice size screen. We picked because we already had a roku so we did not need a smart tv. It was easy to set the roku. The only issue we have with the tv is that it only has 1 optical audio out. There are no other audio outs and we could not connect it to our high end 10+ year old stereo. This is a slight disappointment. Still looking for an affordable solution to this issue.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happy W/ TV After Replacement

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2013
from Oceanside, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: problem w 1st tv
Overall very happy with TV the second time around. The first 5300 Plasma kept turning off at random times until I requested the retailer to pick up and replace the TV..
Very happy the 2nd time around
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

PN51F5300AFXZA

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 16, 2014
from united states
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This unit replaced my Samsung PN50A450P1DXZA.
Performance: Picture is not as good,
Features: My biggest gripe is the Favorite channels selection. If anybody at the company reads these reviews, PLEASE do an update to add this back in. The programming is already there but will not allow you to retrieve them using smart remote w/Favorites button. No, I shouldn't have to buy a smart TV to get this as my very old projection TV had this feature years ago. Should have an MP3 input that is useable with the unit off.
Design: lame stand does not distribute weight evenly, just in 4 places, I have a glass stand. As others have mentioned we are in the HDMI era and lack of at least 3 or more inputs leaves you seeking alternatives.
Value: if I have to buy another TV in the next 5 years because this unit breaks makes them expensive.
Lastly, I hope this unit lasts longer than my previous one that was repaired twice.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worse TV EVER

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2013
from Mentor,Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
We received this tv as gift from our son, back in July. We just went to set it up this past weekend (10-12-13), due to the fact we were remodeling our family room. The tv keeps shutting off. When we try to schedule service on line, nothing happens, and the nearest walk in service center is 40 miles away.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
2of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Plasma F5300 Series TV - 51” Class (50.7” Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Buzzing, Buzzing !!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, buzzing!!
Great picture, but it buzzes so loudly that its uncomfortable to watch movies. Any white scenes the buzz is heard. Gives me a headache. The volume level is at 15 and it doesnt cover up the buzzing...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.