Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV

51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV

Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Review 1 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV for the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydbacon
onMarch 24, 2014
from Alabama, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Very good product for the price, great pictures and features, as well as easy to set up.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This TV Is Very Good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byplasmawatcher
onMarch 16, 2014
from Ontario, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The Features are really nice, but i'm all about the image.
Plasma's just blow away lcd's. the colors are just amazing the blacks are true black which means great contrast not faded like lcd's all in all this is a great tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

everything and then some

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycrcmsit
onFebruary 24, 2014
from Milwaukee
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: no info on how to add sound system
Exactatactly what I've wanted. One thing how to add sound system to enhance the sound quality. Great buy for the product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am thrilled with this TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTenaciousLizards
onFebruary 19, 2014
from Los Angeles, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I did a fair amount of research and bought this brand and model because it was a "Best Value" on Consumer Reports. They did not steer me wrong. This was dead easy to install and use; connecting it to my wireless LAN was no harder than plugging in a toaster. I love the picture quality, the only reason I give it a 4 on performance is the speaker quality, while better than my last TV, still required external speakers for me to get the sound I require. (I am a bit of an audiophile, my friends thought the internal speakers were fine).
I am more than pleased with my purchase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love the features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byaddictedtosamsung
onFebruary 18, 2014
from jersey city,nj
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
best plasma in ages! best value for its price and... is 3D!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

51" Class Plasma 5500 Series TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPup68
onJanuary 29, 2014
from Utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: not enough audio outputs
This really is a cool T V. Very happy with the picture. Very easy setup for the Wifi. Love the Amazon and Netflix apps. I do wish this TV would of had component audio outputs for those of us with older external speaker systems. Overall I am very pleased.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beast of a TV with elegance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByIlikeBender
onJanuary 21, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, compatible with iphone and wireless sound bar
No probs with the Wifi at all,
Awesome with Netflix, Hulu and even You Tube. The Iphone connects easy with the TV when I want to watch a You Tuube Video that I found on my phone.
Workes like a charm with the Samsung wireless sound bar. The remote is a bit delicate since the touch pad is very sensitive and it took me a bit to get used to it.
Picture is rich and vibrant in color. I watch TV over an antenna and get awesome HD quality with no issues.
Love the auto update feature.
Customer service is excellent and ready to your disposal ( I am fan of live chat) and was able to solve a prob that I had in a very short time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKelrod
onJanuary 3, 2014
from Mocksville, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Very happy with performance. Only negative is with the GUIDE. It starts from channel 2 instead of from what channel TV is tuned to.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChiefman
onDecember 30, 2013
from Delaware
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy setup
Cons: speakers not adequate for larger rooms
I love everything about this TV. Setup was easy, the smart features are exciting and the 3D is amazing. The only drawback is the speakers (a common issue with the flat panel TV's) the sound gets lost in a larger room. Our Living room is an open "Great Room" type setting and will likely need help with an external speaker at some point. It's not so bad that can't be overlooked. The picture is fantastic and the combination with our new Blue Ray player we are extremely pleased with our purchase.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Netflix Hero.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBobbyninja45
onDecember 30, 2013
from Tulsa, OK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: sreen burn in if stationary menus displayed
I haven't had a lot of time with this TV yet but here is what I think so far. Great picture, even though I get quite a bit of sunlight in the room at certain times. The netflix app is easier to see and use and is way faster than it is on either of my bluray players. It has a good DTV tuner and I really like the channel guide with the ability to schedule upcoming shows so the TV switches channels to them when they come on. The remote is cool but takes some getting used to.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Picture @ Such A Price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKipster
onDecember 13, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
My old 42" plasma Samsung EDTV finally died this past summer so I did much researching before settling on this Samsung model. The color is amazing and picture quality superb! Black and white colors are the best I've seen. I do not use the remote which came with it.
I should mention, after about 3 months, a slight humming (or buzzing) sound started to appear, coming from within the unit itself. My old unit did the same, but not as noticeable since this unit is half as thin. I researched the Internet and found this to be common. My room is very quiet and I sometimes turn my home audio theater off entirely when watching sports. That's when it's most noticeable -- especially when the scene goes from a dark to bright picture.
I purchased the movie Avatar in 3D which looked amazing. I'm not a big 3D fan, but the glasses which come with seem very nice and well manufactured. Hookup to my wireless home network was a breeze and I did the suggested updates immediately.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great purchase ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybchas
onNovember 14, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: stand could be stronger
this t.v. surpassed all my expectations. the picture quality is beyond belief. i can access my facebook, netflix, hulu, fitness pandora and many more. Yes, i can even look at my pictures from my computer on the t.v.
this t.v. has everything you need for your entertainment needs. strongly recommend to evereyone
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySsevchuk
onSeptember 24, 2013
from West Orange, NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
There's not much else to say... This is exactly what I wanted. A smart 3DTV with all the features. The size and price point were perfect.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV So Far

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byp12iNc3
onAugust 22, 2013
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: terrible remote control
So far I am definitely impressed with the quality of this TV for what I paid. Picture quality is awesome, it runs nice and cool for a Plasma, and it has tons of cool features.
My only complaint what so ever is the Remote Control.Talk about terrible. If it gets bumped or touched during a movie it will stop it. Also there are no physical number buttons so finding a specific channel is more difficult than it should be. For a Smart TV I would have expected something with a qwerty keyboard built in and some physical buttons.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV for the price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBman72
onJuly 28, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This is a great TV for the money. The picture quality is great and the colors are spot on. The built in speakers are better than I would have expected. The smart features are nice. The remote is smaller which I like, and is easy to use once you get used to it. The 3D is really cool. I think the stand could have been a little better, like the one that comes with the 8500 series. Overall I am very satisfied with this TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySCARLETORQUID
onJuly 16, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, personalize options, chose what apps you want
Wonderful TV, great speed, responds quick... great picture quality, everything is just great.... MY HUSBAND LOVES IT!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylikeit48
onJuly 3, 2013
from north carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great set, good features, works well, beautiful picture.......
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV for the value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMikelMishawaka
onJune 4, 2013
from Indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Purchased end of May and am surprised how much we are enjoying it. The movie mode with the movie sound creates a theater like experience. Being an old timer wasn't sure how I would take to a smart tv, but setup was easy and am learning on the fly. Most of it is intuitive but the one question I had was answered online within a minute or two. The picture is gorgeous and because its set up in a small family room the sound rocks. Purchased Samsung Blu ray 5900 with it. Have yet to use it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very pleased with Samsung plasma tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNana5272
onJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
We purchased a Samsung plasma 51 " TV and I found it very easy to set up. The picture quality is terrific. I needed assistance and called the customer service number and they were very helpful.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 5500 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great TV with one hitch

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWillowDreamer
onDecember 31, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, hard time staying connected to wifi, image sometimes gets "funky"
I've had this TV since August 2013. It's mostly worked well, has a decent picture, and works with my other Samsung devices. I have two complaints: it has a hard time staying connected to my WiFi and occasionally the TV's picture will get very funky (as if something inside made the resolution too big - so I see like one quarter of the image all disproportionate) and in order to get either working again, I have to turn off the TV and turn it back on. There's a 50/50 chance that the WiFi will connect, but restarting it always fixes the picture.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.