Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV

51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV

Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Review 1 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Eye Candy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onApril 23, 2014
from Woburn, MA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV is very nice. The Smart TV features are awesome. I fell in love with this TV as soon I saw it on display. The cost for the TV was good for all the specs and features. This purchase was well worth it and I would recommend this unit to a friend or family member.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic !!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydamaral79
onApril 12, 2014
from New Bedford, MA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: none
This Tv has the most realistic picture i have ever seen out of the box the picture is near perfect !!!
Amazing black level and the brightness is amazing for this being a plasma in a bright room or a dark room picture is unaffected. I had the 7100 lcd tv and returned it the picture was horrible compared to the older samsung lcd i was replacing this was the best decision i have ever made i am more than 100% happy with this tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydwellborn
onFebruary 26, 2014
from McKinney, TX, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
This is an exceptional TV with features galore! And the price is nice too. The 3D is good but since the glasses are active, any bright light from windows seems to flicker which can be distracting. I don't use the 3D that much anyway and if I do I can close curtains or watch at night.
I have not heard ANY noise coming from the TV like others have said.
I find the voice control is a bit flaky and seems to pop-up from the sound of the speakers. I just turned it off as I think it is more of a gimmick than a feature.
The picture is amazing which is why I bought the set. Unfortunately, the price dropped $100 since I bought it just a few weeks ago :(
Overall, get this TV, I think it blows away even the best LED TVs I have seen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture quality

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByStod45
onFebruary 18, 2014
from Oregon
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, excellent picture quality
Cons: smart remote useless imo
The pictures is excellent. Smart remote is useless. Using secondary analog remote. Not a concern for me, because I bought it for the image quality reviews.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!!!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byredbird11290
onFebruary 14, 2014
from Jackson MO
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none
I reaserched a lot before deciding on the 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV.
First our plan was to hang this TV, but with this unique stand it looks better on a table. This amazing design feature is jus the beginning ...This set will do practically anything you can imgine and was so easy to set up and operate you won't believe it. And the best part THE PICTURE!!!!!!!!!!!! I bought this for the Superbowl and the picture quality was just amazing!!!!!!!!!
SO....If you are on the fence don't be!!!! this set is a bargain!!!!
You really can't go wrong with Samsung!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamfanatic99
onJanuary 19, 2014
from Georgia
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, fast action is superb
Cons: some options buried in the menus
I was a little skeptical at first getting a plasma TV when all the rave was LED. I ordered the set without even seeing it in person. I just went thru all the reviews I could find. I really hate the fast motion on the LED sets so this was really my only option. I must say I am really pleased with this set. Everything is so clear and bright. Sports are amazing on this set. The 3D is also amazing. It does not make any noise as some have said and I have it in the bedroom. I am seriously thinking of the 64 inch for the living room but the new UHD 4K sets have my attention now. This is a great set and do not think twice about purchasing as I am sure you will love it also. It sounds pretty good in the bedroom but I am thinking of a sound bar. Those small speakers can only do so much. If I have to say something bad it is the sleep timer. Old TV I just hit one button on the remote. This one I have to go thru a few menus to get to it. Might just be me not knowing the shortcut if there is one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plasma 8500 Series is the best

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWhiteFox
onDecember 26, 2013
from Connecticut
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, contrast, motion, multiple hdmi inputs, remote
Cons: none
This PLASMA F8500 TV is by far the best picture that you can buy, except maybe 4K or OLED. I was considering buying a LED TV until I read the reviews about this one. If you are considering a LED TV checkout this one before you buy. The LED TVs are nice but cannot compare with the superior picture you receive with this PLASMA. The brightness, colors, motion and contrast will dazzle you. Well worth the cost if you you want the best ever picture. I hope Samsung keeps manufacturing PLASMAs like this one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

new TV owner F8500 51"

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJourneyneverends
onDecember 26, 2013
from MA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, easy to setup
Cons: should come with bluetooth keyboard., 3d glasses are not rechargeable.
Well this is my first modern TV.. Absolutely amazing..
I bought this after looking for about 14months.. different reviews, information on LED, LCD and plasmas.. 3d etc, etc..
This came out as the winner on pretty much everything I had read..
Great app selection, easy to use setup and remotes..
My only complaint would be nice if they supplied a keyboard since it can be problematic with adding all the different features and sign ups..
Not sure on durability since I've only had this a short while. Less then a month..
really amazing picture.. would be nice if the 3D glasses were rechargable..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung's best plasma provides a gorgeous picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHenreid
onOctober 7, 2013
from San Mateo, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: plasma displays use more energy than led tvs
Brilliant, accurate color, deep blacks with excellent detail, and high lumen output to perform well even in a fully lit room. I believe you won't find a better display anywhere in 2013 -- unless you're prepared to spend thousands of dollars more for an OLED panel or an Ultra High Definition TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV !!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bykane1148
onSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I'm a big fan of Samsung products and this TV makes number 3 in the home. Gave my brother my older plasma tv and it still has a great picture. This TV has everything any home entertainment fan would love. For example, this TV can pick up my home movies from my hard drive on my wireless router!! The kit in the rear that can be changed in the future is major game changer. I just love this investment.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV We've Ever Had

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByStevecamera
onSeptember 23, 2013
from NW Montana
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, smarter than we are
I did a lot of research on new TVs. We were looking to replace a 2007 Samsung 40" 720P LED. Consumer Reports and CNET both gave the 8500 series top ratings, so we took the plunge.
Before the set arrived I downloaded all the manuals and studied them intently - never had a Smart TV before.
When it arrived I plugged it in and began hooking things up. I was very pleased with how easy it was to integrate streaming services (apparently Samsung says I can't name them). Went really well and quickly.
Then I began setting up the set itself. That was harder, because the menus are full of layers and options.
It's been here about 6 weeks and I have to say we're pretty happy with it. The picture is great (after all those years at 720p, 1080p was a revelation we are still reveling in).
Audio is run through an 10-year-old A/V receiver through a single optical connection. Sweet.
The Smart remote is easy to use, but it doesn't always follow my commands. A second old-style remote is included, but we haven't had to resort to it.
All in all, this is a really great TV with tons of useful features.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutley Perfect TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byres4gc
onSeptember 3, 2013
from Charlottesville, Va
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
This is the best tv I have ever owned. I bought it for the picture quality, which is amazing, but I find my self using the smart features alot. This is not my first smart tv, but it is the only one I actually use for the features. The smart hub is the best I've seen and Is very intuitive. The picture on the 8500 is excellent. The colors are bright and vibrant and pop right of the screen. The black levels are inky black and make for an extremely high contrast ratio. If you want the best picture out there, for a good price, buy this tv. You will not regret it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning all-around performer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTaTaToothy
onAugust 30, 2013
from Minneapolis, MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: some minor software bugs
I recently purchased this set after 8 happy years with a Samsung 720p DLP set. My set is in my living room, and is used often during daylight hours, so I was particularly attracted to the F8500 due to its brightness relative to other plasma sets. While I have been favorably impressed with the high-end LED sets I've seen, I really prefer the black levels of plasma.
I have now had my F8500 for about three weeks, and am nothing but pleased with it, in terms of image quality and overall performance. I am not using most of the Smart TV features, though the feature set there is impressive. I have noticed a few small bugs (e.g., the voice-control menu occasionally pops up for no apparent reason), but I am confident this can be fixed in firmware and it's a small inconvenience in exchange for the stellar picture. I find the set design, including the stand elegant and attractive, though I have been unable to get the set mounted into the stand without a very small gap between the two - it would look more elegant if it were perfectly flush, as I believe it was designed to be.
The F8500, at its current, aggressive pricing, seems to me to be the best value in a high-end set on the market. Buy without hesitation!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byemptypuffin
onJuly 2, 2013
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Really enjoying this exquisite TV. The picture is excellent and the navigation through all of the available features is easy. Love the base as well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spectacular in every way

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBonepile
onMay 30, 2013
from coastal New England
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Of all the televisions I have ever owned going back to my 14 inch Sony years ago THIS TV is SPECTACULAR. The picture on any HD station or using a Blu Ray disc will simply amaze you. Watching PGA golf the other afternoon with the event held in the drizzle the colors were amazing. The galleries umbrellas were so detailed from a shot overhead you could read all the advertising, and the glistening grass you could almost put your hand through the TV and touch it. Darks are inky, colors are correct, and even my oldest and most used DVD's have new life. My wife is just a little tired of my constant viewing, but then I find her with her favorite cooking shows watching and savoring them hour after hour. Got home from work yesterday to find out she had been watching cooking shows all day, and I sat down to a show on steak and outdoor grilling, and I was hooked too. I hope you have the opportunity to purchase this television, and enjoy it. After seeing the very best Plasma has to offer I will never settle for LED again. It is a large financial investment, but one that begins paying off the very second you turn it on for the first time, sit down and enjoy all that is SPECTACULAR about it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bythebgj
onMay 24, 2013
from California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I recently replaced my Samsung DLP (about 10 years old) I never had a problem with it, and only recently changed the lamp. So bought the 8500 series because of the great history and experience i had with the old tv.
GOOD-
The apps are amazing
the HUB in general is amazing
The built in camera is awesome
The 3D and graphics in general look awesome.
4 pair of 3D glasses FREE (well, included in the price)
BAD-
The remote needs a number pad for typing. Its a pain putting in email addresses and passwords for all your apps.
I dont like the grey frame on the TV, i think it should be black.
I think they should have had the more traditional TV stand...You know the one that is just a 10 inch long stand centered on the TV. Now if you have a Tv stand that doesnt quite fit it ...the ends will hang off the edge.
The BAD was all preference. All in all it is an amazing TV and samsung did not let me down with this awesome TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 51" Class (50.7" Diag.) Plasma 8500 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome piece of tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By0din
onNovember 24, 2013
from Baia Mare, Romania
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Pros: best tv I ever owned, breathtaking image, 3d depth like I never seen, black level beyond Kuro standard
Cons: After 2 months a line acros the screen appeared :( it's still @ warranty guys I expect them to call me about what we should do next :(
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C5900)
4.4 out of 5(130)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.