Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Review 1 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Samsung TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 27, 2012
from Plantation, FL
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Great TV, super picture and all the bells and whistles that go with it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
love it. very well built and over all great for the $$$
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 7, 2011
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Wish I had purchased a plasma years sooner. Great picture!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2011
from MD
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This TV is fantastic. The price I paid for it was outstanding and the picture quality is amazing. Avatar on Blu Ray? Oh yeah.
I gave it 4/5 on the features because it doesn't have a lot of applications or anything, but for the price I paid, this is a non-issue. Plus, this is last year's model, so that kind of explains it. Applications are a relatively new thing to TVs.
I might be playing favorites here, but I don't care.. I've had great experiences with all Samsung products I've ever used. From memory chips to hard drives, Samsung has had a presence in my computing world for most of my adult life. I was quite disappointed when I heard Samsung was selling off it's hard drive business.. I used to use Samsung drives exclusively. They always had performance near the top and their price was more than reasonable. At any rate, businesses are out to make money and this certainly doesn't deter me from using Samsung products in the future.
An addendum, if I may: for anyone worried about plasma burn-in, this TV made me a believer. Plasma burn-in is no longer an issue with modern day plasmas. Do some searching online, you'll see that burn-in, the permanent etching in of images, is difficult to do. Many independent tests have left static images on a screen for up to 72 hours and after a few days of regular use, they were gone all together. Image retention is something all plasmas still suffer from, but image retention is temporary. Watch some regular TV or a few movies with the TV and it'll go away. I learned this first hand after a long Saturday of PC gaming.. I thought that icon would be there forever, but after a few hours of TV viewing, it was gone.
Bottom line: I would buy a Samsung TV again in a heart beat.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 1, 2011
from Indiana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This tv has a great picture and is a great value. Quick refresh rate, never has motion blur or judder.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Television for the price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 15, 2011
from Flint, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Picked this up right before the superbowl. Still waiting for HD cable, but Blu-ray and PS3 on it look amazing! Recommended!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chicago John

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2010
from Chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, plug & play !!
Purchased at Abt, Glenview, Il. Superb TV. Absolute great bang for the buck. Rich color, clarity & definition excellent. Definite good decision to go plasma, depth etc all outstanding. Much better than several other more expensive plasma sets we looked at. Dollar for dollar for performance, EXCELLENT !!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2010
from Michigan
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This tv is unbealable!! It looks like I am at the sporting event that I am watching !!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 1, 2010
from Beaverton, OR.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I purchased this display which replaced a rear DLP projector. It has fantastic detail, wide, deep color saturation, and inky black levels. Everything about it is better than my DLP, which was very good. Even the processing is better, with less, if no, artifacts. I noticed, like others have reported, a slight pinkish cast, easily adjusted out in the user accessable white balance adjustments, lowering red levels. The 24p does not remove judder, but switching the BD player to "24p off" solves this, with no degradation in quality. These two factors make it a "4" for performance, but they are minor. If the 24p worked, a "5". A highly recommended display, and a great price, too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PN58590 HDTV Rocks

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 31, 2010
from Mebane, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We don't use the tv with cable or sat service. It was installed Memorial Day in under 1 hour during our home theater remodel. The PN58C590 was easy to set up using the HDMI cable interface. On screen set up guide was easy and straightforward. No buzzing sound as others have mentioned. The tv was delivered with the stand installed. We like the small amount of rotation the stand allows. The picture is excellent with deep black, and no glare (room is dark for theater). We purchased after 40+ hour of research and could not be happier. We only watch movies and do not watch the tv on a daily basis.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Picture Quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2011
from oregon
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality
This would of been an all excellent review but I must admit
that having to have the screen replaced after only 10+months of owning it is a bit disappointing.
My previous panasonic, over 8 years old and still running without a glitch of anykind. Hopefully this will be the only problem this tv has but I am concerned. I must say Samsung customer service was fantastic.Responding very fast and getting a service tech out here in less then a week and replacing the screen, Such great customer service is rare these days.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2011
from Tennessee
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, nice blacks
Cons: picture quality not quite as good as i had hoped.
Nice tv and a good price. The set looks good and is modern. I am not sure if the picture needs a large number of hours before it reaches optimum picture quality as my Panasonic did. At this point, after one month of use the picture is good after tweaking the settings, but not great. My 42" Panasonic looks better at this point although the Samsung has deeper blacks. Overall, I really like the tv, but the picture is just a little darker without as much pop as the Panny.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2010
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This set replaced an 8 year old rear projection HDTV. I am a little sorry I replaced it! While the new plasma has a great picture it's not that much better than what I had. Adjusting the picture is difficult at best trying to get a balance between the black and white. The white is not white, it's more of a grayish blue. The remote, even though functional, is cheap looking and very basic design. I knew plasma set used more electricity but wow, this one is a electricity hog! I have a meter that shows kw usage and it used about $0.06 an hour compared to $0.024 with my old set. Puts off a lot of heat when brightmess is set high. Has Cinema Smooth but cannot turn it on (grayed out) this would help the shuttering that causes eye strain.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Samsung 2010 Plasma still buzz

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 28, 2010
from Corona, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Overall picture is good but buzzing issue still persist. Screen is still a bit glossy so if you do not have a dark room, this plasma is not recommended as it reflects all the lights on the screen. Black level is average. Remote is okay and good thing it has all the light up button if you need to at night. Sound is mediocre. You definitely needs an entertainment system for it to sound better. I have not connect it to my home theater system but once I do, I hope I can update the sound it produces to my processor. I hope, the frame can be designed as thin as the LEC-LCD model or better like the UN55C7000 series with a mate black which does not reflect any light. Also, another need feature would be to have the feature to access youtube or netflix with the wireless internet.
I am just hoping the buzz does not get any louder or otherwise I would be very disappointed. I have had great faith with Samsung products especially with their quality. I have own and love their cell phone, monitor and refrigerator.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
RF266ABPN/XAA
4.7 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 590 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

White screen has pink band across it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This TV has been great - up until a pink color band shows up across the screen when there is a scene with a white screen. This happened after about 14 months of ownership. Would have been 4 stars, but now it gets a 2...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.