Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)

Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Review 1 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2012
Pros: Bright display
Very happy with this device. Great picture, great sound(no hum as reported in other reviews)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still love our TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 11, 2012
from Michigan
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, internet, pc connect
We bought this TV a year and a half ago and we're still pleased with the features, look and ease of it. We had 1 issue after buying it with the motherboards, but Samsung was right on top of it. The app store is getting much better than when we originally purchased, however we don't use it to often. Would buy this TV again.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 26, 2012
from phoenix, az
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I love this tv. The only thing I wish it had when I purchased is wifi. Other than that I love everything about this tv.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 27, 2011
Pros: Realistic color, web applications
Cons: wifi not built in
This is my second Samsung 58" Plasma, that should say enough. The newer model has wonders now built in.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 16, 2011
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
After doing the calibrations, the picture quality has just been really great if not, excellent!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 28, 2011
from Moorpark, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: built-in speaker quality
The picture is amazing. The blacks are really black with really sharp detail. I did have to tweak some color settings to get the most realistic picture.
The sound, unfortunately doesn't live up to the picture quality; but, that's not a problem for us because we have the sound going through our 5.1 sound system. I was kind of disappointed that the optical output from the TV only has the right and left channels which caused a little more complexity in the set up and remote programming.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2011
from Scottsdale, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Samsung 6500 plasma has an awesome picture. This is the TV to get. I read stories about the sound being bad and that a buzzing sound can be heard. No buzzing sound. The sound isn't great, but connect it to a receiver and you will be set. However I did have a pixel problem, put a service request in and had someone out 2 days later. Samsung has been great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 31, 2011
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, great picture
Cons: poor sound
Everyone raves over the picture on this TV - including me. LCD's are brighter, but I believe the colors are more rich on the plasma than the LCD. I thought it was simple to set up. I liked setting all the picture options to the way I like them. I own three Samsungs; a plasma and two smaller LCD's (23" and 27"). The LCD's are excellent also. The only negative to all three TV's is the sound. You will want to hook them up to better speakers, subwoofer, etc. Purchased these TV's about 16 months ago, Fall of 2009.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
AQ100 12 Megapixel Waterproof Digital Camera
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
BD-P1600
4 out of 5(148)
 
 
 
LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
4.2 out of 5(104)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

58" Plasma

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 7, 2011
from Panama City
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Great TV no worries about screen burn very loud internal speakers (not the best but clear). Ultra slim for being a plasma, the colors are great as long as you have a HD feed. Over all a spectacular TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, slim design
I love your product designs. The touch screen buttons and your apps make the TV experience a lot to enjoy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great so far--from an LCD convert

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 21, 2010
from Austin, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, thin, internet
Cons: slight glare
I upgraded from a 3 year old 40" Samsung LCD (lnt4071f). I was initially just looking for a bigger LCD TV because the 40" was starting to look pretty small. I did a few weeks of research prior to buying. I was going to buy an LCD with LED edge lighting. I had some concerns about the evenness and consistency of the back lighting provided by an edge lit system. That is when I started to look into plasma. From all my research it seemed that plasma's had a much more realistic image, with much better black levels. I wasn't interested in 3D, so I went with the 6500 Samsung's top of the line 2D plasma. (the 6400 is also a good set)
I really couldn't be happier. The image is great, very realistic. Not as hyper-real as the LCD sets, just real. And real is good for me. The set is super thin. I hung it on my wall and it looks fantastic. My couch is about 7' from my wall. At first the set felt too big, but after a few days we all got used to it and now it feels just right.
I was a little worried about image retention or screen burn with the plasma, but there have been no issues so far--even when gaming with the PS3. The screen is a little reflective, you can see lights and sun through the window, but when I am absorbed in what I'm watching I don't notice it. Overall very happy with this choice.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
58" Class 6400 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Picture--Better than LCD or LED TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 11, 2010
from Mississippi
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: picture is great, ease of set up
Cons: speaker system could be better
Purchased in July of 2010. I also purchased the wireless link for using internet connectivity of this Plasma set. Set up was easy and I used a wall mount. Connection is with HDMI cables to Direct TV sat. box. Once you set basic settings TV works great. Had one problem with picture but was fixed under warranty during first three weeks of use. Since then everything has been great. Customer Service was excellent and repair was no hassel and was fixed in home. The only negative about tv is sound of speakers is a bit lacking. They work fine but TV could use a bigger sound system to make movies and DVD sound better. I purchased a sound bar Samsung HWC 450 to add to unit and it works great and compliments this TV. It is not 3D set but we did not want 3D option. Internet set up was also easy and many apps are available for use with this tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 10, 2010
from Middleboro, MA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great Picture and great results with other products
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 25, 2010
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
The picture on this tv is absolutely amazing!! Once calibrated it is unbelievable!!! I have only had the TV a couple of weeks, but it has become my favorite. I replaced a 42" LCD with this TV, and I also own another samsung LCD. I will never go back to LCD. The picture on this tv compared to others is much more realistic, no pixelation during fast scenes like on the LCD screens. Incredible color and detail. I have not tested the sound on the set, as I have the sound going through my receiver. I highly recommend this TV. Crutchfield support has been outstanding!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 5, 2010
from bloomington,ill
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
i will be hanging it on the wall it is fairly heavy so you must have a secure bracket i don' have my surround sound hooked up yet. It was easy setup and i'm still finding out about all the features . Spoerts is outstanding on this tv and i've watched one bluray movie witch was also great
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Picture, Great Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 10, 2010
from Myerstown PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Delivery by common carrier - no problems. Stand was already attached, so just opened the box and plugged it in. When using with DirecTV HD, set the satellite box to Native mode so the signal passes to the Samsung TV without picture processing. Connect with HDMI cable and set the Samsung TV picture to 16:9 and then it converts the picture as required. A matching Samsung BD-C6500 Blu-Ray DVD player converts SD DVDs to an HD picture when connected with a HDMI cable. Extremely pleased with the home theatre combination of Samsung plasma TV and Blu-ray player along with DirecTV HD services.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6500)
4 out of 5(823)
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HDMI Inputs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 23, 2011
from FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love this TV. Fantastic picture. I love the Internet feature. Excellent quality while downloading Netflix. That said, a week after I got it all the HDMI inputs went out! Component still worked. I called customer service, who were very good by the way, they said I needed a firmware upgrade. Okay...., anyway I found it on their site and copied it to a blank USB drive, connected to TV and presto! all worked fine. No problems since then.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lacks only one thing! Well, maybe two

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 7, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, wireless features
Cons: inadequate sound system
Don't get me wrong, I love my new TV! The features are great and the picture is fantastic. Pair this with the Samsung 6500 BluRay DVD player and the wireless features such as Netflix work perfectly. The one feature I wish was improved is the sound. I have a smaller (42") Samsung plasma that outdoes my new 58" in the sound category. My smaller Samsung has more depth of bass, the 58" is little tinny for my taste especially since I hoped the larger TV would have even better quality speakers. I will probably be okay once I decide on and add a surround sound speaker system, but don't plan on really liking the sound of the TV alone. I rated a four star since I felt in a TV of this size and price they should have done better. Last but not least, the wireless adapter that is sold has a limited range. This can be solved by using the Samsung 6500 BluRay DVD player which has much better wireless range. Just the stick alone, however, you better be close to the router!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6500)
4 out of 5(823)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Look but lacks white purity

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 16, 2011
from Raleigh, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, deep blacks, slick design
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor whites when high percentage of screen
I bought this over an LCD since I wanted deep blacks and pure colors and it appeared to have very positive reviews. I have been impressed by the intensity of the colors and contrast but disappointed in the ability of the TV to reproduce whites when they encompass a large percentage of the screen area. As the white or really light background expands, the white starts to turn to an off-white/gray and any dark text or objects in the picture create horizontal streaks across the picture.
It still has a great picture the other 90% of the time you don't get really white scenes....
If I were to do it again, I would lean towards LED lit LCD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 58" Class (58.0" Diag.) 6500 Series 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Awesome picture with blue ray movies and standard movies. Cable connection picture is not to bad. I would recommend calibrating it for optimal picture quality. I calibrated mines and I am happy with the outcome.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.