Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV

Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Review 1 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1 YR Review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 6, 2013
from Austin,TX
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, sports viewing, warranty service
Cons: failed within a year
I have had this TV for a Year now. Overall, excellent. I watch Sports and it keeps up very well. However, THE day BEFORE my Warranty expired, I had the Power Board fail. Apparently it is common based on Internet reviews. Immediately called and had warranty service setup. It needed a new power board. Not sure why a TV of this price would fail in a year. I highly recommend you purchase an extended warranty for these products. When these companies use parts suppliers, they tend to look for the cheapest or lowest bidder, so you tend to get a bad part once in awhile.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Display

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 15, 2013
from Alhambra, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Got this TV for almost 7 months, have to say incredible display, flawless image and really good features, the smart hub comes with so many options.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 30, 2013
from Minneapolis
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I've had this for a couple of months and am still learning all the features. But the picture is fantastic and I have no complaints.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

had mine for a year now

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 8, 2013
from florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV has been a work horse great picture no buzzing very reliable I'm now waiting on the evolution kit so I can get a feel for the 2013 platform. I won't be betting a new PNXXF8500 this year but may replace my PN50C7000 next year. I highly recommend this TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This product has great features, great color, display, lightweight, easy to setup, and surf the internet, voice and hand controls.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Colors POP!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2012
from Outside Philadelphia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Still figuring out the Smart TV and 3D parts of the TV, but the colors are WOW!!!! Watched Star Wars Episode IV last night and the details and clarity were AMAZING!!! Gaming is excellent!!! Price is still a bit high, but worth it...It was lighter then my "OLD" 46" LCD...Great TV would buy again!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2012
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: limited 3d media to use 3d content of tv
this is the best buy i have made in the entertainment world!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 16, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Bright display
This is my first new TV in over ten years. I am very impressed with the quality and features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV Ever!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2012
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I have just bought this tv and it is amazing. The 3D, smart hub, skype, internet, and the quality are just amazing. I love to watch this TV all the time. Put it together with the Samsung Sound Bar and the Samsung 3D Blue Ray player, I have never had such a great experience!!! But now they just came out with the 9000 series..boo hoo!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 26, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, adaptable
This TV has the best picture quality and 3D I have seen from all my research before purchasing. My only con is the buzzing I totally missed that in my research, some say its not bad but I have the tv connected to my theater system thru toslink which makes for a little more of a noticeable buzz when sound is low, strange sometimes it there and sometimes it not don't get it. Also it was very adaptable to my home theater system. Really love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 13, 2012
Pros: Realistic color, strong blacks, excellent value
This set has picture quality that is much more natural and balanced than the hyper-bright LEDs. Blacks and color reproduction are particularly strong. I am not experiencing any significant buzzing of the panel that some others have reported. Also, this plasma seems to be resistant to image retention, as I have yet to observe any persistent imagery from watching cable TV and Blu-rays. I would still recommend not leaving a static image displayed on the screen for an extended period of time, but with responsible use, image retention should not be a problem.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2012
from Mt Vernon, NY, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: netflix needs upgrade to enable genre list
This is my second Samsung TV. A great upgrade from the 7000 series. I'm totally happy with the new 60" 8000 series. Colors and definition are remarkable. Great job Samsung, you're the best. Keep up the great work you do. Awesome.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

color is outstanding

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 20, 2012
from michigan
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not enough hdmi inputs, pip not easy to use
great picture and features, easy to operate menu.would recommend to all
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This TV has a perfect picture with all the great add ons

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 24, 2012
from Gainesville, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Overall the picture is brilliant and the features are amazing. You will have some difficulties with the voice and hand controls as they work, however, as long as you're the right distance and angle you should not have too much of a problem. Added a Energy Soundbar to make everything completely simple and it is perfect...minimal wires with fantastic performance. The 3D is unbelievable...adjust the depth and other options to the max and you will be shocked.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

e8000 60" 3d hdtv smart tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
this thing is amazing, was looking at panasonic until i got to play with this baby......
2d to 3d conversion will bring any broadcast or movie to life. amazing, conversation.
smart functions are crazy good.
tv is fun, my daily loves tailing to to it. yes you can talk to the tv......
buy it......
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 6, 2012
from Macomb, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Have had it for two days now and love it. The picture is clear and the colors are vivid. Just getting into all the apps.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product had a great picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2012
from New Jersey
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: complex set up
Just took possession of a new 60 inch Plasma 8000 series and love the picture quality as well as the overall design aesthetics. A bit challenging on the set up.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2012
from california
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
alot of cool features still going threw them all having a blast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very nice tv, but...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 22, 2012
from Georgia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: inadequate sound
The picutre is beautiful! The 3D movies are amazing to behold! The sound is merely adequate. Even at full volume, it wasn't loud ( I have normal hearing). Then we added the Samsung soundbar and that made a huge difference, but I'm still having trouble with the sound fading in and out. Not sure if it's the soundbar, the television, or the settings, but will try to figure it out and get it fixed. I am also disappointed that there is no HBOGO app for this particular tv since it is the highest end of the plasma range. Other than that, it's a great television experience. Added a bluetooth keyboard with little difficulty,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2012
from Monroe, WI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
Although it might be a little dark as far as the background goes this picture quality is excellent, a little high price at the moment, and a little gimicky but for the technophobe they will love it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great TV .....lacking some things......

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 7, 2012
from Louisville Kentucky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: can not control cable box
I saw the commercials and i saw all of the hype about this Television. I will agree its a great TV and I enjoy the features.
I am baffled at the fact this is suppose to be the next latest and greatest, I am not totally sold yet.........
I found that I cannot control my cable box or program the tv tp program from the cable box. so when you use the voice part of the TV and ask to channel up...it only changes the channel that has been programed into the tv and does not work with a digital cable box. Very Disappointing....I was told by the sales person at BB that it would change the channel on the digital box.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
PN59D8000FF
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just ain't there yet. Works? Yes, but.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 11, 2012
from Winston-Salem, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
The motion control needs a 1000 watt spot light to see you, exaggerated, yes, but not too far off. Most TV watching is not done in full sunlight. Rarely can I get it to click by closing my hand. Voice control pops up without prompting it, which mutes the system and this is 3 or 4 times a day. I tried to lower the sensitivity, but then you have to shout at it. That isn’t right. The browser in Smart Hub is a joke, right? It's just there to try your patience. I would rather IE or Chrome as an alternative. I will not have to light the fireplace this winter. We can just huddle around the TV. For 4-6 inches in front of the screen it is very warm. I had no idea. I hope these issues are just a matter of maturity and time and updates will resolve all. Oh, and I had to manually setup my remote. It seems like my universal remote provider (Major Player) would have this 8000 series TV as an automatic activity creation. The Smart Remote that came with the TV is a good concept, but again doesn't work as well as it should and the control of it is awkward. It's designed for other Samsung devices like a DVD player, but what about a set-top box and/or a receiver. Everything I have plugs into the receiver (HDMI, optical audio) so you have fine sound and full control. The Smart Remote is a flop from the start, at least from my viewpoint.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A plasma that acts like LED

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 3, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, great menu system
Cons: poor speaker design, led like flicking going to black screen, like the pn59c8000 stand better
I have bought 3 different Samsung Plasma's in a 3 year period and I like the first two all 8000 series. This new one does something I do not like it acts like an LED when the screen goes black it turns itself off which causes flickering of the screen. A plasma does not need to do this it already has a deep enough black screen. Its very upsetting when the rest of the picture quality is fine. Acting like an LED when its a plasma TV is just poor engineering it removes the plus of having a plasma.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.