Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV

Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Review 1 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best bang for the buck

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 19, 2014
from annapolis, md
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
bought the tv on sale, and i have been impressed with every aspect of it. i never considered buying a plasma tv but now i'm glad i did
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic TV for price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 22, 2014
from Mystic, CT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: limited hdmi ports, no arc support
Did not need a smart TV (I use an external box) or 3D capabilities. With Black Friday sale, this an amazing value!
After breaking in TV for ~ 100 hours, and calibrating using settings found in AVS forum, Picture = Phenomenal. Not quite as good as Samsung's F8500, but still excellent. Very rich colors and wonderful black level.
A bit reflective, but not a problem mounted in basement or not facing a window. TV is super light. Only 2 HDMI ports, but using a HDMI switch, so not problem. Sound is just fine and gets loud enough, but I would still connect to a soundbar at least, if not home theater set up. And HDMI on this TV does not support ARC.
All in all, a super TV at a great price. I am tickled with it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV offers great value. Being used primarily for gaming and sporting shows and action movies using a 7 channel surround sound system Picture is awesome and no delays in any fast moving visuals.
Easy to set up and married with a Samsung blue ray . . . it is terrific.
Only challenge is when the room is filled with strong sunlight the screen can be a little dark.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV For The Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 14, 2013
from RI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
We are very happy with the purchase. Picture is good on HDTV
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2013
from St. Paul, MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, no image blurring
I did not want a 3D TV or A "Smart TV" as I have "smart" DVD player (PS3). Excellent color, no blurring while watching sports. This is a great TV for a very good price. Plasma is way better than LCD all day
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV! Love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2013
from Indiana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cannot beat this tv for the price. The only issue that we found from it so far is in a bright sunny room the glare is awful. However this is fairly standard in a plasma tv I believe so we just moved it to a wall where the sun doesn't glare off the tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is everything we were looking for

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 23, 2013
We've had this a month and love it. It's everything we wanted and at a good price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent choice for the money

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2013
from Northern CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
We were looking for a basic TV with a great picture and sound. With the Samsung 60" Plasma 5300, we found just what we were looking for. The picture is bright, crisp, and easy to view from any setting or angle. We love the 3 picture setting. For the price, it was an excellent choice.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2013
from California
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Picture is great. The picture quality is excellent. At first was unsure about Plasma TVs, but after my father got one just like this, I ended up going with it also. Good buy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5400)
4.2 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
Samsung Epic™ 4G Android Smartphone
4.3 out of 5(1,405)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

samsung, expectacular !

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 29, 2013
from Miami
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
its impressive how this TV performance.
smooth, quality over the top
simply execptional
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic TV

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 13, 2014
from Green Bay, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: built-in speakers, inputs
I went back and fourth between plasma, and LED. I ended up buying this TV for the price and the amazing picture. I am taking away 1 star for 2 reasons. The built in speakers are weak, they are not very strong and at higher volumes they don't sound very good. A lack of inputs and outputs also hurts this TV if you are looking to hook everything up. If you have more than 2 things that need to be hooked up to HDMI, you will need to swap them out. after some very minor tweaking of the video settings, I got one of the best pictures I have ever seen. Very bright, clean and sharp. The TV has a handy swivel stand that feel very strong and it really was not all that heavy. Overall, this has been the best TV I have ever owned and looked way better than most LED, LCD, or plasmas.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Only one flaw with this TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 12, 2013
from Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, audio out of sync
After about a week of using it the video/audio goes in and out of sync. I go through all the steps as suggested in forums and get it corrected and then it slips out again. Some suggest it is a certain network flaw of which I won't mention. Some suggest certain cable stations are the culprit. Some say after pausing it can go out of sync. Very annoying. But a beautiful picture.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good picture TV

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 28, 2013
from Chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, simple setup
Cons: deficient manual
This is my second Samsung tv. I bought the first one, a 58 in. plasma a few years ago. I was surprised on how much less this new one weighed, despite being a little bigger.
I looked at this unit side by side with another brand's tv. The better contrast for this unit was noticeable.
Samsung packaged it very well. There seemed to be little chance of the unit getting damaged during shipping. Setup was straight forward and easy.
I can't comment on the quality of the speakers in the tv, since I have my system hooked up through a AV receiver.
I am pleased with the picture quality of this unit. There are 3 'scene' modes one can choose from, basically how bright the display is. I choose to turn off the eco sensor. It dimmed the display too much and too often.
The second hdmi input can be useful. I have all my products routed through the AV receiver, though if I wanted to hook up a camera for viewing pics, hooking it directly to the tv is easy.
A downside is that the printed manual is basically an extended quick start manual. There is a more detailed 'e manual' accessed via the tv's osd menu. I prefer written manuals.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 60” Class (59.9” Diag.) Plasma 5300 Series TV
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Karate Kid: Turn on, turn off

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2013
from Northeast Pa
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor sound, limited access to the rear of tv
Nice TV for the money but access to the rear of the TV is limited and inconvenient when mounted on a wall. Really a two person project due to it's size. And this will become important when your TV starts turning itself on and off at will. And it will. I see a fix for it listed on the Samsung site but have yet to get to it due to I'll need help taking this big boy down again. Also, plan on getting a sound bar if you plan on watching movies. Sound is okay with just the TV, DVD you better get a good hearing aid or a nice sound bar. I'm really a Samsung guy but this one's a thumbs down disappointment. Read the reviews first before you buy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.