Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)

Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)

Rating:
4.343 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
27 out of 32(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Review 1 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Plasma

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2014
from Orange County, CA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, picture, plasma, 3d, quality of product, features, performance, steaming ability
Cons: poor 3d party bluetooth support, poor documentation of how to use features, lack of mini stereo output
This is by far the best TV I have ever owned. All my friends and family love this TV and the picture quality. I use the 3d feature all the time and really love the quality of this plasma. I very rarely use the camera or the voice option but I do use the smart hub and a lot of the apps. The system is quick and responsive apps load fast and when streaming I have never had the system buffer. This TV does have the Soap Opera effect like most of the LCD and LED sets but Samsung has made this is easy enough to turn off.
The only real complaint I have and it's not really a big problem, is that you cannot connect Bluetooth headphones to this TV and you can't plug in wired headphones either. The only option is to purchase an Optical to Bluetooth adapter to get it to work. Problem solved!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a wonderful picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 28, 2014
from Fountain Valley, CA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, realistic skin tones and detail
Cons: speakers
I've owned this 60" F8500 for about 12 months now, and this TV has OUTSTANDING picture quality. Deep inky black levels and a nice bright display, especially for a plasma. I've tweaked my settings and honestly, the factory settings are pretty good. I personally like the "movie" mode setting which looks awesome, plenty bright. If you like a little more brightness, select "Standard", this setting is very close the LED TV's in terms of brightness but the black levels don't get crushed. I compared this panel to the other high end plasma panels and this F5800 is so much brighter without sacrificing black levels. Color accuracy is wonderful, this is truly an amazing TV.
3D is amazing but honestly, I don't watch it much. Blu-ray movies look spectacular I must say.
With respect to the software suite, you can basically retire your external streaming devise. This TV has just about everything you want built right in. The remote works pretty well, I suggest adding the keyboard if you want to surf the net, makes it much easier to navigate around.
Sound was ok but I added a Samsung HW-E450C sound bar system and that ended that.
In terms of energy consumption, I was concerned about it at first but having 12 months behind me, honestly, I have not noticed any uptick in my monthly bills.
I'm very happy with my purchase, nothing but smiles.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from chicago
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
Everything about this TV is fantastic. My friends and family are always blown away by the design and picture quality. The builtin wifi and smart tv features are incredible and very user friendly.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV, Best picture. Go Plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from CA
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: price
Great picture and great features. All poosible features are included. I cannot think of another possible feature.
The picture quality is the best. Sound quality is average. You need to add a sound system.
The unit has audio optical 5.1 output , just wire directly to a reciever with optical input and you'll have a good system.
The smart features are very good. WiFi is very capable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Boston, MA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, picture better than comparable leds, price cheaper than comparable leds
For a senior citizen who was watching a tube, this TV is superb. The picture in my opinion was noticeably better than a comparable LED TV even in a bright room. I was reluctant to purchase a plasma TV because plasmas are going out of style. However, the better picture and cheaper price and the fact that the salesman informed me that Samsung will support plasmas for at least another year influenced my decision. I sincerely hope Samsung will continue to offer and support plasma TVs in the future.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic clarity

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 16, 2014
from Plainfield, IL, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
I purchased this TV after reading countless reviews and recommendations. I can now add my own positive experience to the long list of good reviews.
This TV exceeded my expectations on clarity while still maintaining a bright picture. Most other plasmas I've seen have been noticeably dim looking (albeit crystal clear). The brightness setting is able to be adjusted much higher than I currently have it set, and I find it plenty bright enough.
The processor is quite fast and I've experienced no lag when switching between any of the large amount of inputs or looking for something to watch with all the smart features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best 1080p TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2014
from Minnesota, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: image retention issues, slight buzz
For those looking for the best current generation (non-4k / UHD) TV look no further. Plasma TVs have come a long way with anti image retention and it is no longer as big a problem as it used to be. However, I have had a little image retention never lasting more than a few minutes. Another complaint is buzzing when the TV is on a bright image not a big deal when there is any volume on. Enough complaining. This TV has the most realistic colors in any TV I have ever seen. extremely bright for a plasma and has one of the best anti reflection coatings that work in a well lit room with numerous windows. All in all, a great TV for those who value picture quality in a TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2014
from ny
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: minor buzzing sound while tv is on sometimes
This TV is amazing very life like picture. BLURAY VIDEOGAMES verizon fios everything looks incredible.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2014
from Seattle Area
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, love all the smart tv parts.
We just moved up to a 60 inch TV from a much smaller one, although it was a flat screen. The TV is Plasma which my husband and I prefer over the LED. I think the picture is better with Plasma although they say bright light affects the picture. This new Samsung has a bright picture with vivid colors and such a great black. It is by far the best picture I have seen on a TV. It also sits across from a wall of windows, and with the wooden blinds closed we have no problem.
We ended up buying the Model # PN60F8500AFXZA. It has 3D which my husband and I did not care about but with the 3D it came with other options and rated better than the one without. I guess I have the option. The sound is fine on the TV but our surround sound is so old I do not think they are compatible so we need to replace that to see an improvement. I was a little worried about the new controller with this set but it was not that hard to get used to. We have not used the voice command yet. It is really a SMART TV.
So far I love everything about it. It is also the first time I have ever bought a Samsung TV. We bought the Samsung because of the ratings given the Plasma on Consumer Reports and on Amazon. I also like the idea that the DVR can record in HD without using so much space. I have three times as much recorded now in HD and it is only 30% full. On our older set my DVR would be at 95% and none of it recorded in high definition. I hate watching commercials so this is BIG for me.
The only problem we has was one part of the base which hooks to the TV was missing plus the screws. We called the company and we had them within the week. I like the way it looks in our family room too.
It has a very nice style and I really like the base of this one which goes across the bottom and not just a few legs in the middle. I bought the Samsung TV online and it shipped beautifully as it was packed so well. I am definitely saving that box for our next move. I always check with the Better Business Bureau and the company checked out.
I would recommend this TV because I LOVE IT.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad I went for the Plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 18, 2014
from Atlanta, GA Metro
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, feature rich
Cons: requires technical know-how
This plasma TV delivers a crisp, clear, bright and quality picture. Mine is in our sun room so brightness of image was critical. Have to admit on full Dynamic it's almost too bright so we toned it down even with sun outside.
TV has more features than any one person would ever need or want. Even after 3 weeks, I'm still trying to learn how to use them all. Guess you could say, this TV is not for the non-technically oriented users. Of course I'm pretty obsolete at 71 but I did come from technical background. My 45 yr. old son is really impressed with the Samsung Plasma. He had been pushing for the Panasonic Plasma that has been discontinued but I selected the Samsung and he thinks I did the right thing now that he has seen and used it's features.
Only problem I have noticed is with features/functions appearing on screen and I have no idea what triggered them. This is especially true if you have Motion Control activated - I still can't figure out how to make that one work seamlessly. Sound Control is likewise something I haven't mastered yet but I believe that is more my fault thank the TV's.
If you are looking for a large screen TV with a brilliant image and features to spare, you probably won't find one better suited than this Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great picture, especially in dark rooms

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 26, 2014
from Arizona, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Pros- great picture quality, vibrant but accurate colors, impressive contrast and dynamic range, beautiful depth, an incredible array of features. I'm at 4600 Ft. elevation, and hear no humming from set.
Cons- audio is poor and sounds a bit tinny. You will need a sound bar or other external speakers to match the video quality. Blu-ray discs in 2.40 or 2.35:1 aspect ratio will always display horizontal bars top and bottom, and there is no way to get rid of them. About 90% of my blu-rays are this format, so I either cannot use them with this set, or risk permanent burn-in damage, I think a design oversight by Samsung. And if you want a workhorse set that will see a lot of day time, bright room usage, I would say go with an LCD/LED set.
However, if most of your viewing will be at night where you can control the lighting, I can't imagine a better set. With good HD source material, I feel like I could crawl right thru the screen and into the scene.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best of the BEST!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, great viewing from different seats
Put in a room with a lot of light? Put in a room with different seating? This TV ROCKS! I have guest who have spent just as much or more and they are shocked. I Did a lot of reading and looking (I am a GUY). My Wife Loves it! We have a few TV's and need a new Main Room TV! It is with out question one of the BEST TV's on the market. Very very Happy with Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Almost Perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2013
from SC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, quad core, smarthub
The picture is outstanding. It is loaded with connections/plugs and features. I love smart hub and the guide. I have smarthub for internet channels and guide for air antenna channels (no source to switch between)!!!
The only thing I wish it had was a bluetooth connection for audio headphones (but there are other ways to connect them).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
This TV was the top rated HDTV by a very respected high tech magazine and they did not lie.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2013
from York, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, easy setup, wifi ready, 3-d!!
Cons: no cons to this point...
I've had this tv for a week now...what a picture...it's like my awesome gaming laptop...plenty of power but with a way bigger screen! Love the apps...love the ease of connecting to my network...hooked up to Netflix and Amazon instant movies!! Got YouTube...can surf the net...got Skype...buy this TV! You'll regret it if you don't...the guys at Samsung...they got they game on!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, Marvelous, Stunning, Lovable, Magnificent or #BESTTVEVERMADE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 16, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
I received this beauty yesterday 10/15/13. The picture is breathtaking. Smarthub is genius. Finally a tv with a remote that can control all my entertainment devices. Im still exploring this beautiful beast and will have more of a review later. people have to realize that no one tv will ever have the best of everything. I have 3 60" tv's now. they are all different brands and 2 are led/lcd. This new plasma is like comparing mars to earth: one is lifeless and dull while the other is full of life and vibrant colors with all kinds of amazing things to find and explore. Plasma is the best for the money!
I will return with more reviews after I watch some 3d movies and explore the best tv ever made.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 9, 2013
from Georgia, US
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, best quality picure ever!
Cons: price is kinda high. . .
This will sound clichèd. . .but once I made my own adjustments to the picture, it now feels like we're in the room with the people on the screen! Every time we watch one of our favorite shows on this TV, we're astounded at the clarity and realism. We're seeing and experiencing things we never have before, even with other HD TVs. It's a whole new world.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 26, 2013
from Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: confusing remote control
We spent a lot of time reading the various reviews. This TV has great reviews! We bought our last TV 12 years ago. Anything would have been an upgrade. We are so glad we purchased this TV. It has all the bells and whistles!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome 60" Plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 4, 2013
from Virginia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV is amazing. Samsung rep. talked me into the plasma over the LED and I could not be more pleased. At 600Hz motion blur is not an issue. Voice activation and hand controls is also a wow feature for your friends, but is actually quite useful. Picture quality is so crisp it often feels like you could crawl into the TV. I am still learning how to use all of the Bonus features of being a Smart TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unbelievable & Brilliant

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 17, 2013
from Murphy, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, awesome quality, fun and easy to use!, interactive, powerful
Going out on a limb here, if you haven't experienced Samsung's Smart TV's...your missing the big picture!
Ok, so you get brilliant picture quality, plus so much more. The features are fun and easy to use. The smart side makes for great interactive use. You get way more than the average Plasma TV can give you.
I have been glued to the screen and loving how smart this TV is. The picture? Just incredible! I love the depth of colors and bright sounds!
I just wanted to tell you Samsung...this smart TV is AWESOME! Thanks for the value guys! A+++
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great color, black levels

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2013
from Las Vegas, NV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I've had this TV for almost three weeks and am very happy with the picture and features. A full 1080p 3D display that is truly impressive and provides a realistic 3D experience with the Samsung Active glasses provided.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never considered buying a Plasma TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 1, 2013
from Fairfax, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Based on things that I read years ago, I never considered buying a Plasma TV. After reading reviews and seeing videos about the Samsung F8500 series we bought one. Our PN60F8500 is fantastic. Bright, beautiful, realistic colors and deep black.
All three of my coumputer monitors are Samsung and we have a Samsung LED TV. Samsung displays are the best!
I checked the Inexpensive Pro because you could spend a lot more and not get a TV as good as mine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful picture.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 5, 2014
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: expensive, poor speakers
Out of the box, the base was virtually impossible to install properly on to the TV. The base just wouldn't fit completely inside the sleeve on the back of the TV on one side and to this day the right side is higher than the left side because of this. This TV is heavy and tring to force things with a 60" piece of glass is a scarey undertaking. All in all we are very satisfied with the TV. I wish more apps were available. It came with HBO Go but not MAX Go, as an example. Difficult to find movies with the intuitive choices. Sometime a link to free movies would appear and other times it was nowhere to be found. Maybe in time I will get the hang of that better.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture - terrible remote

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2014
from albuquerque NM
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, plasma
Cons: poorly designed remote, voice control doesn't work well
I purchased this TV for it’s great picture and sleek design. I wanted a new plasma screen before they totally disappeared from the market, and can certainly see the difference between this TV and the many LEDs available. Great picture!
So the viewing experience is good, but unfortunately the TV’s downfall is its remote control interface. I haven’t found anyone who likes it.
For starters the remote is so small and slippery that it’s almost impossible to control with one hand. I’m constantly dropping it. Add that I’m left handed, and I’m always pressing the mute button (located on the left side edge of the remote) by mistake.
After owning this TV for a while, you might think I’d be an expert at using the remote’s slide pad control. But it’s still very difficult to control. I’m often sliding past whatever it is I’m attempting to highlight. I’d love an old fashioned push-button remote to control this TV’s basic functions, but I can’t find a compatible one – not even the TV controls on my Samsung blu-ray player will work with it.
While I’m glad to have the built-in program guide, it is very sluggish – taking up to a minute sometimes to display a page of content. Then, when I want to see a second page I often have to wait again – all the time having the program I’m watching muted and unavailable. One would think the data could be loaded once and remain for the evening, but five minutes later it has to load again (strange). For the record, it’s not the fault of my wifi connection, which is super fast.
One cannot just mute this TV’s internal sound when watching a blu-ray via their external surround sound system. You have to lower the sound level to zero in order to prevent the mute icon from displaying over your movie (Not critical, but certainly annoying).
After getting totally frustrated with the voice recognition feature of this TV, I finally had to shut it off permanently. Theoretically, one must say “Hello TV” in order to activate it, but I found it doing its thing whether I asked it or not. The worst scenario is when, in the middle of a great movie, it would decide to take me to the Internet (because it interpreted the dialog within the movie as a command). I take my movies seriously, and this is just unacceptable.
It’s common knowledge that one can be spied on through built-in camera devices. Having said that, I thought it best to close the camera when not in use. But now I have to wade through an annoying “camera is closed” message every time I turn on the TV.
The bottom line is that I wish this TV had a more traditional interface. Where the remote is concerned, they may have tried to make it too smart and whiz-bang for its own good. Call me old fashioned, but my primary concern is a TV experience where technology does not get in the way. In this case, my best guess is that the supplied remote was designed by right-handed engineers rather than product designers with ease of use and functionality in mind.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 21, 2014
from Suffolk County, NY, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Bought this last month after shopping for some time. Compared to LED's and other Plasmas, especially at this size, the picture quality can't be matched, Lots of features that are cool, but I find unnecessary.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome picture

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 27, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Love the picture.
First smart tv,still learning
.Dont like internet browser
Needs more apps
Randy
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 18, 2014
from San Jose, CA
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
The picture out of the box is great. You really don't need to adjust it. If you want to tinker with the picture it has all the features you could want.There's no buzzing sound that some plasma display have.
The wife likes the bright display and streaming TV shows from the APPS menu.
The only minor problem is with the remote. It takes some getting use to and it is very touchy.
Buy a plasma before they are phased out. They cannot make they in 4K. More pixels don't necessarily mean a better picture.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect size TV, easy to handle, light for it's size

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2014
from Aurora, Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Happy with our first plasma TV. The picture is very sharp and clear. The remote is easy to understand and allows for a lot of picture control... I like to switch from zoom to adjusted size screen for those shows running a banner at the top or bottom of the screen.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: network connection very slow
I am happy with the T.V., the brilliant colors and features. One of Samsung big selling point was the internet features but the connection to the internet is very slow. I would have given it 5 Stars if it was better.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great picture quality but too many nag notifications.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
The image quality and feature set are impressive. However, there are too many "nag" notifications that cannot be switched off by the user.
First is the message that appears when the TV senses no video input, which doesn't automatically clear for quite a long time. A "Check the device is connected properly, then try turning on the device by selecting the button below." The "below" options are "STB" and "OK". Basically, the owner has to manually clear the nag message, sometimes repeatedly, if the HDMI signal is routed through an A/V receiver. An initial message is all that's required and should clear once the TV is provided a video signal.
Second are the Smart TV nag notifications that appear each time the TV is switched on and APP maintenance is planned. In particular, a "scheduled service maintenance" message appears with each TV power on, even though I've read it already.
Summary: the TV picture quality and feature set are great. But more owner control needs to be provided in selecting whether they want to be bothered by "nag" messages. My Samsung UN55ES8000 TV doesn't bombard me with such nag messages. I wish Samsung would configure their newer TV's, like the PN60F8500 the same way, hopefully with the next firmware update.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

bad features

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 11, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Picture is great. Hand and voice activation sucks useless. Remotes suck.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

BUZZZING IS DRIVING ME CRAZY

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 4, 2014
from Virginia, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, buzzing
This is my second F8500. Returned the first one because of buzzing, and the second one is still buzzing. At normal volume, almost 13' way from the TV.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a good match with sound bars: Will not pass 5.1DD from HDMI thru Optical Jack

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2013
from Philadelphia, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Bright display
Cons: optical jack will not pass 5.1 dd from hdmi source
The picture quality is good, but you can get the same from a much cheaper TV. The anti-glare screen is quite good and the overall brightness is adequate- especially for bright rooms. About the same as most LEDs.
The quality of the speakers is poor which leads to my largest disappointment: The TV will ONLY pass 5.1 DD via the optical jack if the source originates from either OTA or SmartHub. The TV will not pass 5.1 thru the optical jack if the source originates from HDMI.
Unfortunately, the majority of our TV viewing originates from the cable STB. (Sports, Movies, Primetime shows) Even though the STB will pass 5.1 to the TV, the F8500 dummies it down to 2.0 when passing through the optical jack to the sound bar.
Samsung customer support could not explain why it will pass the 5.1 from the OTA and SmartHub, but not from the HDMI inputs.
This is a very expensive TV and this seems to be a major oversight.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Overall disappointed in the whole package

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2013
from Frisco, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, difficult to use remote, app problems
I was extremely excited to get my new Samsung 8500, but have been overall disappointed with it. I did very much like the picture quality. It was superb.
After that, I haven't been impressed. The Netflix app gives ongoing audio cutouts (one of the main reasons I went with this TV) even after firmware upgrades, the remote is confusing and very hard to use (I wish it shipped with 2 remotes, this one and a traditional one), and the TV generates an audible buzz. That, coupled with the fact that the video ports no longer work on it, have left me with a negative overall impression of the TV and the quality behind it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
7of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Plasma F8500 Series Smart TV - 60" Class (59.9" Diag.)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great while it lasted

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 6, 2014
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I used this TV for to days and it Quit working, power will not come on
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.