Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV

Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 out of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Review 1 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Smart TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2013
from Memphis, TN
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
This is an awesome TV, the name - SMART TV says it all, the clarity, distinct picture is just perfect!!! I love this tv!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One big awesome 3d TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 4, 2012
from Montgomery, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: none
All I can say is wow. Found a great deal on this TV. It is awesome and Ive had no issues at all. It is the family TV in the living room and we all watch 3d movies on movie night.
It provides a lot of enjoyment to my family and movie experience in my own home.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3D upgrade

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 2, 2012
from texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, 1080p clarity and small pixel size
Cons: not wi fi enabled
great product, value, style, quality, performance.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Quality Value Plasma Buy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 5, 2012
from Hawaii and Florida
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, 3-d
I own seven Samsung plasma TV's purchased between 2005 and 2012 in sizes from 50" to 64". They are all great, but this latest 64" model is the best value yet. Keep up the great work Samsung !
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 3, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: did not come with 3d glasses or hdmi 1.4
Samsung 64" plasma tv is one of the great tv I have seen to work so well with 3D and picture Quality is so bright and detailed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWSOME TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 21, 2012
from LAWTON,OK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I have had many Samsung product.
I love the 64" tv it has a great picture easy to use and set up. I had already got the Blueray player. it great also
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best 3D and style in the industry!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 30, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not the best for sound
So far this television has impressed me beyond any other. The 3D application is very impressive. The styling on this television with the ultra slim bezel is also very impressive. I own 4 samsung televisions and have owned older models in the past and they are in my opinion the best in the industry.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superior Images

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2011
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I was wary of a plasma but took the plunge anyway. Hope it lasts longer than the Toshiba DLP I just junked.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2011
Pros: huge screen, 3d is amazing
The picture is incredible! I only own Samsung brand tvs. I wasnt sure about the 3D, I figured I would hardly use it. To my amazement it is incredible, and you can turn anything your watching into 3D and it is great!!! I have also watched 3D movies and played 3D games, also incredible.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

64" Plasma AWESOME PICTURE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2011
from Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Color is perfect, sound is great. Awesome tv! Better picture than lcd or led.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Television

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2011
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I use this primarily for playing video games and watching sports. I have multiple flat screens in my home and this provides the best picture by far!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All others are Imitations!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 26, 2011
from Lynchburg,VA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, built-in features
I originally bought the 50" Plasma which is fantastic. I wanted something larger so I got the 64" and became the envy of my street. The picture can't be beat. Hosting the NFL games every Sunday. Network connection with auto updates, Netflix,Fandango and VUDU. I need nothing else but chips and beer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Battery Operated Active Glasses for 2011 Samsung 3D TVs
4.4 out of 5(52)
 
 
 
 
AV Cable EA-CB20A12
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2011
from Anthem
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Awesome HUGE TV!!!!! I LOVE this TV!!!! Buy one you wont regret it!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

64" Plasma TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 20, 2011
from Fort Worth
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
The 64" Plasma TV is best picture I have ever seen. The sound is awesome. It is like having a theater in your home.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This TV has a great picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 21, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
I searched for almost a year to find just the right television. This TV has exceeded my expectations in picture quality and features. It is easy to set up and the on-screen manual is easy to understand.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sound quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2012
from glendale,arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: no audio output jacks, speakers in rear, low quality sound, too many input jacks
My only complaint on this t.v thus far is that the only way to get audio out from the set is with a fiber optic cable. I have never owned a t.v that didn't have rca output jacks on the back. This is sad because to hook up any external sound device you must purchase a device with a fiber optic input jack and a fiber optic cable to attach it to the sound out on the t.v. What in the world was samsung thinking when they designed this set ??? The t.v speakers are terrible
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this product is worth the screen size alone..

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2012
from Niles, Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The tv is very slim, 2.2 inches wide, that I like about the tv. The tv displays the logo Samsung across the back if the mtv which I also like. Overall the screen is huge and has a good picture but the color isn't very bright at all. The contrast ratio is only 200,000 to 1 , which I think they should of done a lot better for a tv of this size.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good TV

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, good 3d
Cons: cost to much, no power button on tv
Good HD pic Good 3D only had this tv for a 7 weeks so far its good
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

PN64D550 review

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2011
from Plano, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: some reflection, some brightness pops
Fine TV. Haven't really exercised 3D yet but it is great for 2D football and other HD. I'm not a gamer so this is strictly a TV for me and I like it. The gripes some have about reflections in the glass or brightness "pops" are true but not a problem for my viewing habits. They are practically unnoticeable. Overall I am very happy with the TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very poor Allshare

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 25, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor sound, poor allshare
Overall TV is fine, but if you want to view vids and pictures from your computor this is pain to set up and when you add new stuff it takes more upkeep. Plus I did 1 update and it wiped everything out and I had to start all over. My 3 year old other brand blueray player is much easier and I've never had a update problem. I would not buy this TV or blueray player again.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disturbing color distortion of the skin tone.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2011
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
I wanted a plasma rather than an LED for the rich vivid true-to-life display. Who cares about the weight, the thickness, or the power consumption?!
I was very happy with Samsung 58” PN58A650T1FXZA, so I decided to give Samsung another try.
Right out of the box, I noticed that the color on PN64D550C1F wasn’t as vibrant as the PN58A650T1FXZA, but wasn’t quite sure. The black wasn’t deeply black and the contrast wasn’t very sharp. The worst problem with PN64D550C1F was the skin tone. The faces of the actors had pinkish/reddish hue, which is very disturbing to look at. Sometimes the skin tone would look bleached out. I tried adjusting the settings, but nothing could satisfactorily correct the skin tone. I often walked back and forth from the living room to the bedroom comparing the PN64D550C1F to the PN58A650T1FXZA, and the more I compared, the more dissatisfied I became. Adjusting the brightness settings, the contrast settings, the color settings, the red/green settings, etc., all failed.
I finally returned the TV for a refund. I went to BestBuy and looked at other Samsung plasmas, and lo and behold, all the Samsung plasmas had the same color distortion of the skin tone; they had a pinkish/reddish hue. Interestingly, Samsung LEDs don’t have such color distortion. To more easily notice it, compare it side-by-side with a Samsung LED or a plasma from another company.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.