Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Plasma TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV

Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Review 1 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST Television EVER...!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 15, 2013
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, 3d is outstanding!, i have no cons to add!
We shopped for months before making the purchase of our 64" Samsung. Compared features, size, picture quality, etc. I didn't even care if the TV has 3D. I had not seen 3D quality worth extra money. My feeling was, if 3D costs more... Take it off the set! LOL!
Well, my granddaughter wanted to see Cirque du Soleil (the outstanding Circus performers!) in 3D, so I begrudgingly said okay and rented the Program. WOW! Was I blown away! In one of the first scenes, there were actually bubbles floating in my Living room! Last night we watched to new Wizard of Oz. It adds SO MUCH to program! The 3D glasses are amazing. They sync with the television via Bluetooth. Not the cheesy cardboard frames and one red and one blue film lens. These are HIGH TECH.
Gaming on my PS3 is OUTSTANDING! I'm inside the game at 64 inches!!!
HD is GREAT. It is the largest TV we can fit on the wall in our living room. To say that we are happy with the TV doesn't begin to say how much we love this set!
Thanks Samsung, for the best quality and value for our money!
Richard & Karen
Sacramento, CA
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2013
from Michigan City, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, connects to the network fast., great looking.
Cons: screen glare when direct light hits screen.
First Samsung has shown that they lead in service to their customers. I had problems with a older DLP rear projection TV. Samsung stood behind the product and replaced it with this unit.
It has a great picture, features that would make anyone happy to own it.
I own other Samsung products and have not had any issues before this.
I would recommend that you look at the plasma, and led tv's.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Friend

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
I love everything about it! the wifi connection is amazing, i can connect my s3 to this tv its sooo cool! the allshare app helps me play my music and see my pictures
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color
Still learning some of the bells and whistles, which are many - but the simple answer is it's a great tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome tv

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2012
from Jacksonville
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
This TV is amazing. I couldnt ask for a better TV to have.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2012
from St Paul, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I always over research purchases like this and this tv for the money is outstanding
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 17, 2012
from Tampa, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am a first time plasma owner and was always afraid to buy a plasma! I am so glad I made the decision to go with the plasma! It's the best picture hands down!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to operate
The set up was simple and quick. The picture quality is out of this world. I am VERY satisfied. Can't wait to access all the features
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
for the price, you cannot go wrong with this TV. after many hours of research and store shopping, I went with this TV and haven't regretted it. the picture quality is great and being an avid gamer/sports fan, the TV does not hesitate to out perform the other TVs I was looking at. The features are an added plus especially the Anynet+. When hooked to my Samsung HTIB, the hassle of shuffling between remotes is gone. All in all, I'm glad I got this TV and have yet to find any reason why not to like it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Home Theater System with Vacuum Tube & Digital Amp (HT-E6730W)
4.5 out of 5(42)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great display

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 27, 2012
from San Diego
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Glad we went with this model. Upgrading from a 50in first gen plasma Samsung and the differences are amazing!
Light weight,
very bright panel,
Super thin,
Stays cool to the touch when not viewing 3d - a plus for power consumption.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3D plasma

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 22, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
I didnt know what to think when switching from my LCD to a plasma, especially when i had nothing but great a picture from my LCD. I am impressed
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Picture! Great 3D!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 5, 2012
from Olathe, KS
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
After returning a recent 65 inch LED with horrible picture quality and blooming, I was extremely excited with the quality darks and colors on this 64 inch plasma!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far, so good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2012
from South Carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
The family really enjoyed the product. Was recommended by my brother, and so far it is perfect for the family.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

550 series stays a 5 star value!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2012
from central valley, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This is my secound plasma 550 TV, i also own a PN59D550 (last years model) and loved it. So i decided upgraded to this years PN64E550 to get a bigger TV screen, not thinking there would be to much of a difference. I was wrong! It has the most wounderful deep blacks and noticable brighter colors then last years model! The smart TV was cooler then I had expected a really sweet add to a lower priced TV! Also must of all the plasma display is still perfect for all my sports viewing, never blurs even with watching a basketball game! All an all, for what the price tag is on this TV and what you get in return is hands down the best out!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2012
from Earth
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Easy to use, easy to set up, great picture, love it
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features, great picture, great price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
This TV went into my new entertainment room, with Marantz surround sound and Paradigm speakers. The TV connected to my cable box without a hitch, accessed my wireless router for web access and streaming movies flawlessly, and is now attached to the surround sound system. The picture is awesome, adjustability features of the set is great, and the home theater pulls the whole thing together. Best Buy had a great sale - overall an excellent value, I'd highly recommend to others.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

new 3d

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
the pic is outstanding, I expect a along life out of it, as my other samsung products have....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this plasma tv is has a very clean & sharp picture

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2012
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
for the size of the screen this plasma tv is has a very clean & sharp picture - the 3D picture is great and very easy to hook up. What I didn't like was the quality of the speakers or sound it's not the greatest. The pricing of this tv is just about right - I would have like it to have a longer warranty for how much I had to pay for it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Outstanding price and features

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
easy to install the smart TV outstanding and the 3D picture unbelivable easy to use and understand
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty happy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 6, 2012
from illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Bright display
Cons: amp outputs
Love tv so far.Wish it had optic out puts for all heim connections for my amp.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Happy with purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 23, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Picture quality and colors are great.
Viewing angle is awesome. Sound is very good.
Slight buzz when sitting at certain angles and tv volume is low. I noticed this more when I mounted it on the wall. When it was on the stand and not as close to the wall I did not notice it. TV has a glossy screen so reflections are a problem if you have a bright window behind you. Once I wall mounted and put on a slight downward angle this solved my glare problem. I purchased 3 LED LCD tvs over the past 2 weeks and have returned all of them and decided on plasma and am happy I did. Plasma in my opinion is superior and plenty BRIGHT enough.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The Smart Hub practically never works.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onNovember 19, 2012
from Tampa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I have had problems accessing the internet on this TV since the day I got it. Had I conducted additional research, I would have learned it is a consistent problem that other users have. I am still waiting for a solution, after one week of ownership. Picture is nice, but not worth the extra considering the frustrations you will have with the other key features.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 64" Class (64.01" Diag.) Plasma 550 Series TV
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not so great.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 24, 2012
from Maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Purchased this tv after doing exhaustive research. So much for all that effort.....and time. Dark scenes, no matter what the picture mode setting are just plain terrible. Any dark scene becomes very grainy like and is very annoying. In fact, I find it ridicules. I'd rather watch the 7 year old no name lcd tv in my bedroom.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.