Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Bottom Freezer
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator

Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Review 1 for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT FRIDGE FOR THE MONEY

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2012
from LA, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, quality materials, fingerprint resistant door
Cons: no water filter
We bought the RB217ACRS a few months ago and couldn't be happier with the value. The temp control feature is great, as is the ice maker, twin cooling and LED lighting. We haven't had any issues with it so far.
One thing to note, it doesn't come with a water filter. You can purchase one separately from Samsung or do what I did and hook it up to the under sink purifier.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for our needs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 19, 2012
from Richmond, Va.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This a great refrigerator! We started with a Samsung dishwasher and decided to replace all our major kitchen appliance with Samsung stainless items. They have all proven stylish, convenient, and better made than even the so called high end brands.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

amazing performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 7, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, great fridge
We returned from a trip to find our 4 year old fridge dead. Had to buy another in a hurry, and bought the Samsung bottom freezer model.
Didn't really expect a whole lot since it was the cheapest bottom freezer model available, but we were very pleasantly surprised! This fridge is, by far, the best we've ever seen at keeping food fresh. You'd think a fridge, is a fridge, is a fridge, but this one will keep milk fresh long past its due date. We've had milk last 10 days longer than it should. Other foods stay fresh longer. Takes a really long time for celery to turn black in this fridge!
I wish the shelves were more adjustable; the milk will only fit in the door shelf, but that's my only complaint.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of useable storage space for compact size

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2010
from Hickory, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: like external temp. display, very quiet
Cons: needs split shelf configuration
We wanted to get a counter-depth refrigerator to have more room in kitchen, but they were priced too high. Then we saw this model without protuding handles in dealer showroom and found it came close to our limitations. It is much easier to see in refrigerator since it is eye level, the door storage is very handy and the two drawer freezer with ice-maker is easy to access. The two storage bins are more than ample. The 5 year warrenty on the compressor was also a strong buying influence.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+36points
36of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Icemaker spit out plastic pieces

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2012
from nashville, tn
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I've only had this refrigerator for six months and the ice maker is already broken and spit at me...plastic and foam pieces. Sad.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not buy

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 22, 2012
from Bethel, Ct
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Nothing but problems, service has been to my house 8 times,
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Huge Disappointment

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2012
from An hour from Seattle
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Pros: Bright display, interior led lights
Cons: Poor quality, has failed twice in 18 months, the cost of replacing spoiled food
This fridge was purchased/delivered Dec 2010. In May 2011, less than 5 months after delivery, it died. Warranty covered the replacement of the failed compressor. Thank you Samsung!
Now, 11 months after the compressor was replaced, the fridge is dead once again. We suspect a second dead compressor. The fridge is at our second home, and it died sometime earlier this week. Within 18 months, we've had two go-arounds with rotten, stinky food when we get to our sanctuary on a Friday night.
I like many features of this fridge. It may be a "sweet lemon", however since it can't seem to keep food cold and frozen for even a year. I'll call Samsung on Monday (5-7-12) and see if they will do anything meaningful to get this thing definitively fixed. I hope the company stands behind their obviously problematic product, but I have my doubts. If they won't fix it, I've learned a painful lesson about this company and the quality of its products. I'll post a follow-up on how this turns out.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 20 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not As Advertised

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2012
from Atlanta
I have used this product for:less than a month
Cons: Did not meet expectations
On this website (samsung.com) this refrigerator indicates that it has a water filter & dispenser
"Convenient display shows the inside temperatures, when to change the filter, and controls the ice and water dispenser."
I purchased this item sight unseen relying on the information advertised to be true. When I received the refrigerator without these items I was told that it was a mistake on the website (this isn't the only site that indicates that this model has a water dispenser - google it). That's unfortunate because water dispenser is one major reason I chose this single door model. Hopefully the the site will be updated but it doesn't help me. I will be returning it, & not for another Samsung because they feel that having *feature subject to change* on the bottom of the webpage is enough to justify missing features.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.