Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop French Door
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator

18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator

Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Review 1 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Appliance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 17, 2012
from Pawnee, OK.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: functional
Cons: none so far
Beautiful, functional and modern.
Very pleased with my purchase.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Great fridge, works well.. holds temp perfectly. Thanks samsung
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for french door/bottom freezer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, dual compressors, even distribution of temperature
No other competitor has a refrigerator in this price range with all the features and quality.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2010
from Greenbelt, MD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
I've had this fridge for only 5 days and absolutely love it. It was easy to set up, the space is roomy, and the price makes it a great value. I don't like the smooth shiny doors, though, because I'm afraid they will show even minor scratches over time. The temperature settings are programmed so I cannot adjust them to any degree I want but the preset temps are fine. The freezer has a light which is very helpful and this one has a freezer drawer which I really wanted. Exceptional value!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Met my needs

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2010
from Grand Blanc, MI
I did extensive Internet and Consumer's Reports research when faced with purchasing a new refrigerator as the last one was 21 years ago. This model met most of my preferences for features, and especially for quiet operation. I am not connecting the ice maker so can not comment on that. The deli tray is enough for my needs and slides from side to side for convenience. I would have liked a wine cooler rack but am improvising. It is handsome, solidly built and the installers were impressed with it in comparison to many others they've come across, as am I.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very much meets our needs

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2010
from Milwaukee, WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
We wanted a smaller refrigerator with a bottom freezer. This is the best unit for our needs. Could not find anything better. Not perfect, but no serious regrets at all. Wish it had a wine bottle holder and a larger deli drawer - but these are minor issues. We've only had it for less than a week now. Very quiet. Nice looking. Love the LED lights inside and large freezer section with pull-out drawers.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for small spaces

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 30, 2010
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have this model's predecessor, RF197ABWP, which I'm sure is the same as this newly numbered model, purchased in March,2010. Selected it based on the dimensions, as it had to fit within a defined space in a small kitchen, and it was the best fit from all bottom freezers I researched. It has great modern features and style,as well as function. It is quiet too. Only con so far is that I wish it had a larger drawer for the meat/cheeses and that the drawer is inconveniently located in the center of the shelf rather than on one side or other.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not bad

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 14, 2013
from Orange, NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: looks elegant, big freezer
Cons: gets noisy, french door design little cheap
I've had this refrigerator for a month now.I like it.Looks huge although it is only 18 cubic feet.It works fine so far.Now and then it makes a terrible noise-like broke car engine ,wakes me up with a panic attack when it happens in the middle of the night.French door design is little unfortunate. The left hand side of the door must fall into certain spot and everything is made of plastic;I'm afraid it is going to brake.Not recommended for a family with young children-they do not pay attention to details.But it looks great in my kitchen,the freezer part is big enough,overall I am pleased with this product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great applicance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2011
from NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: shelf spaces are too small
This product is well lit and has great features such as a bell to let you know if a door was left open and optional quick freeze button. It is easy to control its functions. I love the french doors.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung French Door Refrigerator

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2010
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: freezer handle can be difficult to install
Very stylish and counter depth is very attractive. The inside is beautiful. Easy to install and hook-up. My only concern is the freezer handle is difficult to snap into place. If done incorrectly, it pulls off, so it takes some patients to properly place the freezer handle. Overall, it is terrific.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very quiet,but sheves are not convient

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 18, 2010
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Much quieter than our previous refrigerator and we like the convience of the French doors and bottom freezer.
Samsung is highly rated by consumer magazines.
On the negative side: the cheese drawer is much too shallow and the shelf configuration does not allow for tall objects.Door bins are small. Shelves in our 16 year old top mounted freezer were much more convient,but we didn`t realize this when examining the Samsung in the store.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

leaks reguraly

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 3, 2012
from Brooklyn, CT
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Purchased a year and a half ago. Noticed condensation at bottom of frig near below the crisper trays. Removed trays to find that area freezes than melts. I cleaned it out again and this morning checked it. Water in same place. My last frig lasted 20 years without a problem. I feel the quality is poor. But it is a pretty looking piece of equipment.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I've been really disappointed with this refridgerator

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 3, 2012
Cons: Poor quality
I was really looking forward to getting this fridge because it has great features and a great price for a fridge of these dimensions. Within 2 months the freezer stopped working. The refridge part worked fine, but the freezer was room temp. I was given a new fridge. This new one is really really noisy. I haven't taken to hitting it yet, but I'm almost ready to just get rid of it because it drives me crazy. There is a loud vibration sound coming from it that I can't locate. I've found all kinds of places that I push and apply pressure to that make the vibration stop temporarily, but I can't locate the source of the noise. I've adjusted the feet and moved everything around, but I still can't find the source of the noise. I want to return it, but it is too late now.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 18 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Design & Performance Problems

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 24, 2012
from San Diego
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, size: counter depth
Cons: Did not meet expectations, design flaw?
I loved this refrigerator until I started having problems. Water started collecting in the drawers and below them, which also formed ice. Had a repairman come and the drain plug for defrosting was frozen shut. So the water from defrosting drained into the refrigerator, instead of draining to the pan. The repairman replaced the defrosting unit and it took him a while to get rid of the "ice plug" that had formed. Worked well after that until today I discovered it is doing it again - three months after the repair. I will call the repairman again, tomorrow....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.