Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop French Door
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator

Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Review 1 for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fridge

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2012
from Street, MD
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
When searching out a new fridge was first unsure of the Samsung name. Always thought of Samsung for making electronics which I have several and am very pleased with their tvs and cell phones. This product is no different. It is a great overall product. It is roomy, keeps a constant temperature and the french door with bottom freezer is a very attractive piece in my kitchen. I love the versatility of the space in the upper fridge area.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refrigerator had to be ordered - had for only 6 days

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
from Silverhill, AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, love it so far.
Our experience so far is 5 Star. We will come back some time later for updated rating.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exceeds my expectations!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 20, 2011
from TX
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, plenty of room inside, quiet, great features
i am a research-aholic and i put a lot of time into finding the right fridge...this one had everything i was looking for and has been the best fridge i have ever owned...i am a happy owner!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best we could find

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 27, 2011
from Ukiah, California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Before I state reasons why I believe this Samsung refrigerator (29 cubic foot French-door bottom freezer- model RFG293HAWP) is the best one available, I’ll note why our opinion is credible.
My wife and I are 66 years old. We’ve been around refrigerators awhile. I’m mechanically inclined, always maintaining our home and vehicles, and have just completed a total kitchen remodel, from floor to ceiling. My wife knows how to do anything in our home, yard and garden. We have a high standard of work ethic and always take pride in what we do. What we choose to purchase, must meet our exacting standards.
We both wanted a refrigerator with a lower freezer compartment (spent enough years bent over searching for fridge items), and favored a French-door for ease of use, but had no idea what brand. We did not want a water and ice dispenser in the door, wanting that interior space instead for food items. We shopped a local appliance store’s two brands, what was at Home Depot and Best Buy, and found the biggest brand selection at a large Sears store. I am certain we spent over seven hours of hands-on in-store comparisons.
Most notable to me was that Samsung’s freezer drawer had by far the most substantial feel to it. How it opened and closed and moved was of an obvious better quality than any other brand. This was important to me because I knew we were likely to have the freezer full most of the time, with that weight tracking in and out on the drawer slides.
A very nice convenience of the freezer drawer is when opening it, the handle lifts as it is pulled, and that action levers open the drawer, breaking the vacuum seal, making the drawer much easier to pull open. I noticed this during our in-store comparisons and now with it full and in use here at home, the freezer drawer is really easy to open, especially for our smaller grandchildren.
What was obvious to my wife during our in-store brand comparison was that the door compartment shelves, interior shelves and drawers, were of a better quality than any other brand. We kept going from brand to brand, then back to Samsung, and that conclusion was apparent. Some brands seemed surprisingly cheap.
Realizing that the 29 cubic foot Samsung is the same cabinet size as the 25 cubic foot model, made choosing the larger unit a logical choice. Our five grandchildren are with us often and we need the shelve space in the refrigerator. Samsung’s method of insulating allows more interior space, with the standard width size of 35 and ¾” of the smaller units.
Samsung is the only refrigerator we found that has a twin cooling system, where the fridge and freezer have separate evaporators. This separate air flow also keeps food odors separated. This method of cooling is more efficient, in line with their Energy Star compliance. After our lengthy in-store comparisons, we had no brand as a second choice – Samsung was undoubtedly the best, with nothing comparable.
Now in use, I’ve found it to be quieter than other fridges we’ve owned. And all the many convenience features it has really makes using it a fun experience. I’ve just opened that easy-to-open freezer door again for the fun of it, and of course, while in the freezer, served us some ice cream. I’ve found the ice cream to be always at the same degree of frozen hardness, unlike past refrigerators, where there was always some variance, based on what was needing to be cooled in the fridge compartment, or the fluctuation in the controls. The digital temperature control of the Samsung keeps fridge and freezer items at the chosen temperature.
For your comparison shopping, note all the convenience features. I especially like the fridge levered door closure, by which the door is pulled closed as it is about to close. This makes certain you have not left a door ajar, but if you do, there is a bell alarm to remind you. I’ve come to really appreciate the French-door, for often I’m going in to just get one item. The smaller door is easier to handle, and the smaller opening, limits a cold/warm air exchange.
We are not using the ice maker so I’ve not hooked up a water supply. We have an under the counter water filtering system and have limited use of ice cubes. This fridge comes with an ice maker, but thankfully, it does not take up much room.
We do recommend that before plugging it in and using it, that you let it sit with the doors and bins open for a few days for the out-gassing of plastic, which is a strong smell and does diminish in time. We left house windows open during this time for ventilation.
The rest of this is about the mechanics of getting it home and installing it for those who desire doing so. My fastidious nature is such that I wanted to do this myself.
New refrigerators can now be transported lying down, so it laid down nicely in the back of a small pickup. It could also be slid into the back of a van.
My wife and I were able to slide it out of the pickup, onto our driveway and dolly it near the front door to un-box it. On which side to use the dolly is clearly marked on the box. Removing the box, Styrofoam and plastic covering, left it standing on a heavy-duty Styrofoam pad.
My strong son and I dollied it in, through a 36” wide door, but removing the house door off the hinges was necessary. The manual inside the fridge explains how to remove the fridge and freezer doors if entry doors are smaller.
We have laminate flooring so caution needed to be taken as to how the weight was tracked over the flooring due to how it may flex the flooring seams, which does happen because of the foam pad underlayment. I laid scrap sections of ¾” plywood, with blankets between the wood and laminate, and dollied over that, setting the refrigerator down on one piece of 3/4” plywood, which was over a thick blanket.
Making sure the laminate flooring was clean, as well as the blanket, we were able to slide the refrigerator – with the blanket under the plywood as a cushion, over the laminate to position it for its final placement. This was done though after days of letting it set open to air out.
The refrigerator moves back and forward on four rollers, with the back ones not adjustable. So where the back rollers set when it’s in place must be level from side to side. The front rollers have adjusting feet in front of them and are easy to adjust for leveling when the unit is in place.
36” wide refrigerator enclosure is standard in kitchen design and it fit right in. To make certain that I had equal spacing on the back top and bottom of the unit, I taped an 8 business card thickness of paper on the top back and bottom sides which served as guides as I backed it in. This created equal spacing (1/8") between the refrigerator box sides and wall space on the back sides. The front can be seen so creating equal side space is apparent.
Some appliance salespersons stated that there should be at least 1” of clearance on each side, but Samsung technicians claimed that was not necessary, as did most of the salespeople. The clearance space that is important is for there to be at least 2” between the unit and back wall and 2” of free space above the unit. This is necessary for air circulation for cooling the compressor.
When remodeling the kitchen, I recessed that 36” opening into the garage so the refrigerator front could be near cabinet depth. In order for the French-doors to open wide, the unit can not be moved back further than the unit box, so the door side edges must be ahead of the 36” wide opening, thus now a door-depth out in front of our standard 24” lower cabinet depth. If your installation has a wall on either side, the enclosure must be at least 3.5” wider (39.5” total) for the door on the wall side to open and drawer bin to pull out.
If placing on laminate flooring, the refrigerator should not be rolled or placed directly on the laminate, for it will damage the board joints and unduly compress the board down into the foam pad. I rolled ours in on 2 x 8” board (1.5 x 7.5), mainly because I installed our lower cabinets 1.5” higher. A 3/4” would work, but anything less would flex and compress the laminate. To move the unit out for cleaning, I roll it out onto the same thickness board.
We have been using it for over a month and have found nothing to be disappointed about, but rather we continue to be amazed by how accommodating it is, especially at this time of the year when we have an abundance of garden produce to refrigerate and freeze.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+55points
55of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the fridge!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 25, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: smooth finish
We bought this fridge not quite a year ago. It was back ordered for 8 weeks and then when it did come in, the smooth white finish on the doors were scratched up. So we kept that fridge for a month, while a new one was ordered for us, again.
The second fridge came in with no scratches and the delivery people were great!
The only con I can think of with this fridge is the smooth finish on the doors. They mark VERY easily, but apparently the smooth finish is the newest thing. Just be careful around the doors and you should be fine.
There is a TON of storage room in this fridge and we find it hard to fill, however, the bottom freezer is easy to fill and sometimes hard to organize. The "in the door" pizza holder doesn't really hold a pizza box, it slips right out, so that is kinda useless. The upper drawer would be nicer if it pulled out more, but it's still accessible.
Overall, we love this fridge and would definitely recommend it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the French Doors

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 9, 2011
I purchased this about two months ago and I love it. The interior room is unbelievable. i purchased the 29 cu ft. A friend of mine saw it and was mad that she purchased another brand side by side after she saw all the room I have.
Since I have purchased a Samsung HD LED Tv and blu-ray
have not hooked up blu-ray yet but the picture on my tv in incredible. Thank you Samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 29 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent second refridgerator or simple primary unit...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 31, 2011
from Pasadena, MD
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: twin cooling, electronic temp controls, full-width storage compartment, easy to replace h2o filter
Cons: no preventive maintenance instructions, uses h2o filter quickly
When we remodeled our kitchen we put our old fridge downstairs for extra food storage. This was in addition to an upright freezer already downstairs. When it again became time to replace the family’s primary fridge we decided to replace the upright and second fridge at the same time. Since this was not our primary unit we did not need a beverage dispenser nor did we need the third (i.e., middle) drawer. So we decided on this unit because: 1) the Twin Cooling is a neat feature and supported our primary requirement for food storage well, 2) the ice machine in the freezer drops ice into a large bucket in the freezer’s top drawer so we never run out for parties, and 3) the electronic temp controls with power cool/freeze was perfect after a major shopping run. The only draw back I can find is the lack of any instructions for how to vacuum clean the coils for the compressors. I believe in preventive maintenance and want to take care of this investment but there is no adequate information on what should be done or how to do it. This is inappropriate for an appliance that we desire to have for a long time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.