Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone

Rating:
2.435 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
9
8 out of 22(36%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySOCIOPAPI
onMay 11, 2012
from BROWNSVILLE, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
love the phone great feature and the bright screen and its design flawless
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like this new phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFireman2005
onMay 23, 2011
from Pa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, ringer is very loud
Cons: no screen protector out for it yet
Got the phone on Saturday. So I can't say to much about it but so far so good very easy to use once you learn how to use it. Ringer is very loud for people that have trouble with their hearing
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLyndeau
onFebruary 8, 2012
from Chesterton, IN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Great phone for the value. I got this phone when changing providers. I previously had Mythic that I really liked .. but this one is even better.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It could be would be should be but isn't a Gem

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bydrmoney3
onDecember 18, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, good beginner phone
The phone design is great and like how Samsung stuck with the Gem or diamond shape. However, the phone does slow down and space is very limited and cannot move anything to microsd card. Screen is a bit on the small side but the phone is durable and affordable. It would be great for someones first android, but it would not appeal to someone who has used an android of higher quality. It is also lightweight, unlike the iphone.The phone is really slow when it loads YouTube videos and takes longer if you want to watch in High Quality.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByHasHope
onNovember 28, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The Samsung Gem is easy to figure out for the most part, but there is still one or two things that I haven't figured out. Love it, it's light weight and durable.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great performing phone with easy to use features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMcBooney
onJuly 12, 2011
from Tampa, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
This is my first "Smart Phone" but the second Samsung Cell phone I have owned. The Samsung Gem is well designed, has great features and a bright, clear, touch screen. After three weeks of use, I am getting very comfortable in using it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone, great price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byceltkat
onJune 19, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
First of all, I didn't really get the whole Android craze until I got this phone. It's a much better O.S. than I ever expected. The touch screen is very responsive and easy to use. It's very easy to personalize and I'm very happy overall with this phone. The only con (and I've read this about every smartphone) is the battery. It barely lasts a whole day but I always have charged my phone every night, so it works for me.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent base model smart phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bykellymterry
onNovember 6, 2011
from tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
it does everything i need it to do, just a little slower, and with a smaller screen....the manual isn't very helpful for trouble shooting; I'd still like to know how to better utilize the sd card for storage to make room on the phones memory, and I'd love to be able to uninstall some of the bloatware that came with it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

KINDA WONKY

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByODLALLO
onNovember 2, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, google
Cons: Poor quality, slow, small memory
IT HAS LOTS OF FEATURES, AND IT IS PRETTY EASY TO USE. GOOGLE IS PERFECT FOR ME BECAUSE I ALREADY HAD GMAIL, ALSO IT SAVED ALL MY CONTACT #'S TO GMAIL WHICH HELPED ME VERY MUCH RECENTLY. BEST OF ALL WAS THE PRICE. OVERALL IT DOES NOT WORK THAT WELL. VERY SLOW CHANGING BETWEEN DIFFERENT FEATURES, THE ACTUAL PHONE ON IT IS NOT THAT CONVENIENT, THE SCREEN WILL GO TO SLEEP IN MID CONVERSATION MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO END THE CALL, THE KEYPAD DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY SHOW UP, MAKING AUTOMATED PHONE CALLS A PROBLEM, BY THE TIME YOU BRING UP THE KEYPAD YOU MAY HAVE MISSED THE OPTION YOU WANTED. IF YOU ARE TEXTING AND USING APPS IT IS PRETTY GOOD, YOU JUST HAVE TO BUY A GOOD SD CARD. WITH THE PHONE BEING INEXPENSIVE THE COST OF AN SD CARD IS NOT THAT BAD. OVERALL AVERAGE PHONE
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I really like the color

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBlueprof2
onJune 8, 2011
from 10,000 Lakes, MN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: kind of slow processing speed
The Gem is a real cool phone I like it a lot and the color of it is perfect I just wish it could process stuff faster but over all I like it
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByLuv2Sleep
onFebruary 16, 2012
from Illinois
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I've had a gem for a year now. I'm on my second replacement gem. It runs very slow, insufficient memory and have issues with the memory card deleting itslef. Would not recommend. My husband fascinate is far better. Wish i had gone that route!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

STUPID

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByBEAUTIFULMOMMA12
onJanuary 16, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations
THE FACT THAT WE PAID ALOT FOR THIS PHONE AND THERE ISN'T DRIVERS TO TRANSFER THE CONTENTS OFF OF THE PHONE TO A COMPUTER IS NUTS.....ALL I WANT IS MY PICTURES OFF MY PHONE ON MY COMPUTER SIMPLE AS THAT DUMB
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

SD card not a factor

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByMissB74
onSeptember 8, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, good size
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not able to access sd card to save apps and data
I used to have a Droid, but the screen broke. I went to get an upgrade and decided on the Gem because it wasn't as bulky and big as the Droid. Well, I downloaded a couple apps and the phone ran out of space. I wanted to transfer some of the apps to the SD card and there isn't an option to do that. There are a lot of factory installed apps that I really didn't want and I wasn't able to delete them. There a trial for Tetris and Scrabble that are very limited and you can't delete, so it uses phone space that I could have used for something else. Overall is a great phone for someone that doesn't care to download apps or for a first smart phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Fascinate™ Android Smartphone
4.2 out of 5(830)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Freezes up

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByMcNile
onSeptember 2, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This smart phone freezes up all the time. I have had to do a reset on it for no reason. To use any of my email accounts I have to power the phone down and take the Battery out and then restart the phone after reinserting the battery. The phone will not play games very well and will not use the SD card correctly.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wont hold a charge

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byaddicted2shopping
onJune 30, 2012
from Georgia
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
After 6 months I ditched it and bought something else. You cant keep it charged more that about 6 hours, even just on standby every time you pick it up you have to charge it
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dishonest to Call this a Phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByNeverAgainUsingSamsung
onJune 26, 2012
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: none at all
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This product continuously freezes when trying to perform the most basic functions. It cannot even reliably make a phone call. Additionally, it periodically turns on apps by itself, as well as other functions, which wastes data. Several other members of my family got this phone at the same time as me, and all have had countless problems. I could never in a million years express the immense disappointment that this phone has been, nor outline the innumerable faults.
I took my phone back to the Verizon store and was told within a minute of looking at the phone that it was clearly defective and I received another for free (thankfully!). However, the new phone is suffering fromt the same problems which leads me to the conclusion that this is simply a poorly created, ineffective, sad excuse for a phone. You would be better off without a phone than to make the mistake of buying this one.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByUnhappyCPA
onDecember 12, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The phone continually "forcecloses." I manually have to clear caches in order for the phone to work. I usually have to "touch" an operation several times to get it to work.
I was so excited to get an android phone and this phone has completely deflated that excitement. I have had the phone for 6 months and cannot wait for the remainder of my contract to be over to get another phone. It will definitely not be a Samsung!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Sparkle In This Gem

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByElfRings
onDecember 4, 2011
from Portland, OR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, freezes and lags easily, android 2.1, not nearly enough storage capability
I would rather have kept my old Samsung Alias 2 flip phone than get stuck with the Gem. Unfortunately, when I bought it, little was known about it aside from the fact that it was extremely affordable. That's the lure. I wish I'd done some research first.
The Gem is EXTREMELY easily bogged down. It works pretty nicely when it's new for the first month or so, and after resetting to factory conditions... for about a day. After that, it's frequently freezing up, lagging & glitching. A few times, I had to pull out the battery because it wouldn't even power off.
The Gem has VERY little storage space for apps. You can get an SD card but, because it can't run Android OS higher than 2.1, you can't move any apps to SD. I hardly have anything installed and keep running out of room. I often times don't even have enough room to update the few apps I was able to install!
The only thing it's got going for it, aside from price: it's durable. And it needs to be. You'll probably get so frustrated with it that you'll chuck it across the room once or twice.
Avoid the Gem. It's designed for people who have no expectations in a smartphone... or any mobile phone, for that matter... and won't likely compare it to others' to see how much better a smartphone can be. As I said, I'd rather use my old flip phone again than this. I can't even believe it's made by Samsung - I'd never been disappointed in a Samsung product until I got this.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
23" Business LCD Monitor
4.5 out of 5(67)
 
 
 
Samsung Alias™ 2 Qwerty Cell Phone
4.3 out of 5(70)
 
 
 
Droid Charge Smartphone
3.8 out of 5(594)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Slow

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLiveforthemusic510
onNovember 3, 2011
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, slow, no space
This phone is soooo slow and has pretty much no memory, it came with a whole ton of apps that i dont use and cant delete. and to top it all off it wont let me transfer apps to my sim card or connect my phone to my computer....
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a very Smart Phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bytwigkm
onNovember 1, 2011
from Slidell, LA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I HATE this phone. I was told by the salesperson that I'd be happy with it as my first Smartphone. I'm not at all happy with it. It does not hold a charge, it is very slow, I have to turn it off and back on at least once a week to get it to work again. It doesn't always complete my calls (~40% of the time)...I have the warranty on it and would like it to break so I could try another one - maybe this is just a dud. Better yet, if it broke I'd like Verizon to sell me a better/smarter phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByBeepBoop
onOctober 4, 2011
from Wyoming
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
When I got this phone it was the only one I could afford. I had just had a baby and was in desperate need of a phone that worked well. I don't have a single good thing to say about this phone. It frequently shuts itself off, doesn't let me download anything even though it says there is plenty of memory, my alarm works about 3 out of every 5 times I try to use it so I always have a back up. Then the icing on the cake!! It won't let me use the keyboard today - just keep dinging at me. A complete piece of junk!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung Gem

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bynosamsungs
onAugust 1, 2011
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, onver heats with multiple applications, gps locks up, have problem charging, display dims
I purchased the Gem because it was light, small and full of features. In two weeks, I am waiting for my third phone and third battery. These phones overheat then locks up and stops charging when trying to navigate and charge at the same time. I removed the cell phone from the windshield and placed in front of my vent for one hour, but the phone finally died because it still was overheating in navigation mode. Phone will suddenly dim its screen even when the auto adjust is turned off because it over heats. I have gone to several stores and have been told that adults who use the features at the same time should not buy this beginner phone and that it is designed for kids who need something cheap. Also, there is no flash to take good photos in dim areas. Phone screen lock prevents me from using key pad at random time such as attempting to enter pins or codes.
The GPS will occassionally take five to ten minutes to acquire a signal. Other times, it is immediate. Audio is alright if you doen't have the radio on for directions.
This phone is not for working adults who need to use multiple applications or the GPS feature.
This phone will work fine for young kids who want a smart phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Gem® Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dissapointed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAF430
onJuly 30, 2011
from Temecula, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The phone has 2 GB. I downloaded a total of 13 apps and the memory is full with no way to move anything to the SD card. I do not have music, pictures or emails stored to take up space. With 2 GB, I should be able to download a lot more apps. It's running 1.0 and told I have to wait for Samsung to come out with a 2.0 upgrade. The phone is brand new. Why didn't they make it with 2.0 already? It's slow as well and likes to shut itself off if I get more then three texts from 3 different people at once. I am so disappointed in this phone, especially for my first smart phone. I don't recommend anyone waste their money on this phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.