Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Generic CDMA
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone

Rating:
2.48 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
14
1 star
16
14 out of 45(31%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A smart phone, but not too smart.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 17, 2011
from Roanoke, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The Samsung Gem has the smarts, but you don't have to be super smart to operate it. The phone is small and light, yet has some large features to it. Plenty of apps are available for fun and service, plus texting and internet are there for your convenience. Accessories galore at Samsung and other fine cell phone stores make this phone a pleasure to carry and own. Came with 2GB SD Card, you can put up to 32GB SD Card in it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
14of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 8, 2011
from Lexington, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love my new Gem just wish i could delete some apps i dont use I will figure out but I love this phone its my first smartphone
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2011
from Puerto Rico
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Good Phone and I recommend it, the apps are very fun
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

new to android

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 13, 2011
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: none
The design is good but I wouldn't have minded if it was just a 1/4 inch taller and 3/16 th of an inch wider with a 3 3/4inch screen.
But that would be my dream phone and I am evaluating this one.
It is very good actually I really have nothing bad to say about it . I had it for 3 weeks now and from the beginning it was easy to use it fits nicely in your hand and it is almost the perfect size overall my only problem with the design is the camera button which is if you look at the picture on the right side of the phone where the blue App button is on the side ,and I keep pressing that by accident a lot. Value I find is great with 2 year contract on Verizon. Performance good no problems there . As I said am new to smartphones and didn't realize about the different Droids as in 2.1 2.2 2.3 I just thought its all a Droid they all run Adobe Flash and you have more internal memory than the 148MB that this one has, also RAM is 161MB and for some reason or other it is always 75% full even if I Purge the memory and do not use the phone it goes back to it or sometimes goes as high as 82% when I do use it but then I got a few things running on it at one time. But it performs well.
Features : well would have liked android 2.2 or 2.3 with a front facing 1.3Mp camera for video calling, but the Skype mobile it has works just as well .Tried it out last night and was told my voice was very clear. Planing to use that a lot in the next few weeks wife is going to Europe for 2 months.
In all the phone is good I am a truck driver and it already helped me a few times as in faxing staying in contact with home and dispatcher, emailing and keeping me entertained. Planing to leave my laptop at home cause this little phone is quickly taking its place, just need to figure out a few more Apps that will replace the software on my laptop.
Also if they had it (the Phone) in Canada with most of the service providers there, I'd get one for my wife too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
30of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone!!! I love it!! Lots of features!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 16, 2011
from St. Marys GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, fun
I am a beginner with a smart phone and I love this one. It has been pretty easy to figure out and every day I find something new. I love the screen on this phone, it is clear and vivid. The colors are brilliant. I found the other phones to be too hazy. The phone quality is amazing. Battery time is better than I thought but I don't spend every minute of the day on my phone. I would highly recommend this phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 11, 2012
from BROWNSVILLE, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
love the phone great feature and the bright screen and its design flawless
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 2, 2012
from toledo,oh
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I went the the touch screen phone from a BB Smartfone. I have had this one about 2 months now and am feeling more comfortable navigation thru the system. The screen is very 'touchy' and I have to be careful to shut it off before handling too much but I have gotten better at it. I do like the phone and would recommend it to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung GemSCH-I100

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2011
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast for downloading
Cons: internal memory, have to have exp in configuring phone
The Samsung Gem has two models, the older one 1.2 and the newer in which I have the 2.2. It's very durable and solid just for my suiting, the bigger screens tend to make the phone more vulnerable to cracks in the screen and scratches. I currently have over 58 apps on my phone and it works great. I recommend you add more apps that are usually kb and not so many mb. Then keep about 40mb of your memory free. Open the power saving widget to turn off GPS, Bluetooth, and Wireless configurations if your not using them. Another good program or app I use is the Android Task Manager Pro to assign which programs should run and which not. I am content with this phone, don't need anything bigger. Bigger storage means dead battery. It's a deal!!! And very durable!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice phone for not alot of money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 19, 2011
from Savanna Illinois
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, runs a few apps at a time without bogging down!!!
I have been using my Gem for about a month now. Love the features and there are so many options you can set. Wish I would have bought this before my tablet as I would have never needed the tablet at all, well except for my online classes. No complaints with this phone at all....
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nifty and Thrifty

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 10, 2011
from WSS, WV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to use, fun to play with
Cons: short battery life, non compatible apps
This was my first smart phone. I have nothing overly negative to say as far as its performance or features. The only thing for me is some of the apps in the maketplace don't want to work with this phone and the battery drains faster than my previous phone. I have to charge it every night or the battery dies even if i don't talk on it alot. Other than that it is a great phone with alot of great apps and features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for cost

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2011
from Cleveland Ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: no lanyard or strap .
This phone is great for the cost. The only downside IMHO is the fact that there is nothing to put a strap or lanyard on. Other problems would be do to the service provider I have. They only have a 3 g network. But anytime I can get on a wifi, thing is fast and little glitching.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a bad phone, especially for the price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 3, 2011
from Aiken SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery cover is hard to open., battery gets hot when charging
@alteraries82 you can change your txt tones its takes a bit of know how, but you simply create a notifications folder on the SD card under media/audio and then put the files in there. A lot of reviews on here seem to be complaining about the phone doing things on its own, which to me sounds like someone didn't lock it when they put it in their pocket, any touch screen will have that problem. Secondly a couple complaints about wifi, not the phones fault if you live in an area that doesn't have wifi or you don't have your own wireless network even the fancier high dollar phones will have problems then. Mine works well on wifi, mine and others I piggy back on at restaurants and such but if the wifi isn't there don't expect it to work..Phone does get hot when charging, and the back case to the battery is a bit nerve racking to open because I'm always scared I'm going to break it, but the phone is lightweight and easy to use. May not be everything HTC or some of the others are, but its also less then a quarter the cost. While it may stutter occasionally, without increasing the size of the phone for stronger hardware that is part of streamlining. With some knowledge you can kill and remove unwanted apps and files to make it run a bit faster.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Gem is my first smart phone.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2011
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I wasn't sure if I wanted a smart phone until I got the Gem. I am still getting used to all the thinigs it can do . At first I didn't like the way the screen always goes dark and then having to unlock the screen all the time, but I am getting used to it. I really like being able to get my email all the time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 24, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: keyboard is small
Good Product for the price, Great Features, Work just as well as phones double the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cool Touchscreen Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 10, 2011
from Cleveland, OH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
So far I have had this phone for a few days and experience no problems. I really enjoy this phone. I am still getting use to the touchscreen features but it has a nice layout and feel. I do wish that you can customized the message tones with music (mp3 sounds) instead of the "tones" that is already available to you (you can only do that for the ringtones).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not enough memory

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2012
from Gaffney, SC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def
I've had a wonderful experience with this product, especially since updating it to Android 2.2
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

having problems.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 25, 2012
from maui, hawaii
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
this is my second gem and I am having problems with the features and system. The phone it self shuts off on calls and applications freezes constanly. It says that applications are running but I keep getting messages after, that there is malfunctions with the system it also mounts and remounts my SD card by it slef and also says java encription failure. I took it in to my cell phone carriers and they said they have been getting complaints about the same things from other customers as well.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great phone, especially if you need a Qwerty

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2011
from chicago
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, qwerty w/ touch screen
It is a great phone and I personally like it because it has both touch screen with a QWERTY.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I thought It would be....

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 9, 2011
from Meridian, MS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, no flash, battery dont hold long charge
One of the main reasons I chose the Samsung Gem was claims that its battery hold a charge longer than all other phone (17 hr talk time). The battery does NOT hold a charge no where near as long as it claims it will!!! Also this is the 1st and only phone Iv ever seen with a camera that does not have a flash. I'm shocked and very disappointed!!! Wish SO much I would have got the Galaxy!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
26 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator
 
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice but...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2011
from Ponce, PR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, can use as usb modem
Cons: Not high def, android 2.1
It's a great phone lightweight gets the job done even I use it as modem for my laptop but usually gets overheated when charging and its running android 2.1 Eclair... I preffer Froyo or Gingerbread! Can it be upgraded?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

3 times a charm

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 6, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I am on my third phone since entering my contract with verizon. The first phone did not have blue tooth capabilities. The second just died and quit working and the third still works, but the whole process has been a problem.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ok phone but Lags WAY TO BAD

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2012
from Hot Springs, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, emmense lag
So ... I bought the phone for the price for sure but it defintely lags bad and has way to many errors for no apparent reason and... Ntelos service is HORRIBLE.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not so much a "Smart" Phone.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 24, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, low performace, not a "smart" phone
This phone would be good for someone whos looking for something to scrool on the internet occasionally and look at social media sites, not so much for games, movies, or music. Ive had my Gem for about 2 months now and ive found a few minor problems with the phone crashing while doing simple things, EX: Texing and a incoming call crashes the phone, slow, freezes up, i dont have but like 5 apps on my Gem. But it seems like it has the functionality of the "big phones" but cant stand up to the plate with them as far as performace.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I wouldnt recommend this phone!!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2011
from Reedsburg, Wi
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slower than the speed of stupid
I purchased this phone from Us Cellular in the beginning of October. I had no problems with it the first week. Then, it became to run at the speed of stupid.. It freezes and force closes everything. Ive ran several different anit virus programs and it always turns up with nothing and everything is ok. Ive taken my phone in to see if the associate can assist me with making it better, and they had no luck as well. when the associate was attempting to clear my cookies and browsing history, it froze on her 3 times and she was forced to remove the battery. I have read good reviews about the phone and that was my reasoning in choosing this phone, but honestly, i can say ive had better luck with my ancient rokr than ive had with this phone!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Freezes All The Time

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This is my very first smart phone, and I have been very disappointed with the preformance. If you are getting a text or sending one and getting a phone call at the same time the screen freezes and the you can't answer the phone. You have to take the battery out out some times 2 or 3 times a day because it freezes. The SD removes it's self 5 or 6 times a day. It will go into airplane mode all by it's self. When in a phone call if you turn on speaker it may not work others times yes, so who knows. The battery with in an hour of taking it off the charger has used a quarter of the battery and thats with out even using the phone, usally by noon I have to recharge. I have shut off every thing I can see running in the apps, but still does not keep charge.Never have good signal, everyone in my family are on the same carrier and always have full signal strength, I am lucky to have two bars.It' pains me to know I am stuck with this phone for 2 years. I guess you get what you pay for
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Slow!!!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 22, 2011
from Mississippi
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
I have not had this phone very long. It freezes up all the time. Almost every appliance in my house Samsung so I thought I couldn't go wrong with this phone. The camera isn't good at all. My husband has a Galaxy and I have to use his phone to take pictures. I am very disappointed.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2011
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Too big, Did not meet expectations
This phone just turned out to be way too complicated. Too many features, not user- friendly. I only had it for 5 days and it crashed at least twice a day. So I lost all my information. All in all I would not recommend this phone,
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2011
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Unable to save attachments, and where does the SD card go and
no ability to forward texts...
Samsung needs more time at the drawing board.
I'm dissappointed since i have both Samsung camera and TV"s.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 18, 2011
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow
This phone is a good size but, i'm not sure if it's just my internet or network, the internet is veeerry slow. also, it freaks out while you're receiving more than one text message (phone freezes, doesn't want to send anything) the calling is weird in that it takes a along time to get the phone call going and sometimes doesnt want to call. overall reaaallly slow and that can be very frustrating.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Gem is a rock

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2011
from Green Bay, WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, poor e-mail capabilities
Slow performance. Had to remove battery daily to refresh and get my e-mails. Touch screen not as responsive as other models. Unable to link Outlook accounts. Traded in after 1 week, just needed to get a higher end model. This would be good for a first time user that does not rely on e-mail and linked contacts
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

only like it a little

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 4, 2011
from Landis, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I've had my Gem for about three weeks now. It's a pain in the you know what... It took it back to wireless dealer and the salesman was like ""wow it shouldnt run this slow"" He downloaded some app to clean things up and it still ran slow. Even he was losing his patience. I do like the small design and touch screen features, and I found a cute case for it. Honestly, the sweet case is the best thing about this phone, and that isn't Samsung :(
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Oh Why My Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 28, 2011
from Akron, OH
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, you can make your own ringtones
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, cannot have live wall papers, always glitching, no case or gel skin for it
From day one i had issues with my phone calls not coming through screen freezing and the android market along with the internet including wifi was non exsisting.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Alright phone if you're not used to quality

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2011
from Guam
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, phone freezes, updates do more harm than good
I've had this phone for a few months now and within the first week we had issues. (I also bought one for my wife) The phone is a total entry level droid. It has horrible options and comes with a very small amount of memory, half of which is already used. It does play some flash which is nice, but it will not let you upgrade your flash to play anything new. It comes with a youtube app built in, but again, you can not upgrade your flash so it is sometimes useless. The sound is horrible on this thing. You will need external speakers if you ever want to hear your music. The headphones that come with the phone are surprisingly good though. The 2.1 android system it comes with is horrible, but I just upgraded to 2.2.2 provided by samsung and it has gotten even worse. Now the phone freezes (more than before). The phone is also unable to change orientation. It's just not a very good phone, in any aspect. I would not recommend. Spend a little extra for something better, you will not regret it!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Phone Freezes

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 22, 2011
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
Cons: freezes
I purchased this phone after my husband purchased on. I loved the apps on the phone and the quality of images; however, the phone freezes on me after I end a phone call. When the phone freezes it last about 3-5 mintues where nothing on the touch screen works. In addition, when you are calling someone, you cannot touch your end call button to end the call when you rec'd a voicemail. You must use the touchscreen end call. The phone has good picture quailty, good applications, good speed while on internet but freezes and technology on it has complications.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nice Try Samsung

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, screen freezes, cuts off in the middle of calls
I would say that Samsung's attempt at an inexpensive android phone with a touchscreen WAS a nice try. However, this phone has failed miserably! The touchscreen freezes up or goes black; it drops my calls in the middle of using it; the phone will turn off even with a full battery; it is SLOW; the battery heats up and it doesn't hold its charge longer than 24 hrs. I've had other Samsung phones and have been pleased with their performance. Inspite of this model I am willing to try the Galaxy II or Galaxy III, however it will cost me to buy out my current contract in order to get a new phone BUT that is an issue with my carrier.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NEVER GET THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This is the worst phone you could possibly get. This phone lags. it freezes ALL THE TIME!!! The keyboard doesnt work, The battery life is aweful, The offf button does not work. ITS JUST AWEFUL!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 30, 2012
from New Mexico
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, can't move apps to sd card, not enough internal memory
Where should I start? First of all, if you want a smart phone that can't make calls, go on the web, or send a text message without it freezing all the time, then this is for you. It's simply the worst phone i have ever had. DO NOT GET. Hardly any internal memory and you can't even move apps to the memory card. What is the point of having this phone if you can't move applications to the memory card? Even the music skips like a 20 year old CD Player. It seems like you guys just want money, come on, I expected better. Now I'm stuck with this phone for another year and a half. Thanks a lot.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone ever!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: texting works well
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, does not work properly
This phone will ring and very often not even let me answer. It will show 2 or 3 bars of signal when it rings and then I will answer and nothing. Then in 2 or 3 seconds it will show a blue circle with no signal. It will also go in to airplane mode all of the time for no reason. Yesterday it went back to phone numbers for people that I had deleted months ago, and lost some of the ones I have now. What is up with that. This has to be the worst phone ever made.
Signed,
Fed Up
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Freezes Up!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 10, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow
I try to do 1 simple task and the phone freezes up. I cant even make a call without the the phone freezing. Now im stuck with this thing for over a year and a half!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product is small and stylish but lacks in performance.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2012
from Mobile, Al
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, sluggish
This phone is small and stylish but lacks in performance. The phone is very sluggish and can only hold a small amount of apps. Texting is very hard to do because the phone is so small. I have had nothing but problems with this phone. It opens apps, dials numbers and shows map locations without touching the phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy S® II Skyrocket™ (AT&T)
4.6 out of 5(245)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at AT&T
4.7 out of 5(750)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S® II Skyrocket™ (Black) Android Smartphone
4.5 out of 5(495)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not good at all

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow
Freezes up all the time. The internet is soo slow if you dont have wifi. If you try doing more than one thing at once, it goes on like overload and shuts off. Not a very good product at all and not even close to the best phone I have had. Way better androids out there. Please dont waste your money or time!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This phone stinks! :(

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2011
from OHIO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I have had this phone since September. It was great at first. Then after I have used it for a while it has went downhill! I can't even make or take a call some days b/c it freezes! The phone shuts off itself. Sometimes I can't even get it to respond, like this morning when the alarm went off and I couldn't shut it off! The screen was blank but yet the alarm still kept going!!! I have to take the battery out numerous times in the day to get it to function, and I have only downloaded 5 apps!!! DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! I REPEAT... DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! Cheap is cheap and that's what this is.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DONT GET BUY IT!US CELL DICOUNTINUED BEFORE 6 Months

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 19, 2011
from va
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes often, remove battery hourly, droped on grass screen cracked, cell company discontinued less 6 mo, i would b dead if attacked by time i restarted pho
My 1st android,I remove battery all day to unfreeze No bars hardly ever never had problems b4 this phone
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Disappointed

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 18, 2011
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor design, too slow, freezes up frequently
This is without a doubt the worst cell phone I've ever owned. Very problematic. Very slow. Freezes on me all the time requiring me to pop out the battery multiple times a day and wait for a painfully slow reset... which was not always successful as I would get an error message saying "android process not responding, please foreclose". The phone would try to reset on its own, but would freeze and the whole process started over. *smh* Oh, and it's poorly designed. The battery cover pops off wayyy too easily and of course the battery falls out and the reset process starts over. Also when the cover pops off, the SD card which is tiny, tiny flies across the room like a flea jumps and vanishes into thin air (sarcasm). I've bought 2 already, but this weekend I'm buying a iPhone and smashing this Gem.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not at all what I expected

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, not really an android
This phone is very slow. It takes forever to turn on and off. The screen jitters alot and it doesn't go from one screen to the next quickly. The text messaging is very bulky and not easy to use. And I can't utilize this phone with all of the android features. It is not a full android phone. I hate this phone. I can't wait until I can save up for a new one... until then I won't be texting, using my data package or calling anyone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 6, 2011
from CLEVELAND, OHIO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I HAVE BEEN A WIRELESS CONSUMER FOR 20 + YRS AND HAVE NEVER HAD A PHONE WITH THIS MANY PROBLEMS.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a good phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 20, 2011
from Blue Ridge, Va
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I have had my Gem for one month and have had nothing but trouble.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dont waste your time

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 1, 2011
from Iowa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I have gone through 5 of these phones.
They do not keep a charge. The phone was very slow. I did not get a good tower with this phone and I could be standing by a tower and still have bad reception. The phone got very hot. It would turn on the camera by itself. Just not a good phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The worst phone I have ever had.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 7, 2011
from Davenport, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight, music sounds wonderful.
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, atrocious battery life and over all software.
It took me exactly two hours to grow to hate this phone. While externally the design is very aesthetically pleasing, it was also very annoying. The back, while sleekly designed and nice to look at, was so slippery I kept dropping the device. The buttons were, in theory, nicely placed, but the device is so small in your hand ( and I already have small hands ), and the buttons so noticeable, that I kept forgetting the phone is clearly a touch screen. And my last 6 phones have all been touch screen so I can't even understand that one. The same thing happened to my sisters when they tried to use the device.
The battery life is atrocious. I'm used to smart phones as listed above, so I never have much hope, but half your battery life shouldn't be gone after checking your Facebook long enough to update your status and then sign out again. The phone also became extremely hot during calls, while running even the calculator, and during use of any app and charging. It also took forever to charge.
The touch screen is laggy and slow to respond. It's not intuitive and is either overly sensitive or impossibly dead to touch, without even adjusting the sensitivity. Pinch to zoom does work reasonably well on the browser, however. Despite the fact that you can see the jaggedness of the low res display, the browser works surprisingly well considering, and given the multitude of other hang ups.
The keyboard was easy to use and responsive in both portrait and landscape modes, I had little to no complaints there. Portrait mode was easier and more responsive, however.
The camera surprised me in some ways and left me lacking in others. It is very good at capturing a still even when the subject is leaping around ( i.e. my very playful dog ), but there is no flash and no zoom. For being a 3.2 mp camera, I was surprised at how well it captured stills of moving images, and then I was surprised at how much noise was present in objects where the subject hadn't been moving at all. Seemed a bit backwards to me. It is easy to use, and I loved the dedicated camera button, I wish all phones had them.
There is little to no customization on this phone. I hope you like neon colors and noisy looking images for icons, because that's what you've got. There are little to no widgets available, and there's very little that the device can handle with its 128 internal memory that is at 75% capacity even after purge and when you're not doing anything.
The music on this phone, however, sounds fantastic. Minus a small little hitch there and again during the song when played loudly through speakers without headphones, which isn't hugely noticeable like a jump. The music player design its self leaves something to be desired, but playing the same song side by side from this phone and my ipod touch, the phone was louder, the ipod clearer. With headphones on, the devices sound much the same, again with the ipod touch sounding clearer.
My opinion? If you want a lackluster device to listen to music on and make the odd phone call while you burn your hand off... or if you're brand new to smartphones and need something to ease into the realm of touch screen then this is the device for you!! =)
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Fascinate™ Android Smartphone
4.2 out of 5(830)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Gem™ (Generic CDMA) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst phone i ever had

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This is worst phone I have ever owned. Puts itself in airplane mode, mute etc freezes on a regular basis and moves from one program to another very slow.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.