Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone

Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
16 out of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Review 1 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great android valued phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 17, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
After years of being bound by contracts and basic phone service,my wife and I stepped into the android world. It was just in time as new grandbabies were being born. We are seniors and not as techy as the younger generation. We wanted more than just basic service for the money we were spending. The Samsung Illusion delivers. The only complaint is there is no manual to help get started and truly understand this phone. But it's been fun discovering the amazing features it offers. Speaker texting, and taking pictures to post on Facebook etc. Very cool. With our savings we were able to get a grandson a touch screen phone for his security. Iphone,Droid, and any other big name phones don't interest me. The Samsung Illusion has a lot to offer for the money. And that pleases both of us.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2013
from Houston
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I absolutely love this phone. It is not too big and not too small; its just the right size. The Illusion is fast & has plenty of features. Thank you Samsung, another great product!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
works well, takes great pictures, never has frozen
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Samsung Illusion

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2012
from Washington State
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first smartphone and I really like it.It has gotten me out of being lost with the navigation
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 5, 2012
from Seagrove,NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone has great feature and handles well...I have to get use to all the other features it has now..The price was Terrific
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this phone is the best!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 5, 2012
from tn
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
i love this phone it fits me perfectly i would reccomend it to anyone
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I need

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 13, 2012
from Maine
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life not the best, not the best "in phone" guides-had to look online
This phone scared me at first as it was my first experience with a smart phone but after a couple days and some research, I feel more comfortable with the phone and I do really love it. I'm in my 40's and some of the "techy" stuff is over my head but with a little patience I've learned a lot about what this phone can do for me and it may not be the biggest, best or fastest, it does everything I need for it to do and some things that others don't. Very happy with Samsung and their products. Great starter smartphone with lots of things that I never knew could be so beneficial to have in a phone. Thanks Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A+

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 30, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love my Samsung Illusion
Great phone!!
long lasting battery too
A+
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Illusion

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first adventure into the smartphone world. I have yet to learn all of the things my phone can do, but learning something new is very easy. Although it may not be as powerful as some other phones I am more than pleased with its performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Illusion

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2011
from Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Being a part of the older generation; I found the Illusion very easy to use. I like the Android operating system but I don't really like all of the Verizon addons but thats not the phones fault. I also like the size and weight of the phone. The font seems to be very easy to read. The phone must have a good processor because it is very responsive and doesn't seem to slow down any. My only wish is they would make phone that get a better signal instead of all of the games and things.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone If You Don't Need Auto Focus Camera

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2011
from Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no auto focus, no mobile broadband
This is my first Android phone. I really like it. A couple draw backs are No Mobile Broadband & No Auto Focus Camera. I need auto focus for a banking app I was trying to download but couldn't because Illusion doesn't have auto focus. I am switching to a Samsung Fascinate which looks just like the Illusion but with auto focus. Overall if you don't need auto focus this is a GREAT phone!!!!!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2011
from Augusta,GA.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
this is the best smartphone i every had. it is the most simple phone to use. a 4 yr old could use it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Entry-Level Smartphone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 28, 2013
from Elkhart, IN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The Samsung Illusion is a good value for those looking for their first smartphone, but expectations shouldn't be extremely high for anyone else. It runs 2.3.5 Gingerbread and the 1Ghz processor suffers from some stuttering/slowdown, especially when exiting apps (in the time from exiting to displaying your home screen icons). The design of the phone is unique with its curved edges and textured rubber backing. The screen is durable but is prone to surface marks even with the most gentle of swiping. The earpiece is quite loud and it handles basic android functions fairly well. It has a massive 1GB of internal storage for apps, which is a definite plus, while still allowing up to a 32GM microSD card. Pictures are crisp and video quality is passable. Overall, a good entry-level phone for a good entry-level price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 31, 2012
from Edgewood, NM
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I like the easy use of my phone and the conveniences of the smartphone. It comes in handy when I am away from my personal computer and need the conveniences of web access. The GPS application is also handy since I need it for my job. That part of the phone has saved me money from having to buy a GPS, which is just another expense.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great user friendly phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2012
from Sarassota, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
great user friendly phone, easy to navigate - perfect for novice smartphone users.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 11, 2012
from BROWNSVILLE, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display
love the phone great feature and the bright screen and its design flawless
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2012
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: battery runs low quickly
Great phone super fast and easy to use. The only problem I have really is the battery life. I definately have to keep charging it much more than I would like. With that said I would definately recommend this phone to other people.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good and bad

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2012
from Casselberry
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poor documentation
This phone is seemingly easy to operate, and is of good quality.
My only problem and it is ,in my opinion a big one., there is virtually no documentation on how to use the device.
There is a Master your device which basically tells you how to turn it on but lacks any details.
If you go on line you can download the full manual BUT it is out of date.
This is my first smart phone. but not my first phone. I have a degree in Electronics technology so I can usually figure things out. The first two days I had to return to the store twice to figure how to do some simple tasks.
If I can last it out I may learn to like the phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Samsung Illusion Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 2, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, app capability
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, screen
Screen is Scratched VERY easily. If samsung would have used a better screen on this phone i would recommend to my friend
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Horrible

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMay 2, 2013
from Hershey, PA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, poor battery life
This phone has a terrible battery life, horrible camera, and I often have no service in most areas. I am surfing the internet on my phone in places where I should have great service, and all of a sudden, my internet crashes. I would not recommend this phone at all, unless you need a phone just to own a phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Illusion® Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Run from this until they fix the network connection issue

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 4, 2012
from Arkansas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, software is buggy
I have had two of these within two months. Never dropped or abused either one. Both will boot up and within 15-20 minutes no longer connect to the network. Run as fast as you can to another phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Galaxy Nexus™ (Verizon) Android Smartphone
4.4 out of 5(650)
 
 
 
 
 
-24points
2of 28voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.