Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition

Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this phone is easy to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byfrankozzie
onMay 20, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
I'm an old guy and never had a smart phone before! this phone has a screen that's easy to see, a keyboard that is easy for older fingers to type on, and menus that are mostly intuitive to use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than the iphones' Ive had!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjcpjr62
onDecember 3, 2013
from Corona, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, music downloads
Cons: battery life
For the price I paid at the Exchange store, the phone was well worth it! Love that I dont have to clutter my computer with itunes and that adding music to the phone is a breeze! Love the phone, battery life needs to be worked on! Thats the reason for the 3 star Performance!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good work and play tool

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDBisashopper
onAugust 25, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
I have had an S3 for almost 2 years and enjoyed it but moving to the S4 has been a very good experiance. I really enjoy its advanced features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byforester2009
onJuly 21, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
This phone is fast!! I also like the big screen for surfing the web and social networking.The camera does a great job with pictures too.As I learn more about how to use it I know I'll like it even more.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DEFINITELY WORTH THE WAIT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsungChick14
onMay 27, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, battery life, dual camera
I waited 2 weeks for my phone, (preordered on the 11th) initially not shipping until May 30, got it 5 days early!! Yay! Picked my GS4 up on the 25th and I haven't been able to put it down. The battery life is awesome! I LOVE the dual action camera. The wave feature is simply amazing....everything about this phone is fabulous!! I LOVE IT and well worth the wait! Samsung has done it again! I have all Samsung products and this one I find to be the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Samsung!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Picture quality

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPhotog2
onMay 20, 2014
from Boston, ma
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Excellent photo quality and options very easy to change styles
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung is a good product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BylmfTampa
onMay 18, 2014
from Tampa, FL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, issues with screen going blank, unable to access info while on the line w/someone, a few dropped calls
My husband and I had a Samsung Galaxy for 3 years and were very happy with the phone. Our son got the new Galaxy S 4 and was happy with it, so when we were ready to trade up we picked the Galaxy S 4 and at first were very happy, however we have since started to have a lot of problems and have found we can not do the things we were able to do with the first one we had. Our problems are as follows: The screen goes blank when I'm trying to put the answering service on I have to put in my account number and forwarding number and the screen goes blank and makes it impossible for me to change to the service. I never had those kind of problems with our first Galaxy S phone and we had them for 3 years!! Also on my old phone if I was speaking to someone I could look up a phone number while on the line to give to that person, now with this phone I can not do that. It is very inconvenient and time consuming as I have to hang up look up the number then call that person back. I would like to know if other people are having these same issue or if our phones are defective?? Occasionally we get dropped calls, I am wondering if I need to get a different brand phone and the sad thing is we have only had these phones for 2 months. I guess I will have to go to a Verizon store to see if this issue is fixable or not. Other than that We are mostly happy with this phone. lmf
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not enough storage

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bylortay78
onApril 25, 2014
from Boise
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, great camera sensor, unlocked bootloader, external address slot
Cons: not enough storage, physical home button not consistent with android
I'm so grateful for the external sd slot, but I still would have gladly bought a 64GB version if available. Please give us a 32 gig option in the s5 developer edition. With that, and getting in screen navigation Bruins instead if the physical home button, you would have the perfect device.
The lack of app storage is crippling.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Offers reliability and tons of extras

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySunny131
onDecember 8, 2013
from Columbus, OH
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I really love this phone! The picture is awesome, the system is dependable and I have had it for almost 6 months and still am discovering new things it offers!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Why get Developer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bysfcauser
onOctober 29, 2013
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Why full price for developer? Updates are slower than the Verizon regular. And doesn't seem to get as much work from the ROM developers as the regular version.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good and Bad

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByCustomerNickname
onAugust 1, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Great graphics, fairly fast processing, but even with the Developer Edition, there's still bloatware!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S® 4 (Verizon), Black Mist Developer Edition
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I expected

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDisappointedInTheEnd
onJanuary 21, 2014
from Washington, DC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This device did not meet my expectations nor was it able to be used as a "developer edition" device in its current form from Samsung, as it comes with KNOX built in now and Android 4.3 pre-installed. Cannot flash to a previous version of the firmware as Samsung does not provide stock factory images of previous releases.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.