Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone

Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone

Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Review 1 for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall great phone.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from North Carolina, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: included in comments
It took a little while to get used to my Samsung ATIV Odyssy. Using IE is a little different, but I am getting used to it. Battery life is good. Probably 12-14 hours based on average usage. Takes excellent photos. I was reluctant at first with this phone because I have never used a cell phone unless it had a query keyboard. But I can't believe how well I am doing with this one. If you are a query kind of person, you will have no issues with this keyboard.
Overall I am satisfied with this phone, but there are some issues:
CONS:
1. First of all, I am upset that a manual is not included. Yes, it is online, but it is so much easier to turn to page "whatever" than scrolling, scrolling, scrolling to find information. My Verizon associate printed it out for me and I couldn't believe how many pages there were. Two sided yet!
2. The touch screen at times is frustrating. Sometimes I don't even touch the screen, I could be just holding the phone, and it senses my hand and does goofy bouncing around. Then sometimes it freezes up and I could tap all day with no results.
3. The volume button and power/lock screen buttons are directly across from each other. It is very easy, and I do this often, to turn down the volume when I am unlocking the screen. I actually HATE this.
4. The bottom buttons, "back", "home", "bing", are too touchy. Bing is constantly coming up and I don't even realize I touched the button. Very frustrating.
5. The text "send" button is too close to the "backspace" button. My texts are continuously being sent before I am ready.
6. I don't know how it is happening, but when the lock screen is down, the phone still goes to bing and does the "goofy stuff", even with the screen locked. It is like the phone unlocks itself somehow.
7. You will definitely need to get a cover for this phone as it is very, very slippery.
Like I said, overall I really do like this phone, but it does get frustrating at times.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i930 ATIV Odyssey Better Than Expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 31, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, smooth animation/video
Cons: need to find out how to tweak music sound
Display is really clear and sharp. Animations are very smooth. Pictures are very good. Navigation is very easy after a few minutes of learning how Windows Phone 8 works.
There are many good apps. WP8 is relatively new and will certainly grow mature as a mobile phone platform as it gains market share.
This phone is very light ... I keep checking my pocket to make sure I put it back in there. I am able to get it in and out of the protective case fairly easily for access to the SD card.
Quality construction and the flash is really good ... I downloaded a flashlight app and it works really well.
The only concern I have is that I need to learn how to tweak the sound and I have not yet been able to positively identify an external sound/speaker bluetooth/NFC or docking device that is compatible. But I just got this phone and I still need to browse the manual and research online.
I am very, very glad I switched to this Odyssey WP8 phone. All my Zune music magically appeared in the Music & Videos app, as did my Xbox gamer tag avatar in the Xbox Games app. I was surprised I could send a message to my brother on his Xbox from my new phone.
All my SkyDrive stuff is syncing smooth and fast (I turned on the WiFi and hooked up with my home network) and downloads are fast. My OneNote notebooks look great and I can zoom in and out easily with the touch gestures. I haven't opened a Word doc yet in Office Mobile but will check that out soon.
Overall, I am very happy with this new WP8 Odyssey.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 25, 2013
Discover the perks and elegance of premium Windows phones. With native LinkedIn and Twitter and streamlined messaging—socializing is easier, more intuitive and all you.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is just the best!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 24, 2013
from Salem, Oh
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: cannot see any cons in this product.
I wanted to get away from the iphone and I read such great reviews on this one, I decided I would give it a try. I was not disappointed. I love the OS on it as I am running windows 8 also on pc. also love the apps and the people hub on it. great value for the money. another great Samsung product!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great os

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
This is a good starter windows 8 phone. Good phone for the money.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone. Too bad it's got Windows 8.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2013
from Portland, Oregon
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: see above
Everyone on the boards says that Windows 7 was great. Windows 8?? Eh! The thing I dislike the MOST about the Odyssey is that it's almost impossible to manage the memory. I have an 8 gb SD card. I can tell the phone to put new pictures and sounds on the card. Everything else is cemented in place. The phone has 7.8 gb of memory. Mine is FULL. Even when I delete apps, the math doesn't work out. If I delete an app that is 45m, I would expect that to show in the Storage section. NOPE. From what I gleaned from the manual, the only real way to free up memory, is to, get this...RESET the phone to factory settings. This will erase EVERY APP that has been added. So, start from scratch to free memory? How CONVENIENT!
I still have more than 4 gb on my SD card, but there's no way to move anything over to it. So...for that reason, the phone didn't get a great score. Also the sound. No adjustments except for volume. No EQ, no tone controls, nothing. Take it or leave it are your only options.
PROS: GREAT picture. Rich vibrant textures, and the sound isn't bad either.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Windows Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 20, 2013
from San Juan, PR
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
If you want a Windows Phone and LTE this one is for you
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung ATIV Odyssey™ (Verizon) Windows® Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Hate this phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 29, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, phone contacts added to facebook friends--what????, no phonebook!
No intuitive at all, and there is a lot I don't like about this phone but the thing that is going to make me sell it for something else is that the phone contacts are lumped in with the Facebook contacts. At this point I have 628 Facebook friends and scrolling through hundreds of entries to find a number to call takes forever and is just stupid!! Why not a phone book dedicated to phone contacts??? As I said, as soon as I possibly can, I'm getting rid of this phone. I loved my Samsung Omnia II and can;t understand why they don't keep making those--something that worked well and was fun!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.