Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

Rating:
3.612 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 152 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
48
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
20
98 out of 143(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly designed and slow

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 2, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, lack of sufficient app memory, weak batteries
This phone uses a CDMA network, which around here is pretty unreliable. If you like having all of your calls go straight to voice mail, then this might be the phone you want.
Even compared to a similar model from another manufacturer, the Galaxy Precedent is quite slow. It bogs down with more than a single app open. The battery gets quite hot during normal operation and sometimes it doesn't even last a full day between charges.
The touch screen isn't very responsive at all, but this might be because the phone's CPU gets bogged down in other things.
Rooting the phone wasn't easy and it simply would not work with a custom ROM--once again, due to the general slow speed of the phone.
There's not enough system memory to hold more than two or three apps. That's OK until you try to download popular apps that cannot be transferred to the SD card. Link2SD can get around this but your SD card will become inaccessible from a Windows PC.
Porting my number to this phone for the first time was an absolute nightmare.
Samsung's phones are usually pretty awesome, and the Galaxy Precedent is a rare misstep. My advice on here is to spend a few extra bucks and get a better phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
t401g (TracFone) Cell Phone
3.8 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Poor Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 27, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, memory too small, locks up frequently, poor reception
I bought 2 of these phones when they first came out. After over a year of use, we stopped using them because they were almost unusable:
1. Spell check is useless.
2. Locks up frequently and battery has to be removed and replaced.
3. Very poor reception in many areas. Useless.
4. Internal memory is way too small, not allowing very many apps to be installed. Most apps cannot be installed to the SD card. Defeats the purpose of a smart phone.
Have removed both phones from service and replaced with more expensive smart phones using another operating system. We are now very happy. Do NOT purchase this phone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do Not Buy!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2013
from Indiana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, just does not work!!!, loses photos!!!
I've had my Precedent for about 5 months. It worked fair to begin with, though the signal was often poor. It now barely works at all. Even with an SD card, there are memory problems. 'Solving' the problem involves transferring apps to the SD card. Problem: it just will not do this. Except with photos, which it does save on the sd card, though it will not tell you this. If you remove and replace the sd card to try to help fix the problem, you erase all photos. I just did this and lost all photos from a vacation trip Worst phone I have ever had. Don't waste you money!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HORRIBLE.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 8, 2013
from Butler, PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, short battery life ( 1-2 hours on hibernate ), flimy screen, bad camera
I'll be right to the point about what i dislike. I can't even have an app on the phone, or in 1-2 hours of it being on hibernate.. (because i don't like to use it) the battery will be drained. Another thing with the battery is it takes over night to charge.. about 8 hours. The phone will get very warm too at times if i make a few calls or text while its plugged in. Now, I don't expect it to be an iphone since my parents bought me it and it was a cheap phone and all but the screen is very flimsy. Its just over all not of good quality. I still trust samsung just go the extra 50 or so dollars and pay for the extra quality.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone ever!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor memory, freezes too much
This phone has by far been the worst phone I have ever used! I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Everytime you open an app (it doesn't matter which one) the phone freezes! Half the time you can't even shut the phone off to close it you have to take out the battery. When you call someone your phone will freeze to where you can't hang up or type in an extension. So once again you have to pop out the battery or sit there constantly trying to hang up! It is so irritating! It has practically no memory. I only have 2 apps that I chose to have on my phone and there isn't enough room for anymore. I have an SD card but most of the apps require phone space. I could sit here all day naming problems with this phone but the company will not let me post most of it. Now wonder most of the reviews are good. I do not recommend.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Never updated past android 2.2.2

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Horrible phone, never updated past android 2.2.2. Would NOT recommend to anyone. Will NOT be using Samsung products again.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a good buy

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2012
from Greenville, SC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, not durable, internal speaker does not work, unable to hang up calls using touch screen, battery does not hold charge
I got this phone as a gift when my old one broke. I was so excited to finally have a smart-phone and enjoy all the advantages a smart phone offers. This phone is just not as good as an actual contract smart-phone. I have sent the phone back once within the first three months of buying it, because of battery issues, which required me to be without a phone for over two weeks. When I got the replacement phone, the internal speaker did not work, which means I am going to be phoneless again for another two weeks. If you are looking for a fast, durable, quality phone for a good price, this is NOT it! The phone is slow, has very low internal memory (which means no room for apps and other fun things) and tends to freeze up quite a bit. It also will not let you use the screen when a call is in progress. Overall I am very dissatisfied with the product and hope to find an alternate affordable phone soon.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy The Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2012
from Belleville, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, facebook pops up easily
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, battery life limited very poor, user unfriendly nothing is easy to do, keys too close on popup keyboard, clumsy
I find this phone very user unfriendly. The manual gives limited information (for example on how to forward messages). Even though I have turned every application I could find off the battery doesn't last for more than a few hours, even when I haven't made a single call. It easily goes to facebook, but that is about all it does right. The memory runs low with just a few apps added, even when you save to the memory card. I am returning mine after having it only a week. The pop up keyboard is too small and the voice recognition doesn't work all the time. Don't waste your time with this one.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible product

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 3, 2012
from pacific NW
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, glitchy and slow, every task is a battle
I have had NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS, and have had to send this phone back twice now due to issues. First battery failure, now I can't send text messages with photos, at all.
I purchased a Proclaim and, so far, so good!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bad phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 30, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, over heats
the phone freezes, it constantly says it can not charge because it does not recongnize the battery, and it over heats all the time even if i am not using it, over all it was what i thought a good phone but in the end its a horrible phone
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Problems problems problems!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes!, battery gets hot!!
I have had this phone approximately 3 months and it is junk! I paid too much for this phone NOT to work! The battery gets VERY HOT! It freezes ALL THE TIME!! It will NOT let me ANSWER calls! I have to constantly take the battery OUT and reset it! IT IS JUST NOT WORTH THE HASSLE!!!!!!!
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth it.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I just bought this phone in January and don't use a lot of the aps on it. Lately, it has been getting VERY hot when I talk on it, it doesn't "shut down" (so that I have to unlock it to use it) anymore, and today - it won't take a charge. AT ALL. I am very disappointed in this phone and wish I had spent (to me) the very large amount of money on something else. Never again.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not happy

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2012
from Lakewood, Washington
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, constantly freez's up
I just bought this phone price was good, But the phone freezes all the time right out of the box have to remove the cover and battery then restart the phone. I' am sorry I would not recommend this phone to anyone!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What you pay is what you get

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not enough memory, does not run applications properly from sd cards, has the potential to receive messages late, does not have setting to save directly to sd, crashes off simple apps
Poor quality
Cant save directly to SD card
Not enough memory storage on phone
doesnt run apps properly off SD card
only a few apps transfer over to memory card
Did not meet expectations under the features
Crashes from simple apps
Does not keep messages due to the lack of memory
DONT BUY DONT BUY DONT BUY just got a messages now saying congrats hope you like the phone its the latest one coming out for straight talk, merry christmas!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Zeberga

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 31, 2012
from MD
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
It is a product with poor battrey performance, phone and data signal. It has given me a lot of headache.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 29, 2012
from Oregon
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, unresponsive, poor camera
The touch screen is unresponsive so texting is nearly impossible. Phone itself is slow, have to try several times to access the image gallery each time, can't access gallery through the camera, can only get the last photo taken so I have to back out of camera into gallery, then wait forever for pictures to load, sometimes they don't. The camera itself is poor quality, can't even scan bar codes. It constantly chooses to text landlines above the mobile number of a contact regardless of what order I have these numbers added (I can't find any options to change this). Plus, I've only had this phone for a few months, and it has taken to randomly turning itself off, which is extremely inconvenient as I use it as my alarm clock.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

phone works good when i have a signal

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 4, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: letters and numbers on phone are too small, swipe keyboard keeps interfearing with text
overall performance is exceptional,but the antena has to be in the wrong location on the phone cant receive a signal
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2011
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
After owning the phone less than a month the bluetooth function began working only intermittently. Now, after less than 45 days of ownership the screen will freeze rendering the phone useless. The screen will also shut off and the power cannot be turned off because the touchscreen is required to perform this function. After recieving a call the screen will freeze, then go blurry and then black. I can reboot sometimes after taking the battery out, but I don't feel this product was worth the money. I have a Samsung TV that I love and just ordered an entire kitchen appliance package. I sincerely hope that this is a fluke and not indicative of how Samsung products have evolved. I am going to request repair and cross my fingers that this issue is resolved.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 24, 2011
from Hermiston, Oregon
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes, apps stop working
The phone has good potential, however, I need a phone that doesn't freeze up and stop working all of a sudden. It also loose service for no reason
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Recommended so far

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, doesn't hold a signal or battery charge
This could change, but for now, this is a very unsatisfactory phone.
1. Turned off all apps, syncing, clear memory, etc, yet battery does not last one day. Maybe a half day, that's it. I have to carry the charger around-one more thing to carry.
2. Slider to open phone and answer calls doesn't always work. Nice when the phone is ringing. Touch screen is unresponsive more times than not.
3. Alarm rings some mornings, others doesn't. Not useful when trying to wake up.
4. Biggest problem-frequently no service in areas where I've always had service with my other phones. Not out in the woods, not in some far flung country. Service goes out randomly and in populated areas.
Hoping to work out the use of this phone before I fling it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

poor performer

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 7, 2014
from NJ
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, crashes a lot
touch screen is hard to navidagate and manuever.
service via warranty is terrible through straight talk.
crashes a lot, non responsive, limited memory for apps and other stuff.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

my first smartphone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2013
from salina ks
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, over heats
i have had this phone for 5 days now, and it already has problems. it over heats, the battery last me an hour just sitting in my pocket! the calling doesnt let me call and the microphone works when it wants to. there is VERYYYY low storage. i like the display and how everything is set up, but the other problems make me want to smash it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

galaxy precedent

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 30, 2013
from Newport News, VA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, to many problems
I have had a lot of problems with this phone. I constantly have to call for help.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This phone is just ok

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Out of all the phones ive had this is def not one of my favorites..It shuts off randomly and freezes up alot but other than that its ok.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

memory too small for an android

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 26, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
not enough memory, cannot download many apps because theres no memory to store tyhem
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

NO battery life. Expect to charge every day.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMay 25, 2012
from Youngstown, OH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, clean intuitive design, great operating system
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes often as if it can not handle the os., very weak battery or poor battery quality, sometimes issues uploading files to the web., can only have 3 programs open to function well.
Overall, the phone is well designed and uses a favorable operating system. One will quickly get used to how it works and be up and running in an hour or so. While the phone looks great and has a very nice operating system, it has huge issues with respect to hardware. There is not enough memory in the phone, creating issues when using apps stored on an SD card. The battery is EXTREMELY weak and runs dry in a day while running the MINIMUM prescribed programs that the manual of the phone recommends. Finally, there is not enough RAM provided to properly run the system with the average user, or most any user for that matter. With more RAM, and a better battery, this phone would have 4+ stars hands down.
I believe it is worth the extra 50 or so dollars to get a better, higher performing phone. Even on a budget, it's not worth the hassle.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Solstice™ Full Qwerty Cell Phone
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lots of irritating bugs and some real problems

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
A real shortcoming is the inability to sync calendars and contacts. Attempts through Google just jumble the calendar and only transfer contacts with a name and phone number. Any address info and the contact won't transfer.
Another annoying shortcoming is the utter lack of any spell check. The phone bothers you, asking if you want to save a mispelled word to your dictionary, but fails to offer the correct spelling. What a waste of time and capacity.
Now, after just one month, my phone disconnects phone calls when you press the unlock button; something which is required when you are on the call. GREAT! NOT!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Owned THREE... all the same

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2012
from Huntington Beach, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This model has some serious issues...and since I tried three phones, all with same problems - it wasn't just a fluke.
Lack of memory #1 problem (161mb). Mine were out of memory the 1st day, with only installing a few apps (under 10 apps). Even installing a SD card, 90% of apps dont allow to be moved to the SD card, thus you are again limited.
OS problems? This model in particular has issues with settings not doing what they should... "Delete old messages" simply does not work whether checked or not, and text message limit is buggy. This causes more memory issues since the txt messages lock out then stop accepting txt messages then will not accept any messages until the phone is completely erased, then reset - unsure if a OS or carrier issue.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Number/lock should be removed

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 4, 2012
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
After a month the lock button on top would not work. If I needed to press keys or access voicemail and pressed the lock button to expose dialpad it would end the call. Very frustrating and only a month old. Also aggravating is the inconvenience involved just to answr a call and hang up. Why the "lock" button has to be pressed for such simple things is beyond me. Would not suggest this phone for ease of use and breaking after only a month gives Samsung a bad name
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Phone erratic performance

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, doesn't start
won't start and can't decide whether it's charging or live. constantly chriping and now won't start after being being fully charged. rebooting doesn't fix anything. 7 weeks old and ready for trash heap. should have bought an iPhone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not very good for avid phone users

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, too small, hard to text, short battery life, not enough ram, freezes, malfuntions
two weeks in... for some unknown reason the sensor must be malfunctioned as it beeps all day long as if im plugging and unplugging it from the charging adapter... argghh annoying.. i cant take it anymore, return
a week in... a few dropped calls... but it has stopped freezing with the disabling of social networking sites...
three days in... i began to notice the features weren't very good at all for an android... it freezes with too much going on and continued to freeze until i freed up some ram by deleting the social networking and a few other constantly refreshing apps..
one day in... phone has this weird lock when a call is connected,, this hinders easy maneuverability throughout the phone while in conversation... i also noticed that it is not compatable with adobe flash so i cant get nfl app.. also the internet connection was not very good... they advertise running off of certain towers but i just wonder if it is all the towers because my connectivity is not very good..
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 24, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Loved the phone for the first day. Now it freezes up after about 30minutes of being on. Have to restart it constantly. Just bought it 3 days ago.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Screen Locks everytime, Swype Typing is horrible

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 15, 2011
from Appleton, Wi
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Ok I just got this phone today, and I will write again if and when I have this phone for my 30 day trail, because so far I hate it, The screen goes into Lockout everytime the screen goes out. and Swype typing I am not used to so I'll give it a chance but so far Its a pain, plus my fingers are fat and I hit every key but the one I want cause the keybpard is so small and close together. do not like having smbl's above another key, not user friendly in ,my opinion. so for now, 9-15-2011.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Best Most Frustrating Phone I ever owned.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 18, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, small
Cons: cannot run applications, low battery life, bulky design, low signal connectivity
I purchased my Samsung Galaxy Precedent in late summer of 2012, it worked well enough for a non-contract smartphone. The design is favorable but a bit bulky. No phone is perfect but I definitely had quite a few issues with this phone. Shortly after getting the phone it began making the charge noise multiple times in a row even though it wasn't charging or it was fully charged, it would get so irritating I would have to put it on silent, eventually this problem went away on it's own after a few months. Trying to run applications was a tiresome game, it would normally freeze up, black screen, vibrate three times, then cancel whatever it was trying to run. The Samsung Precedent runs off sprint service and spends more time draining its battery life searching for service than with actual use of the phone. The pros of having this phone was the quick search through Google, the useability of the phone and text feature, and decent camera/video.
This phone works more as a telephone than a smartphone, if you're considering buying this phone it would be better suited for someone who doesn't need apps and only intends on using it for phone and texts. Goodluck!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This phone has good features but but ok performance latly

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 29, 2012
from Smyrna DE
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I got this phone last Xmas for a gift and I've been having problems with the signal and it freezing up on me latly
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Phone, HORRIBLE Battery

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 5, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no battery life after charging, no suitable replacement battery has been found yet, no action taken to fix problem by samsung
The phone itself and all of it's features are great for an introduction to Android Smartphones. However, the battery is absolutely HORRIBLE!!! Even after charging and not using (or having it shut off), the battery is almost dead again within 8 to 12 hours. Furthermore, finding a replacement battery that is suitable and longer lasting is an impossible task. If you have a permanent charger to walk around with then the phone is great. Otherwise, invest in plenty of backup batteries, search for a different phone, or just leave the phone on the charger (like a LAND-LINE CORDED phone).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Phone has some problems but don't they all.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2012
from Gulfport, Ms.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: power port is weak and will nit charge properly mo
My Samsung phone for the most part has been a really good phone. Like most cellular phones these days they have battery issues and charging port issues. My Phone , the SCH-M828C Has major port problems and sometimes will not charge properly.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This is a real boring phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 8, 2012
from Wichita, KS
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Not really happy with this phone no updates for android and its just real boring phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 3, 2012
from utah
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
its overall a good valued smartphone. it does have issues every so often but not bad. i want to find a way to turn my phone into a wifi hotspot but i need a downloadable driver for my laptop computer for my phone. oh well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

To many Glitches Not enough Answers

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMarch 3, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations, wont send mms, wont upload pix to facebook, no one can tell me why, samsung does not support phone do to carrier.
wont send MMs, does not recognize charger, wont upload pictures to Facebook, No one has answers on why!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

i dont get service anywhere

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 4, 2012
from Fort Campbell KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: service
I live near a army post and i dont get any service on this phone sprint network is the worst out there.. other then the apps this phone is pure junk, and i wont buy one ever agian.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 2, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
my phone is 2days old and constantly freezes and will not charge all the way after 5 or 10 minutes the phone is burning hot
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good enough: A to B

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 31, 2012
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, no good privacy features
The Precedent phone, I mean.....Ggggg
has too many restrictions and limitations. Either it's 'their way or the highway'-( my words ). it's wrong to be forced to get an account just to be able to use the phone. not to sound too contradicting but, they do try hard with improving their products.
As for Samsung and thier cell phones, they always do a wonderful job! GREAT FEATURES! everything is so easy to find and user friendly, even if you've never used a cell phone.
One question, where is the firmware update?
overall I'd recommend this
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

What I've found wrong with my phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 26, 2012
from Ohio
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Overall it is a good phone. But for some reason i have no signal at my house??. And most importantly i just got this phone about 3 months ago and it doesn't recieve text.. I've tried everything but I keep getting a "text message memory full" and i have NO text in my inbox/outbox/or drafts. I just wrote a email to Samsung about it, and if i dont get a good response that fixes it then ill just break the phone and get a new one with the warranty and see if that hellps!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I'm coming from an Iphone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 26, 2012
from Saunderstown, RI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This is not an Iphone or even a close second. I guess as a low cost phone this is ok. Having issues with the internal memory getting full and I purchased a 32g card.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Battery goes dead in hours

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2012
from Greenville, SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, very weak battery life
Just purchased this phone 4 days ago. The wall charger worked the first day only. Now the phone will charge only when it is plugged into the computer. When the batter is fully charged, it lasts only the 9 hours. And that is without talking on it, no messaging, no nothing. The battery goes VERY FAST
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Make sure you have a good service provider!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, terrible service on straight talk network
I got this phone on the StraightTalk network and it gets TERRIBLE service where a former StraightTalk phone got excellent service. I will literally have to walk around the room holding the phone in the air trying to capture just one bar to send a message/call or to recieve messages/ calls. I actually have one place on my desk that it gets enough service, if it is moved even a cm it quickly drops bars and loses reception. The 3G is just as bad, I get horrible access and it takes FOREVER to download things/ get on the internet because I am walking around the room searching for service.
The phone itself is okay, kinda small for my taste (but all I could afford), low storage memory, can't customize texting ringtones,it freezes up a lot, and will not tell me when I have a missed call or a voicemail somtimes. The apps are great, texting is fast and easy, and I LOVE the turn by turn navigation. I have dropped this phone many times and it still works "great". Overall I'm pretty sure that it I wasn't on a cruddy network she would work fabulously.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great phone BUT........

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2011
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor battery life
The phone itself is great. However, it would be great if the battery lasted longer than a few hours! I have to take the charger with me everywhere I go. If I forget to plug it up at night it's dead the next morning-with wi-fi, gps, & Bluetooth disabled. Will have to buy extra batteries and carry a spare...The specs on the Samsung website say this of the battery:
Battery, Standby Up to 9 days*
Battery, Talk Time (hours) Up to 6 hours*
Battery Type and Size 1500 mAh
That is not true. I do not use my phone for internet or bluetooth or gps much because of the massive and quick drain on the battery. I have an Archos 32 internet tablet which I use for that because if I enable these features on my phone it drains the battery rapidly. Even 3G use drains the battery too fast. So I guess my complaint is there is no way this battery will last on standby up to 9 days, (maybe if you turn the phone OFF it might) nor can you talk 6 hours on one charge-not with the battery that came brand new with my phone. No way. To be honest, I haven't used my phone for a 6 hour phone call, because if the battery is being drained with wi-fi, gps, and bluetooth disabled and the phone just sittlng idle, to the point the next morning it's dead, (and it takes at least 4 hours to charge fully) I just don't see how you can talk on this phone on one charge unplugged from a charger, for 6 hours.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This phone has good features for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2011
from Upstate,New York
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, looks nice
Cons: poor signal for calls and data, freezes up and slows down on performance
I think the phone looks great and i always look for Samsung because of the quality that you get for the price and durability but with this phone and like any other smartphone it lacks on performance sometimes even with the 3g.When the phone is working top notch i love it,its fast and reliable but it needs more updating for stability so the phone don't freeze up and slow down at times like it does.If that will get fix it will be one of my favorite phones.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Coverage Is Not Up To Par....

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, no bugs or quirks...
Cons: poor reception
The phone is the best out there as an introductory device into the world of android phones. This is not cheaply made and the applications perform as expected!! I am so impressed and upon my purchase I could not find it in myself to let it go!
Still, there is one downfactor. The phone is on the Sprint network and it's expected that signals will be lost here and there plus certain areas will not be able to receive a tower's signal. I'm okay anywhere I go but when I get to my job, my reception dissipates altogether. Before going to US Cellular, I was with Sprint and was driven insane by their weak signals and unfair prices. The Straight Talk deal beats any other plan with the major networks and that's what got my attention. I'm highly satisfied because I now have a good quality smartphone and a plan that supports my financial needs. I'm now saving 65$ a month!! On the downside, I can't receive calls/texts or anything else at my job. You have to take the bad with the good but the price difference compared to other networks makes this phone and plan ALL GOOD!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Texting

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2011
Only receive half of the text that " long winded" people send...it cuts the text off after a few words,,,,
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Idea But...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2011
from Groves, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, it's an android
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bluetooth problems, hard to keyboard, tends to freeze up, poor battery life
I have had a lot of trouble not being able to link my phone bluetooth with that of my vehicle. SmartTalk advised that the phone wasn't designed to work with my vehicle's bluetooth but that there wasn't anything wrong with the phone and that I should get a different bluetooth for my vehicle. It's a new Ford vehicle with built-in SYNC. So that's not going to happen. The phone also has a tendency to freeze up and has to be turned off and turned back on to work. The battery life is about 4-5 hours if in continual use. I do like the phone but I get such poor receiption at my house but I think that's a problem of Sprint. The keyboard is also hard to type on without hitting the key on eithei side of the key you are attempting to strike.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Missing too much

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 22, 2011
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, cannot receive texts, unable to use dialpad unless manual dialing
In most phones, one can go to settings and just about do anything they need to, but with this model, that is not the case. I oftentimes need to have access to the dial pad, and unless I dial manually and am very fast with my hands, the phone locks, leaving me unable to pull up the dial pad. Not good. Also, I have not received a text message yet, but I have no clue why. There is no such window on this phone to show incoming, outgoing, sent, drafts, etc. Only creating a message. Where are all the important things? Please someone show me where all this is.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Trouble finding solutions to problems

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 12, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
My phone is about 2 weeks old. When I try to call out, the phone goes blank and a message appears to unlock the phone. Otherwise it is a nice phone if you have little fingers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

i wish i wouldnt have bought this phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 5, 2011
from Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
This phone is slow, loses connection all the time, takes forever to charge, uses charge up quick... impossible to text message with! not sure how this can be 3g service on an android os and be so slow, whether surfing or whatever!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 16, 2013
from Warner Robins, GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
The Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone is a great durable lightweight smartphone that keeps me connected!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My first Smartphone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 17, 2013
from St. Louis, Mo.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: have to keep charging battery
I just got this phone as an upgrade to the one that I had and I do like this phone. The only real problem that I have with it is that I have to keep recharging the phone and I wish that there was a display on the screen to let me know how much battery life I have (percentage wise) so that I won't let the battery run down too much because if you let it run down too much it takes a few hours to get it back to 100% charge. Other than that it is a really good phone. I am enjoying the camera and the fact that I can check my Facebook page on it without having to go to my computer all of the time and that I can download pictures to my page.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone for the money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 28, 2013
from Jackson, Mississippi
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
It is the perfect phone to start out with you dont have to be a geek to use it but yet it gets the job dune
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great lil starter smart phone!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: only 2.2, need to add memory
Love it! Already ordered more memory.. easy to use... wishing it was 2.3 or higher Android for video capabilities. Learning to save battery is key and using all fuctions to do that. Freezed every once in a while.. probably me moving to fast. Great phone overall !
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 2, 2013
from Colorado
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
This is a great low cost, starter phone. It has all the capabilities that would be expected from a much newer version. Worth every penny.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5