Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

Rating:
3.612 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 152 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
48
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
20
98 out of 143(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Affordable Android Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAlanHouston
onSeptember 26, 2011
from Houston, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The Samsung Precedent/Prevail phone is a breakthrough for android phones: most of the power of the mega-buck android phones in a high quality design at an affordable price.
Basic android functions are fairly easy to learn, but this phone has many advanced, sophisticated features. It is worth your time to work your way through the owner's manual, page by page, to learn how to use the advanced functions.
One function that took a few minutes to learn, but that has become my favorite is "voice search". Instead of typing out a lengthy eight or ten work Google Search, I can just press the microphone button, say those ten words, and the phone will type them out for me. If they are correct (which they are 90% of the time), just press a button and Google does the search.
A phone's first job is phone calls. Even though I often get only one or two "bars" indoors, I have not had a dropped call. Voices over the phone are loud, clear, and natural. The speaker phone is also loud, and the speaker even does a decent job with music. Of course, music sounds much better through good earbuds, or with the phone plugged into high quality computer speakers.
My old phone had a physical keyboard, so it took a few days of practice to adjust to a "touch" keyboard. The phone's menus give you a choice of keyboards and let you customize the keyboard by turning off the "vibrate" function and turning off "auto-correct". Turning the phone sideways produces a larger keyboard. I am now about 90% as fast as I was on a physical keyboard.
My android phone owners are upset by short battery life. The owner's manual explained how to use the included power widget and task manager to turn off GPS, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi when they are not being used. You can also turn off 3G when you are not using the internet, or when you are using Wi-Fi. With those "tricks", I was able to extend battery life from around 8 hours to a more useful 18 hours.
The camera has only a two megapixel sensor, but produces nice photos outdoors in good light. The camera menu enables you to make a photo brighter or darker, and the color balance is superior to even some rather expensive cameras. The photos look nice on a computer screen and have enough detail for a good 4 x 6 snapshot. The video is fun to play with, but is not designed to replace your video camera.
Samsung makes it easy to locate accessories, such as a car charger, travel charger, or extra batteries. The phone is also supported with accessories such as screen protectors and silicone "skins" to keep it looking new.
Bottom Line: This phone provides a high quality android experience at a very reasonable price. The Precedent/Prevail phone will expand android from being a "new concept" to being the preferred type of phone for a large proportion of cell phone owners.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+72points
72of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great phone BUT........

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bykathleenm
onDecember 20, 2011
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor battery life
The phone itself is great. However, it would be great if the battery lasted longer than a few hours! I have to take the charger with me everywhere I go. If I forget to plug it up at night it's dead the next morning-with wi-fi, gps, & Bluetooth disabled. Will have to buy extra batteries and carry a spare...The specs on the Samsung website say this of the battery:
Battery, Standby Up to 9 days*
Battery, Talk Time (hours) Up to 6 hours*
Battery Type and Size 1500 mAh
That is not true. I do not use my phone for internet or bluetooth or gps much because of the massive and quick drain on the battery. I have an Archos 32 internet tablet which I use for that because if I enable these features on my phone it drains the battery rapidly. Even 3G use drains the battery too fast. So I guess my complaint is there is no way this battery will last on standby up to 9 days, (maybe if you turn the phone OFF it might) nor can you talk 6 hours on one charge-not with the battery that came brand new with my phone. No way. To be honest, I haven't used my phone for a 6 hour phone call, because if the battery is being drained with wi-fi, gps, and bluetooth disabled and the phone just sittlng idle, to the point the next morning it's dead, (and it takes at least 4 hours to charge fully) I just don't see how you can talk on this phone on one charge unplugged from a charger, for 6 hours.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly designed and slow

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byshadow460
onAugust 2, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, lack of sufficient app memory, weak batteries
This phone uses a CDMA network, which around here is pretty unreliable. If you like having all of your calls go straight to voice mail, then this might be the phone you want.
Even compared to a similar model from another manufacturer, the Galaxy Precedent is quite slow. It bogs down with more than a single app open. The battery gets quite hot during normal operation and sometimes it doesn't even last a full day between charges.
The touch screen isn't very responsive at all, but this might be because the phone's CPU gets bogged down in other things.
Rooting the phone wasn't easy and it simply would not work with a custom ROM--once again, due to the general slow speed of the phone.
There's not enough system memory to hold more than two or three apps. That's OK until you try to download popular apps that cannot be transferred to the SD card. Link2SD can get around this but your SD card will become inaccessible from a Windows PC.
Porting my number to this phone for the first time was an absolute nightmare.
Samsung's phones are usually pretty awesome, and the Galaxy Precedent is a rare misstep. My advice on here is to spend a few extra bucks and get a better phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
t401g (TracFone) Cell Phone
3.8 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Best Most Frustrating Phone I ever owned.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByHitomi27
onSeptember 18, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, small
Cons: cannot run applications, low battery life, bulky design, low signal connectivity
I purchased my Samsung Galaxy Precedent in late summer of 2012, it worked well enough for a non-contract smartphone. The design is favorable but a bit bulky. No phone is perfect but I definitely had quite a few issues with this phone. Shortly after getting the phone it began making the charge noise multiple times in a row even though it wasn't charging or it was fully charged, it would get so irritating I would have to put it on silent, eventually this problem went away on it's own after a few months. Trying to run applications was a tiresome game, it would normally freeze up, black screen, vibrate three times, then cancel whatever it was trying to run. The Samsung Precedent runs off sprint service and spends more time draining its battery life searching for service than with actual use of the phone. The pros of having this phone was the quick search through Google, the useability of the phone and text feature, and decent camera/video.
This phone works more as a telephone than a smartphone, if you're considering buying this phone it would be better suited for someone who doesn't need apps and only intends on using it for phone and texts. Goodluck!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Coverage Is Not Up To Par....

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHappyNow
onDecember 2, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, no bugs or quirks...
Cons: poor reception
The phone is the best out there as an introductory device into the world of android phones. This is not cheaply made and the applications perform as expected!! I am so impressed and upon my purchase I could not find it in myself to let it go!
Still, there is one downfactor. The phone is on the Sprint network and it's expected that signals will be lost here and there plus certain areas will not be able to receive a tower's signal. I'm okay anywhere I go but when I get to my job, my reception dissipates altogether. Before going to US Cellular, I was with Sprint and was driven insane by their weak signals and unfair prices. The Straight Talk deal beats any other plan with the major networks and that's what got my attention. I'm highly satisfied because I now have a good quality smartphone and a plan that supports my financial needs. I'm now saving 65$ a month!! On the downside, I can't receive calls/texts or anything else at my job. You have to take the bad with the good but the price difference compared to other networks makes this phone and plan ALL GOOD!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Decent Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHauntedPhantom
onApril 22, 2012
from Lake Elsinore, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
I had a basic smartphone from samsung before this phone, that was my smartphone lol, it had no access to the appstore or anything, i fought so long against these phones i was just give me a regular flip phone with a regular dial pad, im old school wanted a phone to be a phone but. I finally gave in and now i have the precedent, this is my second one, the first one was malfunctioning, i sent it back and got a new one, and it was the problems i have seen on here the battery freaking out like its on the charger when its not and the screen locking up and not letting you do anything, so far my replacement has been really good, i do enjoy it, I do have fat fingers so that makes texting a lil hard i sometimes still wish i had an old school dial pad but oh well. I was upset when i realized the quick battery drain wasnt just a defect as well, i wonder if i can get an extended life battery or do those even exsist anymore? well overall good phone i samsung will look into all our gripes tho and maybe make an affordable replacement model of this phone huh.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Make sure you have a good service provider!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKelstonjo
onJanuary 1, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, terrible service on straight talk network
I got this phone on the StraightTalk network and it gets TERRIBLE service where a former StraightTalk phone got excellent service. I will literally have to walk around the room holding the phone in the air trying to capture just one bar to send a message/call or to recieve messages/ calls. I actually have one place on my desk that it gets enough service, if it is moved even a cm it quickly drops bars and loses reception. The 3G is just as bad, I get horrible access and it takes FOREVER to download things/ get on the internet because I am walking around the room searching for service.
The phone itself is okay, kinda small for my taste (but all I could afford), low storage memory, can't customize texting ringtones,it freezes up a lot, and will not tell me when I have a missed call or a voicemail somtimes. The apps are great, texting is fast and easy, and I LOVE the turn by turn navigation. I have dropped this phone many times and it still works "great". Overall I'm pretty sure that it I wasn't on a cruddy network she would work fabulously.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not very good for avid phone users

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byeyensteyn
onOctober 14, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, too small, hard to text, short battery life, not enough ram, freezes, malfuntions
two weeks in... for some unknown reason the sensor must be malfunctioned as it beeps all day long as if im plugging and unplugging it from the charging adapter... argghh annoying.. i cant take it anymore, return
a week in... a few dropped calls... but it has stopped freezing with the disabling of social networking sites...
three days in... i began to notice the features weren't very good at all for an android... it freezes with too much going on and continued to freeze until i freed up some ram by deleting the social networking and a few other constantly refreshing apps..
one day in... phone has this weird lock when a call is connected,, this hinders easy maneuverability throughout the phone while in conversation... i also noticed that it is not compatable with adobe flash so i cant get nfl app.. also the internet connection was not very good... they advertise running off of certain towers but i just wonder if it is all the towers because my connectivity is not very good..
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a good buy

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bygvlchick
onOctober 26, 2012
from Greenville, SC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, not durable, internal speaker does not work, unable to hang up calls using touch screen, battery does not hold charge
I got this phone as a gift when my old one broke. I was so excited to finally have a smart-phone and enjoy all the advantages a smart phone offers. This phone is just not as good as an actual contract smart-phone. I have sent the phone back once within the first three months of buying it, because of battery issues, which required me to be without a phone for over two weeks. When I got the replacement phone, the internal speaker did not work, which means I am going to be phoneless again for another two weeks. If you are looking for a fast, durable, quality phone for a good price, this is NOT it! The phone is slow, has very low internal memory (which means no room for apps and other fun things) and tends to freeze up quite a bit. It also will not let you use the screen when a call is in progress. Overall I am very dissatisfied with the product and hope to find an alternate affordable phone soon.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

NO battery life. Expect to charge every day.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 25, 2012
from Youngstown, OH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, clean intuitive design, great operating system
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes often as if it can not handle the os., very weak battery or poor battery quality, sometimes issues uploading files to the web., can only have 3 programs open to function well.
Overall, the phone is well designed and uses a favorable operating system. One will quickly get used to how it works and be up and running in an hour or so. While the phone looks great and has a very nice operating system, it has huge issues with respect to hardware. There is not enough memory in the phone, creating issues when using apps stored on an SD card. The battery is EXTREMELY weak and runs dry in a day while running the MINIMUM prescribed programs that the manual of the phone recommends. Finally, there is not enough RAM provided to properly run the system with the average user, or most any user for that matter. With more RAM, and a better battery, this phone would have 4+ stars hands down.
I believe it is worth the extra 50 or so dollars to get a better, higher performing phone. Even on a budget, it's not worth the hassle.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone ever!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTiffny
onJanuary 23, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor memory, freezes too much
This phone has by far been the worst phone I have ever used! I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Everytime you open an app (it doesn't matter which one) the phone freezes! Half the time you can't even shut the phone off to close it you have to take out the battery. When you call someone your phone will freeze to where you can't hang up or type in an extension. So once again you have to pop out the battery or sit there constantly trying to hang up! It is so irritating! It has practically no memory. I only have 2 apps that I chose to have on my phone and there isn't enough room for anymore. I have an SD card but most of the apps require phone space. I could sit here all day naming problems with this phone but the company will not let me post most of it. Now wonder most of the reviews are good. I do not recommend.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Galaxy Precedent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySmartphoneMan
onSeptember 8, 2013
from America
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: low battery life, not enough internal memory
First and only "smartphone" I ever had so I really don't have much to compare it to. Plus side: great phone, great text feature, great web interface. I love the fact that it has Speech Recognition capabilities, Speakerphone, 5 screens. Lots of customization features. Keyboard took some getting used to, Bluetooth, etc. Cons include: poor battery life, poor internal memory, whole thing could be an inch bigger, or so, also, on occasion, it loses it's mind and takes my contacts with it... but, I touch Contacts over and over until it comes back, any clues as to why this does this? so far so good, but, some day, they may not come back... so, I made a hard copy of my contacts to keep in my wallet... Keep up the great work Samsung, let us have an updated Precedent, better memory, better battery, more stability...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Precedent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byspyder70
onNovember 27, 2011
from woodstock, GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: cannot move apps to the micro sd card
This is my first smart phone. The phone I owned went dead and I decided to upgrade to a smart phone. I use Walmart's wireless plan ( Straight Talk) and was directed on start up to the Trac Phone service. It was easy to port my existing number over to the new phone. The phone is inexpensive, but is does everything it said it would do. I get 3G wireless and it is easy to operate. I enjoy using this phone and it does provide entertainment value, which my other phone did not provide. The screen is bright and all the functions operate quickly. I like the small size. I am pleased and would recommend this to a friend as a starter phone. Only problem I have encountered has been not being able to transfer my apps from the internal storeage to the Micro SD card. A good value and well built phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byboogalaxy
onDecember 9, 2011
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
After owning the phone less than a month the bluetooth function began working only intermittently. Now, after less than 45 days of ownership the screen will freeze rendering the phone useless. The screen will also shut off and the power cannot be turned off because the touchscreen is required to perform this function. After recieving a call the screen will freeze, then go blurry and then black. I can reboot sometimes after taking the battery out, but I don't feel this product was worth the money. I have a Samsung TV that I love and just ordered an entire kitchen appliance package. I sincerely hope that this is a fluke and not indicative of how Samsung products have evolved. I am going to request repair and cross my fingers that this issue is resolved.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Owned THREE... all the same

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByHBSteve
onMay 5, 2012
from Huntington Beach, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This model has some serious issues...and since I tried three phones, all with same problems - it wasn't just a fluke.
Lack of memory #1 problem (161mb). Mine were out of memory the 1st day, with only installing a few apps (under 10 apps). Even installing a SD card, 90% of apps dont allow to be moved to the SD card, thus you are again limited.
OS problems? This model in particular has issues with settings not doing what they should... "Delete old messages" simply does not work whether checked or not, and text message limit is buggy. This causes more memory issues since the txt messages lock out then stop accepting txt messages then will not accept any messages until the phone is completely erased, then reset - unsure if a OS or carrier issue.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Idea But...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjrodhatch
onOctober 31, 2011
from Groves, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, it's an android
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bluetooth problems, hard to keyboard, tends to freeze up, poor battery life
I have had a lot of trouble not being able to link my phone bluetooth with that of my vehicle. SmartTalk advised that the phone wasn't designed to work with my vehicle's bluetooth but that there wasn't anything wrong with the phone and that I should get a different bluetooth for my vehicle. It's a new Ford vehicle with built-in SYNC. So that's not going to happen. The phone also has a tendency to freeze up and has to be turned off and turned back on to work. The battery life is about 4-5 hours if in continual use. I do like the phone but I get such poor receiption at my house but I think that's a problem of Sprint. The keyboard is also hard to type on without hitting the key on eithei side of the key you are attempting to strike.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Recommended so far

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byajc9099
onOctober 21, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, doesn't hold a signal or battery charge
This could change, but for now, this is a very unsatisfactory phone.
1. Turned off all apps, syncing, clear memory, etc, yet battery does not last one day. Maybe a half day, that's it. I have to carry the charger around-one more thing to carry.
2. Slider to open phone and answer calls doesn't always work. Nice when the phone is ringing. Touch screen is unresponsive more times than not.
3. Alarm rings some mornings, others doesn't. Not useful when trying to wake up.
4. Biggest problem-frequently no service in areas where I've always had service with my other phones. Not out in the woods, not in some far flung country. Service goes out randomly and in populated areas.
Hoping to work out the use of this phone before I fling it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bywutzername
onJanuary 29, 2012
from Oregon
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, unresponsive, poor camera
The touch screen is unresponsive so texting is nearly impossible. Phone itself is slow, have to try several times to access the image gallery each time, can't access gallery through the camera, can only get the last photo taken so I have to back out of camera into gallery, then wait forever for pictures to load, sometimes they don't. The camera itself is poor quality, can't even scan bar codes. It constantly chooses to text landlines above the mobile number of a contact regardless of what order I have these numbers added (I can't find any options to change this). Plus, I've only had this phone for a few months, and it has taken to randomly turning itself off, which is extremely inconvenient as I use it as my alarm clock.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Galaxy works good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bywellicu812
onMay 15, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
I like the phone a lot and it works well. The bluetooth works great and I use it all the time but when I want to call someone, I have to say their number instead of dialing by saying their name. The other item that I don't care for is an app. The app that scans the barcode does not work properly. Of course, that probably has nothing to do with the phone except that the camera does not have the auto focus feature is why the app does not work. I can live with these things but the best feature is the bluetooth and my car. Can't live without that feature. I also don't like that some of the apps and programs don't turn off even if you force them off. Wears down the battery faster. But overall, it is a good phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This android is very easy to use.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bylittlepussycat
onNovember 15, 2012
from Minnesota
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first touch screen phone. It is so easy to learn on and the droid has great apps to download. I find myself spending hours on my phone. The Samsung galaxy precedent has excellent internet and WiFi connection, I've never lost the connection yet. During phone calls the reception is clear as can be, and nobody has a problem hearing me as well. It is the best android around compare to what some of my friends and family members have. They are always complaining about there cellphone losing it's signal and calls being dropped. While I keep bragging about my droid! So far four friends and two family members have switched to Samsung! WOO WOO!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My first Smartphone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCyberstudent
onFebruary 17, 2013
from St. Louis, Mo.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: have to keep charging battery
I just got this phone as an upgrade to the one that I had and I do like this phone. The only real problem that I have with it is that I have to keep recharging the phone and I wish that there was a display on the screen to let me know how much battery life I have (percentage wise) so that I won't let the battery run down too much because if you let it run down too much it takes a few hours to get it back to 100% charge. Other than that it is a really good phone. I am enjoying the camera and the fact that I can check my Facebook page on it without having to go to my computer all of the time and that I can download pictures to my page.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJMichael59
onDecember 5, 2011
from Wichita,Ks
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
The Samsung Galaxy Precedent is a great value for its price. It was easy to setup and is mostly intuitive in its function. I found the instruction manual very sparse in it's information. I had a question about whether SDHC micro cards would work with the phone. Online help was less than helpful, however the instruction manual download available at the Samsung Internet site did clearly state that the SDHC cards would work. My only other caviat is that Adobe flash does not yet work with this phone. This is my first Android phone and I have been very happy with how easy it is to use and the amazing array of apps available for it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

locked out

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byplumpporpoise
onDecember 5, 2012
from texas
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: see review
Being the middle-aged non-technical person that I am, I found as a first time user away from a flip phone, it hard to navigate in the dark due to the function keys for home screen keys, etc., did not light up. Once I finally retained their positions, my problem was solved. After a rather smooth download of a G-Mail account for apps., I found myself locked out of my entire phone. Not recalling having given it a password to unlock my phone, I am stale-mate and have given up almost to check-mate! Duh, for a first time user, I am at my wits end and suggest the phone is fine, but the manual is not savvy to beginners at all !...
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HORRIBLE.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTangledUpInYou
onMarch 8, 2013
from Butler, PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, short battery life ( 1-2 hours on hibernate ), flimy screen, bad camera
I'll be right to the point about what i dislike. I can't even have an app on the phone, or in 1-2 hours of it being on hibernate.. (because i don't like to use it) the battery will be drained. Another thing with the battery is it takes over night to charge.. about 8 hours. The phone will get very warm too at times if i make a few calls or text while its plugged in. Now, I don't expect it to be an iphone since my parents bought me it and it was a cheap phone and all but the screen is very flimsy. Its just over all not of good quality. I still trust samsung just go the extra 50 or so dollars and pay for the extra quality.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is worth the price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJTRich4
onFebruary 14, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: texting is difficult with big fingers, cannot find a protective case anywhere
First I have to say one bad thing, the touch screen texting is hard to do with big fingers. Now, with that out of the way. I have only had my Samsung Galaxy Precedent a little over a week. I have not completely figured everything out, or had the chance to download many apps. I do really enjoy this phone so far. It is very fast when surfing the web, downloading apps, using facebook, etc. It has a smooth sleek design, making it the right size to fit into almost any pocket without the uncomfortable feeling of bigger bulkier smart phones. I would recomend this phone to anyone that uses TracFone as their service provider.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
46" Class (45.9" Diag.) LED 6000 Series Smart TV
4.7 out of 5(469)
 
 
 
32" Class (31.5" Diag.) LCD 450 Series TV
4.7 out of 5(244)
 
 
 
Series 3 15.6" Laptop
4.4 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lots of irritating bugs and some real problems

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByGrumpyPhoneUser
onMay 5, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
A real shortcoming is the inability to sync calendars and contacts. Attempts through Google just jumble the calendar and only transfer contacts with a name and phone number. Any address info and the contact won't transfer.
Another annoying shortcoming is the utter lack of any spell check. The phone bothers you, asking if you want to save a mispelled word to your dictionary, but fails to offer the correct spelling. What a waste of time and capacity.
Now, after just one month, my phone disconnects phone calls when you press the unlock button; something which is required when you are on the call. GREAT! NOT!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Poor Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByWiseOldMan63
onMay 27, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, memory too small, locks up frequently, poor reception
I bought 2 of these phones when they first came out. After over a year of use, we stopped using them because they were almost unusable:
1. Spell check is useless.
2. Locks up frequently and battery has to be removed and replaced.
3. Very poor reception in many areas. Useless.
4. Internal memory is way too small, not allowing very many apps to be installed. Most apps cannot be installed to the SD card. Defeats the purpose of a smart phone.
Have removed both phones from service and replaced with more expensive smart phones using another operating system. We are now very happy. Do NOT purchase this phone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy The Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByLikeOtherSamsungProducts
onOctober 4, 2012
from Belleville, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, facebook pops up easily
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, battery life limited very poor, user unfriendly nothing is easy to do, keys too close on popup keyboard, clumsy
I find this phone very user unfriendly. The manual gives limited information (for example on how to forward messages). Even though I have turned every application I could find off the battery doesn't last for more than a few hours, even when I haven't made a single call. It easily goes to facebook, but that is about all it does right. The memory runs low with just a few apps added, even when you save to the memory card. I am returning mine after having it only a week. The pop up keyboard is too small and the voice recognition doesn't work all the time. Don't waste your time with this one.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Phone, HORRIBLE Battery

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySkepticismGrowing
onJuly 5, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no battery life after charging, no suitable replacement battery has been found yet, no action taken to fix problem by samsung
The phone itself and all of it's features are great for an introduction to Android Smartphones. However, the battery is absolutely HORRIBLE!!! Even after charging and not using (or having it shut off), the battery is almost dead again within 8 to 12 hours. Furthermore, finding a replacement battery that is suitable and longer lasting is an impossible task. If you have a permanent charger to walk around with then the phone is great. Otherwise, invest in plenty of backup batteries, search for a different phone, or just leave the phone on the charger (like a LAND-LINE CORDED phone).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do Not Buy!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByphoneLESS
onMay 21, 2013
from Indiana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, just does not work!!!, loses photos!!!
I've had my Precedent for about 5 months. It worked fair to begin with, though the signal was often poor. It now barely works at all. Even with an SD card, there are memory problems. 'Solving' the problem involves transferring apps to the SD card. Problem: it just will not do this. Except with photos, which it does save on the sd card, though it will not tell you this. If you remove and replace the sd card to try to help fix the problem, you erase all photos. I just did this and lost all photos from a vacation trip Worst phone I have ever had. Don't waste you money!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Missing too much

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byfingerssfv
onOctober 22, 2011
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, cannot receive texts, unable to use dialpad unless manual dialing
In most phones, one can go to settings and just about do anything they need to, but with this model, that is not the case. I oftentimes need to have access to the dial pad, and unless I dial manually and am very fast with my hands, the phone locks, leaving me unable to pull up the dial pad. Not good. Also, I have not received a text message yet, but I have no clue why. There is no such window on this phone to show incoming, outgoing, sent, drafts, etc. Only creating a message. Where are all the important things? Please someone show me where all this is.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WAY BETTER THAN NOKIA E5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNOTMOMO
onSeptember 20, 2011
from ST. GEORGE, UT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, awesome
I BOUGHT THE NOKIA E5 FOR STRAIGHT TALK DAYS BEFORE THIS PHONE CAME OUT, HAD TO HAVE IT I WANTED APPS! AND MORE APPS! ANYWAY IT BLOWS THAT PHONE OUT OF THE WATER, THE SCREEN IS NICER, YOU CAN NAVIGATE IT QUITE EASILY EVEN FOR SOME ONE WHO ONLY OWNED A SMART PHONE FOR 5 DAYS BEFORE SWITCHING TO THIS ONE. IS A SLICK PHONE, IF I HAD A COMPLAINT I WOULD SAY THAT ITS A TAD BIT SLOW BUT I BELIEVE THAT’S BECAUSE OF THE STRAIGHT TALK PLAN. ANYWAY I ALMOST DON'T WANT TO RECOMMEND IT BECAUSE I DON'T WANT TO SHARE, BUT YEP ITS AWESOME. LET THE BUYING BEGIN.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good enough: A to B

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bylaugh
onJanuary 31, 2012
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, no good privacy features
The Precedent phone, I mean.....Ggggg
has too many restrictions and limitations. Either it's 'their way or the highway'-( my words ). it's wrong to be forced to get an account just to be able to use the phone. not to sound too contradicting but, they do try hard with improving their products.
As for Samsung and thier cell phones, they always do a wonderful job! GREAT FEATURES! everything is so easy to find and user friendly, even if you've never used a cell phone.
One question, where is the firmware update?
overall I'd recommend this
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AT LAST A COMPUTER THAT FITS IN MY POCKET

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPyewacket
onSeptember 28, 2011
from Woodburn, Or
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery does not last long enough
I have been totally amazed that I now have a computer that is totally portable. Not only do I now have a cell Phone, A Computer and a Player all in one simple package, but it fits into a pocket or my purse.
It has Blue Tooth and WiFi built in so I can go nearly anywhere and still get and send messages, check the stock reports and when I feel I need a break, I can listen to a book, or listen to music of my own choosing.
I am not sure how much more I could ask for except a longer life battery
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Screen Locks everytime, Swype Typing is horrible

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bycampercraig
onSeptember 15, 2011
from Appleton, Wi
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Ok I just got this phone today, and I will write again if and when I have this phone for my 30 day trail, because so far I hate it, The screen goes into Lockout everytime the screen goes out. and Swype typing I am not used to so I'll give it a chance but so far Its a pain, plus my fingers are fat and I hit every key but the one I want cause the keybpard is so small and close together. do not like having smbl's above another key, not user friendly in ,my opinion. so for now, 9-15-2011.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

What I've found wrong with my phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByThall4997
onJanuary 26, 2012
from Ohio
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Overall it is a good phone. But for some reason i have no signal at my house??. And most importantly i just got this phone about 3 months ago and it doesn't recieve text.. I've tried everything but I keep getting a "text message memory full" and i have NO text in my inbox/outbox/or drafts. I just wrote a email to Samsung about it, and if i dont get a good response that fixes it then ill just break the phone and get a new one with the warranty and see if that hellps!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Number/lock should be removed

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCheryl4ever
onJanuary 4, 2012
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
After a month the lock button on top would not work. If I needed to press keys or access voicemail and pressed the lock button to expose dialpad it would end the call. Very frustrating and only a month old. Also aggravating is the inconvenience involved just to answr a call and hang up. Why the "lock" button has to be pressed for such simple things is beyond me. Would not suggest this phone for ease of use and breaking after only a month gives Samsung a bad name
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This phone has good features for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 6, 2011
from Upstate,New York
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, looks nice
Cons: poor signal for calls and data, freezes up and slows down on performance
I think the phone looks great and i always look for Samsung because of the quality that you get for the price and durability but with this phone and like any other smartphone it lacks on performance sometimes even with the 3g.When the phone is working top notch i love it,its fast and reliable but it needs more updating for stability so the phone don't freeze up and slow down at times like it does.If that will get fix it will be one of my favorite phones.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product for the price.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 10, 2012
from Nowhere, OK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: not enough internal memory
I recently purchased the Precedent with the 2.2 Froyo platform. So far, so good. I just wish it had more internal phone memory. Quite a few apps can't be transfered to a SD card. Plus, just about every Google app I use have updates which can't be disabled. So I have to update, use the app, then go to "Manage Apps", and Uninstall Updates. To regain whatever internal memory was used by the app update. All that aside, I'm quite satisfied with this product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What you pay is what you get

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByJoanzie11
onMay 8, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not enough memory, does not run applications properly from sd cards, has the potential to receive messages late, does not have setting to save directly to sd, crashes off simple apps
Poor quality
Cant save directly to SD card
Not enough memory storage on phone
doesnt run apps properly off SD card
only a few apps transfer over to memory card
Did not meet expectations under the features
Crashes from simple apps
Does not keep messages due to the lack of memory
DONT BUY DONT BUY DONT BUY just got a messages now saying congrats hope you like the phone its the latest one coming out for straight talk, merry christmas!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Galaxy Precedent

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byfinishman65
onNovember 25, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: can't install latest flash player
I love the design, it's slim, and width and height allows you to comfortably carry it in any pocket. It's features are outstanding, I've had it a month and am still finding new things it can do. The performance I find a little lacking. Only because on the 2.2 platform I'm not able to install the latest flash player that most new videos require to play. But when you consider the price, it's a really fine bargain.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykazmoe
onAugust 21, 2012
from auburn, ga
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
This is a great phone except the battery life doesn't last too if you keep the the 3G turned on. Also the battery gets really hot when you are on maps getting directions and you have to have it charging because maps takes a lot of the battery life fast. But other than that its a great little phone. The camera works great. The apps take up a lot of memory though and you can't transfer may of them to the SD card.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

antenna no good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bylovinglife2fullest
onJanuary 17, 2012
from shelby nc
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, web viewing good
Cons: poor antenna
this is the second precedent i have had, first was replaced... but it loses signal for no reason when has signal in my house all the time, and then you can just cut it off and bACK on and there will be a signal.... all the while people are trying to call u and u are not receiving your calls unknowingly... the rest of phone is good for price i paid for it, but not getting my calls is very irritating
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my android

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytxusagirl
onOctober 15, 2011
from odessa,tx
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: the battery beeps and says it is chargeing itself.
well i like the phone but im having a little problem with it after i charge it and take it off it goes crazy beeping like the battery is chargeing its self and its not the batery blink at me and says chargeing but dont take it long to go dead when it does that and i have tried everything to ending all apps.. not sure what is going on i wish i knew i have only had this phone for about 20 days..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Samsung and Straight Talk

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjdrussell
onMarch 11, 2012
from Goldsboro, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: screen automatically locks with voicemail
I just recently purchased this model and have loved all the features and possible apps to download. The only problem I have so far is that the automatic screen lock comes on with voicemail and when trying to disable it, it disconnects voicemail everytime. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. I'm looking for an answer on Samsung website now. Other than that it's a great phone with great features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The phone is okay

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBill4444
onOctober 23, 2011
from North Highlands, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, works by voice commands
Cons: hard to type if you have large fingers, battery runs low fast
Just got this phone and it is my first android phone. I experience problems with the battery running low fast because of the apps that you might use. Also if you have large fingers like I do, you might find it hard to type with it.
I do like that you can do voice commands to work the phone hands free, such as sending text message, calling phone numbers and other features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth it.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByNot2happywithit
onJuly 8, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I just bought this phone in January and don't use a lot of the aps on it. Lately, it has been getting VERY hot when I talk on it, it doesn't "shut down" (so that I have to unlock it to use it) anymore, and today - it won't take a charge. AT ALL. I am very disappointed in this phone and wish I had spent (to me) the very large amount of money on something else. Never again.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone for the money!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRedDiva
onDecember 28, 2011
from Jacksonvile, AL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: very little internal memory need a microsd card
I had some issues with battery life, but I would suggest an app that helps to save your juice. I would search Juice and then Defender next to it with no spaces, to get help with that. Search it in your market. Very good phone. Camera not the best, but it does the job! Also if you like apps, definitely install a microsd card. If you don't, it wll make the OS freeze up.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone, weak on battery endurance!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjlewis44047
onOctober 4, 2011
from Ashtabula ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, every easy to use
Cons: weak battery onseage. u
Love the phone and everything that it does. A+++. The battery on the other hand does not match up to the spec's thay have with the phone. No 9 day standby and 6 hours talk time. Still for the cost and the straight talk plan still a great deal. Apps down load slow but its AT&T from Tracphone. Calender feature a great plus in that are. love what you can do with it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Straighttalk

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bypskbro
onDecember 27, 2011
from Fond du Lac, WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My only issue with this phone is...I have a straight talk phone currently. I got the Android for Christmas and never have had an issue with transfering my number from one phone to another. Until now. It's been over 30 hours since I attempted the transfer and my new phone is not activated. And I am getting irritated now...anyone else have this problem?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Cell Yet

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byme1mutz2
onMarch 5, 2012
from Las Vegas, Nv.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, lots of options, web like pc {mini}, many "home" screens
Cons: battery drain
Love the "Smartphone" feature... here I thought some of the other phones I had used were smart, for being a phone!!! The android with ALL the apps is crazy good. Pretty e-z to move around the menus & screens, just gotta get used to selecting {"Tapping"}.
Only negative is the battery needs charging daily, esp., if on it for extended periods.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

my first smartphone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydani2
onDecember 5, 2013
from salina ks
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, over heats
i have had this phone for 5 days now, and it already has problems. it over heats, the battery last me an hour just sitting in my pocket! the calling doesnt let me call and the microphone works when it wants to. there is VERYYYY low storage. i like the display and how everything is set up, but the other problems make me want to smash it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

one of my favorite cell phones.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLockecole21
onJanuary 18, 2012
from Columbus,Ga.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I've had Samsung cell phones in the past,so i knew i was going to get a good product.unlike some brands I've owned in the past but will not name.I've never had a had one from this company break on me.usually i end up using them till well after they've been discontinued.so i thought it was time to upgrade to a droid.and I'm happy i did.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's the jam in my jelly roll

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMadSmartPhoneSkillz
onSeptember 21, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
While I confess to stepping down to this discounted plan, the cost savings (1/2 the price) was too great to pass up. The only caveats I have for a potential fellow brother in cell service are these: 1) you can't download a pic in text while on the phone, and 2) the on screen keyboard is kinda cruddy (but I hate all onscreen keyboards!)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really like it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByImsewnavy
onApril 17, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: dialpad locks to soon when i make a call
I had a different brand of smart phone before and was not impressed, but this one is impressive especially for a StraightTalk phone! Just takes some getting used to, but I love it! The only downside is, the dial pad locks when I make a call and if I need to press buttons to get somewhere on that call, I have to unlock it every time
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great lil smartphone & great price too !

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMePal
onDecember 22, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I read a whole lot of reviews & found some people are mistaken.. I have had no problems finding things.. yes the battery life is not long as with most smartphones. I did have it freeze up once.. but I tend to go too fast. I even dropped it already on a hard floor & no problems! I think it's a great product & so far am very happy !
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Basic phone for price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybillmarina
onNovember 6, 2011
from Mobile, Alabama
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
The phone works ok. It locks up on occassion, necessitating removing battery and reinstalling. Battery life is the biggest problem. It is far too short to really use the capabilities of the phone. I have other problems but they are associated with the carrier, Straight Talk (Trac Phone). Overall for the price, its a decent buy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE SAMSUNG ANDROID PRECEDENT

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBIGPETE
onNovember 22, 2011
from MINNEAPOLIS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast for a 3g
I really like my new phone it was very affordable and fast for a 3g phone. I am impressed with all the apps that are available for this phone and satisfied with the way the phone holds juice from the battery. It is compact for size not to big like other android phones but has all the bells and whistles, i really love my phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Apps

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onNovember 12, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: app space
Great phone. This is my first smartphone and I got my money's worth. Everything is amazing and I'm loving the touchscreen. But everytime I put an app on here my phone space gets low. So I have to do all these shifts and changes just to make space. That area needs a little improvement. Other than the the phone is awesome!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone, great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySahm21
onSeptember 15, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: haven't found any yet
I just bought this phone as an alternative to the ever increasing bill I was incurring from my wireless carrier. It's great for someone on a small budget who still wants an android phone with plenty of bells and whistles. I would certainly recommend this phone to anyone looking for a great phone for a great price!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Problems problems problems!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByUghughugh
onAugust 11, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes!, battery gets hot!!
I have had this phone approximately 3 months and it is junk! I paid too much for this phone NOT to work! The battery gets VERY HOT! It freezes ALL THE TIME!! It will NOT let me ANSWER calls! I have to constantly take the battery OUT and reset it! IT IS JUST NOT WORTH THE HASSLE!!!!!!!
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Precedent Experience

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfman29
onOctober 10, 2011
from Olive Branch, MS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: keypad is a bit too small for my big fingers.
So far my experience with my Precedent has been great. The phone performs well has a ton of available downloadable apps. I'm sure I wasn't expecting something so user-friendly easy to work with. I do wish the keypad was a bit bigger for guys like me who have big fingers, but all-in-all it was an excellent buy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent product combination!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByArkansasEric
onAugust 13, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
The Precedent is an excellent phone on a very good Straight Talk provider. It provides a full-featured Android experience for those looking to avoid a significant contract from the larger providers. I have had a terrific experience all the way around with the Precedent and have recommended it many times over.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Battery goes dead in hours

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByNotWhatIThought
onJanuary 18, 2012
from Greenville, SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2