Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone

Rating:
3.612 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 152 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
48
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 star
20
98 out of 143(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone, great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 15, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: haven't found any yet
I just bought this phone as an alternative to the ever increasing bill I was incurring from my wireless carrier. It's great for someone on a small budget who still wants an android phone with plenty of bells and whistles. I would certainly recommend this phone to anyone looking for a great phone for a great price!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Screen Locks everytime, Swype Typing is horrible

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 15, 2011
from Appleton, Wi
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Ok I just got this phone today, and I will write again if and when I have this phone for my 30 day trail, because so far I hate it, The screen goes into Lockout everytime the screen goes out. and Swype typing I am not used to so I'll give it a chance but so far Its a pain, plus my fingers are fat and I hit every key but the one I want cause the keybpard is so small and close together. do not like having smbl's above another key, not user friendly in ,my opinion. so for now, 9-15-2011.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast, reliable and user friendly.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 16, 2011
from NH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Can't think of a con. Honest, great looks, easy to use, great price and terrific value what more could you ask for?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WAY BETTER THAN NOKIA E5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2011
from ST. GEORGE, UT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, awesome
I BOUGHT THE NOKIA E5 FOR STRAIGHT TALK DAYS BEFORE THIS PHONE CAME OUT, HAD TO HAVE IT I WANTED APPS! AND MORE APPS! ANYWAY IT BLOWS THAT PHONE OUT OF THE WATER, THE SCREEN IS NICER, YOU CAN NAVIGATE IT QUITE EASILY EVEN FOR SOME ONE WHO ONLY OWNED A SMART PHONE FOR 5 DAYS BEFORE SWITCHING TO THIS ONE. IS A SLICK PHONE, IF I HAD A COMPLAINT I WOULD SAY THAT ITS A TAD BIT SLOW BUT I BELIEVE THAT’S BECAUSE OF THE STRAIGHT TALK PLAN. ANYWAY I ALMOST DON'T WANT TO RECOMMEND IT BECAUSE I DON'T WANT TO SHARE, BUT YEP ITS AWESOME. LET THE BUYING BEGIN.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

galaxy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2011
from ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
love mine not much you cant do with it. good screen takes nice pics
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is great!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2011
from Huntingburg, Indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love my precedent. I just want to know how to free up some space on it. My phone did come with the 2gig memory stick, but not all of the apps are moveable to it. Over all this is the best phone I've had. I like it almost more than my blackberry.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's the jam in my jelly roll

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
While I confess to stepping down to this discounted plan, the cost savings (1/2 the price) was too great to pass up. The only caveats I have for a potential fellow brother in cell service are these: 1) you can't download a pic in text while on the phone, and 2) the on screen keyboard is kinda cruddy (but I hate all onscreen keyboards!)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone sprint network brings it down

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 23, 2011
from Enterprise, AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: sprint network
great phone love the android system phone battery lasts pretty good the only drawback is the sprint network that it runs on although fast data speeds not a big coverage area.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 24, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Loved the phone for the first day. Now it freezes up after about 30minutes of being on. Have to restart it constantly. Just bought it 3 days ago.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 26, 2011
from Kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Bluetooth needs a little tweeking but everything else is awesome! I love this phone and everything it can do.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Affordable Android Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 26, 2011
from Houston, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The Samsung Precedent/Prevail phone is a breakthrough for android phones: most of the power of the mega-buck android phones in a high quality design at an affordable price.
Basic android functions are fairly easy to learn, but this phone has many advanced, sophisticated features. It is worth your time to work your way through the owner's manual, page by page, to learn how to use the advanced functions.
One function that took a few minutes to learn, but that has become my favorite is "voice search". Instead of typing out a lengthy eight or ten work Google Search, I can just press the microphone button, say those ten words, and the phone will type them out for me. If they are correct (which they are 90% of the time), just press a button and Google does the search.
A phone's first job is phone calls. Even though I often get only one or two "bars" indoors, I have not had a dropped call. Voices over the phone are loud, clear, and natural. The speaker phone is also loud, and the speaker even does a decent job with music. Of course, music sounds much better through good earbuds, or with the phone plugged into high quality computer speakers.
My old phone had a physical keyboard, so it took a few days of practice to adjust to a "touch" keyboard. The phone's menus give you a choice of keyboards and let you customize the keyboard by turning off the "vibrate" function and turning off "auto-correct". Turning the phone sideways produces a larger keyboard. I am now about 90% as fast as I was on a physical keyboard.
My android phone owners are upset by short battery life. The owner's manual explained how to use the included power widget and task manager to turn off GPS, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi when they are not being used. You can also turn off 3G when you are not using the internet, or when you are using Wi-Fi. With those "tricks", I was able to extend battery life from around 8 hours to a more useful 18 hours.
The camera has only a two megapixel sensor, but produces nice photos outdoors in good light. The camera menu enables you to make a photo brighter or darker, and the color balance is superior to even some rather expensive cameras. The photos look nice on a computer screen and have enough detail for a good 4 x 6 snapshot. The video is fun to play with, but is not designed to replace your video camera.
Samsung makes it easy to locate accessories, such as a car charger, travel charger, or extra batteries. The phone is also supported with accessories such as screen protectors and silicone "skins" to keep it looking new.
Bottom Line: This phone provides a high quality android experience at a very reasonable price. The Precedent/Prevail phone will expand android from being a "new concept" to being the preferred type of phone for a large proportion of cell phone owners.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+72points
72of 72voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 27, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great phone. Great price. Very good features . I would recommend .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 27, 2011
from Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none
I Bought 2 of this phones one for me and 1 for my wife,this phones are the vest phones we bought great signal everything works great we love this phones.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AT LAST A COMPUTER THAT FITS IN MY POCKET

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 28, 2011
from Woodburn, Or
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: battery does not last long enough
I have been totally amazed that I now have a computer that is totally portable. Not only do I now have a cell Phone, A Computer and a Player all in one simple package, but it fits into a pocket or my purse.
It has Blue Tooth and WiFi built in so I can go nearly anywhere and still get and send messages, check the stock reports and when I feel I need a break, I can listen to a book, or listen to music of my own choosing.
I am not sure how much more I could ask for except a longer life battery
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone, weak on battery endurance!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2011
from Ashtabula ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, every easy to use
Cons: weak battery onseage. u
Love the phone and everything that it does. A+++. The battery on the other hand does not match up to the spec's thay have with the phone. No 9 day standby and 6 hours talk time. Still for the cost and the straight talk plan still a great deal. Apps down load slow but its AT&T from Tracphone. Calender feature a great plus in that are. love what you can do with it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

i wish i wouldnt have bought this phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 5, 2011
from Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
This phone is slow, loses connection all the time, takes forever to charge, uses charge up quick... impossible to text message with! not sure how this can be 3g service on an android os and be so slow, whether surfing or whatever!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All i can say is I LOVE THIS PHONE!!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 5, 2011
from AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, responsive
It's fast,responive,a very vivid screen and runs just about any app in the android market. Great job!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What A Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 9, 2011
from Portland,OR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This phone packs a big punch for a reasonable Price. Simple to use, great screen and 250,000 apps. Too many features to begin listing.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-D6500)
4.2 out of 5(490)
 
 
 
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6800)
4.1 out of 5(150)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Precedent Experience

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 10, 2011
from Olive Branch, MS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: keypad is a bit too small for my big fingers.
So far my experience with my Precedent has been great. The phone performs well has a ton of available downloadable apps. I'm sure I wasn't expecting something so user-friendly easy to work with. I do wish the keypad was a bit bigger for guys like me who have big fingers, but all-in-all it was an excellent buy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Trouble finding solutions to problems

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 12, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
My phone is about 2 weeks old. When I try to call out, the phone goes blank and a message appears to unlock the phone. Otherwise it is a nice phone if you have little fingers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2011
from Louisville, Kentucky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first Smartphone let alone my first Android! Ir was east to use, good connectability, and fast processing
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not very good for avid phone users

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, too small, hard to text, short battery life, not enough ram, freezes, malfuntions
two weeks in... for some unknown reason the sensor must be malfunctioned as it beeps all day long as if im plugging and unplugging it from the charging adapter... argghh annoying.. i cant take it anymore, return
a week in... a few dropped calls... but it has stopped freezing with the disabling of social networking sites...
three days in... i began to notice the features weren't very good at all for an android... it freezes with too much going on and continued to freeze until i freed up some ram by deleting the social networking and a few other constantly refreshing apps..
one day in... phone has this weird lock when a call is connected,, this hinders easy maneuverability throughout the phone while in conversation... i also noticed that it is not compatable with adobe flash so i cant get nfl app.. also the internet connection was not very good... they advertise running off of certain towers but i just wonder if it is all the towers because my connectivity is not very good..
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good phone for the price.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2011
from Renton, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, good free apps, good gps
Cons: speakers on the back side of the phone, not being able to down load apps to the micro card
Love this phone. Use it all the time at lunch to play app games,and watch videos from the web. Using the Mp3 while working using a bluetooth head phones. Battery doesn't last all night, so I got a 2nd one to change out.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Little Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2011
from Moscow, Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not enough ram
I have had my phone 15 days and love it, have not had any problems with it other than it doesn't have enough internal memory for my apps, as most apps will not move to SD Card, overall the phone is great runs fast and smooth only wish there was a android 2.3 update for it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my android

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2011
from odessa,tx
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: the battery beeps and says it is chargeing itself.
well i like the phone but im having a little problem with it after i charge it and take it off it goes crazy beeping like the battery is chargeing its self and its not the batery blink at me and says chargeing but dont take it long to go dead when it does that and i have tried everything to ending all apps.. not sure what is going on i wish i knew i have only had this phone for about 20 days..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Battery life is weak

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 19, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: low charge life of battery
I like the overall phone,however the battery seems to not last long when I don't turn power off.Maybe this is standard and this is my first sumsung phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

neat little phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2011
from RI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: poor signal in my area
nice phone but mine works off sprint and that signal isnt as good as the sgh401g (att) I had in the state of RI. (not really a phone issue more of a carrier issue)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Recommended so far

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, doesn't hold a signal or battery charge
This could change, but for now, this is a very unsatisfactory phone.
1. Turned off all apps, syncing, clear memory, etc, yet battery does not last one day. Maybe a half day, that's it. I have to carry the charger around-one more thing to carry.
2. Slider to open phone and answer calls doesn't always work. Nice when the phone is ringing. Touch screen is unresponsive more times than not.
3. Alarm rings some mornings, others doesn't. Not useful when trying to wake up.
4. Biggest problem-frequently no service in areas where I've always had service with my other phones. Not out in the woods, not in some far flung country. Service goes out randomly and in populated areas.
Hoping to work out the use of this phone before I fling it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Missing too much

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 22, 2011
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, cannot receive texts, unable to use dialpad unless manual dialing
In most phones, one can go to settings and just about do anything they need to, but with this model, that is not the case. I oftentimes need to have access to the dial pad, and unless I dial manually and am very fast with my hands, the phone locks, leaving me unable to pull up the dial pad. Not good. Also, I have not received a text message yet, but I have no clue why. There is no such window on this phone to show incoming, outgoing, sent, drafts, etc. Only creating a message. Where are all the important things? Please someone show me where all this is.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The phone is okay

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 23, 2011
from North Highlands, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, works by voice commands
Cons: hard to type if you have large fingers, battery runs low fast
Just got this phone and it is my first android phone. I experience problems with the battery running low fast because of the apps that you might use. Also if you have large fingers like I do, you might find it hard to type with it.
I do like that you can do voice commands to work the phone hands free, such as sending text message, calling phone numbers and other features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Idea But...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2011
from Groves, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, it's an android
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bluetooth problems, hard to keyboard, tends to freeze up, poor battery life
I have had a lot of trouble not being able to link my phone bluetooth with that of my vehicle. SmartTalk advised that the phone wasn't designed to work with my vehicle's bluetooth but that there wasn't anything wrong with the phone and that I should get a different bluetooth for my vehicle. It's a new Ford vehicle with built-in SYNC. So that's not going to happen. The phone also has a tendency to freeze up and has to be turned off and turned back on to work. The battery life is about 4-5 hours if in continual use. I do like the phone but I get such poor receiption at my house but I think that's a problem of Sprint. The keyboard is also hard to type on without hitting the key on eithei side of the key you are attempting to strike.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Basic phone for price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2011
from Mobile, Alabama
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: battery life
The phone works ok. It locks up on occassion, necessitating removing battery and reinstalling. Battery life is the biggest problem. It is far too short to really use the capabilities of the phone. I have other problems but they are associated with the carrier, Straight Talk (Trac Phone). Overall for the price, its a decent buy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Texting

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2011
Only receive half of the text that " long winded" people send...it cuts the text off after a few words,,,,
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Apps

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 12, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: app space
Great phone. This is my first smartphone and I got my money's worth. Everything is amazing and I'm loving the touchscreen. But everytime I put an app on here my phone space gets low. So I have to do all these shifts and changes just to make space. That area needs a little improvement. Other than the the phone is awesome!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 21, 2011
from Missouri
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: speakers
I love this phone. It has a lot of great features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE SAMSUNG ANDROID PRECEDENT

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 22, 2011
from MINNEAPOLIS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, fast for a 3g
I really like my new phone it was very affordable and fast for a 3g phone. I am impressed with all the apps that are available for this phone and satisfied with the way the phone holds juice from the battery. It is compact for size not to big like other android phones but has all the bells and whistles, i really love my phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 24, 2011
from Hermiston, Oregon
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes, apps stop working
The phone has good potential, however, I need a phone that doesn't freeze up and stop working all of a sudden. It also loose service for no reason
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Phone erratic performance

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, doesn't start
won't start and can't decide whether it's charging or live. constantly chriping and now won't start after being being fully charged. rebooting doesn't fix anything. 7 weeks old and ready for trash heap. should have bought an iPhone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Galaxy Precedent

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: can't install latest flash player
I love the design, it's slim, and width and height allows you to comfortably carry it in any pocket. It's features are outstanding, I've had it a month and am still finding new things it can do. The performance I find a little lacking. Only because on the 2.2 platform I'm not able to install the latest flash player that most new videos require to play. But when you consider the price, it's a really fine bargain.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Precedent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2011
from woodstock, GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: cannot move apps to the micro sd card
This is my first smart phone. The phone I owned went dead and I decided to upgrade to a smart phone. I use Walmart's wireless plan ( Straight Talk) and was directed on start up to the Trac Phone service. It was easy to port my existing number over to the new phone. The phone is inexpensive, but is does everything it said it would do. I get 3G wireless and it is easy to operate. I enjoy using this phone and it does provide entertainment value, which my other phone did not provide. The screen is bright and all the functions operate quickly. I like the small size. I am pleased and would recommend this to a friend as a starter phone. Only problem I have encountered has been not being able to transfer my apps from the internal storeage to the Micro SD card. A good value and well built phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Easy to use and many apps to use with it. I love it
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2011
from indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
really like it good value easy to use, lighweight durable
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Coverage Is Not Up To Par....

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, no bugs or quirks...
Cons: poor reception
The phone is the best out there as an introductory device into the world of android phones. This is not cheaply made and the applications perform as expected!! I am so impressed and upon my purchase I could not find it in myself to let it go!
Still, there is one downfactor. The phone is on the Sprint network and it's expected that signals will be lost here and there plus certain areas will not be able to receive a tower's signal. I'm okay anywhere I go but when I get to my job, my reception dissipates altogether. Before going to US Cellular, I was with Sprint and was driven insane by their weak signals and unfair prices. The Straight Talk deal beats any other plan with the major networks and that's what got my attention. I'm highly satisfied because I now have a good quality smartphone and a plan that supports my financial needs. I'm now saving 65$ a month!! On the downside, I can't receive calls/texts or anything else at my job. You have to take the bad with the good but the price difference compared to other networks makes this phone and plan ALL GOOD!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2011
from Wichita,Ks
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
The Samsung Galaxy Precedent is a great value for its price. It was easy to setup and is mostly intuitive in its function. I found the instruction manual very sparse in it's information. I had a question about whether SDHC micro cards would work with the phone. Online help was less than helpful, however the instruction manual download available at the Samsung Internet site did clearly state that the SDHC cards would work. My only other caviat is that Adobe flash does not yet work with this phone. This is my first Android phone and I have been very happy with how easy it is to use and the amazing array of apps available for it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This phone has good features for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2011
from Upstate,New York
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, looks nice
Cons: poor signal for calls and data, freezes up and slows down on performance
I think the phone looks great and i always look for Samsung because of the quality that you get for the price and durability but with this phone and like any other smartphone it lacks on performance sometimes even with the 3g.When the phone is working top notch i love it,its fast and reliable but it needs more updating for stability so the phone don't freeze up and slow down at times like it does.If that will get fix it will be one of my favorite phones.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2011
from Richmond Hill, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Awesome little phone! Has all the features anyone could want! Loving it!! ;o)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2011
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
After owning the phone less than a month the bluetooth function began working only intermittently. Now, after less than 45 days of ownership the screen will freeze rendering the phone useless. The screen will also shut off and the power cannot be turned off because the touchscreen is required to perform this function. After recieving a call the screen will freeze, then go blurry and then black. I can reboot sometimes after taking the battery out, but I don't feel this product was worth the money. I have a Samsung TV that I love and just ordered an entire kitchen appliance package. I sincerely hope that this is a fluke and not indicative of how Samsung products have evolved. I am going to request repair and cross my fingers that this issue is resolved.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 16, 2011
from milwaukee,wi
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Me likee. That's all i can say about this product,yah c.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

really a great android

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 18, 2011
from Ft. Wayne, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, fast, easy(ish) to use
this phone is a really great phone to use and play around with. it has great apps already installed, and the upload times are insane! it used to take me like 17 minuets to upload a photo, now it only takes like, 2 seconds! thank you Samsung :D
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great phone BUT........

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2011
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor battery life
The phone itself is great. However, it would be great if the battery lasted longer than a few hours! I have to take the charger with me everywhere I go. If I forget to plug it up at night it's dead the next morning-with wi-fi, gps, & Bluetooth disabled. Will have to buy extra batteries and carry a spare...The specs on the Samsung website say this of the battery:
Battery, Standby Up to 9 days*
Battery, Talk Time (hours) Up to 6 hours*
Battery Type and Size 1500 mAh
That is not true. I do not use my phone for internet or bluetooth or gps much because of the massive and quick drain on the battery. I have an Archos 32 internet tablet which I use for that because if I enable these features on my phone it drains the battery rapidly. Even 3G use drains the battery too fast. So I guess my complaint is there is no way this battery will last on standby up to 9 days, (maybe if you turn the phone OFF it might) nor can you talk 6 hours on one charge-not with the battery that came brand new with my phone. No way. To be honest, I haven't used my phone for a 6 hour phone call, because if the battery is being drained with wi-fi, gps, and bluetooth disabled and the phone just sittlng idle, to the point the next morning it's dead, (and it takes at least 4 hours to charge fully) I just don't see how you can talk on this phone on one charge unplugged from a charger, for 6 hours.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WHY TRY ANOTHER??

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2011
from Vermont
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to learn, texting is so fast!, battery charges quickly
Cons: really can't think of one
You won't get a better phone for the price. I only wish I could get a higher capacity battery because I'm having so much fun with it, I'm wearing out the battery too fast!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2011
this phone is okay, it has no unlock feature after too many pattern attempts if the can fix that im good!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

samsung cheap droid

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2011
from slc utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive
Well so far so good. lets see what time will bring.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Straighttalk

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2011
from Fond du Lac, WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My only issue with this phone is...I have a straight talk phone currently. I got the Android for Christmas and never have had an issue with transfering my number from one phone to another. Until now. It's been over 30 hours since I attempted the transfer and my new phone is not activated. And I am getting irritated now...anyone else have this problem?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone for the money!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2011
from Jacksonvile, AL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: very little internal memory need a microsd card
I had some issues with battery life, but I would suggest an app that helps to save your juice. I would search Juice and then Defender next to it with no spaces, to get help with that. Search it in your market. Very good phone. Camera not the best, but it does the job! Also if you like apps, definitely install a microsd card. If you don't, it wll make the OS freeze up.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2011
from phila. pa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
its a good phone for people who cant get on a plan and afford a nicer one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2011
from evansville IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, apps are great
Cons: no flash for camera
Everything on this phone is addictive. I would recommend it to everyone who loves the iPhone. Lots of great apps that are free, great features,easy to manipulate. Those pictures are from the phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Is Amazing

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not all android apps work
This product is absolutely amazing! I reccomend to everyone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Make sure you have a good service provider!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, terrible service on straight talk network
I got this phone on the StraightTalk network and it gets TERRIBLE service where a former StraightTalk phone got excellent service. I will literally have to walk around the room holding the phone in the air trying to capture just one bar to send a message/call or to recieve messages/ calls. I actually have one place on my desk that it gets enough service, if it is moved even a cm it quickly drops bars and loses reception. The 3G is just as bad, I get horrible access and it takes FOREVER to download things/ get on the internet because I am walking around the room searching for service.
The phone itself is okay, kinda small for my taste (but all I could afford), low storage memory, can't customize texting ringtones,it freezes up a lot, and will not tell me when I have a missed call or a voicemail somtimes. The apps are great, texting is fast and easy, and I LOVE the turn by turn navigation. I have dropped this phone many times and it still works "great". Overall I'm pretty sure that it I wasn't on a cruddy network she would work fabulously.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Galaxy Precedent™ (Straight Talk) Android Smartphone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
This is a great phone for the price. Much better service than the GSM phones.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5