Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Metro PCS
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone

Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strong Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJanuary 23, 2012
from Boca Raton, Florida
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Very strong phone good signal, one does the beast phone i have
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRoma2009
onSeptember 29, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: camera, slider on the phone needs to be more rugged
This phone is great for adults. This isn't really good for someone who rides Skateboards or active teenagers. After a while the sliding cover started to come loose and to much lag time to take a photo.. But other than that its a great phone
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The most durable phone I've ever seen.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByExampleLuv2Shop
onSeptember 25, 2011
from Pittsburgh, PA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, battery
Cons: Not high def
I've had this phone for nearly four years, and it works as well as it did the day I got it. Bravo, Samsung.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone will get you through anything!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDrewinrehab
onJuly 7, 2011
from Orlando Florida
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, qwerty keyboard
I have had this phone for a number of years. When my first one died after a year of heavy use I replaced it with a new one from the store. Since then I have replaced it from sellers on ebay and am glad to recieve a working unit. I also have an iPhone but really only use it for the games that I can get on this phone. This phone has an excellent keyboard that A man like myself (with large fingers) can easily type on. The voice quality is good and the phone is very reliable. I also am a fan of the carrier in which I am on because it is no contract and I have no limits of voice or text. I love the phone it lasts me all day long on a 12 hour work day. All in all a very good phone and the fact that its affordable is great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone is you have long fingernails!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBeeBeeLC
onJanuary 29, 2010
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Ladies this phone is fingernail friendly. I love it. The keys are spaced out and are also padded so when you text, it feels like your nail is digging into the keypad. Its comfortable and durable. I've tried other phones that had slippery keys and my nails cant text on those. The padded keys are what sold me on this particular phone. I have actually bought 3 more phones like this to have as backups in case my first one breaks or wears out. I hope they never stop making this phone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best for the Money and Service

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLYRISCHB420
onDecember 4, 2008
from Long Beach, CA 90822
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
this phone doesnt arrive with the card like my Nokia did and doesnt have the FM turner Like my Nokia did but my 5300 Express Nokia Broke when I dropped it about 3.5 feet off the ground and this phone unfortunatly I can say has fall A LOT further than that and It survived. One thing I don't like about this phone is when you are online the battery dies really fast! I mean really fast I have let this phone play the MP3 player for over 3 hours on speaker and it didnt die as quickly. Also this phones speaker phone feature is really low compared to my old Nokia 5300 Express. Since I purchased this device 3 of my other friends have purchased this phone and switched service to Metro PCS. also if you want to use you mp3 songs as the ring tone you must use your computer to put it into the right folder MY RINGTONES the phone itself wont let you complete this task through the phone menu. Other than that its great and the headphones that come with are just loud enough to not leave you wanting more but word to the wise if you copy music onto this phone and its 120kph instead of 320kph you will knotice the difference in how loud it can get.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

messenger phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byhelicopterslizards
onJuly 5, 2011
from bradenton,florida
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
this is an excellent phone.i love the QWERTY key pad. large enough for big fingers.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjboult13
onDecember 17, 2010
from 90814
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I had this phone for little over 2 years, until 3 days ago when I lost it... truely bummed out by that.... I would def recomend this phone it did everything I needed it to, and held up like a champ, i have had multiple jobs, from construction to sitting behind a desk and that thing handled everything i threw at it... so RIP messenger you will be missed, but I just replaced it with the samsung craft and so far I am happy with this new choice.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Samsung Messenger I is a tank.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBosslady
onMay 6, 2010
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I got this phone about a year ago. I haven't had it freeze on me ever, however it has turned itself off a few times, but then it turns right back on without me having to do anything. I really like it because it's incrediblyyy durable. No one intends to drop their phone, but it happens and this phone can definitely take it. The only problem that I have is that the keyboard gets funny and doesn't exactly work the way it should, but that's probably due to the excessive use over a year. I would also like the Internet access to be better, but it's not advertised to have full HTML internet and for what it can support it does well.
Also, sometimes I can't open picture text messages because they're too large and it won't handle it. After attempting to open it multiple times it will generally open though. It's just an inconvenience.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHitman6064
onJanuary 4, 2010
from Las Vegas, NV
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This phone is a great phone. I have big hands and I love the size of the keyboard. The screen is a great size, the ring tones are loud enough that I hear them from another room. I custom make MP3 ring tones and I have no problems transferring them using bluetooth. The stereo bluetooth is great on my t505 in my car. The only thing that I would really would have added would tethering the internet with bluetooth or usb cord. Other than that this phone is great. good size and great quality. Haven't had any problems with this phone yet and its been through everything under the sun. I would recommend this phone to all my friends.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Texting Slider

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNichole
onMarch 13, 2009
from Florida
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I recently upgraded to the Messager. This isn't the first time I have owned a Samsung phone, and it's actually my second slider (my first being the e635). What really has me sold on these Sliders is their durability. Admittedly, I am a clutz and tend to drop my phones often and so far the Messager has stuck with me!
Texting is a breeze with the keyboard (though, if you have chubby fingers like me, you'll have to pace yourself), the battery lasts through extended talk time, and the available IM services and MobileWeb applications work much better than any previous phone that I have had. The only issue I have found is that I sometimes will need to restart my phone because the IM services will lock up, but this is rare.
I am also VERY pleased with the microSD memory card slot and the built in MP3 player. With a 4GB memory card you can store plenty of music and still have room for texts, pictures and ringtones.
Despite the few (and easily corrected) issues this phone has, I am VERY satisfied with the Messager and would recommend it to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

R450 MetroPCS Version

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByImportH8r
onOctober 31, 2008
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
No video. Takes good pictures that can be blown up on a computer. 8x10 or larger! Phone will lock up from time to time if incoming message comes in while you are calling out. Hard reset (pull battery out) is sometimes necessary. You may not be able to answer the phone when this occurs. Phone screams through downloads & uploads of picture messages. Support, games & ringtones are non-existent. SMS cannot come from some Banks or businesses. Most places do not know of the "Messenger",yet. It has excellent Bluetooth capabilities but do not use the registered devices menu, unless you push the options button. It will say device not supported. All in all this is an excellent product & despite its teething problems. I have recommended it to several people who have bought the phone. Get a minimum of 4G MicroSD card. It supports it. I have over 685 mp3's loaded on the phone & I still have room for pics.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Theoretically, a nice phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnnNymous
onDecember 27, 2010
from Rhode Island
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, camera, headset port separate from charging port, accepts standard headset jack
Cons: Did not meet expectations, too slippery! practically leaps out of hand, buggy operating system
In real life, it's been pretty buggy so far.
* The phone charges fine, but turns itself off at random intervals -- often, despite still having a full charge.
* The ringer sometimes stops working, regardless of how it's set ... no sound, no vibration, no sign of incoming call unless one is watching the phone when the screen lights up. A cold reboot hasn't fixed it, but going in and re-setting the ringtone (to the same one as before) has worked. Apparently, the phone has just forgotten what was assigned, and assigned "no ring" to everything. Argh!
* The T9 autospell feature and the Memo pad also have been acting buggy.
* The phone so far will accept data from my PC, but won't send.
Hopefully, all these difficulties are due to a single problem -- a corrupted operating system (OS)? -- so a download will resolve them. (Knock wood!)
Meanwhile, on the plus side:
* I do like being able to use both the full keyboard and the phone-pad keys (the phone pad can act as a numeric keypad, cutting down on the need to use the Fn key) simultaneously.
* The camera seems perfectly adequate.
* The speakerphone works well.
* It's a great relief that Samsung has separated the charging port from the headphone port, so the phone can be plugged in and have a headset plugged in at the same time. (It's also great that the phone takes a standard headset jack -- no funky Samsung specialty hardware required.)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

media friendly But poor Design

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onApril 29, 2009
from Coconut creek , FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I purchased this phone in March and I really do enjoy the features. I love the qrty board and the mp3. My complainant is the battery life is too short , the phone turns off by itself sometimes. Also the screen scratches so easily!!!!It doesn't keep your ring tone settings and when you have the phone face up you CAN NOT hear when it is ringing. They could have done a better job on the design.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+34points
43of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

SALES REP REOMMENDATION

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByANDRES
onFebruary 26, 2009
from WEST PALM BEACH, FL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
THIS PHONE IS OVERPRICED, FOR THE FEATURES THAT IT HAS ONE SHOULD PAY ONLY ABOUT $**150.00.**
THE PHONE IS SOMEHOW DURABLE, BUT VERY LIMITED ON ITS SPECS. IT IS BULKY, AND THE KEYBOARD IS NOT USER-FRIENDLY. THIS IS AN ETRY-LEVEL PHONE AS FAR AS SPECS GOES.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Durable Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybiscuitasylum
onFebruary 18, 2009
from Dallas, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
I purchaced the phone mainly for the slide out keyboard feature. Phone is very durable... I go through phones like they are going out of style. If you are hard on phones then this phone will suit you. Phone response can be slow and locks up frequently like its being overloaded. You will end up removing the battery for a reboot on some occations. The battery life is rediculously lame while online. Talk time isn't so bad though. Phone features are appealing. MP3 Player is nice and sufficient with the provided headphones. However, It does not have a normal headphone jack that would provide greater enjoyment, so i rarely use the mp3 player for the provided headphones aren't much to my liking. The camera takes great photos and the screen resolution is nice. Very fast response with uploads and downloads through usb connection to computer. Bluetooth is nice and responsive. Downloading picture messages is surprisingly fast. Mine is upgraded with a 2 gb Micro SD card for plenty of photo storage and music storage for a phone. I do enjoy the keyboard, however, i find myself sending empty text messages frequently due to slow response of keyboard to phone. So if you're a fast texter, you will have to learn to slow down with this phone or you'll be sending alot of empty texts. My biggest complaints are the proprietary headphone jack, the response and the battery life.
Overall, its a great phone that is tough, with nice everyday phone features and it does look groovy when you're sliding out that keyboard.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Messager™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

hate this phone

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byangellove
onSeptember 3, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations
i got a new phone, i thought i was upgrading. i cant upload pics or download pic to my computer. i wish i didnt get it. now i am stuck!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.