Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone

Rating:
3.779 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
21
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
3
53 out of 68(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2012
from NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, qwerty kryboard
Got this for my wife she love to text. So she needed the full qwerty keyboard. And a easy to use phone this was it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2012
from Cochran,GA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a great phone! Perfect for your teenager who is just starting out. Very durable and withstands almost everything. I dropped it in the water once and it worked just fine still! Very well done Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best cell phone brand

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 6, 2012
from Linton Indiana
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
this is the best brand of sell phones i have ever owned and i recomand everyone to buy this brand over any other brand
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
HM7000 Bluetooth Headset
2.9 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
Nexus S from Google Standard Battery (1500 mAh)
2.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
Galaxy S i500 Standard Battery Cover (Black)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 14, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, no contract
This was just the phone i needed. it is great because there are no pesky phone bills. its my choice when to buy minutes, not a phone compony.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2012
from washington nc
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have had this phone for a month and i love it. talk text and web all at my fingertips. good priced phone with great features.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2011
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I have had this phone for 2 years! It is simple, yet amazing. The camera is only 1.3 megapixels and the picture quality is still great. The phone is inexpensive and extremely easy to navigate. It has great signal strength and is clear. The ringer is loud which is also a big plus. It is a VERY sturdy phone. I have dropped it A LOT and it still works as perfectly as the first day I got it. It has frozen up on me at times, but that is normal. The only thing that I don't like all that much is the keys on the slide-out keyboard. They require a lot of pressure in order to type. So, if you want an amazing, spectacular phone, you must get this!! Unless of course, you want 3G speeds and whatnot, in that case this would not be the phone for you.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really like this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2011
from Illinois
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I have had this phone for two years now. I haven't had any problems with it at all. When my daughter needed a new phone I bought her one just like it. It is a great phone for a little price
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 3, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
GREAT PHONE TO USE FOR EVERYDAY USAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 4, 2011
from Tennessee
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I JUST BOUGHT THIS PHONE AND I REALLY DON'T KNOW EVERYTHING YET BUT I REALLY LIKE THE PHONE. IT SEEMS EASY TO UNDERSTAND AND WORK.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2011
from NC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, indestructible (well in my case it was)
Cons: does not feature zoom for the camera
I've definitely loved owning this phone. I bought it last year, April 2010....and it's served me well. It's easy to use and the pictures, while not the best quality, are nice. It's also been indestructible (I've told my friends it seemed more so than the phones that are actually SUPPOSED to be indestructible) for me :P I've dropped it a lot, thrown it many times (one time slamming it hard onto concrete steps out of anger towards something that was happening....miraculously it didn't break!), and it's been dropped in the ocean while I was at the beach last August. Yes, after it was dropped in the ocean, of course it screwed up for a little while...but it went right back to normal after a couple weeks. But recently it's been acting up, turning off at random by itself while I text, and I have to re-do the text. The keypad on the front freezes sometimes, the buttons won't work. Sometimes when I'm using the keyboard I'll hit say, a B, and it comes up as an R? This phone has had a good run, and it is really reliable, but I'm due for a new phone.
All in all, I definitely wasn't disappointed with this phone during the time I used it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

451c value plus

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 19, 2011
from tennesee
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
nice phone many features and it is so much easyer to use than my last brand
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

kira

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 21, 2011
from illinois
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
this product has been the best phone that i have owned
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 9, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, mp3
Cons: can't play videos
The Samsung Messenger Is A Great Phone My Favorite Feature Is The Camera And Mp3 Player
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loving it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 7, 2011
from Vacaville, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought my R451C 4 months ago. Added an 8 Gig SD card. It's perfect for what I need. So, for Christmas I got my husband a R355C to compare with as to which one is better. He loves his new phone too. We're happy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PHONE KEEPS SHUTTING OFF AFTER I PUT MP3'S ON MICRO CHIP

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 24, 2010
from INDIANA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I COPIED ALL MY MP3'S TO MY MICRO CHIP AND PUT IT IN MY PHONE NOW MY PHONE KEEPS REBOOTING.WHY?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
3.8 out of 5(68)
 
 
 
 
 
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Straight Talk Samsung SCH-R451C

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Love the phone. had it about 3 months, use lots of texting and phone calls. Good battery life. I have no problems with the web access. can retrieve email and visit some sites. It's great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The phone itself

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 14, 2010
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I got this phone in December of 09 and I have had a few problems out of it. When I first got it, it froze a couple of times. I have had problems with the keyboard freezing. And now I have a problem after 3 months of no problems, my screen is black and white. It was working fine this morning, I was texting and everything. Then I go to use i and my screen is completely black and white. I am hoping that I can switch it for another one because I absolutely love the full keyboard and the plan. I love it. THanks staighttalk.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SD Card Help!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2010
from Jax, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I just bought a 2gb mini sd card for my phone and I put in the phone and it keeps saying card not available, please insert card. What am I doing wrong?
As for the phone, love it, ringers not loud enough and the music player is starting to irritate me, but it works like a charm..
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall a decent phone if you text and talk mostly

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2010
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Dropped Cincinnati Bell Wireless to move to Straight Talk unlimited. All I basically do is talk and text. The slide out keyboard is nice and easy to use and the reception and quality of the voice calls is no better or worse than any other carrier I've had in the past. For me, the ring volume is loud enough when turned all the way up. I can hear it from other rooms in the house. The camera key is highly sensitive but I "LOCK" the phone using the star key(*) before I put this in my pocket or on the dash when driving. My Motorola bluetooth connects just fine and reception is decent if you don't wander too far from the phone. For you bluetooth junkies, put the phone in your pocket or hold it when on bluetooth if you can with any phone, too many people "wander" and wonder why reception to their headset is poor. If you do web, games and like MP3s this phone won't make you happy. I have used Google Mobile to find a few quick phone numbers of stores and whatnot while out and about and it worked fine for the basics. To me this is a basic talk, text and communicate phone, nothing more, but for what it is I think it's an excellent product for those uses. I will be adding an 8 gig micro SDHC card just so I can use some songs of mine as ringtones. We'll see how that goes and I'll report back if there are any major issues. BTW, Samsung support told me this phone will hold an 8 gig card and loading via a card reader on a PC then moving it to the phone is your best option. 4.5 Stars.....
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A really nice phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 28, 2010
from Colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I just purchased this phone in an effort to save on my monthly cell bill. I, like others, was initally frustrated when attempting to work the MP3 player. However, I found a really easy way to load music and it worked perfectly. The best method I have found is to use the card reader adapter that comes with your SD micro card. Simply insert the SD Micro card into the adapter, plug it into your computer then copy and paste the files you want onto the card. Works like a charm! The USB cable method did not work correctly for me so I would suggest this method for those that have had problems with that method. Other than that everything has been great with this phone. Good sound quality, nice photo quality (a zoom feature would be nice though), and good MP3 sound (although the user guide should be more explainatory). 5 stars overall! Good luck to those attempting to load their favorite tunes!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best cell phone i have ever owned

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2010
from NH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
so far i love this cell phone. it has some great features on it. the only problem that i have with it is that i have over 150 songs that i put on it and it will only read and play 25 of them, im not sure why though. all the songs are the same format, so it can't be that. any ways, now i will tell you some pros and cons of this cell phone.
PRO'S:
-great reception
-very good sound quality
-music player
-bluetooth
-calendar
-memo pad
-alarm clock...will not go off if the phone is not on
-world clock
-calculator
-stop watch
-converter...currency,length,weight,volume,area, temperature
-tip calculator
-voice recognition
-up to 500 contacts
-1.3 MP camera
-web browser
-voice memo...only 60 seconds each
-999 speed dials
-QWERTY Keyboard
-takes very good pictures
-speaker phone
-2.5 mm jack
-manual and automatic keypad lock
CON'S:
-no FM radio
-camera key is too sensitive
-keypad lock turns off if you slide out the keyboard
-alarm does not sound if the phone is off
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone for the price and calling plan

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2009
from Clarkston, Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I bought this phone at Walmart with the Straight Talk plan. It's been several days and although the interface is very simple and lacks the intuitive nature of more expensive phones, I've been quite pleased with it's utility. The calls have been clear, the battery life excellent, and the use of the slider keyboard is everything that I hoped it would be.
As other reviews have noted, I too have found the camera button on the side quite sensitive and I've used the "lock" function to fix this issue. I have not yet checked out the MP3 function yet.
For the price of this phone and the value of the Straight Talk plan, I have already been telling family and friends about it. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves to talk and text.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+25points
26of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

pre paid phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2009
from celebration,fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
got the phone from trac phone excellent product ease of use very good. loaded with great features for paid phone program.only problem back is very slick to hold,will put some type of tape on back.have had samsung phones in past always great product thanks samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has easy to understand features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2012
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This product is easy to use, the slide always opens and closes with ease, the menu is easy to navigate through and I get great reception 99% of the time. The camera takes very nice, clear pictures.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the slide-out keyboard

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2011
from Pittsfield, MA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: it picks up a lot of background noise from caller
Bought this phone to use with the Straightalk plan. I do alot of texting so the slider keyboard makes for quick texting. One thing that I find very annoying is the background noise on a phone call.
I had this phone for one year and one week when it died on me. The screen would go all white. Because it happened over a year it was not covered so I had to buy another one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Messager...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2011
from Humboldt, KS 66748
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
It is a nice phone, but is lacking a nice camera and video recording capabilities...It needs to be compatible with newer Micro SD Cards and be more compatible to being hooked via Computer through USB...All in all, it is better than a stripped model cell phone...
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2011
from magnolia, texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a quality phone that is sturdy with good features and easy to navigate. The price is acceptable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The features on this phone are great & easy to use.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: unlock feature awkward to do
I like the calendar for appointments. One can set when to alert, how long & even ringtone or sound and how often to remind. I haven't missed any & have been on time because of this feature. The alarm works the same. I am a display person & this phone is perfect for that. I can download animated wallpaper etc. The camera takes good pics. Just wish the display was larger. You can add a picture of the person on your contact & customize the ringtone too.The slide keyboard is easy to use.The internet is very slow(could be the service & not the phone). The unlock feature is awkward to use. Overall a great phone!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very good all around phone.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 30, 2011
from Devils Lake, North Dakota
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, a very well thought out menu.
This is a very good phaone with a lot of good features for the money. My only real complaint is with its internet accessabilitty. Most sites you can't see the pics unless you veiw it not formated for mobile, and then most of the time the site is to big for the phones memory. Why not use some SD card memory for internet access? Seems a simple solution to me.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Good Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 23, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: no games
I like this phone and would have rated it 5 stars if it had games available. If they find a way to send a firmware update to add games, I'd rate this phone excellent in a heartbeat.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Has a lot of features in a small package.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 4, 2011
from Duluth Mn
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, slide out keyboard.
Cons: picture quality.
I have experienced other cell phones from inexpensive to the top of the line. So before I bought the Samsung SCH-R451C I was not sure what to expect. I was looking at the price of the phone and comparing it to all of the features that it came with. In the back of my mind I guess I was thinking that it may not be as good as it sounded. I am sure happy that I did purchase this particular cell phone. It has stood up to everything that it said that it would and more. The only thing that I am slightly disappointed in is the quality of the built in camera, it does not seem to take the high resolution pictures that I had expected.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung for Straight Talk

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 2, 2011
from Indiana
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
I ordered the Samsung R451C model as I switched my cell phone service from AT&T to Straight Talk. I like the idea it has a full QWERTY keyboard and other options inherent to this model. Voice quality is equal to my good ole Nokia. The screen changes are different but I am learning these as I go. I would like to see the 'back' option used a bit more when I reach a screen that puts me where I don't need to be. But all-in-all I like this model quite a bit.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love It

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 22, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
I have had this phone for a year and it has been great. The best feature is the camera which takes a terrific photo.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Side buttons are very inconvenient

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2010
from Fort Walton Beach, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, nice features
Cons: Did not meet expectations, side buttons that cannot be locked
The side buttons are in a bad place. Not only are they right where you grab your phone, they are at 2 different places on each side, reducing the real estate that you can hold your phone without touching these inconvenient buttons. Very poor design when it comes to that. And as far as I can tell, no way to lock those buttons so they won't inadvertently get pressed. The other features are nice. I would also have liked to be able to change the order of the icons on the settings screen.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall, A very goog phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 24, 2010
First, the pros: Good sound quality on calls (both handset and speaker). Full QWERTY keyboard is large enough to make it easy to use, but not so big that the phone has to be too large. Decent camera quality. Good battery life.
Now the cons: Horrible placement of camera button leading to minor annoyance when camera comes on unexpectedly (Got some nice pics of the inside of my pocket, though). Ringer volume is poor, even at highest setting calls are easy to miss. A quick way to lock the keypad would be nice. Some built-in memory would be appreciated.
Overall, a good phone and a good buy.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2010
from montgomery, al
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
this phone is a good phone for anyone who texts alot...it has a full keyoard whicht helps alot with texting...i dont like the camera button on the side because one little touch to it and the camera turns on and it does it al the time...the phone also calls people randomly...but over all this is one of my favorite phones
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but a bit problematic.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2010
from Northern Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The biggest gripe I have with this phone right now is that the ringer is too quiet, and the speaker next to my ear is too loud.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 28, 2010
from Rural Western PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Came from another carrier because of price issues. This phone is a very good value. It may lack some features, but I'm saving at least $35/mo over my old contracted price. This phone works as good as the Voyager I had been using, in every location I've been in. I wish the ringer was louder and web access was a little friendlier, but it has few faults overall. The manual is not as detailed as it could be. For example, I'm using an 8mg SD card with no problems, with the manual recommending only up to a 2mg. Details on using mp3 is lacking also, but inserting the card into the phone creates the My Music folder that the music files must be loaded into. You can then use a data cord or the card slot on your computer to copy the files into the folder. It should work this way for the card's Images, Ringtones & Sounds folders but I haven't added anything into those yet.
The phone quality seems to be good, with no slack or shake in the slider mechanism , which I have noticed in some other brands. I can't "baby" my phones, so it remains to be seen how the case and screen hold up.
Overall I'm well pleased and satisfied with my purchase after about a month of use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not as good as my LG but right up there

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 18, 2010
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have this phone and can't get the mobil web to work and it rings SOOOO low you can't hear it unless it is on a hard surface. How can I get this phone to ring LOUD? Had problems with down loading ring tones but I just sent them to my e-mail and then to my phone and saved them as sounds, that way they are on my card and not the phone so they can go with me where ever I choose. Other than that, I like the phone and the service.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far so good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2010
from Washington State
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Has alot of good functions on this phone the specifications state that java is enabled and there are java downloads available if there are I've yet to find them it seems that Straight Talk has locked the java on this phone as for as ringtones its very easy to transfer mp3s from ur computer to ur micro sd to use on ur phone dont like that fact that I have to put the mp3s into the My Music Folder to listen to them then also put them in the My Ringtone folder to have it available as a ringtone as well. The camera takes very good pictures I might add.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MP3 Player help!!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 31, 2009
from DuBois, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I got the phone for Christmas from wal-mart--the whole straight talk thing. some problems I've had/are still having are: 1. I had to setup my voice mail before I received pic/music texts or get on the web. 2. Is which I am having still is the MP3 player--it can only have a 2GB SD card--and it doesn't have a USB port on the phone either--I've been music on my card and put it in the phone and it still wont work!! any help?? other then those things my phone works great--sound quality is great--pics are clear--LOVE LOVE the keyboard--and the camera is great also.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone, almost great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2009
from New Mexico
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have owned this phone for almost a month now. I bought it through the Straight Talk program at Walmart and I have to say that the sound quality is better through it than what I have used on a flip phone by through Verizon. The texting took a little getting used to for me since I was used to using a normal keypad for texting but once I did it was smooth sailing. The web browser is unimpressive but it does the job and allows both pictures and text links without being able to do fancy fonts but I was never sure about the Java thing. I don't think it works but who knows? Since I heard that it can sync with a pc, I've been wondering if it will sync with a mac. It would be wild if I could connect to the internet by using the phone as a modem for the mac. The picture quality on the phone is very sharp though I wish that when switching between phone and keypad slider mode the picture would automatically resize but it doesn't. The camera button is very easy to trigger and thus very annoying unless you use the keypad lock function which is the * key rather than waiting for it to autolock after 30 seconds. I don't know how to install apps/games on this thing but it would be very cool to be able to do that. The built-in mp3 player is simplistic but does the job, letting you choose to play 1 song or ALL of your songs in a row with names or a graph bar for your enjoyment. I believe I read that the top memory card it will accept is 8 gigs. Still, that's plenty for most people until they can get to their ipod.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone but no PC connection even thr bluetooth

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought this phone from Straight Talk, which is probably the most low-cost cell phone service I can find. They have very limited phone selections. This is the only test messenger they offer, or I'd like to but one with a little more functionality.
As a cell phone, this device is generally good: it looks very nice, feels very comfortable, easy to use, and has good sound quality. The keypad is also comfortable. Of course, the keys are very small, but that's expected. Comparing to using the phone keys to type text messages, the keypad is way more convenient. I've got used to the shift and fn keys quickly.
There are a few things about this phone that disappointed me:
First of all, it has no way to connect to a PC what so ever. Not only it doesn't have USB port, my attempts to connect it to my PC through the bluetooth function failed miserably. The manual doesn't give me a pin for this device, and the Straight Talk's Service Guide only tells me how to connect it to a bluetooth headset.
The camera key is too sensitive. I've had this phone for only five days, but I can't count how many times the camera was turned on by accident. I wish there is a way to lock the camera key.
The auto lock function is nice, but there is no way to manually lock the keypad, so you have to wait for 30 seconds before the phone locks itself. If you put the phone away before it locks up (30-second is very long for you to hold you phone, doing nothing), keys can be punched by accident and may cause unpredictable consequences. For example, for a while, I didn't know why the "silent function" was activated without my knowledge and I didn't know how to turn it off. Eventually I figured out by myself that it must have been that the # key was accidentally pushed (one of it's function is to set and unset the "silent function").
Still, I like this device as a phone and test messenger. However, I wouldn't recommend it because it doesn't have any PC connectability.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
25of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value... it is not a DROID

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2009
from Nashville TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The r451c phone is quite nice looking. The design and layout are great. The slide out keyboard is what sold me on the phone and it works very well.
I have not seen a better phone, for the money, on a CDMA pay as you go plan yet.
But...
The Samsung web specifications say it is java enabled.
Mine is not. That suggest no games or any kind of apps to come.
The web browser is just about unusable with it's slow speed and tiny screen.
For me, I would still buy the phone for the features that do work.
MP3 player, 1.3 mp Camera, email, voice dialing.
For you, if you need a touch screen "DROID like" phone, this is NOT it.
Maxx
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good quality

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 8, 2012
from Austin,TEXAS
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Cons: Not high def, no wifi
needs a little better user interface,web browser is not up to standard,and no video playback,good overall though
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My take on this phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2011
from Metter Ga
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I bought this phone as for the camera and texting. You dont get to customize as much as you would like to. With only two choices of themes. Mp3 player works well and sounds good, but you cant change the color of the background which is purple! If you want to see you pics you took the screen is small and the photos are to. Speaker phone works but could be a little clearer. But all in all is a great phone for the price!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Maybe it's the carrier?

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 19, 2011
from Dothan, AL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I got this phone after doing lots of research. The Samsun site touted a lot of the features that I was wanting. However, the carrier that I am using has disabled a lot of the features. Do not think they should be aloud to. It is a Samsun phone. But I would recommend to somebody that does mostly texting and calling.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Texting and Pictures

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2010
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I keep hitting the camera button when I'm texting (without QWERTY keyboard) which is a very big problem
Plus, I would like individual ringtones for my friends when they text me. Not just for when they call me, cause my friends barely text me, and It would be nice to know who is texting me.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good and Bad

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2010
from Northeast- urban area
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, gd. tactile feel to keyboard, large font, gr. qwerty keyboard
Cons: unsatisfactory voice and volume
I had an LG420 for 3 months and hated it. I could not tell where the keys were.The face plate was smooth &undifferentiated on the key pad,et al.The Samsung r451c has tactile,distinct keypad keys. The slide out qwerty is a plus for entering contact info. The screen and fonts are big and bright. The voice quality is not good. It was better- almost like a land line on the LG420/clamshell design.
Calls are tinny , quavering,and almost on the verge of breaking up. I do get a signal, but it is often 1 bar,when the LG which was on T-mobile would have 3 bars. I am between Verizon and T mobile towers.The ringer is too soft even on high plus vibrate.
The battery is fair, worse than the LG, but I am in the habit of charging nightly. I have an iPod touch, so was not concerned about the web or mp3 player. The mobile web is horrifically slow.Sometimes it will open my AOL mail, sometimes not.
It certainly should not be relied on as a consistent internet device. I am keeping the phone, though.It is ok, but not perfect. Nothing is perfect.
The phone is heavier than I expected, due to the slide out, and has a larger footprint by 1.5 than the LG. I will not be putting it in a rear jeans pocket ! However, it also feels solid and it is not sliding out of my hand. I wil get a case, since it is too heavy to wear from a lanyard..
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
SMH7185WG
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok phone crippled by carrier

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 16, 2010
Overall, I'm just ok with the phone. On the plus side, the battery life is better than my old LG and the call quality is very good. On the minus side, the browser is so slow that it's unusable. The Straight Talk folks also disabled Java so no Opera choice and no apps. The web on this phone is so bad that I bought a Peek just to read email because reading web mail on this phone was so very painful.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent phone with quirks

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 13, 2010
from TN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
First of all this is a decent phone if you are looking to talk and text. That said, it has some quirks, the design is otherwise good except for the location of the camera/video button, which is a minor annoyance when it gets turned on (come on guys. it is just a camera that can be turned off..:-))
This phone does have auto lock enabled(menu function) and you can press and hold the * button for a few secs to enable this manually before it slides back into your pocket (btw the manual doesn't state this, why? dont know, cant say). The changing of ring tones is pretty easy, just follow the instructions that straight talk has online (these are better than the samsung manual).
Transferring songs was done using a micro SD card that sells for around 10bucks from amazon.(the phone comes with nothing). then i transferred my ringtones to the SD card from my computer using a SD card reader on my comp and then transferred the card back to phone(note- there is a folder for songs and ring tones on the card that comes up automatically when you put into the phone, this folder is where you need to transfer your ring tones to, this is imp bcoz to change ring tones you only get access to this folder not the songs folder).
Net is first gen CDMA so this is more like the early 2000's internet on the phones back then, you can access mail, dont epect much else.
?GPS- come on you are kidding me if you expected this on the phone or the plan.
Pro's
Full querty key board great fot texting.
Excellent network coverage
Decent battery life, compared to moto and nokia
Loud speakerphone
It is all for 50USD
Cons
Reception isnt the best, but you will get by bcoz it uses verizon network.
Voice clarity is average
No 3 way conferencing.
Call ringer vol is a little low
Overall despite it's quirks given the paucity of choice for straight talk phones, this phone is recommended and i hope straight talk guys would get better phones in future, but untill then.... this is a decent phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

SCH-R451C- do not purchase.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 9, 2010
from Chapel Hill, N.C
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
poor battery life, terribly quiet ring tone with no apparent update to correct this, stupid stupid placement of camera button, manual has No explanation of what displayed icons mean, generally poor reception, oftentimes hard to understand what the 'person who called' is saying, (that could be the carriers fault) not as good as my 5 year old Sanyo which, of course, I had to discard when I changed carrier. disappointed. I actually expected better from Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 28, 2010
from Port Angeles, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
There isn't much I like about this phone.
I know I made a big mistake not buying a flip or slider because I carry the phone in my pocket.
The ringer volume is not loud enough and now, after two months, it will vibrate, but does not ring. All I get is: "silent mode activated" when I try to play a ringtone or sound.
(I'm still working to see if I can find a solution for that)
The camera key is in a really inconvenient place. I turn the camera on when I hold it if I'm not very careful.
The battery life isn't great either.
All in all, I'm disappointed with the phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Straight Talk-ing

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 2, 2010
from Columbus, Ga
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
This phone is great for making calls and sending text messages. In those two fields I am very happy with this phone to the point its a 5 out of 5 stars. Awesome for the price and the keyboard is awesome.
As far as the web goes... its slow and with out java most of the websites are useless. Myspace, facebook, yahoo to name a few are no good.
There's no games, at all on the phone so if you're bored tuff no games to play while you're killing time on this cell.
The ringer is so quiet even when set on high, if you're not holding the phone you will likely miss the call.
If all you want to do is text and talk this phone is well worth the price. If you want games and java look else where.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Problems with mp3 player

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2010
I dislike this ONE FEATURE very much i doo not understand how to upload songs into the mp3 player on this phone....I have a usb cord I have an sd card and I for some reason cannot do it. PLEASE HELP ME FIGURE IT OUT!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good & bad

By
onMarch 4, 2010
from WEIR, MS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is a good phone but it doesn't have call forwarding & no matter how many different ways I try i can't get any songs on the mp3 player so I'm seriouly thinking about returning it for the samsung touchscreen that ST offers. Overall it's a good prepaid phone service so I will keep them as a my carrier. thxs ST
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not a bad phone but...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2009
from Northern New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
the R451C has some good features that seem to stop a little short of being great. the voice commands for example. you have to scroll thru the menu before you can turn it on and when asking it to "send text" you still have to type in the people that you are sending it to. If the text doesnt go thru due to being in a no service area, it should go automatically when you get in a service area. the battery needs to be charged a couple of times a day with not a lot of use. The camera button is easily pushed accidentally and there should be some case that will prevent you from pushing buttons by accident.
Over all I am liking this phone but it does take some getting used to.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

some problems

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 7, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, will not last long if you are a texter screen wil
the phone itself is great, i have read alot of reviews already and i see that people don't like the ringer volume, i have a solution, set it to vibrate nuff said. also i agree that the camera button is poorly place. my main problem with this phone is that if you text too much on the keypad your flex cable (the cable that connects the screen to the board) will come loose or short out rendering the phone useless with a white screen, which gets very annoying when you feel it vibrate 10 or 15 times because of texts and there is nothing you can do about it i personally am not pleased with Samsungs attempt to make a "messenger" phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2011
from st paul mn
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I am not fond of the simpleness of its features. I wont be using it much
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

MP3 yea right

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, does not play mp3 files, does not play any video files, no wi-fi, no java, no drivers on website
Uploaded some MP3 files to my sd card, inserted it into phone, looked for the files, nothing. formatted the sd, re-uploaded the file. Still nothing.
Cant even check my email on the phone because it does not support JavaScript(hotmail). No videos, or any media that would make the phone anywhere near worth the price!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for Samsung Messager™ (TracFone) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cheap item

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2010
from mount dora,fl
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Cheap design, style, and making.Haven't had it a month and have hated it ever since
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out