Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop US Cellular
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone

Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
10 out of 17(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD PHONE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLOVE20HEAVEN07
onJuly 2, 2011
from BENTON CITY, WA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST PHONES I HAVE EVER OWNED FROM SAMSUNG
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydeadwards
onMay 14, 2011
from Franklin, WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have owned this phone for a couple of weeks now. Really loving the messager touch. Went from a flip phone and needed to branch out to texting. This phone was the perfect choice without having to move to a smart phone and a data plan. Love the touch screen and the available widgets.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only problem with this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRedNeckWes
onFebruary 10, 2011
from Nowhere, Virginia
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, slider, full qwerty keyboard
the only thing wrong with this phone is hanging up after a phone call. unlocking it is kind of a competition, and you have to unlock it to hangup after a call.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This phone is so cool

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWelshlady
onJanuary 19, 2011
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
From the moment I purchased this phone it has been excellent. The design of the case fits smoothly in your hand and is well made. I dropped my phone and nothing happened. It was good as new, not even a scratch. I have never seen such a user friendly phone. Once you have the touch down it feels like a game discovering each new feature and there are so many time saving features that come with this phone. The pictures are clear and sharp. The slideout keyboard features prove once again that this phone is designed with the customer in mind. Everytime I discover a new feature I catch myself saying cool. I say cool a lot with this phone. Well done Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my samsung messanger reveiw!!!!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymario202
onJanuary 14, 2011
from north carolina
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not in many colors
i like the samsung messanger for its sleek design and proformance also the total experiance was great but i only have one con about the phone, it is because the phone doesnt come in many colors but blue and black.. that is the only con.. besides that the phone is great!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung messager

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjonwowstriker
onNovember 6, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Too big
Good simple phone but the touch screen isn't very good, neither is the camera, but like I said a good simple phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymema4them
onMarch 12, 2012
from Southern Oregon
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, loud speaker for cell phone
I really like this phone. It is simple to use and has a great speaker. It performs wonderfully and is dependable.
the design is great with the three screens. Its a awesome little phone for the money. It doesn't have the greatest camera in the world but pretty good. My teen like this phone so much that I have purchase the newer Character for them as I think its a tough phone and perfect for them. No data required is a good plus for this touch phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just another phone!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykelseyk
onSeptember 29, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a good phone, if you use it only for texting and talking. It has a very easy keyboard. The pictures are really good for being soo inexpensive. The lock screen is kinda cool, but it makes the time slow. The screen is soo touchy, I have to touch things multiple times. The speakers are not very good quality. It randomly shuts off, then restarts. I like that you can have 3 different wallpapers. I never used the widgets, they weren't anything special. It is semi-bright. I didn't like how it doesn't have a clock. You have to pull out the widget, which i just left it on the screen, or lock it. The batter life is decent. This phone is nothing to impress anybody with.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone...but needs work!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySenecaMom
onJune 13, 2011
from Tiffin, Ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, touch screen works great!
Cons: Poor quality, slide breaks above the lens
I bought this phone for both my son and myself less than 10 months ago. We both love the phone. We love the features and the touch screen, the options are great considering it's not a smart phone but it's a great affordable phone for a working family that can't afford a smart phone plan.
The problem is both our phones were used differently. My son texts all the time and is opening and closing his phone constantly. He's a teenager so he's harder on his phones. My phone was not used much, it was stored on counters or in my purse. It was not abused. Both of our phones developed cracks in the shell to the right side above the photo lens. Eventually my sons completely broke (about a month ago) and today mine did too. Our carrier said they will not help us out. My feeling is a phone with a price tag such as this one, should last a year and not be so hard to replace or fix. If I knew that this problem was fixed on the Messager, I would buy it again. I loved this phone but for the money, I can not afford to buy a new phone every 10 months!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be sure you REALLY want a touch screen.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByYouthGuy213
onFebruary 9, 2011
from Iowa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone does everything it is supposed to do, and it is a reasonably priced phone with a full touch screen.
PROS: The screen has great contrast. I love the color schemes. The call and messaging features are nice, although it seems that you have to be IN a call to access some features, so learning how to use them is a bit challenging. The phone is compact, but big enough for me to hit the button I am intending to. The MP3 player is nice and easy to use. It even has a built-in speaker for the music. Granted, there is no low end because it is a cell phone speaker. Nice for alarm clock features though.
The SD slot makes it great for storing music and photos.
The Bluetooth is simple to use. Full slide-out keyboard is nice.
CONS: If you are not used to a touch screen, it takes some getting used to. The screen can be a bit glitchy. If you calibrate the screen with your right hand, then try to access things with your left hand, it can be a bit non-responsive. As with all touch screens, when dialing a number, it feels a bit like texting because I have to constantly be looking down at the phone for the correct number to dial. The keyboard HAS to be out to text. Even to send a QUICK TEXT.
Overall, this phone is a great purchase for the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Do not drop!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byjulie99
onDecember 31, 2010
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: slippery, can't be dropped.
I brought this phone in August and one month went by and I accidently dropped it and the screen turn some crazy colors now. I dropped it on a carpet and this is the result??? So The phone slipped again while I was at home and the screen turn another color, so therefore I can bearly see my picture mailing, especially not in color. Other than that I haven't had any problems with the phone, it never froze on my me or anything.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Messager SCH-r630

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKarusai
onDecember 6, 2010
from Northeast Harbor, ME
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: automatically re-boots itself on occasion
So far, Samsung lives up their reputation and my expectations. This phone is easy to use, great for data pkgs/plans. Fast, functional, multi-taskable. Pictures could be better, but not bad. Terrible video in darkness, but tons better as soon as you upload them to the pc. This phone however, does do two really strange things without warning. It will A.) Restart itself in the middle of calls, txts, browsing, whatever you are doing, with any battery power, max or low and ANY application/widget/service. B.) I will get an error stating, "Incompatible Music Format" sometimes when I play a song, skip to the next, and go back. I talked to specialists, and they say it is possible I have 1 corrupted/incompatible file and it is possible after trying to read the file, it doesn't clear the error. Overall, it's a pretty good phone so far, i've only had it about 2 months. Sometimes it seems pretty loose when I slide out my board, sometimes it's really tight.. don't know what causes that (fluctuating temperatures??)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
63" Class (62.9" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p Plasma HDTV (2010 model)
4.7 out of 5(100)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great for beginners

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySavvyLovesRock
onJune 30, 2012
from Oregon
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Too big, incomplete programs, screen scratches easily
It was and is my first phone, I do like it a lot but I would like to move up to a smartphone of some sort.
I listen to music a lot on it and you cannot go to the next song without exiting to the music player menu and pressing 'all songs' and searching through all your songs to find the one you want.
There is no lock option unless you go through the menu, to settings, to phone settings, to security, then enter your password, then press 'lock now', and I'd rather it do a password lock whenever I press the 'lock' button on the side of the phone.
The SD chip slot is convenient, camera isn't too bad for a phone. The newer version of this phone has a terrible touch screen but mine (like the one on the picture) has a very nice touch screen, sensitive but not TOO sensitive.
It really depends on your expectations and standards, my parents got it for me and I have had it for almost 2 years, it is AMAZING for those who text, but music and security are important to me aswel.
While it isn't very wide or long, it is still pretty thick, but you won't find them much smaller. Fits in pocket well but I would NEVER suggest keeping ANY phone in your back pocket.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bad touch screen

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKittDiana
onJuly 22, 2011
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: touch screen
I've had this phone for almost a year now and it was great until the screen started blanking out and now the touch screen doesn't work at all.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByEnjmeyer
onJuly 15, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, below average reception
The features are great and all easy to use. I was disappointed because it was the first cell phone I spent more money on then previous ones I have bought in the past and I get the worst reception from this phone. Which to me, is the most important feature.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Poor design

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByTPWisconsin
onFebruary 8, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have the feature set to lockout all keys except the lock key, but when I recieve a call and pull the phone out of the holder, without touching any buttons, the call is already answered. When I make a call that requires dialing an extension, the screen locks before I get a chance to enter the extension and I have to go through the process of unlocking the screen and swiping the screen and selecting the dialer just to enter the extension. The U.S. Cellular service has been great, but I can hardly wait to upgrade to a better phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good For A Few Months

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByBriSoBossy
onDecember 17, 2011
from Jackson, MS
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
PROS: Beautiful pictures. Pretty color. All the different settings you can choose from.
CONS: Kinda fragile. Got it in Feb. & had to replace it in May. I had to replace it because i had turned it off for testing but when i tried to turn it back on, it would show where it's loading up and just stop, get hot and finally turn back off. I mostly used my phone for texting, so I open and close it a lot. In November, it fell out my bed so now when i open and close or put it on a table too hard, it turns off.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not for working people

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByUpset4sure
onAugust 29, 2011
from Oklahoma
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Phone turns ringers off and goes to silent; takes numerous pictures of inside camera pouch; will not conect to computer; will not respond to touch half the time, have to use a pen or other solid object...
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't Keep Time, and other problems

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByTouchscreenUser
onAugust 7, 2011
from WV
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I really liked the design of the phone and that it was touch screen, but the phone has so many basic program flaws that I can't rate it above 1 star.
The phone would be much better with a simple program update, but unfortunately, nothing has been posted. Here are just a few of the problems I have encountered.
First: the keypad / screen lock causes the time to stop running. At least I assume it is related to locking it. It doesn't always happen, but its frequent enough that I have been late for work so many times that I had to buy a standard alarm clock and set it as a back up. I would wake up in the morning and find the phone still said it was 4 or 5 hours earlier.
Second: the alarm will randomly go off without even having an alarm set. I have had the alarm go off randomly in the middle of the day or in the middle of the night (which is always a pleasant experience). Also, when it randomly goes off, it sometimes turns off my other alarms. So when it goes off in the middle of the night, it turns off my alarm that should be waking me up in a few hours.
Third: the vibrate function doesn't allow an alarm to go off. I personally always keep my phone on vibrate. So unless I remember to always switch my phone from vibrate to alarm only before going to bed, I won't have an alarm in the morning.
Fourth: The keypad touch screen will auto dial / speed dial even with the function turned off. So if you call a number that has an automated message that has you push 1, the phone will then auto dial your voicemail. And you will have a three way conversation with your voicemail and whatever automated message you were punching 1 for. The only way to avoid this is to push the number and then the center select key every time.
That's just a few of the many problems I have had with this phone. It would probably be a great phone if they fixed just a few of this problems with new software.
I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.