Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop US Cellular
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone

Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 out of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Workhorse

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 15, 2012
from Chicago, IL
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
This is a great phone for anyone who doesn't need all of the widgets. This is a durable and reliable phone which was fairly inexpensive too.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lasts Through Everything.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 4, 2012
from WI
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I've had this phone over a year and it has been put through everything, except the washer.
I've dropped the phone (on accident) in water, and it still works like a charm. Its also fallen out of my pocket while running and has bounced repeatedly across concrete parking lots and still works. The screen isn't cracked or anything. It has also been dropped in cow manure, washed off and still works. It hasn't broken when I fall asleep on it with the keyboard open or when it has been stepped on. The camera is good too. The pictures can be printed as 4x6 or 8x11 and still be relatively clear. The touchscreen works well even though you can't type on it. I haven't had a problem pocket dialing anyone or loosing calls. Even in places where there is little service it works well. The only downsides that I've noticed are every now and then it randomly restarts itself and it can be slow if you have like 2000 pictures and 300+ songs on it, but that's understandable. All in all, this is a great phone and I would recommend it to everyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2011
from RI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, key pad could be a little bigger but thats no bigg
I have two of these phones for my Kids..They absolutely love them.Would be nice if there were a little more stuff free that they could get but other than that great phone..They always had trac Phones before LG or Nokia..No comparison to these phones if your are unsure of this phone try and you will buy it..Most cell companies give you 30 days to see if you like it you won't need that long..Great product and value
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone & mp3 player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 16, 2011
from Chanute, KS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, excellent for mp3's, can expand memory w 16gb card
Cons: sometimes the touchscreen is too touchy, the cover for the headphone jack gets in the way
So far I have had zero problems with this phone. I use it for an mp3 & video player almost as much as the phone. My only real complaint is that Samsung doesn't have a program like Samsung PC Studio compatible with this phone. It's easy to drag and drop mp3's and videos but I would like to back up my contacts and extra ringtones that I have on the phone memory and not just what's on the memory card. Being able to sort mp3's by genere would also be a nice addition but not a big deal.the head phone jack cover gets in the way when using headphones.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Its Limited Capabilities

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, fragile slide
Nothing like a Smart Phone but great for basic needs. Camera & Video pictures could be higher quality. Slideout has plastic parts that become loose and break easily....be sure to enclose in a case (extra cost). Good phone for texting although keys are rather small for my large fingers. Lots of memory available for pictures and large phone book. Excellent alarm clock app. Overall, phone apps, etc are easy to understand and learn. Would like to see quicker, shorter access to speed dials.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good all around performance!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2011
from Lakes Region, New Hampshire
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, great usability
Cons: Not high def, not enough additional data
I like this model and once used to it, really enjoy using the phone. The music, the texting and other features are used daily and my experience with this phone have been positive!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
SL605 12.1 Megapixel Compact Digital Camera
4.2 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone, but touch screen can be "touchy"

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2011
from Phoenix Arizona
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, simple to use
I have had both prior versions; the Messager I and Messager II and Simply LOVED both of them. I am quite content with the third version (the Messager Touch) but have to say, the touch screen is a little sketchy at times. Meaning, I have to often touch my selection several times to get it to select the option I desire. Using the touch dial screen can be a little tricky if you have larger fingers.
For the touchy/sketchy screen I give it 4 out of 5 stars...and this could just be me and nothing to do with the phone...
Highly recommend purchasing the Messager Touch
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Battery life is horrible

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, two days of battery life unacceptable
I don't use my phone that often. I've had it ten days and have already taken it back for a new battery because it went dead after two days. Well, it's been two days, and it's dead. The guy at the store said "ALL new phones are like that." Seriously?? So, I need to charge it EVERY NIGHT!!??
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-15points
0of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone At a good price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2010
from SD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a awesome phone with great features at a awesome price. i love this phone is easy and fast to use. if u are thinking in buy in it, do it is a good buy. it looks good, has a great battery life, fast web browser, and good apps. it also has an excellent keyboard for texting with good calling and texting features. some cons of this phone are that the camera and the menu aren't that great, and sometimes u have to press the screen hard in the web browser if u want to click a link but overall is a 4 star phone. is pretty close to be a smartphone. this phone is like in between a cell phone and a smartphone. it has the best things of both worlds. If u buy this phone don't take the screen protector off unless u have a replacement for it, bcuz the screen is kind of sensible and it can get a scratch easily. i did it, i took the protector off and i used something fairly pointy to navigate through the web browser and it got scratch. Oh well i suppose that is my fault for using something pointy in the screen. but anyways this is a good phone for every one.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Touch scrolling is annoying but

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2010
from Earth
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, fun
Cons: touch is hard to use
I still like the phone.
CON. When scrolling, one must push hard and it can end up selecting what you do not want selected in the process. Phone comes on in your pocket fairly easily (when you want it to stay locked).
PRO. Fun to use. Great slider QWERTY board. Nice apps.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2010
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I really like this phone so far. I got it a few days ago due to my other phone no longer working; I have used LG brand phones for an extended period & was very skeptic to switching over to Samsung brands. So far, I really have enjoyed this phone. I get bored very easily & this phone has a doodle pad, which I have fallen in love with. I have only encountered one problem so far. That problem is that I cannot get my music player to pick up on my music. I have a microSD card with my music on it, & it has been reformatted & my phone is still having problems recognizing it. I would recommend this phone to any of my friends because I honestly have fallen in love with it. It has the touch screen (which I love) & a keypad for typing. Overall, this phone is amazing. Since this is a new phone, I have not had the chance to encounter any other problems, but if I do I will be sure to rewrite a review :)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+73points
75of 77voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First Phone That I've Enjoyed Owning.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 27, 2010
from Cookeville, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I'm a pretty frugal guy...I would love to be able to afford some premium phone like the Iphone or the Droid...but I'm loving this phone...I would place it just under your average premium phone....and I'm really enjoying it. I love the sleek look of it. The touch screen is awesome. The slide out QWERTY keypad makes texting a breeze. The ability to customize widgets as you wish is also pretty handy.I had at first purchased the Samsun Freeform...but quickly realized that texting with that one was very difficult for me as the keys on the keypad were too close together for my fingers...it was made more for smaller hands in mind. So I took the Freeform back and saw this one just being put out for display so I played around with it for a few...I loved how much more fitting the keypad was on this phone.....the sales guy said I was the first guy to have purchased this phone in my town....I would highly recommend this phone to anyone else that wants something that is pretty sleek and performs well at a reasonable price. It's still new to me and the world so I have yet to run into any problems with it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+51points
56of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

this product has poor reception

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 27, 2010
from nc
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The phone has great likable features, but is not good to talk on this is the secound phone altell sent me, i have lost more calls in one month than all last year, Sorry I wound not recommend to anyone,
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 15, 2010
A little slow by the touch, but still ok.
What I really don't like at all ,is de camera recorder, poor quality!!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Needs Improvement

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2010
from MD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, alarm doesn't do the job, keyboard is flat and difficult to use, not user friendly, touchscreen inacurate even after calibration, mp3 player doesn't work without a microsd, voice recognition is useless on this device
I got this phone as a christmas gift and I must admit, I'm very dissapointed. It has some neat ideas, but needs some improvement. The keyboard is flat and difficult to use. It would be alot easier to press the keys if they were raised and textured, as they were on my previous phone. I end up pressing all the neighboring keys. Might work better if you have tiny hands. The alarm, well you might as well forget about the alarm. It never wakes me. I usually keep my cell phones under my pillow and use them as my alarm. This one does not vibrate and you cant' set it to vibrate when the alarm goes off. Oh, and it's not loud. I have to use my old phone as a backup. And to turn off the alarm, you have to slide your finger across the touchscreen before you can even silence it. Voice recognition is pointless, since you have to pick through the menu screens just to get to it. the whole point of a voice recognition system is to allow you to avoid messing with the phone. Sure, you can say "text grandma" but you still have to type in your text. it doesnt' recognize what you want to text. Completely useless. Sending messages is also a nuisance. You can't send a text using the touch screen. You have to slide out the keyboard. Speaking of touchscreen, it's not very accurate. The touchscreen on my mp3 player is 10x better than the one on this phone.
Overall, this phone is not very user friendly. Good ideas and features, but needs some improvements before I would ever recommend it to anyone. No good.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Messager® (U.S. Cellular) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

had it 45 days! the phone is already broke.. stuck in boot screen

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
I like the phone up until this ... now the screen is stuck in boot screen... in doing a search it happens all the time! can't find any info to see if there is a reset like in apple products.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.