Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop US Cellular
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone

Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 14(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just yes

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybrony
onAugust 28, 2013
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, indestuctable
Cons: Not high def
This phone is freakin awesome. i know it may lack some features but it's good for me and if u have problems with breaking ur phones than this one is perfect for you. Reason i have had this phone ran over by two trucks and frozen over bye ice and it hasn't even left a chip in it so yeah good phone and extremely durable.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great working phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDT81
onApril 30, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no video
This is a great working phone for anyone who don't want to pay for the high data prices.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onFebruary 22, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
I'm empress that when you learn how to use it ..it's really awesome!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySaph
onMay 2, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
For a basic touchscreen phone, this phone is great. The keyboard works great, the internet is great. It has everything I need to get by.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SAMSUNG CHARACTER

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBENNIE74745
onApril 26, 2012
from OKLAHOMA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
THIS PHONE IS OK, BUT NEEDS TO HAVE VIDEO SUPPORT,BETTER APP SUPPORT, AND BETTER WEB BROWSER. CALLING PLAN WORKS GREAT, BUT DATA ACCESS GETS NETWORK ERRORS FREQUENTLY.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the Price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFancyFace
onJanuary 12, 2012
from Bushnell, IL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, great signal
Cons: Not high def, no face plates available
I've had my blue character now for almost a year and I love it. I upgraded from the Samsung Messenger. Downfall, it doesn't take or play videos, I send a lot of blank texts trying to open it due to the slickness, and there are not a lot of options on face plates for it. It does have very clear sound quality, excellent screen lighting, my pictures look just as good on it as they do on my digital camera, and I have yet to drop a single call on it. I am very happy with my Character, just wish someone would design some pretty face plates for it!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytinamhammer
onDecember 13, 2011
from yakima, wash.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I dont have any problems with the blue character phone
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bugs

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byphonephenaticman
onDecember 6, 2011
from sconnie
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, battery life
Cons: Not high def, cant type on screen
Lots of touch screen bugs and anoying things that cant be fixed like the prompt that asks if you would like to reply as a text message or pic message EVERY time you respond. Gets very annoying. Also it sends a lot of blank texts. The camera is very low quality
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone for the price

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bykt22377
onSeptember 27, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: dose not take or play video, no wifi
Got this phone to replace an older Samsung Trill. The full keyboard is a nice feature and the touch screen is responsive but touchy at times. The phone is not all that fast but dose what it needs to do in a timely manner. The phone however dose not take or play videos but will play music. I was impressed by the sound quality that the built in speakers have. The phone did not take long to learn how to use and the interface is fairly straight forward. What this phone lacks in features it makes up in being easy to use.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAlvarez671
onAugust 17, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, camara
Cons: cant block certain numbers, cant change bottons on bottom of screen
This phone is a great phone overall! A few fetures could be added but otherwise, great phone! WAY TO GO SAMSUNG!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not that great of a phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBlackMustang
onJune 27, 2012
from Melrose Park,IL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
the phone was cheap but the quality wasnt great at all
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Basic phone with some lacking features

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKinnison
onJanuary 4, 2012
from La Crosse, WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, homescreen widgets
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no pc connection, needs microsd card
Samsung does not allow this phone to connect directly to a PC via USB or bluetooth. With no data plan this is a major drawback for me, had to buy and use microSD card and still cannot transfer files from card to built in memory. Some of features formatting is not useful. i.e songs only listed by title,
Did like the homescreen widgets and customization... even if limited.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not good for me

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byzarmo
onSeptember 17, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, send & end buttons not colored, send & end buttons do not light up
I just upgraded to this phone, thinking a tough screen would be nice for me, but I was wrong. It is too sentisive and the slightest tough launches what ever app, I have sent so many texts before they were ready by sliding my finger over the sent app. no way to adjust the sensitivity. I have nerve damage to my hands so it is hard to tell how hard I am actuly touching the screen. I also use reading glasses to be able to use this phone, and the one real reason I got this phone was of the large print on the screen. but when you pull the phoe out of your pocket, you cannot tell which side is up as they look the same with out glasses on, and the send and disconnect buttons are small, and are not color coded like most phones, so I was hanging up on people instead of answering calls or disconnection instead of send as I could not see the right button. If I were to keep this pbhone I would paint the buttons so I could see them. and would be able to tell which side is top or bottom. glad my cell service (u.s. cellular) has a 30 day exchange program for phones. I will be turining in this phone for a conventional keyboard style phone. which I believe is also samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good phone for about 6 months

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onNovember 27, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, not durable
started off as a good phone but just doesn't last long. My speaker broke within a few months and i could only talk using the speaker phone. This is not too much of a problem but a bit of a pain. The screen stopped working not long after that happened i could not open the phone to type a text without it shutting off. Very poor quality phone over all. Do not get this phone!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Character™ (U.S. Cellular ) Touchscreen Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I expected phone to work properly right out of the box

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byneldanerd
onSeptember 22, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The device isn't showing up on my PC for me to be able to grab my music files.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.