Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Cricket
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)

Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)

Rating:
2.286 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
3 out of 6(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Its not bad

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byanonickmous
onOctober 11, 2013
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, good for smaller hands
Cons: overheat, small battery
On the whole this is not a bad phone. It has access to plenty of apps, is small enough to stuff in a pocket, and has a great display and the sound isn't bad either. There are a few cons though to watch out for:
-Overheats
If you use apps a lot or just keep it on for long enough, it will get hot to the touch. This is covered in other reviews for this phone. If it starts to get uncomfortably hot, turn it off and keep it in a well ventilated area. Overheating will damage this phone.
-Small Battery
Due to the apps it can use, the battery life on this little guy can get sapped fast. As it is a smaller battery anyway, turning off apps you don't plan on using may help. As always with all phones: only charge it when its actually dead. Let it charge fully while the phone is turned off. If you charge it while on or when its not dead yet, battery life will be shortened. The occasional quick charge is fine, but rechargeable batteries will lose life if constantly charged while it has any partial charge left.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByZackV
onAugust 13, 2013
from Fresno, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: can't think of one
got this phone in ups yesterday. It feels good in the hands, pretty good performance(only used on wifi [not in service yet]), and it handles light heavy use good.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs bug fixes

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byluvtheocean
onAugust 10, 2013
from Denver,Co
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: needs bug fixes
I love samsung products so when this SCH-R740C phone came out I bought it. It is a nice phone but it does have a lot of bugs that needs to be fixed for optimal performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Pretty Terrible

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymswilliams21
onJanuary 19, 2014
from San Antonio, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, constantly freezes
I have had many phones..mostly Androids. I'm not sure if this one is so terrible because it is on the Cricket network or what. But the device is extremely slow all day everyday. It freezes at least every other time I touch it. The phone also just restarts itself automatically. And it freezes to the point where I have to restart it at least 10 times every day. I have nothing good to say except for the Muve Music app is great. But even that freezes at least twice everytime I use it. I will be returning this phone in a couple days as I have 30 days to do so. I have only had this phone for 4 days. I am highly disappointed. I wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I despise this phone with a passion.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymynameisbrooke
onMarch 8, 2014
from Pensacola, FL, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes daily (must remove battery)
I NEVER leave a review for things, I usually can't be bothered, however; I loathe this phone so much I was compelled. EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. (at least!), the phone freezes and I have to remove the battery to restart it. At this current moment in time I am trying to make a phone call to my son and it just keeps hanging up after 10 seconds. AHHHH! Also, SWIPE on this phone is horrid! It does not recognize about 2/3 of the words I swipe - and I'm no beginner swiper! I hate using this phone, especially texting, it is such a chore. SO frustrating!! Maybe I have a defective phone, but I would NOT recommend this phone to anyone! Worst cell phone I have ever purchased!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

locks up

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byfusion
onJanuary 23, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
phone locks up and this is the second phone i have had in two months and a third is on the way . i hate this phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Two phones in two months

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGoodGranna
onNovember 10, 2013
from Memphis, TN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: operating systems keeps crashing
In Sep 2013 I traded another brand to get a Samsung phone since it was advertised to be a better brand. Initially my phone worked well. But after one month of ownership my woke one morning to a phone that was dead (the android man was on his back with a caution sign on his chest). I took the phone into the retailer and was told that my operating system had died. Ok problem solved yes . . . NO. So I received a new phone with my same battery in Oct since my Sep purchase died. So what do I wake up to this morning? Another dead android man!!! I have no understanding as to why my phones operating systems continue to crash. Since today is Sunday I will not be able to go into the retailer until Monday, If they are open being it will be Veteran's day (my day). I was more than willing to give this brand a try since it is the latest craze. But I'm thinking of going to another brand after this experience of two dead android men in to months.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.