Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Cricket
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)

Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)

Rating:
2.467 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
5 out of 14(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My first smartphone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytamigirlrocks
onMay 29, 2014
from Glendale, AZ, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, fits nicely in my pockets
Cons: too much glare to read in the sun
I have absolutely nothing to compare my Samsung Discover phone for the purpose of a review. I have owned and used my phone for about two months. After a mildly frustrating learning period, I got the hang of this type of phone and I am decently happy with it . My phone has not frozen, nor have site load-times been long enough to irritate me. My main gripe is the lack of updated support info on samsung.com. Most of the articles have not been updated for about a year, and some of the information is obsolete. Otherwise, I love my phone. I used a Samsung phone prior to this, and Samsung has not let me down yet.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

product = Excellent

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bycupcake65
onMay 11, 2014
from Tucson, AZ, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
this phone is a excellent phone for a cheap price . love it
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Its not bad

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byanonickmous
onOctober 11, 2013
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, good for smaller hands
Cons: overheat, small battery
On the whole this is not a bad phone. It has access to plenty of apps, is small enough to stuff in a pocket, and has a great display and the sound isn't bad either. There are a few cons though to watch out for:
-Overheats
If you use apps a lot or just keep it on for long enough, it will get hot to the touch. This is covered in other reviews for this phone. If it starts to get uncomfortably hot, turn it off and keep it in a well ventilated area. Overheating will damage this phone.
-Small Battery
Due to the apps it can use, the battery life on this little guy can get sapped fast. As it is a smaller battery anyway, turning off apps you don't plan on using may help. As always with all phones: only charge it when its actually dead. Let it charge fully while the phone is turned off. If you charge it while on or when its not dead yet, battery life will be shortened. The occasional quick charge is fine, but rechargeable batteries will lose life if constantly charged while it has any partial charge left.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByZackV
onAugust 13, 2013
from Fresno, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: can't think of one
got this phone in ups yesterday. It feels good in the hands, pretty good performance(only used on wifi [not in service yet]), and it handles light heavy use good.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

For what I needed at the time it is ok.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byniambi
onJune 19, 2014
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I need an upgrade so I can better use my phone. a very good phone Samsung is a great company.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

CALL QUALITY

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLONGTIMEcricketUSER
onJune 11, 2014
from New Mexico, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, call quality
I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS PHONE FOR A MONTH AND HAVE HAD MORE DROPPED CALLS IN THAT TIME THAN WITH ANY OTHER PHONE.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not my style

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byfrank1855
onMay 20, 2014
from Oak Lawn, IL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations
too cheep made mistake should've spend the money on a better
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs bug fixes

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byluvtheocean
onAugust 10, 2013
from Denver,Co
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: needs bug fixes
I love samsung products so when this SCH-R740C phone came out I bought it. It is a nice phone but it does have a lot of bugs that needs to be fixed for optimal performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Has more bugs than I can count

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByCamish
onJuly 3, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, easy to customize screen
Cons: battery life, freezes, no camera flash
This was my first smartphone, and it is easy to navigate- I'll give it that much at least. But soon after buying it I was informed by a Cricket employee that this phone has more issues than any other phone she'd seen before. After having it less than three months I'm GLAD that Cricket being bought by AT&T means I need to get a new phone. Within a month of buying it the phone would randomly drop all cell signal and wouldn't get it again until I reset it. I did a complete reset on it to fix the issue, and it wouldn't recover half of my contacts from my memory card. It drags like crazy, and now, in the last 24 hours, it randomly freezes on the lock screen and the only way to get it running again is to take the battery completely out (which is a huge pain considering the design of the back panel) and reset it. I've done that three times so far.
Now that that rant is over, calling customer service (for any company) is a pain because getting the number pad to come up while on a call is difficult. And when I did get it to come up so I could select the correct options, getting it to go away again was hard. And the huge hang up button on the screen made it so I accidentally pushed the button with my ear on occasion.
And the battery? I babysit kids who LOVE playing on phones, and within a couple of hours the battery starts beeping. So every time I go over there my phone spends half the day hooked to a charger.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Pretty Terrible

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymswilliams21
onJanuary 19, 2014
from San Antonio, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, constantly freezes
I have had many phones..mostly Androids. I'm not sure if this one is so terrible because it is on the Cricket network or what. But the device is extremely slow all day everyday. It freezes at least every other time I touch it. The phone also just restarts itself automatically. And it freezes to the point where I have to restart it at least 10 times every day. I have nothing good to say except for the Muve Music app is great. But even that freezes at least twice everytime I use it. I will be returning this phone in a couple days as I have 30 days to do so. I have only had this phone for 4 days. I am highly disappointed. I wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a good choice

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byfritzavitz
onJuly 21, 2014
from Maryland
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality
The performance of my Galaxy Discover cell phone is not good. When trying to answer a call swiping the screen does not always work resulting in lost incoming calls. The font size has two settings, Normal and large, but they are both too small. I suggest selecting another phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nothing good about this phone.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByIonikPenguin
onApril 22, 2014
from Kankakee, IL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
Everything about this device is terrible. Performance sucks. Slow, laggy, many applications are not compatible with the device. Loading time for simple applications like mail or messaging can be rediculously slow at times. Keyboard crashes often. Build quality is cheap and not durable whatsoever. Touchscreen is not well calibrated, video playback is very glitchy. Loading web pages takes way too long, even on WiFi. Even when WiFi is disabled, it automatically turns back on and searches for connections. Battery life is terrible, even when barely used. Call quality is average. Speaker is somewhat muffled and quiet. Definitely not a recommended device for even newcomers to smartphones. This device is a disgrace to the entire company.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I despise this phone with a passion.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymynameisbrooke
onMarch 8, 2014
from Pensacola, FL, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes daily (must remove battery)
I NEVER leave a review for things, I usually can't be bothered, however; I loathe this phone so much I was compelled. EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. (at least!), the phone freezes and I have to remove the battery to restart it. At this current moment in time I am trying to make a phone call to my son and it just keeps hanging up after 10 seconds. AHHHH! Also, SWIPE on this phone is horrid! It does not recognize about 2/3 of the words I swipe - and I'm no beginner swiper! I hate using this phone, especially texting, it is such a chore. SO frustrating!! Maybe I have a defective phone, but I would NOT recommend this phone to anyone! Worst cell phone I have ever purchased!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

locks up

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byfusion
onJanuary 23, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
phone locks up and this is the second phone i have had in two months and a third is on the way . i hate this phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Discover™ (Cricket)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Two phones in two months

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGoodGranna
onNovember 10, 2013
from Memphis, TN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: operating systems keeps crashing
In Sep 2013 I traded another brand to get a Samsung phone since it was advertised to be a better brand. Initially my phone worked well. But after one month of ownership my woke one morning to a phone that was dead (the android man was on his back with a caution sign on his chest). I took the phone into the retailer and was told that my operating system had died. Ok problem solved yes . . . NO. So I received a new phone with my same battery in Oct since my Sep purchase died. So what do I wake up to this morning? Another dead android man!!! I have no understanding as to why my phones operating systems continue to crash. Since today is Sunday I will not be able to go into the retailer until Monday, If they are open being it will be Veteran's day (my day). I was more than willing to give this brand a try since it is the latest craze. But I'm thinking of going to another brand after this experience of two dead android men in to months.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.