Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone

Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone

Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
5
7 out of 18(39%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good features with a great price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Walla Walla, WA, USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
My Samsung telephone is everything I need it to be. Although I would like this exact phone to be a flip phone, still it's a great phone. For the money, you won't be disappointed!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung S380C

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I bought this phone to replace a similar phone with a scratched screen. I like the full qwerty keyboard for text messaging but did not want a "smart phone" because I don't like touch screens. It has been reliable with good signal strength and excellent battery life. This phone is one I would buy again if something happens to the one I have. Samsung makes a very good phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2014
from Arizona
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have 3 of these phones and they all have the alerts that people are saying they don't. I think this little phone is the best buy in the market. It takes a while to learn not to swipe a screen but it works perfectly. This makes a GREAT basic phone and it is very easy to use. The keyboard is very small but easier to use than on-screen keyboards!
With the triple minutes the carrier offers you can use the Browser. I also have this phone from another carrier and it works perfectly (AND YES, THE ALERTS WORK ON IT TOO!). I DON'T KNOW WHY OTHER PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM!
If you want an inexpensive phone that works great this is it. The speaker is reasonably load and so it the ringer. It does all you could need for a basic phone!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product was a really good starter phone for me.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from Marion, IL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I liked the features on this phone. Everything was easy to learn and figure out. It was a good price and had a lot to offer. It was one if my first cell phones and it was a good learning phone. It is very reliable and easy to use. Its extremely durable too. It once flew off the roof of my car on the freeway. When I went back and retrieved it it'd been ran over by several cars. I put the battery back in and it came right back on and it had hardly a scratch on it!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This phone does have text alerts my granddaught does it.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2013
from Reidsville, Ga
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
I have been getting text alerts since I had the phone. The phone works great except for a couple of problems that I need to work out. It has not apps to download and getting on the net is easy but to go to a building store to check prices it does not.
But I keep working on it and will get it to work right, still have not figure out to turn on speaker yet.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, slow internet
I have looked at tons of the reviews on this phone and it said that there isn't any text message or voice message alerts, that isn't true at all. I love this phone. Mine is about a year old though and the buttons are trying to go whacky.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

does have text alert

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 22, 2013
from poplar bluff Missouri
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, no users book
Everybody says no text alert I was told @the store people said it had no text alert. GUESS what it does. I only had it a few days and so for so good. I only have 1 problem with it my users book. The book that does come with it does not tell you nothing
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No text message notification.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 10, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no text notifications
This phone would be great if it had a text message notification.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Phone with major problem

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMarch 7, 2013
from western NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no text alert in phone
This phone could be a great phone, but has a major flaw that apparently will not be fixed. It has no alert for text messages and voice mail. Out of the package, the text alert is turned off. Turn it on and still no alert. Have had 2 of these phones and same problem. Check the internet and you realize it isn't a problem with the phone...it's a flaw. It is my understanding that others are being told the phone simply does not have text alerts....this is NOT true. What good is a phone that you have to keep looking at to see if anyone has texted you. I am taking this one back. It is a shame...it could be a great phone...but don't bother with it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

decent cheap phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2013
from Wyoming
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no java, no flash
The Samsung S380C is an ok phone for texting and talking but lacks features for watching videos or doing java games and is not a good choice for a Gamer like myself but has good features for texting with ease and speed.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

One Main Flaw

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 22, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no message alerts
I love the style of this phone and it is very easy to use. The only problem I have with this phone is it has NO incoming text message alerts!!!! If you are someone who receives a lot of text messages and you want a tone to alert you when you receive a text, this phone is NOT FOR YOU! I have been informed that the phone was specifically made this way, although there is no mention anywhere in the specs or on the packaging that there is no text message tone alert capabilities. I would not recommend this phone to anyone because of this major inconvenience.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Decent except for one thing

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2013
from Caribou, ME
I have used this product for:less than a month
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: lack of thought for notifications
I like the concept of this phone. It's easy to use. The only thing that REALLY disappoints me about this phone is that there is no text message notification sound nor does it vibrate for a text. It just seemed asinine to me that it didn't AT LEAST vibrate for a text message. At this point, I will have to stay with this phone until something else becomes available that I can afford. I will likely end up getting something else down the road.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This phone will not notify you of new text messages

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 17, 2013
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: no notification for text messages
I would have rated this phone much higher if it fully worked. I bought one for use with Straight Talk, and used the 'Settings' to assign an audible notification for incoming texts.
Although the phone allows you to select a ringtone for text messages, it does not sound when a new message arrives.
I have searched the web looking for an answer, and it appears many others who own the phone have the same feedback with no solutions shared.
I tried a second S380C to see if it was just my phone, but the second phone shared the same defect.
If there is a software update that resolves this issue, please let me know. Loss of that feature is a HUGE deal and makes this phone close to worthless. :(
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Laughably poorly designed

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 28, 2014
from usa
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: bad viewing angle, crashes often, wastes battery life, ringer does not always work, spuriously calls other people, poorly designed
I have never heard of a feature phone being such a nightmare. Usually they're a little dumb, but, you know, you get used to it. This one however... let me just try to list all the problems with it.
1. The screen is installed sideways. The screen is obviously meant to be installed in a phone in portrait mode, but because they put it in landscape mode for this phone the viewing angle is extremely limited. You know how if you get down low or up high colors look messed up on your computer screen? It's like that on this phone, to the point where both eyes see different things without even moving. I have to turn the phone sideways to use it without a headache.
2. When receiving a call, the ringtone goes off about 20% of the time. Every time I don't hear a ringtone I doublecheck to make sure it's not on vibrate and that I'm crazy.
3. It actually crashes once every few days. Have you ever had a feature phone that crashes? It's just unheard of.
4. When receiving a call, it seems that pressing the "SEND" key to answer the call like on every phone ever made doesn't in fact answer the call - it hangs up on the other person and then immediately calls them back.
5. When a call is missed, the screen perpetually displays the missed call and the number. When you press the button marked "unlock," it unlocks the screen and then immediately calls that number. It is not possible unlock the screen without calling the missed number.
6. There is no backlight poweroff timer. If you press any button on the phone, the screen will be lit up for, no joke, over 2 minutes and there is nothing you can do about it. This means if you keep the phone in your pocket this alone will cause the battery to die once a day as opposed to once a week like other feature phones. There is an option in the settings for "backlight timer", but this just controls the timer for full brightness - when using the phone it is supposed to be in full brightness mode, and then after the backlight timer runs out it switches to low-brightness, and then needs a further 2 minutes to turn completely off. Speaking of which...
7. Screen randomly does not have full brightness. When using the phone, sometimes the screen stays in low-brightness mode like it's idling, even though I'm actively pressing buttons. What this means is that the phone is completely and totally unusable in sunlight, as you can't even tell that the screen is on when it's in low brightness mode in the sun.
8. Random usability quirks that serve to make the phone that much more frustrating. Things like, if you send a text greater than 160 chars it just flat out tells you to stop entering text. It doesn't break up your message into separate texts like other phones. You need to long-press the camera button to open the camera, I've found out - if you just tap it you open the file browser or something. Even the 4 function calculator is badly designed.
The MP3 player is a cool feature and has good sound and actually displays album art if you've got it, but however it crashes the phone after a few songs.
This phone is by far the worst designed phone I have ever used and is completely unusable, which I have come to expect from Samsung now.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Happy

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 23, 2013
from Clover,S.C.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have had this phone for to long. I don't get good reception unless I am outside under a power line or in an open field. it drops calls a lot. and until I read the other reviews I thought those were the reasons I was not getting an alert for test messages or voicemail. and I haven't been able to upload pictures to my computer. Paid to much.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Is this phone a joke?

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 1, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: no text alert, no voice mail alert
Extremely unsatisfied. Why is there a cellular telephone out on the market these days that doesn't support an alert tone for incoming text messages and voice mail?
I thought it was standard for a phone to make a noise/vibrate when you get a text message.
I highly discourage anyone from purchasing this phone if they want it for text messaging.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

message tones

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 20, 2013
from me
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no message alert tone
you get tones for calls,but nothing for messages and the problem is not going to be fixed. In todays world a phone that doesn't alert of messages is 100% useless
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung S380C (Straight Talk) QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

no text alert sound

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 14, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no text sound alert
This phone is a great phone except for 1 down fall i have no text alert sound. samsung needs to get an update avaliable to fix the issue.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.