Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)

Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)

Rating:
2.789 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
19
3 stars
10
2 stars
7
1 star
27
33 out of 72(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pretty cool and reasonable phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2014
from West Glover, Glover, VT 05875, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I upgraded to this phone about a month ago, and am very pleased with it. It's inexpensive, reliable and easy to use. I kind of wish the screen size was a little bigger, but that's no big deal. I love surfing the web with it, the available apps are nice, and it's really user friendly. The video quality is good also. It does everything I need for little cost, so am very happy with it! It's so good I got my uncle one as well.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first Android phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 11, 2014
from Branson, MO, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Like it says, this is my first android phone, and so far, I am liking it quite a bit, especially at the price. Does everything I want or need (and then some). Quite happy with it overall.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Phone !!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 9, 2014
from Tennessee, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, does it all, great for making videos
I did research and talked to many people before buying my phone. I am so glad that I chose the Samsung Centura By Straight Talk!! I have internet any where I want, I have many games for my daughter and I, I can google things quickly when I need to, watch youtube while waiting for my doctor like I did the other day, and I even watch Netflix. We live out in the country so to go to a mall or anything that a city has I can do what I want, and I never lose my signal while talking on the phone or on the internet. I know there are bigger and more expensive phones, but this phone is just as good. I recommend it highly. Thanks Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is easy for me to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2014
from Dixon, MO 65459, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
It has been real easy for me to learn how to use for being a first time user on a smart phone. It explains different things about the features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
7of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Nice small phone that works for what we needed it for
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
8of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only Samsung!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
The Centura is not my first samsung phone. Before this I had a Rugby, and now I currently have an S 3. The overall quality and dependability created by the Masters at Samsung is unparalled. Yes, I have had others phones previously and was dissatisfied. My Samsungs have all taken tumbles and never have had any issues. Not only are these products durable, when its in my hand I truly feel the quality. Now if i could only find a carrier that was as dependable as Samsung, I would be in heaven. I can safely say that I will be a truly dedicated Samsung user well into the future!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Galaxy Centura is a great value.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Rogers, AR, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I have owned my Galaxy Centura for nearly a year. It gets heavy daily use and has never let me down. The voice to text feature is wonderful. Nice size, nice price, GREAT VALUE. I have recommended it to several friends and acquaintances.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow...Awesome for a Starter, 3.5 inch Smartphone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 5, 2013
from Iowa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, well built, fast with android 4
As an owner of a Samsung Tablet, I can say this is every bit as neat in a small package. I wanted a capable, fast, up to date, small screen smartphone without the premium price. This one, with unlimited voice/data from StraightTalk does everything my Tab does but in a small package. Does not have the new search assistant available in the 4G units (this is a fast 3G), but the 3rd party 'Speaktoit' is every bit as good and perhaps friendlier.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
29of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2013
from Hope, Maine, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, it works
Cons: volume and on/off oppose each other not good
The phone works fine, Info is that it works 100% with MyFordTouch and Sync, and I have the TRACFONE , sends and reads TEXT, and uses Sync services.
I do not like the Volume control and the On/Off/Sleep buttons opposing each other, one on left the other on right, you can't push one with out pushing the other, unless you are very careful,
The camera could use more pixels, not the best of photos.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
27of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FIRST ANDROID PHONE AND IT IS AWESOME

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 9, 2013
from Albany, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
My children and husband have all been telling me to upgrade to an android phone but I had never found one that fit my price range until I found this phone! It is perfect! Love the design, love the Google apps and the simplicity of the phone. It is everything I wanted and I recommend this phone to anyone who wants an android phone but doesn't want the high price! I enjoy surfing the net, checking my email and keeping up with all my friends on social networks! Samsung did a great job!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
52of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great All Around

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2013
from Kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone speaks for it self and if you're listening you'll LOVE it... I Do..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-7points
50of 107voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Straight Talk Galaxy Centura by Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 1, 2013
from Nashville, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: none yet!
I've had this phone for approximately one week and have thoroughly enjoyed the smooth form factor and fluid performance of the Ice Cream Sandwich OS. This smartphone is by far superior to the previous Android phones I've used from other carriers. My apps respond to my touch intuitively and I'm grateful to have received plenty of "bang for the buck" with my Centura purchase!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
40of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 17, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no swype keyboard, can be a bit laggy
I was in the market for a smartphone that wouldn't leave me completely broke, and debated back and forth for a bit between this and a different Galaxy. I finally chose this one, and I am quite glad that I did.
Pros:
The touchscreen is very smooth, your finger just sort of glides over it as you use it. You hardly have to put pressure down for it to register. This is great for games and other such things that require quick movements.
The phone is fast. Because of the processor, it does not have as big of a problem with lag like some of the competitors. I once had a phone that took at least five minutes for a webpage to load.
Lots of space! My old phone would have a heart attack if I thought about adding a new app, constantly giving me warnings about low space. The standard memory without a microSD is 2.75 GB. Pretty impressive!
The apps are quite organized, and it's very easy to customize the phone how you like it.
The graphics are amazing! I play a few games and they are brilliant.
Cons:
Mine did not come with a Swype keyboard, but it was really easy to find an App on the play store.
It can get laggy, especially when updates are running, so you may have to turn the phone off every so often to let it calm down.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
48of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Galaxy Centura is a great starter phone!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 11, 2014
from Indiana, USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
This phone is a great starter for anyone that is starting out on smartphones for the 1st time. I had the same one for a few years before I got my Galaxy S3.. My daughter got this phone for her Birthday in May and just got an upgrade to the iPhone 4S so I play on this phone here and there. She did drop it in the Toilet at school one day.. BUT, I have to say, I am still using it and it has no issues. We have always had great experiences with Samsung products and will always buy Samsung brand when possible!! My next upgrade is the Samsung Galaxy S4 OR 5 Active!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not that bad

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2014
from Fostoria, OH 44830, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Works pretty good for what i do with it. No complaints so far
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT FEATURES

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 22, 2014
from Spring, TX, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first smart phone. Did not think I would be able to handle all the bells and whistles since
I am not tech savvy. But this phone has made me step up and am learning several interesting
things. I like the wireless feature the best since can go wherever and also all the different apps
that are easy to find and use. I bought this phone as a gift but decided to keep it when family
member already purchased one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Product is great as intro to Smartphone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 12, 2014
from Portland, ME
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: poor volume level, keeps resetting to battery-saving mode
I have found this phone to be a great introduction to using a SmartPhone and the features not available with a standard cell phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not bad for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 9, 2014
from Oregon, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Overall a great bargan for the money. Most prepay phones aren't this good.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Galaxy Centura Not Quite Out of This World

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2014
from Toccoa, GA, USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: slow processeor, not great photos
As constant companion that does everything from track your run to remind you to call your mama, the Galaxy Centura will work, but not quickly.
This Samsung offers all the features of your average Android phone such as easy access to Android apps, camera phone and of course text messaging and phone calls. It is also a nice size and shape, easily fitting in the back pocket of a women's jeans.
As part of the Straight Talk family, it offers an inexpensive way to be a part of the smart-phone world, but that low price comes with a slower processor so sometimes when using multiple apps, the phone gets confused and freezes.
Additionally, the camera struggles to produce in lower lights (from its low pixels), but outside on a clear day, you can get some fabulous Facebook worthy shots.
So, this is a good example of you get what you pay for. I loved the lower price, but get frustrated when my exercise tracker freezes in the middle of a long run.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is middle of the road

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 5, 2014
from Oregon, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
The cell is a perfect size - not too big, not too small. The graphics are good. Don't really like the way it shows you missed calls or texts - a small icon at top of screen appears when missed calls/texts. If you tap it wrong, the contact or message disappears. I haven't found a way to retrieve an accidentally deleted call log. Would rather prefer a LARGE message appear for missed calls/texts. Selecting contacts to call or text is cumbersome - a list appears of most recently called people, but can't tap their name to call again - not sure what the purpose is of showing the most recently called people if you can't select them to call again. You have to go through 3 steps to find a contact to call.
It's workable though, once you know the steps. And it's a pretty affordable phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2014
from Sugar Land, TX, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, great voice to text
Cons: has card slot but can't find any way to save to it
I had a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim which I really liked but the batteries were not lasting.......so rather than get new batteries, I got the Samsung Galaxy Centura. I have really enjoyed this phone. The voice to text is really nice and actually understands me most of the time. I have found this to be a really great android smartphone with all the features much more expensive smartphones have. My only complaint, and I need to call Samsung or Net 10 about this, is that while the phone has a slot for a memory card, I cannot figure out how to save anything to it. It would be nice to have a rear facing camera also, but that is not a big need for me. I would highly recommend this phone to anyone wanting a quality smartphone for a very reasonable price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2014
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: small screen
The phone does everything I need. The screen is a little small but I like it because I carry it in my shirt pocket.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

easy to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2014
from Florida
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: no cons for me
i like this phone because it is easy to use and has a lot of great features.my favorite is the voice text and navigation.this easy use is important for a 76 year old person.
it has a bunch of good features that i am gradually getting used to.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This phone has lasted longer than any other phone I've had.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Chattanooga
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good size
Cons: Not high def
I really love my Samsung phone. It is tough reliable and small enough to carry anywhere.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great easy to use features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from Galveston, TX, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
The Samsung Galaxy Centura is a great feature loaded phone & is easy to use. Good value for the cost.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

galaxy centra

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: freezing
The phone is wonderful at times. I must say at times because it often freezes an what i mean by that is like a computer wont do anything until you take the battery out of the back other than that the phone runs an works great i love it. i have had 2 of them so far with no problems but that.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great entry level smart phone.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Livonia, MI
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: no flash
Very pleased with this phone. Easy to use, so much so that my wife took it over. Could use a front facing camera and a flash though.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Florida, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Phone comes in small package, but phone works great. Has some of the latest software in it which makes it a mighty little phone. I can watch movies off of and play games with ease. Good phone if you are looking for an awesome phone for little price. Phone locks up every now and then but not often but what phone doesn't. I've seen more expensive phones lock up all the time. The phone with the (i) in the title.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great introduction to smartphones

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 8, 2014
from Marion, IL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This phone has been an amazing device to use for my first smartphone. The display, quality, and weight have been excellent for this very inexpensive phone. The one con I have about this phone is that you are stuck with Android 4.0.4 and you cannot upgrade to 4.1 or 4.2 unless you root the phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Power packed compact phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I have had it about 3 weeks now. I hated it at first. Once I learned Google speak, it went very smoothly. I have called tech support twice. They were prompt,pleasant and helpful. I would give them 5 stars. My ringer turns itself off occasionally and for no reason. There are far more features than one should expect in such a small device. There are also more apps available than anyone could ever need or want. I am very happy with this phone and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a full-featured, reasonably priced phone. I use Trac Fone. Camera is weak.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone for the money, only 1 complaint

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2013
from Raphine, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, easy to use
Cons: sd card issues
I have had this phone for a week and have run out of storage, even though I have a 16gb sd card in it. Apparently Android 4.0.4 has an issue with using SD cards, at least thats what I have been told. Everything stores on internal memory and it goes fast ! Pictures, Videos and apps all on internal memory. Now...all that aside..Great phone. I have purchased 4 Samsung phones in the past few years and all are great and hopefully with a fix this one will be as well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 1, 2013
from Huntsville, AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: small battery
This phone is a great value for the money. Just bought it 2 days ago to replace my Precedent, and I already love it. Has enough internal space to get going with apps, uses a major wireless carrier's towers, and has a 4.0 OS. Just wish it had a bigger battery, maybe in the 2000 mah range.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

CENTURA

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2014
from LaGrange, GA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, not big enough
not very well designed phone. freezes up too much, battery does NOT last long enough at all.
whatever you do, DO NOT DROP IT! it will quit working....
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

it does the job

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2014
from Maine
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
For the money it is okay has all the basic phone features
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not bad but not good

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 29, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, non durable
I have been a user of samsung phones ever since I got the Samsung gusto flip phone and i must say the centura is the worst one out of all of the Samsung phones i have owned my friends and i all have the centura and they constantly freeze up and you to restart them. All of the people i talked to that has this model have the same problem and as far as the design and the features I love itbut other than a constant freezing up I would not recommend this phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Limitations

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2014
from New York State
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: small storage capacity, can't operate apps from sd card
The operating system doesn't allow you to operate apps from the SD Card. So you are limited to the 3 or 4 gigs the phone comes with. The SD Card is good for storing photos or music only
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I Recommend Getting Something Else

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 2, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This phone has been disappointing from the beginning. There is no way to make it so apps install to the storage card, it all automatically goes to the internal storage. The factory web browser barely works, so I try Chrome, which works great but uses up almost all of the memory. There is no way to set music as a ringtone. The battery drains very fast even when no apps running, all sounds off and the screen brightness turned way down. I can not get it to connect to my computer. The USB will charge it, but nothing shows up as an external device so that I can back up photos into my computer. I read on forums to take the battery out for a while then reinsert it, that didn't work. I also read to update the drivers but it looks as if there are no drivers here to download from the Samsung site. The only good things I can say about this phone is that it hasn't dropped a call yet, the interlace is pretty easy, and it was cheap.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

phone does not keep time.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 3, 2014
from Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I've had this phone for 3 weeks and it has changed to the wrong time a number of times, after reading the reviews this is a problem of this model. Also the volume control and the on-off control being opposite you have to be carful or you shut off phone when you adjust volume. This would be a good phone if not for the problems, hope they get a fix for the time problem.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Freezes:/

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 11, 2014
from Sunset,Tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, freezes
The phone worked fine till a week after I got it. Then it started flashing a red box around the edge of the screen. Then that stopped happening then about a month after that it would freeze and close out of my apps about 20 times a day. I would have to take out of the battery and put it back in. The it would be very slow to start back up. i am starting to hate this phone and going back to an iPhone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok if you're looking for a cheap phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2013
from Detroit, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: camera, not enough memory, slow processor
Overall this is a good phone. I had an iPhone 4 before so this phone was a downgrade but the savings on my phone bill make up for it. The camera is not bad for the price but compared to other smart phones it is seriously lacking. No flash and not much zoom. Pictures don't appear too grainy when looking through them but I don't know if they would be print quality like the iPhone. I love the Android software and the features. I think it's way better than Apple. All the pre-loaded apps are awesome, you can do so much with this phone. It does run very slow though, it seems to get bogged down quickly and doesn't have enough RAM to run all the cool programs it comes with. Overall I like this phone better than my iPhone but I wish it had a better camera, faster processor and more internal memory.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

GOOD DEAL just a couple of isues

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 27, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I recently bought this phone, I like the design a lot and I am satisfied in general. There are just a couple of problems I have found so far but I'd like to begin with the Pros: Good features for an inexpensive android, light, good signal, good sound, pretty quick for a 800MHz. Battery life is just Ok.
I would have rated this phone 4 stars except for: NO FRONT CAMERA (I skype a lot), small screen, no photo flash; two quirks that have popped up and the clock "freezes" not giving the correct time.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
29of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Suppose to be an upgrade to the 'PROCLAIM' model..

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2013
from Tallahassee, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, text-to-speech is very poor to use
It has a very nice feel when holding it; but it does a design a bad design flaw! You have to bring down the status bar and chose 'voice-to-text' EACH time you text! This is a pain.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
16of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Crazy Clock

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2014
from Conway SC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, clock changes time for no reason
The clock will randomly change time during the day. I use my cell phone as my alarm clock, and I am afraid I will not make it to work on time because of this problem. I have read several reviews by other customers and it seems to be a universal issue.
I also have an issue with my phone freezing up all the time. I have to turn on and off or pull the battery several times in one day. I have read that this is also a common problem amongst Centura customers.
Is there anything that can be done to correct these problems? What about a recall and issue a phone that will work properly?
I wish I could say that I would recommend this phone, but I wouldn't. My mother is looking for a phone now, and I will not let her waste her money on this one. I have had several Samsung phones before and never had issues like these.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Terrible Phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2014
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I have gotten 3 of these phones and all 3 have done the same exact things. The clock Randomly sets back 5 hours, the sound randomly cuts off, It has no back flash, no front camera, Only 2GB of internal memory so there is no such thing as candy crush AND facebook, All of the apps run slow, the music player will randomly start playing, and the speaker quality is very poor. Besides that the phone is very durable and a good phone for a person who doesn't use their phone much but it is not for me.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

problem child

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 5, 2014
from United States
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
Nice phone but it has problems.
1.time changed to wrong time about 6 hours behind. Turned off auto time zone and turnd back on and it jumped 8 hours in future. Well now runing on manual date time, so far so good.
2. Had couple of random reboots. Dont know why?
3. Was at a concert taking pictures and the phone died. Ithought the battery ran out of charge, but when I plugged it in to the charger it did not do any thing not even a beep signaling it conected to a chager until I tapped it on the table an it came on showing it still had a good charge.
So in conclusion, the phone is a bit freaky. I don't know if a soft ware up date needs to happen or it has a hardware problem, ie badly designed, manufacturing mistakes or quality controls. Either way im stuck with it for about 3 more years.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A lot of problems

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMarch 4, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I've only had this phone for 2 months and I've had nothing but problems with it. The clock will randomly set itself back 5 hours, which is really inconvenient when I use the phone as my alarm clock, and the only way to fix it is shut the phone off and turn it back on. Voice to Text does not work unless you have are logged into wifi (so I can't use it in the car), and it can be a pain to get it to connect to wifi networks, even ones that I have saved. Most of the time I have to go into settings, shut the wifi off, and then turn it back on to get it to connect to a recognized network.
There is no way to save pictures directly to an sd card with this phone, you either have to plug it into your computer and move them manually, or download a different camera app. A lot of the time when I open the camera, or an app with a camera (instagram, etc.) I will get an error message that says the camera can not currently be accessed and I have to exit the app. When the camera does open, the picture quality is not great, and there is no flash or front facing camera.
Sometimes when I power the phone off, it doesn't turn back on/won't do anything/the screen doesn't work, so I have to pull it apart and take the battery out (usually multiple times) until I can get the phone to turn back on. The phone freezes a lot, and I only have a few app's downloaded, no music on the phone, and barely any pictures. It randomly restarts while in my pocket, or when I'm using it. There have been times where the phone will not ring or vibrate when I get a text message (I've had the phone in my hand and looking at the screen when a text came in and it did nothing).
Lastly, this phone seems to have a pretty poor battery life. I charge my phone overnight, and if I unplug it at 9am, my phone is usually completely dead by 6pm, and I don't use it a lot during the day.
Maybe I just had a bad experience/got a bad phone, or I expect a lot out of a phone, but I definitely would not recommend this to a friend.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 30, 2014
from San Francisco Bay Area
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, slow processor, not enough ram/memory
This was my first smartphone. I bought cheap in July 2013. Obviously very old and outdated technology. Realized I wanted needed something better almost immediately. Phone just doesn't have enough RAM or processing power/speed to run multiple apps, and many apps just plain won't work on this phone. No autofocus on camera, which is not very good in general.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Time and SD Card Issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 17, 2013
from Palmdale CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I have mixed feelings about this phone. I bought this phone to replace an existing phone that was beginning to loss some of its features (also a Samsung, but about five years old), mainly the alarm, which I use on a regular basis. This phone will not keep consistent time, no matter what settings I use, which makes the alarm feature useless. I would love to download a "FiX' for this but cannot even email Samsung a question as it is not listed in the product section of the email. You can not continue the email without this info. Secondly, I cannot access music on my SDcard, nor can I elect to save music or pix to the card from the phone. Also, needs a "Fix." If I cannot solve these problems. it will be going back.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Function and layout inconvenient

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 18, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
To start off I will say that I like the widgets on the home screen and the folder options. I have dropped it a few times and even though the outside is a little soft and scuffed the screen still has not cracked. Other than that my experience with this phone has been overall unpleasant.The predictive text does not help at all by not putting in words for you and is very bad at the actual predicting part. The text box at the bottom of the screen is very small and hard to scroll. Sometimes while horizontal texting the words you are texting are covered by other things on the screen and you cannot see what you're typing. Also the send button is in a really bad place. The phone is slow and freezes a lot, the screen will go black or white all the time, even if I just unlock my phone. I have had this phone for three weeks and this has done this since I have bought it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2014
from Birmingham, AL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no face camera
This was my 1st smartphone purchase. I bought it based on reviews from other first time smartphone users. I've had it less than a year. Four months after purchasing it, I had to return it to Straight Talk for another phone. This phone continuously freezes up, takes several minutes to try to make a call. If I needed to call 911 swiftly, I wouldn't be able to do it. Programs freeze up or don't respond 85% of the time. I've reset it several times and it does not work like it should. I bought the same phone for someone else and they haven't had the trouble I have had. I would not recommend it. I'm in the process of looking for a different phone. I do like Samsung products but not this phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

MY first smartphone is a disapointment

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 31, 2014
from Luzerne, MI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not enough control of content size for my sight
I've read the problems others have had with the Samsung Galaxy Centura phone and I can concurre that I've to some degree shared all of these problems plus some more. I have poor eyesight so some of the common uses of a smartphone are difficult for me to utilitate. The tiny icons on the home page are a joke. To do a quick check for missed calls, message alerts or voicemale is more complicated than any other phone I've used previously. When I set the alarm, if I do not shut it off immediately, I have to shut the whole phone off. There is just enough small things wrong with this phone to make it one I could never refer to a friend. I think I will be replacing it about Christmas time back to a useful phone with out the ability for web accounts. I've got many laptops and tablets to access those accounts and want a simple phone again.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not buy

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2014
from Chicago, IL, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, constant lock ups, no front camera/no skype with video
Constant locks up, freezes at least 6 times a day requiring hard resets and battery pulls. Absolutely underpowered for normal smart phone use.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Freezes all the time

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, freezes
This phone freezes at least 4 times a day. When frozen you miss calls, alarms, and texts. You have to remove the battery. Clearing the cache doesn't help. I don't think this phone is worth the space it takes.
My last phone was a samsung and I loved it for years. I had to replace it after I dropped it in a port-a-potty. I wish I had just reach in after having this phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung wanted a review

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2014
from Chicago
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, the clock is constantly wrong.
Well, Samsung e-mailed me asking for a review of my cell phone, so here it is. This is the first ever Samsung product I've ever purchased. I got it through StraightTalk Wireless from Wal-Mart. It comes with a manufacturers bug where the clock will randomly freeze/be inaccurate during the night (caused me to miss numerous alarms). When I called to ask what was up, they sent me to StraightTalk for support, who then sent me to Samsungs support. Long story short, someone from Samsung connected me to a tech helpline I'm guessing that was through StraightTalk and they had to update something in my phone. While the clock still freezes or sets itself to some random time, it happens less frequent which I suppose is alright.
Other than that, my phone constantly freezes where I'll have to pull the battery out and let it reboot, it hardly launches apps, and well it's just.. not that great of a phone.
Pros:
I can call and text from it.
It sometimes lets me browse the internet
.....I have a phone? That counts, right?
Not saying anything negative about Samsung because from what I've heard their products are top of the line, this particular phone is not, however. If you can afford to pay for the Galaxy, do it. If not, don't settle for this. You will be disappointed (and most likely late on several occasions)
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't like this phone.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 25, 2014
from Chapel Hill, TN 37034, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I have had this phone for a little bit cause I don't remember how long but I am tried of always updating it plus my battery won't stay charged. I have emailed straight talk but they won't reply. I don't have the money to get a new one, I would not recommend anyone getting this phone. Cause of all the problems I am having with it.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't waste your money!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 23, 2014
from Hampton, VA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This is the WORST phone I have ever owned! It continually freezes up on me and I have to take it apart( no easy task ) and take the battery out. Then put it back in and let it reboot itself. I have since seen that other people have had this issue. I also can not turn off notifications for specific things. It's all or nothing: turn off notifications for email and it turns off ALL notifications. There is no choosing what you wish to get notified of. The touch screen is not very sensitive. I find myself tapping it quite hard to get it to respond!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Thanks for the constant freezing!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 11, 2014
from Hot Springs, AR, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, constant freezing, slow to reboot after a freeze up, camera could use a flash
At first, I loved my phone. My phone is a Net10 version, Model # SCH-S738C, and I don't have Ice Cream Shop or Sandwich, or whatever it is.... but anyhow....
I went out and bought a case for it to protect it, and finally got it loaded down with contacts. While I'm very familiar with computers, this is my first smart phone and, like I said, at FIRST, it was great. Then, it started freezing up.... Only occasionally at first, then more and more frequently. I cannot seem to find a fix for this issue anywhere!! I was going to do a factory reset, thinking I had done something wrong, but by coming here, I can see both of my main issues are very common.....
The clock changes time at random, causing me to oversleep since I've used a phone for many years as my alarm clock. Thanks so much for that, by the way!! Pffft!
I was SO looking forward to moving into the 'smartphone' world.... Now I'm starting to think I was better off with my old phone that was JUST a phone, and I should leave my computer on my desk.
SOME SORT OF FIX has to be available... surely, there's something that can be done about this!!
So disappointed.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor quality - NOT what I expected from Samsung!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 6, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, clock issues, app issues
I just got the phone yesterday. Within 10 minutes of having the phone the screen had already locked up and I had to remove the battery to get it to re-set. I bought this phone as an upgrade from a non-smart phone so I could use 3 different apps. Well, 2 out of the 3 apps will not work on this phone, even though they meet the android 4.0 requirement. The clock has also changed itself to be several hours off of the current time and I had to re-start it to get it to work properly. I use the phone as an alarm clock so this is a major issue. I'm really disappointed in this Samsung product!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy this phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2014
from New Castle, VA 24127, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
It worked fine for a few months but is soon stopped. Now it locks up constintly and the time changes itself frequently. Also, my GPS is always wrong. It says I am in a different county from where I live when I am at home.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.