Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)

Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)

Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
12 out of 27(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

every time I call and put the phone by my face, it beeps

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bysuzieq2010
onMarch 21, 2014
from western washington
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: beeps when up to my ear
I have to use it on speaker.
I wouldn't buy this again.
It works ok for everything else, but I need a phone to work correctly.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Volume

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bylovebug15
onMarch 11, 2014
from Ohio, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I bought this phone a week ago, and the volume is messed up. I cant use the speaker phone at all. I wouldn't even give this phone to a four year old as a play toy. that is how bad it is.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Stay Away!!!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymustang17gt
onJanuary 21, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, clock, wifi
I got this smart phone because of its good price. Turns out its really bad. Biggest problem is the clock, it changes the time on its own almost every day at random times,any part of the day.The phone freezes ALL the time, even when im not trying to run an app(i.e. turning the WIFI on almost always will make the phone freeze) I would take your money else where. If you look around you will see that i am not the only one with these issues,(i.e. go to other sites) in fact it seems to be a recurring theme here. On another note, I have more issues than stated.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

These phones never last more than 6 mos.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byhs71
onJanuary 17, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Slow, screen freezes, time is wrong, internet crashes all the time
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByLizF7689
onDecember 16, 2013
from Corry, Pa
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, phone freezes, poor camera, inconsistent time, poor display, sound quality
I wanted to switch to straight talk thought this would be a great phone, I was desperately wrong. The phone freezes, super slow, time is inconsistent so makes impossible to use alarm which I need on a daily basis, can't save anything to my sd card, camera takes lousy pictures, echos when conversing to others, very disappointed in this phone. Hopefully, I will be upgrading to a better phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't keep time or use the SD card for apps.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByALMedic
onOctober 27, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This phone will not keep the correct time regardless of settings. The version of Android it uses will not let you move apps to the SD card, so my 32gb card is useless. I know it's an Android issue because I recently bought an Asus tablet that came with the same Android version and it would not allow me to move apps. The tablet had a software update and now allows me to move apps to the SD card. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Again

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByHuewai
onAugust 1, 2013
from Tampa, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I purchased this phone 3 weeks ago. I have hated it since day one. It is now over heating on any call lasting more than 15 minutes and dropping the call.
I have replaced the battery twice now, this last time I cannot get the phone to turn back on.
I will be ordering a new one SOON!! like already done.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor choice

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymill338
onMay 21, 2013
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
let me start by saying most of the samsung products are very good but i do not like this one my old phone seemed to have a lot more features this does not have talk to text and the phone is to sensitive and to hard to be easlly used. am going to try to take this thing back wish me luck
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
12of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A lot of problems

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byls1234
onMarch 4, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I've only had this phone for 2 months and I've had nothing but problems with it. The clock will randomly set itself back 5 hours, which is really inconvenient when I use the phone as my alarm clock, and the only way to fix it is shut the phone off and turn it back on. Voice to Text does not work unless you have are logged into wifi (so I can't use it in the car), and it can be a pain to get it to connect to wifi networks, even ones that I have saved. Most of the time I have to go into settings, shut the wifi off, and then turn it back on to get it to connect to a recognized network.
There is no way to save pictures directly to an sd card with this phone, you either have to plug it into your computer and move them manually, or download a different camera app. A lot of the time when I open the camera, or an app with a camera (instagram, etc.) I will get an error message that says the camera can not currently be accessed and I have to exit the app. When the camera does open, the picture quality is not great, and there is no flash or front facing camera.
Sometimes when I power the phone off, it doesn't turn back on/won't do anything/the screen doesn't work, so I have to pull it apart and take the battery out (usually multiple times) until I can get the phone to turn back on. The phone freezes a lot, and I only have a few app's downloaded, no music on the phone, and barely any pictures. It randomly restarts while in my pocket, or when I'm using it. There have been times where the phone will not ring or vibrate when I get a text message (I've had the phone in my hand and looking at the screen when a text came in and it did nothing).
Lastly, this phone seems to have a pretty poor battery life. I charge my phone overnight, and if I unplug it at 9am, my phone is usually completely dead by 6pm, and I don't use it a lot during the day.
Maybe I just had a bad experience/got a bad phone, or I expect a lot out of a phone, but I definitely would not recommend this to a friend.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByCauchemar
onJanuary 30, 2014
from San Francisco Bay Area
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, slow processor, not enough ram/memory
This was my first smartphone. I bought cheap in July 2013. Obviously very old and outdated technology. Realized I wanted needed something better almost immediately. Phone just doesn't have enough RAM or processing power/speed to run multiple apps, and many apps just plain won't work on this phone. No autofocus on camera, which is not very good in general.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Time and SD Card Issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfromthedesert
onNovember 17, 2013
from Palmdale CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I have mixed feelings about this phone. I bought this phone to replace an existing phone that was beginning to loss some of its features (also a Samsung, but about five years old), mainly the alarm, which I use on a regular basis. This phone will not keep consistent time, no matter what settings I use, which makes the alarm feature useless. I would love to download a "FiX' for this but cannot even email Samsung a question as it is not listed in the product section of the email. You can not continue the email without this info. Secondly, I cannot access music on my SDcard, nor can I elect to save music or pix to the card from the phone. Also, needs a "Fix." If I cannot solve these problems. it will be going back.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Function and layout inconvenient

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByNikkie06
onJuly 18, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
To start off I will say that I like the widgets on the home screen and the folder options. I have dropped it a few times and even though the outside is a little soft and scuffed the screen still has not cracked. Other than that my experience with this phone has been overall unpleasant.The predictive text does not help at all by not putting in words for you and is very bad at the actual predicting part. The text box at the bottom of the screen is very small and hard to scroll. Sometimes while horizontal texting the words you are texting are covered by other things on the screen and you cannot see what you're typing. Also the send button is in a really bad place. The phone is slow and freezes a lot, the screen will go black or white all the time, even if I just unlock my phone. I have had this phone for three weeks and this has done this since I have bought it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I Recommend Getting Something Else

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByMollydear13
onApril 2, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This phone has been disappointing from the beginning. There is no way to make it so apps install to the storage card, it all automatically goes to the internal storage. The factory web browser barely works, so I try Chrome, which works great but uses up almost all of the memory. There is no way to set music as a ringtone. The battery drains very fast even when no apps running, all sounds off and the screen brightness turned way down. I can not get it to connect to my computer. The USB will charge it, but nothing shows up as an external device so that I can back up photos into my computer. I read on forums to take the battery out for a while then reinsert it, that didn't work. I also read to update the drivers but it looks as if there are no drivers here to download from the Samsung site. The only good things I can say about this phone is that it hasn't dropped a call yet, the interlace is pretty easy, and it was cheap.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

phone does not keep time.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByNormjim
onFebruary 3, 2014
from Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I've had this phone for 3 weeks and it has changed to the wrong time a number of times, after reading the reviews this is a problem of this model. Also the volume control and the on-off control being opposite you have to be carful or you shut off phone when you adjust volume. This would be a good phone if not for the problems, hope they get a fix for the time problem.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Freezes:/

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byvolleyball02
onJanuary 11, 2014
from Sunset,Tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, freezes
The phone worked fine till a week after I got it. Then it started flashing a red box around the edge of the screen. Then that stopped happening then about a month after that it would freeze and close out of my apps about 20 times a day. I would have to take out of the battery and put it back in. The it would be very slow to start back up. i am starting to hate this phone and going back to an iPhone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok if you're looking for a cheap phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBusyMaMa3
onJuly 16, 2013
from Detroit, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: camera, not enough memory, slow processor
Overall this is a good phone. I had an iPhone 4 before so this phone was a downgrade but the savings on my phone bill make up for it. The camera is not bad for the price but compared to other smart phones it is seriously lacking. No flash and not much zoom. Pictures don't appear too grainy when looking through them but I don't know if they would be print quality like the iPhone. I love the Android software and the features. I think it's way better than Apple. All the pre-loaded apps are awesome, you can do so much with this phone. It does run very slow though, it seems to get bogged down quickly and doesn't have enough RAM to run all the cool programs it comes with. Overall I like this phone better than my iPhone but I wish it had a better camera, faster processor and more internal memory.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
18of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

GOOD DEAL just a couple of isues

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byalux
onMay 27, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I recently bought this phone, I like the design a lot and I am satisfied in general. There are just a couple of problems I have found so far but I'd like to begin with the Pros: Good features for an inexpensive android, light, good signal, good sound, pretty quick for a 800MHz. Battery life is just Ok.
I would have rated this phone 4 stars except for: NO FRONT CAMERA (I skype a lot), small screen, no photo flash; two quirks that have popped up and the clock "freezes" not giving the correct time.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
24of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Suppose to be an upgrade to the 'PROCLAIM' model..

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTheBigV
onMay 21, 2013
from Tallahassee, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, text-to-speech is very poor to use
It has a very nice feel when holding it; but it does a design a bad design flaw! You have to bring down the status bar and chose 'voice-to-text' EACH time you text! This is a pain.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
16of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great introduction to smartphones

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJonathanTJ
onMarch 8, 2014
from Marion, IL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This phone has been an amazing device to use for my first smartphone. The display, quality, and weight have been excellent for this very inexpensive phone. The one con I have about this phone is that you are stuck with Android 4.0.4 and you cannot upgrade to 4.1 or 4.2 unless you root the phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Power packed compact phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byoldualer
onJanuary 3, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I have had it about 3 weeks now. I hated it at first. Once I learned Google speak, it went very smoothly. I have called tech support twice. They were prompt,pleasant and helpful. I would give them 5 stars. My ringer turns itself off occasionally and for no reason. There are far more features than one should expect in such a small device. There are also more apps available than anyone could ever need or want. I am very happy with this phone and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a full-featured, reasonably priced phone. I use Trac Fone. Camera is weak.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone for the money, only 1 complaint

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysgevansjr
onJuly 8, 2013
from Raphine, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, easy to use
Cons: sd card issues
I have had this phone for a week and have run out of storage, even though I have a 16gb sd card in it. Apparently Android 4.0.4 has an issue with using SD cards, at least thats what I have been told. Everything stores on internal memory and it goes fast ! Pictures, Videos and apps all on internal memory. Now...all that aside..Great phone. I have purchased 4 Samsung phones in the past few years and all are great and hopefully with a fix this one will be as well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+24points
27of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJetreader
onJuly 1, 2013
from Huntsville, AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: small battery
This phone is a great value for the money. Just bought it 2 days ago to replace my Precedent, and I already love it. Has enough internal space to get going with apps, uses a major wireless carrier's towers, and has a 4.0 OS. Just wish it had a bigger battery, maybe in the 2000 mah range.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow...Awesome for a Starter, 3.5 inch Smartphone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTechGuyinMidwest
onNovember 5, 2013
from Iowa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, well built, fast with android 4
As an owner of a Samsung Tablet, I can say this is every bit as neat in a small package. I wanted a capable, fast, up to date, small screen smartphone without the premium price. This one, with unlimited voice/data from StraightTalk does everything my Tab does but in a small package. Does not have the new search assistant available in the 4G units (this is a fast 3G), but the 3rd party 'Speaktoit' is every bit as good and perhaps friendlier.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
22of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySamyodle
onOctober 28, 2013
from Hope, Maine, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, it works
Cons: volume and on/off oppose each other not good
The phone works fine, Info is that it works 100% with MyFordTouch and Sync, and I have the TRACFONE , sends and reads TEXT, and uses Sync services.
I do not like the Volume control and the On/Off/Sleep buttons opposing each other, one on left the other on right, you can't push one with out pushing the other, unless you are very careful,
The camera could use more pixels, not the best of photos.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
21of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FIRST ANDROID PHONE AND IT IS AWESOME

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMommaLisa
onSeptember 9, 2013
from Albany, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
My children and husband have all been telling me to upgrade to an android phone but I had never found one that fit my price range until I found this phone! It is perfect! Love the design, love the Google apps and the simplicity of the phone. It is everything I wanted and I recommend this phone to anyone who wants an android phone but doesn't want the high price! I enjoy surfing the net, checking my email and keeping up with all my friends on social networks! Samsung did a great job!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+37points
45of 53voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great All Around

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPapawrsf
onJune 23, 2013
from Kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone speaks for it self and if you're listening you'll LOVE it... I Do..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
45of 94voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Straight Talk Galaxy Centura by Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGoRoGo
onJune 1, 2013
from Nashville, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: none yet!
I've had this phone for approximately one week and have thoroughly enjoyed the smooth form factor and fluid performance of the Ice Cream Sandwich OS. This smartphone is by far superior to the previous Android phones I've used from other carriers. My apps respond to my touch intuitively and I'm grateful to have received plenty of "bang for the buck" with my Centura purchase!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+34points
37of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 17, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no swype keyboard, can be a bit laggy
I was in the market for a smartphone that wouldn't leave me completely broke, and debated back and forth for a bit between this and a different Galaxy. I finally chose this one, and I am quite glad that I did.
Pros:
The touchscreen is very smooth, your finger just sort of glides over it as you use it. You hardly have to put pressure down for it to register. This is great for games and other such things that require quick movements.
The phone is fast. Because of the processor, it does not have as big of a problem with lag like some of the competitors. I once had a phone that took at least five minutes for a webpage to load.
Lots of space! My old phone would have a heart attack if I thought about adding a new app, constantly giving me warnings about low space. The standard memory without a microSD is 2.75 GB. Pretty impressive!
The apps are quite organized, and it's very easy to customize the phone how you like it.
The graphics are amazing! I play a few games and they are brilliant.
Cons:
Mine did not come with a Swype keyboard, but it was really easy to find an App on the play store.
It can get laggy, especially when updates are running, so you may have to turn the phone off every so often to let it calm down.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
44of 57voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.