Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TracFone
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)

Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)

Rating:
2.78 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
18
22 out of 48(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy this phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2014
from New Castle, VA 24127, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
It worked fine for a few months but is soon stopped. Now it locks up constintly and the time changes itself frequently. Also, my GPS is always wrong. It says I am in a different county from where I live when I am at home.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is easy for me to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2014
from Dixon, MO 65459, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
It has been real easy for me to learn how to use for being a first time user on a smart phone. It explains different things about the features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

problem child

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 5, 2014
from United States
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality
Nice phone but it has problems.
1.time changed to wrong time about 6 hours behind. Turned off auto time zone and turnd back on and it jumped 8 hours in future. Well now runing on manual date time, so far so good.
2. Had couple of random reboots. Dont know why?
3. Was at a concert taking pictures and the phone died. Ithought the battery ran out of charge, but when I plugged it in to the charger it did not do any thing not even a beep signaling it conected to a chager until I tapped it on the table an it came on showing it still had a good charge.
So in conclusion, the phone is a bit freaky. I don't know if a soft ware up date needs to happen or it has a hardware problem, ie badly designed, manufacturing mistakes or quality controls. Either way im stuck with it for about 3 more years.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Temperamental and not worth it.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 2, 2014
from New England
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, overheats randomly, freezes constantly, doesn't ring, battery life is abysmal, runs slowly, clock does not keep time, gps doesn't track correctly
I got this phone because of the price. More specifically, my mom told me to get this because of the price.
It's cheap for a reason, people.
It's temperamental, the battery life is horrendous - 5 hours max when I'm at work - it refuses to acknowledge most chargers, it randomly freezes and shuts off, it doesn't launch apps, it overheats (even when you don't use it), it drops calls and/or doesn't ring, the vibration feature is not very strong, it runs slowly, the clock randomly changes hours, the phone thinks I'm about 150 miles away from where I actually am...it's really far more trouble than it's worth.
This was my first Samsung phone...and I'm not sure I want another one.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Honest Review

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 20, 2014
from KS
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, the outside of the phone seems durable
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor quality in the phone not the exterior.
I am not here to rant and rave about how horrible this phone is but I wanted to write an honest review from my experiences with this phone.
At first I loved the phone because I was coming from a bad non-smart phone. However, after a week the problems started. Here is the list of issues I have been experiencing with this phone:
1. Most annoying, pretty much every call I make my phone will be welcomed with a reset. People who I talk to frequently expect a hang up from me at least once during our conversation. It will literally restart itself mid phone call.
2. The clock is useless. This is a problem that this model is prone to. Read blog's and reviews, it happens to almost every Samsung galaxy centura phone. This is an issue that should cause Samsung to recall the phone to fix it. The phone will go back 6 hours randomly for no reason at all. This makes it useless for those who use their cell phone as their alarm clock. Don't rely on it or you may be late for work! For a while I would have to reset the entire phone to get the right time back, until I researched it and found how common the issue is and found that you have to go into settings under the time settings and unclick and reclick the two settings then it will get you the right time. It once happened to me 6 times in one day!! Very annoying.
3. The apps crash all the time upon opening. It does not matter how many times I erase and reinstall the app. I have tried clearing its settings as it had been recommended and this did nothing.
4. Ringtones. I have songs assigned to certain people and randomly it will play someone else's song and not the assigned song when I get a call.
5. Sometimes YouTube videos will not play. Restarting the phone helps.
6. The keyboard slows down horribly when typing longer things, like now. I am having to keep typing even though the keyboard is not keeping up with me.
7. Pictures that people send me do not always download so I miss out on a lot of pictures. And on the reverse side, my photos do not always send.
8. Speaking of sending... videos cannot be longer than like 3 seconds or you cannot send it. I had a 5 second video and it said it was too big to send. Ridiculous!
9. This might just be an android thing, correct me if I am wrong. With my old phone I was able to send out a mass text (let's say a pic of my kids) to all my family and choose if I wanted to send it as a group text or have the text go out individually to each person. However, I cannot do that with this phone, or I haven't figured out how to.
10. The most resent problem. I set up a new gmail account when I first started this phone. So the gmail is the one that is set to my gmail app that comes with the phone. Now every time I go to refresh my email, the app crashes. I can't erase and reinstall either. I have reported this problem several times and nothing has been done.
All-in-all this phone might work for a high school student... maybe. I wish I could say I just have a defective phone, but do the research and talk to others with the phone who have had it for a while...they are all very common problems :( I have learned to deal with all these problems for 7 months now and now it's time to stop being patient. I am in the process of looking for a new phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

easy to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2014
from Florida
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: no cons for me
i like this phone because it is easy to use and has a lot of great features.my favorite is the voice text and navigation.this easy use is important for a 76 year old person.
it has a bunch of good features that i am gradually getting used to.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This phone has lasted longer than any other phone I've had.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Chattanooga
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good size
Cons: Not high def
I really love my Samsung phone. It is tough reliable and small enough to carry anywhere.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wish I would've got a different phone.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2014
from Herod, IL 62947, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, actual phone use is terrible
I was pleased with the phone at first, but then glitches started happening more and more. The phone will make calls to other phones when I'm nowhere near it. The clock will go back five hours all by itself. The phone itself will not use my home as it's home, the town it says it is in is a couple hours away. Apps will stop at will, I have used Samsung products in the past, and I love them. This phone has a lot of problems, to the point I may not buy another Samsung phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2014
from Grand Rapids, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality
I got the Centura as a replacement for my Proclaim (which I loved). This is the second Centura replacement I've had in one month and now Straight talk says they'll send me a third one because I keep having the same problems.
The worst problem is that it randomly slips time by five hours throughout the day. When it happens while I'm texting, the texts get stacked in the wrong order but when the time is corrected (by turning the phone off and on), the text order stays screwed up.
It also freezes, requiring battery removal to unfreeze, kicks me offline, shuts down by itself and is sloooowwwer than SLOW!! I use a lot of data time just waiting for the phone - often having to touch the screen to keep it "awake" while it loads.
The design is terrible because of the fact the power and volume buttons are right across from each other and I'm frequently locking my phone in error because the button is right where my hand naturally rests.
There is no memo to use!
The keyboard makes me want to throw the thing - curser skips all over when you are trying to place it in a spot to edit. Getting it to the right place is SUPER frustrating. The voice to text function does not work well at all, often missing words entirely, misspelling them and even duplicating them.
I am using the Centura in the same location as I used the Proclaim and I never had these issues with the Proclaim, so location isn't the reason the Centura is so slow.
I hate this phone. I now also have to carry around an old phone I got several years ago so I can be sure to have the right time and an alarm I can depend on.
This is insane! How on earth did the Centura ever pass quality control and be allowed to be produced and sold??!!
Why did you stop making the Proclaims??!! The Proclaim was a far superior phone.
I can't afford to buy another phone!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wonderful if you want a problem phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 27, 2014
from Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: none
Cons: junk
This phone is a piece of junk. It drops calls constantly. Bad reception, Won't charge, Not responsive to touch command.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
Nice small phone that works for what we needed it for
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great easy to use features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from Galveston, TX, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
The Samsung Galaxy Centura is a great feature loaded phone & is easy to use. Good value for the cost.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

galaxy centra

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: freezing
The phone is wonderful at times. I must say at times because it often freezes an what i mean by that is like a computer wont do anything until you take the battery out of the back other than that the phone runs an works great i love it. i have had 2 of them so far with no problems but that.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only Samsung!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
The Centura is not my first samsung phone. Before this I had a Rugby, and now I currently have an S 3. The overall quality and dependability created by the Masters at Samsung is unparalled. Yes, I have had others phones previously and was dissatisfied. My Samsungs have all taken tumbles and never have had any issues. Not only are these products durable, when its in my hand I truly feel the quality. Now if i could only find a carrier that was as dependable as Samsung, I would be in heaven. I can safely say that I will be a truly dedicated Samsung user well into the future!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NO great anything about this phone...

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Belleville, MI 48111, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
Had this phone for a total of 4 months!!! HATED every SINGLE. Minute of it..... It had to be charged almost every 7 hours. It was dead more than working. Everyday I had to fix the time zone on it, so it made using my calendar almost IMPOSSIBLE. BUT with that being said I DID buy another Samsung, but a Galaxy 4, I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! Now this was the best purchase I've made in quite awhile, it's easy to use and is just a great phone!! So my advice spend alittle more and DO NOT buy the Centura!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great entry level smart phone.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Livonia, MI
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: no flash
Very pleased with this phone. Easy to use, so much so that my wife took it over. Could use a front facing camera and a flash though.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Florida, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Phone comes in small package, but phone works great. Has some of the latest software in it which makes it a mighty little phone. I can watch movies off of and play games with ease. Good phone if you are looking for an awesome phone for little price. Phone locks up every now and then but not often but what phone doesn't. I've seen more expensive phones lock up all the time. The phone with the (i) in the title.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Galaxy Centura is a great value.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Rogers, AR, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I have owned my Galaxy Centura for nearly a year. It gets heavy daily use and has never let me down. The voice to text feature is wonderful. Nice size, nice price, GREAT VALUE. I have recommended it to several friends and acquaintances.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Total Junk

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 15, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, locks up
This phone has lots of problems. #1: it freezes a lot. Ive had to reboot mine as many as 3 times an hour. #2: The speaker quits working. Im on my second one in 2 months. #3:It wont keep time. This one seems to be 5 hours off at various times. It makes the clock and alarm virtually useless. #4: Its slow. real slow. It takes forever to do anything. Sometimes 15 minutes to make a call. #5: Not a lot of memory. Theres 2.75 gb internal storage. and an external sd slot. But you cant store any apps on the sd card, just pictures, music, and such. This phone doesnt like it it when it gets less than 1.0gb free on the internal sd card. Im sure theres other things that im forgetting right now too, but I will give this phone credit. It seems like it can take a hit. Ive thrown it several times, slammed it against things and it still works. As well as it did when new anyway. If you need a phone you can rely on, dont get this one.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Slow, wont load, texts never arrive.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2014
from Burbank, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, slow, missing text messages, pages wont load, unresponsive
I used to trust Samsung phones, and enjoyed using earlier models offered via StraightTalk, but the Galaxy Centura has been such a waste of my money :(
Slow, sluggish, and at times-- completely unresponsive. I spent 20 minutes trying to load a simple Wikipedia page on the browser. I wish I could have gotten my money back.
Worst part about this phone is the trouble I have getting texts. Many never arrive to my phone, and far too many never actually send from the phone. I'm going to switch brands.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Centura falls way below the mark

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 10, 2014
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations, terrible
This phone is terrible. Some times it shuts down on its on. Half the time it won't answer phone calls. The alarm won't shut off... I think this is the worse cell phone I've ever owned.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Limitations

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2014
from New York State
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: small storage capacity, can't operate apps from sd card
The operating system doesn't allow you to operate apps from the SD Card. So you are limited to the 3 or 4 gigs the phone comes with. The SD Card is good for storing photos or music only
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I Recommend Getting Something Else

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 2, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This phone has been disappointing from the beginning. There is no way to make it so apps install to the storage card, it all automatically goes to the internal storage. The factory web browser barely works, so I try Chrome, which works great but uses up almost all of the memory. There is no way to set music as a ringtone. The battery drains very fast even when no apps running, all sounds off and the screen brightness turned way down. I can not get it to connect to my computer. The USB will charge it, but nothing shows up as an external device so that I can back up photos into my computer. I read on forums to take the battery out for a while then reinsert it, that didn't work. I also read to update the drivers but it looks as if there are no drivers here to download from the Samsung site. The only good things I can say about this phone is that it hasn't dropped a call yet, the interlace is pretty easy, and it was cheap.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

every time I call and put the phone by my face, it beeps

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMarch 21, 2014
from western washington
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: beeps when up to my ear
I have to use it on speaker.
I wouldn't buy this again.
It works ok for everything else, but I need a phone to work correctly.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Volume

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 11, 2014
from Ohio, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I bought this phone a week ago, and the volume is messed up. I cant use the speaker phone at all. I wouldn't even give this phone to a four year old as a play toy. that is how bad it is.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great introduction to smartphones

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 8, 2014
from Marion, IL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This phone has been an amazing device to use for my first smartphone. The display, quality, and weight have been excellent for this very inexpensive phone. The one con I have about this phone is that you are stuck with Android 4.0.4 and you cannot upgrade to 4.1 or 4.2 unless you root the phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A lot of problems

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMarch 4, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I've only had this phone for 2 months and I've had nothing but problems with it. The clock will randomly set itself back 5 hours, which is really inconvenient when I use the phone as my alarm clock, and the only way to fix it is shut the phone off and turn it back on. Voice to Text does not work unless you have are logged into wifi (so I can't use it in the car), and it can be a pain to get it to connect to wifi networks, even ones that I have saved. Most of the time I have to go into settings, shut the wifi off, and then turn it back on to get it to connect to a recognized network.
There is no way to save pictures directly to an sd card with this phone, you either have to plug it into your computer and move them manually, or download a different camera app. A lot of the time when I open the camera, or an app with a camera (instagram, etc.) I will get an error message that says the camera can not currently be accessed and I have to exit the app. When the camera does open, the picture quality is not great, and there is no flash or front facing camera.
Sometimes when I power the phone off, it doesn't turn back on/won't do anything/the screen doesn't work, so I have to pull it apart and take the battery out (usually multiple times) until I can get the phone to turn back on. The phone freezes a lot, and I only have a few app's downloaded, no music on the phone, and barely any pictures. It randomly restarts while in my pocket, or when I'm using it. There have been times where the phone will not ring or vibrate when I get a text message (I've had the phone in my hand and looking at the screen when a text came in and it did nothing).
Lastly, this phone seems to have a pretty poor battery life. I charge my phone overnight, and if I unplug it at 9am, my phone is usually completely dead by 6pm, and I don't use it a lot during the day.
Maybe I just had a bad experience/got a bad phone, or I expect a lot out of a phone, but I definitely would not recommend this to a friend.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

phone does not keep time.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 3, 2014
from Iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I've had this phone for 3 weeks and it has changed to the wrong time a number of times, after reading the reviews this is a problem of this model. Also the volume control and the on-off control being opposite you have to be carful or you shut off phone when you adjust volume. This would be a good phone if not for the problems, hope they get a fix for the time problem.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 30, 2014
from San Francisco Bay Area
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, slow processor, not enough ram/memory
This was my first smartphone. I bought cheap in July 2013. Obviously very old and outdated technology. Realized I wanted needed something better almost immediately. Phone just doesn't have enough RAM or processing power/speed to run multiple apps, and many apps just plain won't work on this phone. No autofocus on camera, which is not very good in general.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Stay Away!!!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 21, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, clock, wifi
I got this smart phone because of its good price. Turns out its really bad. Biggest problem is the clock, it changes the time on its own almost every day at random times,any part of the day.The phone freezes ALL the time, even when im not trying to run an app(i.e. turning the WIFI on almost always will make the phone freeze) I would take your money else where. If you look around you will see that i am not the only one with these issues,(i.e. go to other sites) in fact it seems to be a recurring theme here. On another note, I have more issues than stated.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

These phones never last more than 6 mos.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Slow, screen freezes, time is wrong, internet crashes all the time
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Freezes:/

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 11, 2014
from Sunset,Tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, freezes
The phone worked fine till a week after I got it. Then it started flashing a red box around the edge of the screen. Then that stopped happening then about a month after that it would freeze and close out of my apps about 20 times a day. I would have to take out of the battery and put it back in. The it would be very slow to start back up. i am starting to hate this phone and going back to an iPhone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Power packed compact phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
I have had it about 3 weeks now. I hated it at first. Once I learned Google speak, it went very smoothly. I have called tech support twice. They were prompt,pleasant and helpful. I would give them 5 stars. My ringer turns itself off occasionally and for no reason. There are far more features than one should expect in such a small device. There are also more apps available than anyone could ever need or want. I am very happy with this phone and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a full-featured, reasonably priced phone. I use Trac Fone. Camera is weak.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 16, 2013
from Corry, Pa
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, phone freezes, poor camera, inconsistent time, poor display, sound quality
I wanted to switch to straight talk thought this would be a great phone, I was desperately wrong. The phone freezes, super slow, time is inconsistent so makes impossible to use alarm which I need on a daily basis, can't save anything to my sd card, camera takes lousy pictures, echos when conversing to others, very disappointed in this phone. Hopefully, I will be upgrading to a better phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Time and SD Card Issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 17, 2013
from Palmdale CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I have mixed feelings about this phone. I bought this phone to replace an existing phone that was beginning to loss some of its features (also a Samsung, but about five years old), mainly the alarm, which I use on a regular basis. This phone will not keep consistent time, no matter what settings I use, which makes the alarm feature useless. I would love to download a "FiX' for this but cannot even email Samsung a question as it is not listed in the product section of the email. You can not continue the email without this info. Secondly, I cannot access music on my SDcard, nor can I elect to save music or pix to the card from the phone. Also, needs a "Fix." If I cannot solve these problems. it will be going back.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow...Awesome for a Starter, 3.5 inch Smartphone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 5, 2013
from Iowa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, well built, fast with android 4
As an owner of a Samsung Tablet, I can say this is every bit as neat in a small package. I wanted a capable, fast, up to date, small screen smartphone without the premium price. This one, with unlimited voice/data from StraightTalk does everything my Tab does but in a small package. Does not have the new search assistant available in the 4G units (this is a fast 3G), but the 3rd party 'Speaktoit' is every bit as good and perhaps friendlier.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
28of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 28, 2013
from Hope, Maine, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, it works
Cons: volume and on/off oppose each other not good
The phone works fine, Info is that it works 100% with MyFordTouch and Sync, and I have the TRACFONE , sends and reads TEXT, and uses Sync services.
I do not like the Volume control and the On/Off/Sleep buttons opposing each other, one on left the other on right, you can't push one with out pushing the other, unless you are very careful,
The camera could use more pixels, not the best of photos.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
25of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't keep time or use the SD card for apps.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 27, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This phone will not keep the correct time regardless of settings. The version of Android it uses will not let you move apps to the SD card, so my 32gb card is useless. I know it's an Android issue because I recently bought an Asus tablet that came with the same Android version and it would not allow me to move apps. The tablet had a software update and now allows me to move apps to the SD card. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FIRST ANDROID PHONE AND IT IS AWESOME

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 9, 2013
from Albany, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
My children and husband have all been telling me to upgrade to an android phone but I had never found one that fit my price range until I found this phone! It is perfect! Love the design, love the Google apps and the simplicity of the phone. It is everything I wanted and I recommend this phone to anyone who wants an android phone but doesn't want the high price! I enjoy surfing the net, checking my email and keeping up with all my friends on social networks! Samsung did a great job!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+39points
49of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Again

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 1, 2013
from Tampa, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I purchased this phone 3 weeks ago. I have hated it since day one. It is now over heating on any call lasting more than 15 minutes and dropping the call.
I have replaced the battery twice now, this last time I cannot get the phone to turn back on.
I will be ordering a new one SOON!! like already done.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Function and layout inconvenient

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 18, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
To start off I will say that I like the widgets on the home screen and the folder options. I have dropped it a few times and even though the outside is a little soft and scuffed the screen still has not cracked. Other than that my experience with this phone has been overall unpleasant.The predictive text does not help at all by not putting in words for you and is very bad at the actual predicting part. The text box at the bottom of the screen is very small and hard to scroll. Sometimes while horizontal texting the words you are texting are covered by other things on the screen and you cannot see what you're typing. Also the send button is in a really bad place. The phone is slow and freezes a lot, the screen will go black or white all the time, even if I just unlock my phone. I have had this phone for three weeks and this has done this since I have bought it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok if you're looking for a cheap phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2013
from Detroit, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: camera, not enough memory, slow processor
Overall this is a good phone. I had an iPhone 4 before so this phone was a downgrade but the savings on my phone bill make up for it. The camera is not bad for the price but compared to other smart phones it is seriously lacking. No flash and not much zoom. Pictures don't appear too grainy when looking through them but I don't know if they would be print quality like the iPhone. I love the Android software and the features. I think it's way better than Apple. All the pre-loaded apps are awesome, you can do so much with this phone. It does run very slow though, it seems to get bogged down quickly and doesn't have enough RAM to run all the cool programs it comes with. Overall I like this phone better than my iPhone but I wish it had a better camera, faster processor and more internal memory.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
19of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Phone for the money, only 1 complaint

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2013
from Raphine, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, easy to use
Cons: sd card issues
I have had this phone for a week and have run out of storage, even though I have a 16gb sd card in it. Apparently Android 4.0.4 has an issue with using SD cards, at least thats what I have been told. Everything stores on internal memory and it goes fast ! Pictures, Videos and apps all on internal memory. Now...all that aside..Great phone. I have purchased 4 Samsung phones in the past few years and all are great and hopefully with a fix this one will be as well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
31of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 1, 2013
from Huntsville, AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: small battery
This phone is a great value for the money. Just bought it 2 days ago to replace my Precedent, and I already love it. Has enough internal space to get going with apps, uses a major wireless carrier's towers, and has a 4.0 OS. Just wish it had a bigger battery, maybe in the 2000 mah range.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great All Around

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2013
from Kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This phone speaks for it self and if you're listening you'll LOVE it... I Do..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
50of 105voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Straight Talk Galaxy Centura by Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 1, 2013
from Nashville, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: none yet!
I've had this phone for approximately one week and have thoroughly enjoyed the smooth form factor and fluid performance of the Ice Cream Sandwich OS. This smartphone is by far superior to the previous Android phones I've used from other carriers. My apps respond to my touch intuitively and I'm grateful to have received plenty of "bang for the buck" with my Centura purchase!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+36points
40of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

GOOD DEAL just a couple of isues

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 27, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I recently bought this phone, I like the design a lot and I am satisfied in general. There are just a couple of problems I have found so far but I'd like to begin with the Pros: Good features for an inexpensive android, light, good signal, good sound, pretty quick for a 800MHz. Battery life is just Ok.
I would have rated this phone 4 stars except for: NO FRONT CAMERA (I skype a lot), small screen, no photo flash; two quirks that have popped up and the clock "freezes" not giving the correct time.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
28of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor choice

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2013
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations
let me start by saying most of the samsung products are very good but i do not like this one my old phone seemed to have a lot more features this does not have talk to text and the phone is to sensitive and to hard to be easlly used. am going to try to take this thing back wish me luck
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
12of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Suppose to be an upgrade to the 'PROCLAIM' model..

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 21, 2013
from Tallahassee, Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, text-to-speech is very poor to use
It has a very nice feel when holding it; but it does a design a bad design flaw! You have to bring down the status bar and chose 'voice-to-text' EACH time you text! This is a pain.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
16of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Samsung Galaxy Centura™ (Straight Talk)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 17, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no swype keyboard, can be a bit laggy
I was in the market for a smartphone that wouldn't leave me completely broke, and debated back and forth for a bit between this and a different Galaxy. I finally chose this one, and I am quite glad that I did.
Pros:
The touchscreen is very smooth, your finger just sort of glides over it as you use it. You hardly have to put pressure down for it to register. This is great for games and other such things that require quick movements.
The phone is fast. Because of the processor, it does not have as big of a problem with lag like some of the competitors. I once had a phone that took at least five minutes for a webpage to load.
Lots of space! My old phone would have a heart attack if I thought about adding a new app, constantly giving me warnings about low space. The standard memory without a microSD is 2.75 GB. Pretty impressive!
The apps are quite organized, and it's very easy to customize the phone how you like it.
The graphics are amazing! I play a few games and they are brilliant.
Cons:
Mine did not come with a Swype keyboard, but it was really easy to find an App on the play store.
It can get laggy, especially when updates are running, so you may have to turn the phone off every so often to let it calm down.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+32points
47of 62voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.