Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone

Rating:
3.278 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
11 out of 17(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Basic Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHowie104
onJanuary 26, 2012
from Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good batt life
Cons: no blue tooth
Being hearing impaired finding and using a good phone that matches my needs is the goal. Having now used the U310 in calls, my goal has been met. Simplicity of use, good construction, good reception and voice output are wonderful. First phone I've own in ten years that I haven't had to max out the volume on the ear piece. Bravo Samsung, keep them coming. Tired of all the gizmo's these days. This is one solid phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy, big buttons, senior citizen

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytopperj
onOctober 14, 2009
from Washingtonville, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought this phone for my 86 year old Mother. Her previous phone was too small, had no volume control and was a useless toy. This phone has all the features she needs. It has large buttons, a dedicated 911 key and and ICE key, for easy access to emergency numbers (3) and personal information. It comes with a cradle for charging which is so easy to use. Elderly people can't always figure out where the charger is plugged into the phone. This way all she has to do is put it in the cradle and forget it. It has a big display screen and is perfect for her occasional use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+53points
55of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just a phone is what I wanted

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLaszlo
onSeptember 7, 2009
from Durango, CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I wanted just a phone, and that's what I got. Excellent construction and sound quality, nothing fancy. In spite of some reviews I have read, I find the menu simple and easy to use. Not being able to categorize my contacts is not a problem. I have a more extensive address book online. I don't think a phone needs to be a full-feature computer or digital camera. I just want to be able to stick it in my shirt pocket and use it when needed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great phone but

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byguywithnobluetooth
onMarch 21, 2009
from upstate ny
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
love the phone ond pnly drawback is it does not appear to have bluetooth and i wish they would put the modlel on the phone somewere I found samsung tell's you everything you dont want to know but what you really want to know after 3 hrs of lookiing i still am ot sure if this model has bluetoot :(other than that its a powerfull little phone
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

simple, plain phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByleGrandChuck
onSeptember 5, 2013
from Eugene, Oregon
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, large buttons, plain square buttons, charging cradle, white-on-black lables
Cons: lame ringtones, slow response to input
The Knack is a good, simple phone. It is small enough to fit into my watch pocket, yet has a good-sized screen with a readable font. The buttons are large enough for my stubby fingers, and are laid out in a sensible grid.
The charging cradle was a revelation. After the frustration of fumbling with micro-USB and nano-USB connections at bedtime, I could charge the Knack in my sleep -- in total darkness. Why doesn't everyone use a charging cradle??
All in all, it appears to be an appliance designed by engineers without interference from any stylists: function before form!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
SMH9187W 1.8 cu. ft. Over-the-Range Microwave (White)
3.6 out of 5(49)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bynor49
onFebruary 13, 2013
from chicago
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive
I bought this for my grandfather and it works well with Page Plus. It has big font so that anyone can read it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple, straightforward phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onSeptember 16, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
Just what we need, no more, no less. Works well for us old folks. The charging cradle is very convenient.
I'm not too crazy about this rating website though. How do I get out of this?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Knack

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byrjh20136
onJanuary 11, 2012
from Virginia - USA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Company cell phone - does what is needed. Great battery life. Easy to use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to read/dial

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAavery
onDecember 17, 2011
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Like this big button style phone, easy to use, sound quality is good for a reasonably priced phone, I also have a Convoy and both are the best cells I've had to date.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Basic Phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByNWBob
onJune 10, 2011
from Olympic Peninsula WA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive
My wife and I wanted to replace older phones with new ones without battery sapping extras. The Knack does it great!
Pros: Easy to read screen; large keys; a very load ring, if desired. Long battery life (on standby battery shows 4 bars for 4+ days, then does 3 bars for 2 days 2 for 2, and 1 to 0 very fast.) Phone will operate adequately with no bars showing on the signal strength.
Neutral comments: Programming the phone book and setting up the phone is not intuitive. You need to have the instructions with you. With them it's straight forward.
Cons: Limited ring tones, and some of those are plain obnoxious. Phone seems less sensitive to weak cell signals.
Overall, a very good BASIC cell phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great except for battery

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byraydio
onFebruary 9, 2009
from Nashville,Tn
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Small, light, ease of use, easy to read screens, are all great. My only complaint is the battery life. I rarely make or receive calls and never text, but the battery won't stay up for two days. Other than that its a great phone. Samsung says 366 hours of standby battery, better divide that by 7.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Samsung Knack

Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGabby
onDecember 5, 2008
I am pleased with my Knack cell phone, but would like to have some features added. One is to have more than 13 speed dial numbers. The other is when holding the phone the buttons on the right side of the phone are easly activated when holding and talking on the phone.
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nothing but problems

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bymagma
onMay 8, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This phone has given us nothing but problems since we got it
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very, very basic phone & not so good

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByCheatedOutOfDecentPhone
onFebruary 8, 2011
from USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, unstable os, horrible owner's manual
Unstable OS:
- Phone freezes for no reason
- Icons appear for no reason and no indication as to what they mean
- Background change with battery out (to fix freezes) and cannot be reset to "none"
- Battery life is short
- Absolutely useless owner's manual - doesn't describe how to update stations, explain use of buttons and "features" etc.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst phone I have ever had!!!!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byharp
onJuly 7, 2011
from Apple Valley, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, doesn't work!
Within the first year, I had to have the phone replaced twice and the battery also. It would quit during conversations; phone and battery got exceedingly hot. Battery had to be removed to get it to cool off. Wouldn't hold a charge. Back to the store four times and they wanted to give me a third "reconditioned" knack. NO THANK YOU! This equipment was diagnosed as faulty by cell phone technicians. Total piece of junk! If you buy one, be prepared for infinite problems. You have been warned!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Multiple failures

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDogdoc221
onApril 23, 2011
from Colorado
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, software malfunction
All I wanted was a simple phone to make calls and text message. Went through 3 of these phones in a little over a year and I am not a heavy user. Text messaging would fail and not let you know a message had come in, or would not let you access a new message and would start pulling up deleted messages from months before. Then it would not start up when turned on----just start to boot up, quit, then repeat endlessly. You would have to remove the battery to stop it. Once you reached this point, all the stored information was lost for good. The carrier replaced the phone twice under warranty and assured me the software glitch had been debugged, but it happened again in each phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A buggy phone, only good if you won't use it

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bypdizzle
onFebruary 21, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
Cons: Poor quality, not responsive, breaks often
I got this phone at a local wireless dealer in late December. A week or two into February, it broke and wouldn't turn on. I didn't drop it, or do anything. I was in a meeting and then when I got out it was off and wouldn't come on. When I tried to turn it on, it would start loading, stop, then cycle again and again, I couldn't even turn it off again without taking out the battery.
I took it in, and still being under warranty, I got it replaced. Well here I am, two weeks after getting my replacement phone and the new phone I got has the same exact problem. It will not turn on!
But if you think this will never happen to you, the phone is still not good at all. It is super slow, you can't text at any decent speed, maybe one character per second, maybe two seconds. Whenever you get a new message the keyboard stops working for about five seconds, and then the message finally shows up. In general the phone is super slow to respond to any input.
The only thing the phone does well is make phone calls, so if that is all you will do, take the chance that it won't stop working on you and buy it. If you plan to text at all, do yourself a favor and get a different phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Knack™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Total piece of junk!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDisgusted999
onApril 12, 2010
from Augusta GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I asked for a "basic" phone as I'm not interested in texting, emailing, taking pictures and all that other stuff. What I got was a total piece of junk! It doesn't ring when someone tries to call. When it does ring, it quits as soon as I touch it to take it out of the holster. It requires constant - not daily - CONSTANT charging due to the battery. You cannot get any ringtones other than the stupid preloaded ones. I'm stuck with it for the next two years!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.