Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone

Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone

Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 out of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for people with low vision.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCalicos
onJanuary 15, 2012
from Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, can add photos.
I have an eye problem and wanted a phone that did not have a camera or had a lot of Apps. I just wanted a phone for emergencys. I liked the fact that it was capable of sending a photo to the phone for use as a wallpaper and thus I was able to put my two cats in My Pictures and can switch their photos when I want. The Haven is not a Smart phone, but it's very nice I can personalize it. Thank you. I am enjoying this phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Seniors

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytrefngrs
onOctober 13, 2011
from McCall, ID
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I got this phone about 6 months ago and love it. I wanted a phone that I could see all of the numbers easily and view screen that I could also see real easy. This phone did that. I would recommend this phone for all seniors that are looking for a phone that's a phone and not a walking computer.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone, Lousy Provider.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybroken530
onMarch 24, 2011
from Chico, CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, not a smartphone!, pleasant feminine voice, will not be obsolete, executive styling, easy to use, stretch exercises included, clear sound, nice color
The Haven is the best cell phone out there. It is a refreshing alternative to all the "smart" phones out there. Everybody I've shown it to wishes they had it(including and especially "smart" phone owners)! My only complaint is that it is only available through Verizon. Verizon's service has been lackluster st best. When my 2 year contract is finished, I intend to take my Haven to an authorized Samsung facility and ask that it be UNLOCKED and use it on another carrier!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Survived soaking in water

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByInfected
onJanuary 20, 2011
from Indiana
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable
Cons: the color is blah, tiny manual way too small
Was wallpapering from on top of a ladder, got down and found my Convoy phone at the bottom of the water tray! This is certain death for any phone...I shook it, removed the battery and let it dry out for 24 hrs. The next day it worked as if nothing happened.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
10of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onOctober 7, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Not sure what the other guy is talking about, but I've had this phone for a few days, and love it!! I didn't want a phone with the data package, just something simple, reliable, and loud!! This phone does it all..highly recommend for someone looking for just a basic phone, but with a nice sleek look....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
24of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pictures?

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByElCangrejo
onJune 25, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Someone on these reviews said you can send pictures to the phone. How do I do that? Otherwise, it's a great little phone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very easy to read the display

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bychooven
onFebruary 16, 2012
from Scottsdale, AZ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: no camera
This phone has very large numbers for the display. And the flip phone is great for my wife since she keeps the phone in her purse.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just what my wife wanted

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrtg111
onJune 5, 2011
from Mondovi, Wisconsin
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, just a very good basic phone, simple to use
Cons: can't add you own ringtones, speaker phone volume doesn't go loud enough
My wife wanted a simple no-frills phone, and that’s just what the Haven is, have had this phone for 8 months with no problems
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ALMOST perfect

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytellmewhatyouwillaccept
onMarch 29, 2011
from Utah
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: turns off unexpectedly, calculator rounding
My wife and I each have this phone, and really like it.
We have one serious problem: the phones turn off unexpectedly when it gets to about 50% charge on the battery. Very frustrating! We exchanged one of the batteries, which did not solve the problem. Since it does not always happen, we cannot reliably test it.
A change I really would like is the calculator. It always rounds to two decimal places. Wish it only rounded when display was full.
I also miss the 'always on' time display of my old phone.
Overall, love the phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Haven Cell Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByJigmoss
onDecember 7, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am completely satisfide with my Samsung Haven Cell Phone. The phone was very easy to understand for all of us whom are not phone savy. I use my cell phone only for emergency/family needs; I do not utilize the internet, etc. It was easy to understand the features on the phone; entering contacts, erasing old messages, was a snap. The phone buttons seem to be just the right size, color, position, etc. I have no use for the "Emergency Contacts" feature but the "911" feature was an excellent item. The battery seems to hold it's charge great but It could be because I use the phone so little. I would like to find a protective case for the phone to prevent damage i.e., one made for the phone but so far my local stores only carry generic case's.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Two glaring problems

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByDevotedSon
onJuly 15, 2011
from Arvada, CO
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, what the heck does "realistic color" mean?
Cons: poor side-mount button placement, battery life
My elderly mom has used this phone for the past six or eight months or so. Before that she had the Samsung Knack which is virtually the identical phone. Both phones work well and are fairly well suited for the person who wants a no-frills, basic, easy-to-use phone.
For the most part, the display is easy to see. The ability to adjust font size is very helpful, however, the largest size isn't quiet large enough for an elderly woman with limited sight.
The buttons are easy to use. Occasionally the menu requires the user to hit a button twice for confirmation which can be kind of confusing. For example, in order to listen to a voice mail message, you need to select the message, then select it AGAIN to "listen."
There are two glaring problems with the Samsung Haven, both of which were carried over from the Knack. First of all, the side-mount buttons are on the main body of the phone rather than on the flip-up display. It's virtually impossible to handle this phone without pressing one of the side buttons by mistake. The only way to keep from pressing a side-mount button by mistake is to hold the phone by the display, and I don't know of ANYONE who holds their flip-phone that way!
Due to this poor design, on several occasions my mom has inadvertently lowered and/or turned off the volume to the point that she missed important phone calls. It's very disconcerting to check in on my mom and get no answer, which leads me to think something is wrong, when in fact, the ringer was just turned off. I just hope if she ever CAN'T answer her phone because she's hurt or something, that I don't shrug it off assuming the ringer is turned off again.
The other big problem is the fact that the battery just doesn't last. The only reason she got rid of her Samsung Knack is because the battery died and it would have cost more to get a new battery than to get a new phone! The same goes for her Samsung Haven. She's had her Samsung Haven for not quite a year, and here I am looking for a new phone for her again because her battery is about to die!
Now that I'm in the market to replace her Samsung Haven, I'd really like to find a better, more well-designed phone for my mom. Unfortunately, having to learn how to use a new phone would be so difficult for her, that she'd much rather overlook the problems and have me buy another Samsung Haven, than find a phone better suited to her needs.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Basic Phone, Lacks contact features

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bybrb459083485634
onMarch 18, 2011
from US
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, simple basic phone. 95% useful
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no apparent means to transfer or backup contacts
Simple basic phone. 95% useful. Cannot transfer or backup contacts, which is very poor in this day and age. - Web site is a joke.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Haven? Not at all

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByLorJo
onSeptember 8, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Hate this phone. It is clunky and so out dated. We have had more problems with this phone since we went to Verizon than any other phone in the many years we have had cell phones. If you receive a picture text, all of a sudden your text service locks up and you cannot receive any more texts. If you try to access your inbox, your phone will restart. You have to take it to the store to remedy this. That is so inconvenient. My husband has had to do this 5 times!!! It just happened to me. In reading through the Verizon forums this is very common with this phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Haven™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A piece of junk

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByParson
onSeptember 26, 2010
from MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I have had this phone a week. It is a piece of junk. I had a Samsung Hue before and it was a great phone. This phone does not have enough volume to hear calls. My wife's hearing is excellent and she has problems also. I don't even know why you offer this phone on the market. Now I am stuck with this thing for 2 years or trade it in at an exorbitant cost. I am sorry that I gave up my Hue.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.