Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop US Cellular
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone

Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 26, 2013
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I really wish they still made this phone, I have had it for years no need to buy a new one when this one worked so well. :)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

greatest purchase ever

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2009
from chicago il
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
this phone is great! i bought it at us cellular and i found that it was great it is a little confusing at first but it works very well. i love the key pad.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

compact and comfortable to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2011
from IL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, compact
Cons: battery
Overall a great phone the only problem I had was with the battery having to be charged daily.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2010
from Columbia, Mo
I have used this product for:less than a month
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
So far everything works fine. I use the phone a lot in my line of work. I have found that the phone dont have delays in calls and or text. I had an all touch screen phone and touch screen is just not my thing. I wanted a full key board and a phone on the cheaper side. It was cheap I feel like I got a deal! so far everything is working great. It is holding up to my abuse, I got through phones like crazy. I have dropped it a lot and its still in one piece. I have used bluetooth it worked well no problems. I will update this after I have had it longer!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WOW

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 25, 2009
from Chicago, Illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I fell in love with this phone the moment I walked into a US Cellular store. After thinking about it for a couple of weeks, I finally had gotten the phone. Since than, I cant seem to put it down. I had always had a wire ear set in the past only because I never had a phone with BlueTooth capabilities. I had just bought a "Just Wireless BlueTooth" device from Target today. I will be sure to let you know how it goes.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bridges the gap between budget and smart phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2009
from Maine
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I've been playing with this phone for 2 weeks now, and here are my findings thus far.
* The phone is rather large compared to others on the market, but once flipped open this clam shell style phone offers a nice bright screen and full QWERTY keyboard. The phone includes a decent suite of apps typical of most budget phones, and also connects to easy edge for more useful apps. The phone handles a 16 GB microSD card which is great for lots of music and images, but if you are hoping to store video's as well beware. The spec sheet for the phone claims to have file support for MP4 , and G3P, but there is no available app to play them. MP3's play nicely, though tinney, either through the speaker or supplied mono headset.
* Do Not purchase a plantronics bluetooth device for use with this phone. The signal was so weak the headset would loose connection just by putting the phone in my pocket. It may have been the model I chose (Voyager 855, I exchanged the 1st one for another and still had poor reception, so it was not a defective unit), an incompatability with non samsung bluetooth devices, or poor signal output on the SCH-U440. Whatever the reason, blue tooth headsets are far too expensive for me to keep buying different ones to find one that works well with the phone. For now I'll stick with wired sets.
* Samsung offers a PC suite to sync your phone with your PC and modify files for compatability, however if you use Windows XP you're SOL because the drivers for XP can only recognize the microSD card as a removable storage device. Even after a great deal of tinkering and searching for compatable drivers I still cannot get the PC suite to connect to the phone.
* For those of us with an itch to hit the open road the easy edge Navigator works really well. At $10 a month its a bit pricey, but in my opinion far more convenient than a standalone GPS unit. It does a fair job of warning about lane changes, and does an excellent job of warning you of upcoming turns. If you miss a turn it will automatically recalculate a new route on the fly. The voice emulator does a passable job at street names and the directions come through loud and clear through the included headset earpiece.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stumbled upon it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 29, 2009
from Maine
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I was on my way in to buy a phone with a full QWERTY board and was suprized to find the Gloss just in the day before. Between work, motorcycling, hunting and fishing, I like the flip cover better than the sliders. Not being a high schooler the full keyboard makes it easier. I live very remotely where service is always a problem regardless of the carrier, it seems to do ok.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

just to warn you..

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 21, 2010
Last night I turned my bluetooth on to let my sister send me a song. My phone started shutting off and turning back on. Now, it will load, but it shuts right back off and tries starting up again; it won't turn all the way on. This same thing happened to my step-sister's Gloss, and she lost everything - texts, pictures, contacts.... I am so angry right now because I know that I will most likely lose all of my stuff also. I liked this phone until that happened, so just take that into consideration before you buy one. :)
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Gloss™ Qwerty Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not as it appears

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2010
from mason city iowa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I was impressed at first glance just to get it home and discover there is no software to be obtained either through us cellular or on the internet. yes it has alot of memory but there are few ways to add content.Yes it has a fi
ull keyboard but texting is not user friendly.yes it has a battery but has very short battery life.
I am an avid cell phone user and woyuld appriciate samsung replace this phone with one that has a fuu
ll keyboard and is worth what I paid for this one. I will be happy to return this one to you.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.