Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone

Rating:
2.867 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
7 out of 15(47%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfied with upgrade

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDex1
onAugust 22, 2009
from NW Washington
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I upgraded to this phone from the SCH-u490, which also plays music. The only thing that I can see so far that was better about that one was that it also plays movies where the Trance does not. But the sound is so much better on the Trance. One thing that is extra cool about it though, is that the Trance also plays my Zune subscription music and I don't have to use Rhapsody to transfer music. I can use Media Player. So, give me a week to get used to it and I love this phone. Oh, and I have dropped it a couple times already and nothing has broken, and I don't even know where the mute button is, so obviously I have not accidently hit it or had a problem with it as some people have commented they have. Although I should mention that when I sync music, it kicks off one of my external hard drives.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByBella1
onJune 23, 2009
from Ma.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Great phone I love, it music sounds great. The style is very nice slim. I have not had any problems just that the touch screen gets finger prints (normal touch screen). Other then that can't complain.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHPTouchsmart
onMay 20, 2011
from San Jose, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Very prone to damage, as the front is made of glass. I've dropped it a few times and it's made a dent.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No Camcorder

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEyeballKid
onApril 3, 2011
from Sioux Falls SD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no amcorder
Missing a video recording device. I woudl like have a camcorder
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All in all, a pretty good little phone.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByWyrdgirl
onJanuary 31, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: mute activation during calls, fingerprints on screen
Let me start out by saying, I LOVE this phone. It is AWESOME, if you're not too bothered by fingerprints on screens (and even those aren't that bad). The music player is great and easy to use. I have a 4Gb SDcard in mine and the playlists only disappear when I take the card out out (which is kinda to be expected). And the picture quality isn't bad either. Yes, the mute button does activate if your cheek presses it accidentally, but its not THAT HARD to unmute. It has a good menu style that is very easy to customize, and navigation is a breeze. The design is beautiful, I love the sleek sides and I've always been a fan of the Slider style. And it's INSANELY durable (like most Samsungs). I've dropped mine many, MANY times and it only has a few nicks on the back.
All in all, a pretty good little phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLaine
onJanuary 26, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Loved it til the battery and signal started to mess up. It probably would had lasted a couple more years if I had not dropped it so much. Great Music Player. It was everything I needed and a perfect size!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

OK for a feature phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByTheWhip
onNovember 22, 2012
seems to work usually. Really hard to get good support info off of the website. Does it connect to Kies???
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

title

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byidontwantanickname123
onJanuary 18, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, Bright display
not a bad phone, gets good reception, trouble at times with syncing music from media player from windows vista
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Okay Phone

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BythePhoneman70843965034
onMarch 3, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, great design
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bad keypad
Basically this phone is very stylish, but lacks in several areas. First, the keyboard is not qwerty and is very small and hard to type with. Second, the semi-touch panel is responsive just annoying to use. Overall, this isn't a bad phone, but i would not recommend it.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

SD memory card issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBladefish
onJune 24, 2009
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Nice design, music sounds good, decent display, 3.5mm headphone jack is nice, the ability to use 2 bluetooth headsets at the same time is nice, although buttons are small I haven't had as much trouble with it as I had thought I would. Overall, a great music player, let alone phone. Cons: While the 3.5mm headphone jack is nice, if you do not have headphones with a mic (kind of hard to find with a 3.5mm jack), you have to remove the headphones to receive a call (not fun in the car). Touch screen is a little hard to get used to. And during calls, my face always hits the mute button. I have to hold the phone away from my face. Samsung boasts the ability to accept SD memory cards up to 16GB, but then recommends no more than 2GB. I am using an 8GB card and have had nothing but problems. All the problems seem to happen when I fill the card more than half full (just over 4GB). Then playlists disappear, songs get deleted or somehow duplicated, and ultimately the phone just freezes and I have to remove the battery and restart. What's the use of having the capability if it doesn't work?
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Disappointment...

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byphotogrl13
onApril 25, 2011
from Columbus, Ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought this phone to replace my Samsung Flipshot and had high expectations as my Flipshot was my favorite phone up to that point. Sadly, I was more than disappointed. The phone worked fine, but was extremely awkward to use. Many times when texting I would accidentally send a text because the buttons are tiny and the send button is right above the 1 button and I frequently would hit it instead of 1. The touch screen was fun at first, but became more obnoxious with use. It is delayed in response and isn't easy to use in non-ideal environments (like gloved hands, cold hands, etc). Then shortly before a year of having the phone, the audio decided to die. I could hear the other person, but they couldn't hear me. Symptoms point to the flex cable (I assume it has one). I will never by a "moving parts" phone again after this. I will also never recommend Samsung cell phones to anyone from this point on, which is sad because I do enjoy other products that they make.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product is worthless.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByRDEARLE
onMarch 3, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, one joke of a phone - usless.
This is probably the worst cell phone I ever owned -- makes me wish cell phones were never invented. The outside "touch" screen commands work when I don't want the to (e.g., when I put the phone in my pocket) and don't work when I want them to (on cold days when my fingers are cold or when I'm wearing gloves). Commands are terrible -- I don't need to be answering multiple questions before being abelt osend a text -- expecially if I'm replying!!! I would exchange this phone for a tin can and a string. I'm just glad I didn't purchase a Samsung HD TV as I had planned.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nightmare Phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bynesnah
onNovember 9, 2010
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This is hands down THE worst phone I have ever owned.
-I have had the back of this phone fall off and the battery fall out IN MY HAND, as in, I'm holding the phone, talking on it and the back comes off. So you can imagine what happens if the phone falls even 1 foot onto plush carpet...
-The touch screen does not lock when you are talking on the phone, so if your face touches the phone, it causes everything from menu navigation to muting yourself.
-About 1 in 4 calls, I cannot hear the person on the other end.
-When plugged in to charge, the screen remains on its brightest setting.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lousy Quality

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByElMonteuser
onFebruary 20, 2010
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
A brand new phone I bought but within 1 month, battery was dead. Need to replace it. Then, within 2 months, battery door was lost. Battery door is current out of order because replacement is high demand. never ever recommend it
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Trance™ Music Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst phone ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bytrue
onMay 23, 2009
make sure to buy insurance because it will brake the first time you drop it and the glass cracks like an egg so be careful not to cut yourself ! very disappointing
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-14points
8of 30voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.