Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone

Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
6 out of 17(35%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Miss this phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 21, 2013
I really like this phone before I got a smartphone. It was small and compact, and I really like the slide component of the phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2009
from Greenville, SC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Slides up, user friendly. Notepad, Calendar w/ Alarm reminder. Currency converter and tip calculator. I have lots of photos stored on my phone. Have dropped it about 50 times and it still looks brand new, no protector is on my phone. LOVE MY PHONE!!
Downfalls:Camcorder only records for 30 seconds. Can't see objects after photo taken when lights are out.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
11of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2008
I have had this phone for a few weeks and simply love it! The call clarity is great (my biggest concern) and the reception (inside local stores) is much better than my previous Motorola. The speaker phone feature has mixed results, callers hear me clearly, I hear them with a tinny sound which is only slightly annoying. The camera feature is very good as well. I do wish it offered file transfer. The phone is a good size, easy to hold. I also wish that you were able to end a call with the slider closed. Overall, I think the Sway is a terrific phone and suggest everyone try it!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2011
from CT
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Samsung Sway is my second Samsung cellphone. I really like the reliability of their products.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 (Wi-Fi Only) – 32GB Metallic Gray
4.6 out of 5(485)
 
 
 
 
CLP-325W Color Laser Printer
4.3 out of 5(91)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great phone, great size, not so good support from Samsung

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 23, 2010
from Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, slim
Cons: no downloadable content from samsung
First of all, this is probably my favorite phone that I have ever had. I came from a Windows Mobile smartphone to this, and it was such a refresh. There's something to be said for simplicity.
First: it is slim and sexy. I just got a black rubber case for it, and it looks great with the silver phone. The screen is gloriously bright except in very bright sunlight, which is forgivable. I used to have a Motorola RAZR, so the keypad on the Sway feels very familiar. There really isn't much I don't like about the Sway.
Second: the things I don't like. This one is really a personal complaint, but I would really like to have had the camera on the outside of the of the phone, not hidden by the slider. That way I could take videos and pictures in landscape orientation. The next is that I wish there was a 3.5 mm headphone port. I can understand why Samsung didn't include one because the phone is so small, but I think they could have done it. And the last thing I have to gripe about is a lack of software support from Samsung. Many other phones (particularly Nokia phones) have loads of downloadable content, including the content I would like to have the most, themes. Now, Samsung did release a firmware update, which is good, but I would like to see more.
Other than these 3 complaints, I really can't think of anything else I don't like about the phone. Good job, Samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 12, 2009
from Elk Grove, CA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought my Sway about a year ago, and I really like it overall. The slider is nice and I like the ability to play music. I also like being able to take pictures and videos. One minor drawback was the slow response- I would sometimes have to wait for a second for the phone to catch up.
Overall, this is a very good phone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's ok but with some issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2010
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight, good high-res pictures
Cons: pixelated screen, battery life, lack of a timer
I've had this phone now for almost 2 years and didn't really have problems with it, besides its battery life. I used to have a Sony Ericsson that could go for 1.5 weeks before a new charge, and it was hard for me to get used to charging almost every other day. Another thing I missed about my Sony was the timer. The Sway doesn't have a timer. I used to use it for cooking and was quite helpful.
What I like about the phone is that it has good reception (in my experience compared to the Ericsson), and that the pictures I take from the camera at its highest resolution are quite good. Also, the speakers are pretty good for a phone (my friends think so too). One of the problems I have with it is the slider design. As many people already said, there's nothing to help you slide it up but the screen itself. My contract will be up in 2 months, so I really don't care anymore. Also, about 3 months ago, the screen started pixelating with vertical lines, but I can fix it by pressing on the camera button, and it goes away but it's quite annoying. The problem is that when I'm getting a phone call, I can't see who is calling with all those lines. I thought the reason why I was having those lines was because I dropped the phone in the mud, but after reading these reviews, I know that it's the phone.
I would not recommend this phone as it is. If they fixed all the bugs and design flaws, then it could have potential.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

durable isn't always a good thing...

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
ok so yesterday i was at my bf house and one of his friends pushed me in and of course, i had my phone in my pocket, so i ran home with my friends asked my other friend for some rice bc no one was home at my house, and let it sit out for a few hours at about 87 degrees and lower. i was secretly hoping for it to be broken and i get the samsung reality, but this phone is too durable. way too durable for my liking. so unfortunatly i am stuck with this phone for anotherrr........like SEVEN MONTHS!!!!! and idk if i even want to put in my memory card bc idk if there is water in there too...
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Last Samsung

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 20, 2010
from Fairfax, VA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This will be the last Samsung phone for my family. When our contract was up for renewal last I got an Omnia and the wife got a Sway. In less than three months I got rid of the Omnia because it was junk and replaced it with a Blackberry. The Wife's Sway makes phone calls okay but nothing else works very well. The latest disappointment is that Sway's bluetooth does not work with her new vehicle's built-in hands-free bluetooth system. It seems that if Samsung advertises a feature as a selling point, it should work. Now we're stuck with this junk for another year and a half unless we want to pay a premium for another phone. To be sure...it will not be a Samsung.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

DO NOT GET

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Okay so Ive had this phone for eh about a year. and the screen messes up. its my first phone so i don't notice the slowness but when it gets cold the screen gets lines on it and you can read anything, i used to just be able to press the picture button and it'd work again but now i have to turn it off and back on again, Ive had to get it replaced once because of this unfortunate feature. I DO NOT recommend.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Looks can be deceiving

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2008
This phone looks good, feels good but looks can be deceiving. I bought this phone and was excited about it. I have used other Samsung phones and have really enjoyed them, but not this one. As a slide phone there is no tab or spot to help slide the face and all you end up doing is smearing the screen or hitting the buttons, gets annoying. Also functioning, if you miss a call you will not know as screen goes dark and will not notify of missed call until you slide the face open (hit buttons and smear the screen) to make a call. Other options I am not to sure as I use my phone as a phone and not an mp3 player or camera. I would not recommend this phone unless they remedy these problems.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

AAAK

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2011
from SLC, UT
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, breaks easily
This phone looks good, but that's it. The music library feature is extremely slow and very hard to use. The phone's screen goes fuzzy anytime it runs out of battery life, which is at least once every day. The sliding feature has been picky for a while and stopped working two days ago, i.e. the phone no longer shuts. I can't wait for this contract to end so I can go back to using a trusty, hardy, user friendly, full-of-useful-features Sony Ericson.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Hate It Don't Buy It

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 8, 2010
from you dont need to know
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: nothing
Cons: Did not meet expectations, screen problems, camera stinks, dings easily, battery life is horrible, keys make loud noises when texting, numbers and letters paint peel off keys
The phone looks nice but if you drop it, not so much. Dings and scraps really easily. Does not have many nice features. Also i have had 2 problems with the screen getting lines and blurring up till you can't see anything. Once i had to get a new phone and the other fixed itself somehow. Battery life is also not longer than a day if that sometimes. Also camera does not work in dark. I would not reccomend this. DOES NOT LIVE UP TO ANY STANDARDS.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Inherent problem with battery life

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 26, 2010
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I've been a Samsung cell phone owner for a long time. I like the User interface. However, this phone has a design flaw. Battery life is two days. Between my son and I, we've gone through five U-650 phones, and they all exhibit the same problem. My older Samsung phone, with the same features, lasted in excess of a week on a charge.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

horrible

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2010
this may be the worst phone i've ever owned. in the last two years i've owned seven or eight simply for having to send one in on the manufacturers warranty because the charger port will stop working oal ltogether on the phone. not to mention how during the colder months, which there arent many of in my side of arizona, the screen will start pixelating out and get lines running across its entirety so i cant read or distinguishing anything. i'm going in today to get another one of these phones due to the same charger port problem. i would never suggest this phone for a friend. perhaps a preson i wish to lose contact with their loved ones. but never a friend.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Never buy

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 28, 2010
Absolutely terrible. I Had eight of these in Eight months, and I never had the same thing happen to a single one of them. It texts really slow and lags really bad if your a fast texter.
Terrible value.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2009
All I can say is that I am very disappointed of this phone for the first time a Samsung product let me down
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-32points
3of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Sway™ Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

i have this for two whole years?!?!?!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 16, 2009
from Peoria, IL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
on day one that i bought this phone, i was soo excited. after that, i found out this phone was terrible. when i text or navigate the phone, i press the buttons too fast and the phone has to catch up with me. it restarts for no reason during calls and on mobile IM sessions. ill give it that it does look pretty sexy, but if you drop it, forget the sexiness, this thing dings and scratches really easily. for being a music phone, its speaker is not that loud or high quality. for just a phone, the call reception is pretty decent. i am now on my third phone of this same model because i did not run into most of these problems until my swap date expired with verizon wireless. one of the poorest choices i have ever made. i am ashamed that samsung would put out a product with this many bugs. i usually think of samsung as a great company that manufactures excellent products but they really dropped the ball on this phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.