Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Verizon Wireless
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone

Rating:
4.036 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
22 out of 28(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Review 1 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really a great phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bylighterlung
onMarch 30, 2013
from Indiana, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Really loved the 1st Alias (U740), This little baby is awesome for texting. It's thicker also which I actually like. Don't know if it comes in any other colors. but I love the black finish on mine. The interior screen is pretty easy to view out on a sunny day...wish I could say the same for the exterior display as I have to turn away from the sun to read it. Hey, not complaining, not gonna give it a lower rating for that. Also a great improvement must've been done to the speakers as I can hear the ringtone alot better then I could on the first Alias'
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I needed!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByoheyERIN
onAugust 26, 2012
from Columbus, OH
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I have previously owned an Iphone 4 and the speaker went KAPUT! making it so I could no longer hear when talking with others. I switched my plan with this phone (only wanting to be temporary) and ended up loving it more than my Iphone!
Like the other reviewer I wasn't much of texter before with the Iphone but find myself texting more with the Samsung Zeal because of the easy to text keyboard.
I really enjoy the simplicity Zeal has to offer and it doesn't suck me into "the world of smartphone zombies."
I highly recommend this phone it truly is great! :)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Quality Phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bye733
onJuly 14, 2012
from Bloomington, MN
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
I love this phone! I have been a Samsung user for a very long time, and I can say that I actually enjoy this more than my iPhone.
Sounds crazy I know, but I do not need all the bells and whistles of smartphones - I just need a phone that can text & call with great quality, and the Samsung Zeal certainly does that.
However, a major con would be the service area (which is completely Verizon's fault). I have never had such bad service before, and I wish they would work on it!
Other than that, wonderful phone! I love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My teens love this phone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDewGirl
onJune 21, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, e-ink technology
I have 2 teenage daughters, and both have this phone & love it! Perfect texting phone, and the e-ink technology is, in their words, EPIC!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Basic Feature Phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjsbell
onJune 11, 2012
from Ocala, FL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I absolutely love this phone. I like the dual flip design of the phone makes texting very easy. Call quality is very good and battery life is also very good.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrws1951
onMarch 2, 2012
from Hickory, NC
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, keyboard size
Cons: none at all!
Everything about this phone is a plus for me. Always liked a flip phone for phone calls. Rarely texted until now. Large keys on the qwerty e-ink keyboard make texting something that I do quite frequently now. Too bad there are no plans to upgrade this phone design to a smartphone. I will stay with this as long as it remains reliable!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I wish I could get a second one

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFlowerLady
onDecember 12, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, very easy texting keyboard, very long battery life
Cons: minimal memory
I've had this phone for over a year now, even dropped it a few times. It slid across the floor once after I dropped it. And it keeps on working with no problem at all. I love this phone. I wish my provider still carried it because I'd love to get one for my husband too. The keyboard is the best I've seen out there. The alarm works right every single time. The calendar also works well. The e-link keys are fantastic - I don't have to shake the phone to see the keys like my husband does on his "semi-smart" phone. Whenever I try to text on the smart phones, I fat-finger them to death and no one could read what I type. Believe me when I say that never happens on this phone. The battery life is excellent - I usually charge it once every week or week and a half. The only complaint I have is that every so often I have to delete all my messages due to an 'out of memory' message. Also, the camera works, but I can't figure out how to get the pictures from the camera onto my computer. I have resorted to uploading them to my account with my provider.
Since I can't find another one of these, I'm going to have to give mine to my husband and find another phone for me. And frankly, nothing out there looks all that great to me.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT PHONE

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybulldogbite70
onOctober 15, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
the double screen can sometimes have lags but it is a great phone for texting/messaging.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable Phone!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDisneyDieHard
onOctober 8, 2011
from Jackson, New Jersey
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
The Samsung Zeal is a very reliable phone and unique with its duel opening system which allows for a full QWERTY keyboard when texting but holds like a normal phone when talking!
One of the best phones I've owned so far!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bynjoynit
onJune 19, 2011
from Mansfield, OH
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
I have had my Samsung Zeal for 7 months and I love it! My favorite feature is the flip open qwerty pad with the size and convenience of a flip phone. I like the fact also that the battery holds a decent charge and the camera has a crisp clear picture. Highly recommend!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sorry to see this go

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFlipFan
onMarch 30, 2011
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, versital
Cons: phone is being dropped by carrier.
While looking online for help with service issues, I came across the fact that my carrier will no longer have the Zeal. I love my phone. The combination of 2 screen options and e-ink is wonderful. The flip aspect for voice calling is very comfortable. I've seen some reviews that comment on bulkiness, but I find it to be elegantly styled and sized well for its purposes. Since the Zeal is an endangered species, I will be making certain that I take very good care of this one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByManchesterCanMan
onMarch 18, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I replaced my old phone with the Zeal and couldn't be happier with it. The inovative double flip feature sold me as I wanted a keyboard for texting. I'd tried a so called "smart phone" didn't like the candybar style so this fit the bill. The screen is easy to read and the standard features are more than enough for those of us who don't live on our phones.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

samsung zeal

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bycalypso
onJanuary 6, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: battery life could be better
My daughter had the alias phone and I was very happy with that phone when I was trying out every phone out there. I am not tech savvy to need all the bells and whistles. This phone is fantastic for those who just need texting and a (old school) regular flip phone ( my favorite ). I still have not gone thru all the features it has. Can't wait to explore.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phone, exactly meets my needs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHiPockets
onDecember 15, 2010
from Raleigh, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: Bright display, Durable, qwerty keyboard, clear connections
Cons: none so far
I have had this phone for about a month. Love it because it perfectly meets my phone needs, making calls and texting. QWERTY keyboard is great and there is a period on the abc screen but no question mark. I have no problem seeing the letters on the keys or hitting the correct key. Calls are clear and phone connects well in areas that previous phone did not. Zeal is not as thin as previous phone but having the QWERTY keyboard more than makes up for it. Recommended by an Alias owner who was very satisfied and found that phone very functional and durable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Zeal

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybillylbi
onDecember 7, 2010
from NJ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Love this phone. I was alittle concerned about the size of the keys because of my large fingers, but turned out not to be an issue at all. Great all around phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved this phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRevrick
onNovember 26, 2012
from Springdale Ar
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
This was our first Samsung phone and i loved it. It has been re[placed with a Galaxy S3
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Zeal

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBentlee
onMarch 25, 2011
from Southern Califrornia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Excellent small phone. Easy to use and has excellent sound.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I LOVE THIS PHONE OWN A LOT THIS ONE A KEEPER

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGRAN01
onFebruary 5, 2011
from MURFREESBORO TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
GREAT QUALITY SET UP EASY TO USE LOVE THE FLIP AND QWERY KEY BOARD
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, so good. Some quirks

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKeyserSoze
onDecember 16, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The biggest drawbacks so far
*Proprietary cable. So be prepared to spend $$ for backup cables instead of using a regular USB cable to recharge
*The only way to see the clock on the small exterior display without opening it is pressing all 3 exterior buttons at the same time. Awkward and impossible with 1 hand
*There is no zoom on the camera to tighten in on a shot.
I expected more in 2010. I wanted the dual flip, but it wasn't on display in the store to play with, so I will likely keep it, but not positive.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice phone

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byoldmo
onDecember 2, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
Pros: does not require data package (verizon)
Cons: battery life
I have had this phone for a week now and am satisfied with it. It provides all of the features I was looking for and does not require the data package so I can save a little money. The only drawback i have found is battery life is not as good as my previous LG.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This cell phone is cute.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGummi
onMarch 11, 2011
from Maryland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I bought this phone because it open in both portrait and landscape views and it has a qwerty keypad. I notice that my call quality isn't the best--I can hear breaking up. Also it doesn't take long before it shuts down, needing to be charged.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good features but problems with the transverse screen

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByArwens
onMarch 1, 2011
from charlotte nc
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
When I got this phone I had no issues at all.. but as time has gone on there has been a problem develop with switching from a flip to query mode.. I no longer can do either during the same call or texting options.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Zeal Samsung

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bytron20
onFebruary 11, 2011
from s.b cali
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: not touch screen
Pros: I like Samsung Products. I like the size can hear an speak easy on it. You can hear the ring tones clear. I like the color and design. I like you can open it to answer a call make a call or close it to text.
Cons: I wish it was a dual Touch Screen fold phone with new features apps icons 7 home pages like new galaxy phones. The next Zeal phone they should focus on dual Touch fold an make the phone wider for easy touch navigation.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good phone, but lacks Outlook Sync

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysportsfanstn
onJanuary 12, 2011
from Columbia TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: great sound quality
Cons: no sync capibilites with ms office, calender feature does not have many options
The has great quality voice for both parties. The two-way flip for keys and keyboard is a great feature for those of us who prefer a flip style phone and text.
The phone's calender and contact list will not sync to Microsoft Outlook. For those of us who like to try to keep organized using MS Office, this is not the phone for you.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByThatDaltonGuy
onSeptember 11, 2011
from Ohio, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, great camera
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor battery life
This phone is a disappointment. Why not make a whole new phone, instead of re-using the Alias 2? The battery life is bloody horrible, thanks to it's "magical" e-ink keyboard (which is slower than watching paint dry). The only good things about this phone are the camera and the speaker. The speakers are loud and play music very well, and the camera is great for a cell phone camera. I do not like this phone, and I completely regret buying it. Steer clear of this at all costs!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This kid could have been a contender, but is lacking some of the basics.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByMDenn
onMay 3, 2011
from St. Clair Shores, MI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, eink keyboard
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I'm sure, like most people, that the first thing you took notice of this seemingly mundane phone was the use of eInk displays on each key of the phone. It was also really cool that the displays changed when the phone's open configuration was different. However, even though this phone looked promising for an entry level phone, it ended up lacking in even the basics that you would of both a cell phone and a texting phone.
Overall the performance of this phone was lacking. The speaker/microphone quality of the handset is sub-par. Often times I find the person that I am calling asks me to repeat myself, or vice versa, not because what was said wasn't loud enough, but because it was garbled. I find that this isn't a result of a bad connection, but because of sub-par audio equipment. Since this was a big mistake in the main function of a phone two stars were taken off for this.
Another two stars were taken off due to the lack responsiveness of the keys, and the lack of defining characteristics on the keys for thumb orientation. I understand that when using the phone in different configurations thumb orientation keys might not make sense and might confuse some people. However this is not excuse, because the main reason there are so many keys on this phone is for texting. Having to look at the keypad constantly to text is a real frustration for even the average texter.
The lack of responsiveness of the keys limits the speed in which you can type, as well, and if you don't slow down, constantly check what keys your hitting, while scanning the screen to make sure it registered, you'll be missing a lot of letters in a lot of words.
The design of the phone is still rather intriguing, and only misses a five star rating due to the lack of design change from the Alias II.
As far as value goes, a tool is only good as it's features and it's performance. Even the ugliest phone would only be hit only one star down in overall score, if it was a solid phone that excelled. However, this is a well designed phone with sub-par performance, and ends up disappointing.
This might be my last Samsung phone due to poor quality and attention into even the most basic areas and overall function and performance of this phone. I find myself calling fewer people and texting less due to the frustration of garbled chats, unresponsive key, and repetitive scanning of the keyboard/screen to ensure that my texts aren't gibberish.
With that said this is probably one of the last phones to be made that won't have a touch screen. It's kind of sad, because there is something to be said about an old school design done right. However, follow through on the basics of what a cell phone is needed in order for any phone to shine.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT BUY

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bygcreardon
onMay 20, 2011
from Marietta, GA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, breaks easily
The first one broke in less than sixth months. The second one broke in less than a week. Would NEVER buy again. Am DEMANDING a different phone and that it not be a Samsung. Great for TVs, not for phones.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Zeal™ QWERTY Cell Phone
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Computer Software Support

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bycharliek
onJanuary 8, 2011
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I just got this phone and would return it if I could. There is no computer software support for it. You cannot sync contacts or calendar with your computer even though it was an advertised feature. If you want to sync audio or video you have one only one choice - Verizon Vcast, which is just trying to sell you more services.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.